Star Citizen - media blowout, Chris Robert's new game

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
3.3 went live a few hours ago

https://robertsspaceindustries.com/...r-citizen-alpha-3-3-0-live-986748-patch-notes


Also the telemetry page showing performance of different configs and how they compare to yours during your last play session.

https://robertsspaceindustries.com/telemetry


ScreenShot1839.jpg



ScreenShot1854.jpg



ScreenShot1846.jpg


ScreenShot1874.jpg
 

FighterAce124

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
4,011
3.3 is really smooth for me. One hell of an improvement. Plus theres some nice little improvements - one of the first I noticed is that the overhead and cabin screens in my Titans cargo bay/sleeping cabin now have display and readable text on them. Its just a "test" loop, but still... it shows something, and isnt just a blur or random nonsense - its actual words and code.
 

DWolvin

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Messages
2,915
And the cool thing (to me) is that the display is using in game data- the hooks are not there yet but as the UI people get better / caught up it will actually use real time data in the display.
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,463
Played almost 2 hours of 3.3 yesterday without any issue, spent most of the night at 75 to 110 FPS with a few dips at Olisar to the mid 40's. Only a few small hiccups of about 1 second or two but very few.

Tonight tried to play on two different servers and it was horrible. Just like 3.1 and 3.2 again with lag outs and micro studders. Got out to the truck stop and sat there staring at my screen for 45 seconds while it lagged out before recovering, Only one other ship was in the area having similar problems.

Took 5 minutes to get back to Olisar and land so I could call it quits. Seems like every launch things are great for a day or two before going down the crapper :( Hope 3.3 is not the same but we'll see. Glad to see a number of gripes got fixed and the 2 hours I did yesterday was a blast other than ship combat is still ... poo vs what it was. Oh well. The more they focus on balance the less things work right now. Focus more on the content and mechanics and balance more later unless something is crazy (like the temporary ship headlights lol.)

Have not played with ECS but based on the PTU posts I don't want it hah. Chat is a bit hard to deal with as the UI is not rendered quite properly so I cant see the names of anyone lol. Just some of their posts as it bends around the helmet. FOIP was not registering my camera and brought the game FPS to about 1 when trying to configure it. Lagged my whole system out even with nothing going on so I'll try that next release.

Really hope tonight was just rough for some players and not indicative of the last 3 releases performance wise.
 

jonneymendoza

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
6,380
Played almost 2 hours of 3.3 yesterday without any issue, spent most of the night at 75 to 110 FPS with a few dips at Olisar to the mid 40's. Only a few small hiccups of about 1 second or two but very few.

Tonight tried to play on two different servers and it was horrible. Just like 3.1 and 3.2 again with lag outs and micro studders. Got out to the truck stop and sat there staring at my screen for 45 seconds while it lagged out before recovering, Only one other ship was in the area having similar problems.

Took 5 minutes to get back to Olisar and land so I could call it quits. Seems like every launch things are great for a day or two before going down the crapper :( Hope 3.3 is not the same but we'll see. Glad to see a number of gripes got fixed and the 2 hours I did yesterday was a blast other than ship combat is still ... poo vs what it was. Oh well. The more they focus on balance the less things work right now. Focus more on the content and mechanics and balance more later unless something is crazy (like the temporary ship headlights lol.)

Have not played with ECS but based on the PTU posts I don't want it hah. Chat is a bit hard to deal with as the UI is not rendered quite properly so I cant see the names of anyone lol. Just some of their posts as it bends around the helmet. FOIP was not registering my camera and brought the game FPS to about 1 when trying to configure it. Lagged my whole system out even with nothing going on so I'll try that next release.

Really hope tonight was just rough for some players and not indicative of the last 3 releases performance wise.
Have u played no mans sky yet? what do u think of the ship combat on that?
 

FighterAce124

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
4,011
Played almost 2 hours of 3.3 yesterday without any issue, spent most of the night at 75 to 110 FPS with a few dips at Olisar to the mid 40's. Only a few small hiccups of about 1 second or two but very few.

Tonight tried to play on two different servers and it was horrible. Just like 3.1 and 3.2 again with lag outs and micro studders. Got out to the truck stop and sat there staring at my screen for 45 seconds while it lagged out before recovering, Only one other ship was in the area having similar problems.

Have not played with ECS but based on the PTU posts I don't want it hah. Chat is a bit hard to deal with as the UI is not rendered quite properly so I cant see the names of anyone lol. Just some of their posts as it bends around the helmet. FOIP was not registering my camera and brought the game FPS to about 1 when trying to configure it. Lagged my whole system out even with nothing going on so I'll try that next release.

I havent had the lag outs myself, but havent been on a super ton since I first tried it. Just a short bit at a time to fly around and enjoy space in general like I always do :p

Im also *really* glad the chat isnt just me. I thought it was something on my end that cut names off. I also have (And had last patch) a problem where the UI of the F1 menu is slightly cut off on the right side - but I only recall it once I swapped to my 1920x1200 display - didnt remember it being an issue at 4k.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2005
Messages
535
I did a couple mining runs in the Yela belt to try space mining in this patch. Had great frames and no lag spikes while mining, just around entering QT. Noticed a couple new ore types and there seems to be more variation between the chunks of rock after fracturing than last time I tried it out. Nice to see some with like 10x the concentration of the initial rock and others that were all useless slag. Makes the gameplay loop a bit more interesting, and finding a rock with great initial concentrations a little less important.
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
You can make a ton of credits asteroid mining, just be extremely picky about the rocks you work on. I ignore/skip pretty much everything that isn't Borase, Laranite and Agricium since those have the highest value.
 

dR.Jester

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 7, 2004
Messages
2,755
PTU Testing phase for Star Citizen Alpha 3.3.5 is available to certain folks. Emails with account login info currently seeing a huge delay.
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
Yeah they just opened it up beyond evocati, Hurston is pretty amazing. You should be able to see Lorville from Orbit. Expect long travel times but as with everything else in the game things will be tweaked going forward :)
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
There are rest stops at all lagrangian points of Hurston

lagrange-points1.jpg



Hurston lagrangian points.jpg


And here is Hurston proper with its moons


ScreenShot1126.jpg


ScreenShot1127.jpg
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
Some more shots

ScreenShot1109.jpg



ScreenShot1112.jpg


Riding the Lorville train with the Hurston Dynamics headquarters in the background
ScreenShot1123.jpg




Debris field over Arial

ScreenShot1107.jpg


Debris field over Arial.jpg
 

jonneymendoza

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
6,380
epic. whats the framerates like once in the city? is the city populated with lots of npc's and is there a lot of missions you can do there?
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
In the heavier populated areas with lots of NPCs I get 30s
Riding the train usually 40-60
In the balcony of the ship shop in the space port I dip into the 20s or lower since the draw distance is pretty expansive.

And yes, a decent number of NPCs roam and do their thing. You have armed security guards doing their rounds patrolling from spot to spot, civilians going to and from the different train stations but all NPCs still have issues with pathing so you sometimes see them get stuck behind someone else. As far as missions the mission giver Clovus Darneely from the Citizencon Demo is there but he doesn't give you a mission yet. Recco the new mission giver added for 3.3.0 at Levski does have one mission that sends you to Hurston(among others that she offers). Right now the focus is on traversing the Planet, its moons, the rest stops and the shopping experience. Missions will come later.
 

jonneymendoza

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 11, 2004
Messages
6,380
In the heavier populated areas with lots of NPCs I get 30s
Riding the train usually 40-60
In the balcony of the ship shop in the space port I dip into the 20s or lower since the draw distance is pretty expansive.

And yes, a decent number of NPCs roam and do their thing. You have armed security guards doing their rounds patrolling from spot to spot, civilians going to and from the different train stations but all NPCs still have issues with pathing so you sometimes see them get stuck behind someone else. As far as missions the mission giver Clovus Darneely from the Citizencon Demo is there but he doesn't give you a mission yet. Recco the new mission giver added for 3.3.0 at Levski does have one mission that sends you to Hurston(among others that she offers). Right now the focus is on traversing the Planet, its moons, the rest stops and the shopping experience. Missions will come later.
can you now respawn into the city after you die/game crashes?
 

Ritorix

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 5, 2002
Messages
1,825
I got FOIP working today with an old logitech webcam. Super easy to setup, it basically works out of the box.

Sure glad I never bought a TrackIR, now this does the same damn thing. Free look in the cockpit is a game changer.

Oh and selfie mode is ridiculous.



ScreenShot0003.jpg
Free look via webcam while flying past a Hammerhead.

ScreenShot0021.jpg
The landing window between your feet on the Valkyrie gets a lot more useful.


ScreenShot0025.jpg
 
Last edited:

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
can you now respawn into the city after you die/game crashes?
You can but only IF Landing services assigns you a hangar.
Currently tho, it ain't working as it should so if you request landing it will either outright fail to assign you a hangar or it'll take a long ass time. It is a known issue that they are working to fix and the temporary workaround is to land without permission on any open hangar you see.
Another workaround but a bit more involved is to fly a ship with a bed and use that as your log off/respawn point via bed logout. When you are ready to log off fly the ship into orbit or anywhere on the surface near the city.

Oh and since Landing services is acting up you can end up being trapped in the city unable to spawn your ship so you'll have to ask someone to take you to a rest stop to spawn a ship.
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,463
I havent had the lag outs myself, but havent been on a super ton since I first tried it. Just a short bit at a time to fly around and enjoy space in general like I always do :p

Im also *really* glad the chat isnt just me. I thought it was something on my end that cut names off. I also have (And had last patch) a problem where the UI of the F1 menu is slightly cut off on the right side - but I only recall it once I swapped to my 1920x1200 display - didnt remember it being an issue at 4k.

Its brutal for me right now. First day was just fine, almost no play issues, 80 FPS average and one or two minor hiccups but no actual lag out. Second day almost every few seconds a 10 to 20 second lag out.

Third day started the same, it took 5 minutes to get to Yela it was so bad. Once I got there my ship just blew up for now reason lol.
Upon spawning in things were magically just fine until I was heading back to Yela and opened the mobi glass to route myself to the surface area I was planning to scan / mine. Then lag city again. Got to Yela, ship blew up randomly again.

Jumped in my 315 and went to the truck stop, almost no issues at all, one or two lag outs for about 10 seconds but otherwise played just fine at around 80 to 120 FPS for the 15 minutes I was out there.
Went back to get my Prospector and go to Celin, about once a minute there was a 5 to 10 second lag out.

Today I loaded up and tried the "best" server. I load in within 10 seconds, from there it takes about a minute to get to the ship spawn room with 3 lag outs.
Swap to a US server, same story, swap to an EU server, even worse. Log out and call it a night :(

Its all server side and completely random. Doesnt like some people's computers for some reason. Saw a lot of posts after day 2 on Spectrum with similar issues. Not as many today but it feels like they just turned OCS off essentially. I have not had any crashes or the errors a lot of players are getting but it is equally not playable with this many lag outs and hold ups. Nothing on my system has changed between the release and today so phoey :( Hopefully they can get it cleaned up more in 3.3.5 but with Hurston and stuff coming in I'm guessing it will be back to waiting for the next big iteration to come. I really want to play more but blah lol. Limited time and I'm not going to fight the lag outs. 3.0 was perfectly fine for me and a lot of others had problems so /shrug. Maybe I'll wipe my user folder for a third time and hope lol. But when it works, it is wonderful.
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,463
I got FOIP working today with an old logitech webcam. Super easy to setup, it basically works out of the box.

I have a Microsoft life cam, I'll have to play with it some more to try and get it recognized. Really want it for the head tracking more than FOIP stuff and don't want to waste money on a new cam.

When you went into the set up config menu it found your camera without issue?
 

Ritorix

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 5, 2002
Messages
1,825
I have a Microsoft life cam, I'll have to play with it some more to try and get it recognized. Really want it for the head tracking more than FOIP stuff and don't want to waste money on a new cam.

When you went into the set up config menu it found your camera without issue?

Yep no issue. Get the cam working in windows first. In SC just hit calibrate in the options menu and it will alt tab out to the calibration tool. If you see dots on your face it will work.
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
This is pure gold, notice the VOIP making his voice fade in the distance as the train pulls out of the station.

 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
Latest PTU patch adds planetary rotation to Hurston and Lorville is now the main spawn point for everyone. :cool:

ScreenShot1174.jpg
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,463
Interesting, I wonder if this is the prep to remove Olisar or just to force players there for testing.
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
Not removing it quite yet since there are quite a bit of game loops that go through it in one form or another
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,463
To recount my issues and some updates on it:

I played again last night and had a moderate experience, lag outs were not too bad which was weird but good.
Today I played again for almost 2 hours testing various things but overall the game played for the most part just fine. A few hiccups but no big deal on those. My average FPS was about 85 with plenty of portions at 120 and very little under 70. Towards the end the lag started coming back but not too bad (at the time).

I thought it may be my screen cap software having some issues with CPU thread priority or something when it tries to encode. I've been recording to AVI so I can record into multiple tracks and rip the mic audio out if needed. However their latest update added secondary audio file support so I may flip over to MP4 and see about using the GPU for hardware acceleration / no acceleration like the AVI. I did notice last night that the lag seemed to get worse when I tried to record. However it was still there when not recording or not running the software at all so not completely a tie in but potentially related so I shot an email off to them for any input.

Will mess with it more tomorrow but I did have fun tonight for the 90 minutes I played. Mostly prospecting.

It is much better than in 3.2 IMO but I wish they would get the prospectors filtration system working, or at the very least add a simple equation to the storage of the material to say throw out 75% of the inert material. So if a rock is 35% X substance, through out 75% of the remaining 65% inert material. Not perfect but at least it gives some credence to what the filtration system should be doing. No on pans for gold without throwing a good amount of the worthless pebbles back. I have no issue with having to scan a lot and cruise around picking the good chucks off of a rock. But to make it a viable play style (at least for now until we can mine like they show in the videos down into a vein in the ground) and function properly we should be able to store the current haul in 1 to 1.5 of our bags not all 4. Hard to take the risk of flying out to "prospect" when you only get to spend a few minutes actually doing it before you are all filled up.

Anyway much better tonight, hopefully tomorrow is the same!
 

Ripskin

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
2,463
Not removing it quite yet since there are quite a bit of game loops that go through it in one form or another

I still think they should keep it as is, doesn't have to be the spawn area but perhaps a training facility or something to practice docking and other things. Been around too long to just chuck it away. Besides we can always pick new spawn areas wherever we fly but the ol girl has a place in the verse, or should lol.
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
hi. what is Server meshing by the way?
There are more technically oriented explanations out there but here's the best short explanation from CR himself.

Server meshing will be the last foundational technology pillar of Star Citizen. Tho note that for SQ42 there are no major technology blockers since the last one was Object container streaming which just got finished/done with 3.3.0





Lorville sunset

Ea6KgoC.jpg


sNpCRiL.jpg


6F426Sf.jpg


Zf0Zsmh.jpg
 
Last edited:

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
Oh what's this?

Even that largest hangar can't fit it properly, the entire nose is cut off and the side engines are clipping thru the walls. And like an iceberg what you see on the surface is only a portion of the real height.

ScreenShot1223.jpg

ScreenShot1224.jpg
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
It's sorta "hangar ready" to everyone who owns the M variant only. Earlier in the week it was discovered there were some hidden Idris in underground hangars under Lorville in Hurston.

Rumor is that during the Anniversary Week Free Fly event they're gonna have a bunch parked on the Spaceport's landing pads in a similar way how they had a Kraken parked during the CitizenCon gameplay demo.


ScreenShot1229.jpg


ScreenShot1228.jpg


ScreenShot1232.jpg



Capital size maneuvering thruster.
ScreenShot1233.jpg


Remote turret
ScreenShot1234.jpg
 

Lorien

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 19, 2004
Messages
5,197
I managed to open one of the side docking ports and as you can see it doesnt have its interior fully physicalized. I don't know if this is due to being partially spawned into the floor or that the interior has been stripped out.

ScreenShot1235.jpg
 
Top