RX Vega Owners Thread

Discussion in 'AMD Flavor' started by cybereality, Aug 15, 2017.

  1. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
  2. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,936
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Well, I did not actually manually set the HBM voltage in Wattman, it did so on it's own when I enabled the manual voltage slider for the GPU voltage. I just went ahead and left that alone. (By the way, where do I find the HBM temp at, the radeon overlay?) All the other temps and results I was reading from the AMD Link App on my phone.)
     
  3. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    You need to use GPU-Z...It will give you the GPU temp, the GPU hotspot temp, and the HBM temp.
     
  4. neural0

    neural0 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    I've spent the past two weeks tweaking, here is the final daily-driver overclock:

    Memory: 1175 MHz (975 mV)
    Core +5%: 1712 MHz (1250 mV)

    https://www.3dmark.com/spy/6209735

    Sapphire Vega 64 w/Alphacool Eiswolf 120 & Eisbaer 280 on CPU

    I feel like there is more room on the Core if I drop the OC on the mem.
     
  5. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    3DMark and games (clock wise) are two different things)...I could run Superpositioon @ 1825Mhz all day long, but not sustain that in games. That is still great for a benchmark though!. Honestly I have found with extensive testing that for 95% of use cases, keeping the HBM as high as possible (as long as your core speed is ~1650Mhz or so) gives better frame times and thus a better experience.
     
  6. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,936
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    GPU never got above 80 and HBM only briefly got to 84. However, there was no GPU hotspot temp and I let it create a log file well running Fire Strike.
     
  7. neural0

    neural0 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    360
    Joined:
    May 22, 2011
    I agree with benchmarks being a good reference point but needing to adjust the settings for individual games. I have had factory OC'd cards that I had to downclock to stock settings because they would CTD during gaming for a few MHz.

    So far the only problem I've run into with these settings are some random blue shading/artifacts on a couple maps in BFV. When I pull my card out to tackle the case's cable management then I will probably go through the hassle of re-clocking the card to eliminate those probs in BFV.
     
  8. NWRMidnight

    NWRMidnight Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    350
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Hot spot temp is off by default, you have to enable it in settings of GPU-Z.
     
  9. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    127
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    So just picked up a Sapphire Nitro+ Vega 64. After some driver issues were worked out card seems great. I have it locked it at

    1665-1715mhz (1690avg) core 1.2v @ 66c
    1100mgz HBM 1.1v @ 70c

    Been trying to read up on info to pull more out of the card was wondering if anyone has some tweaks that have worked for them. Tried the undervolting and didnt get anything more out of it. Was looking at flashing to LC bios and editing some power play tables. Any luck with that??

    Screenshot (3301).png Screenshot (3301).png
     
    Maddness and cybereality like this.
  10. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    It's late so I will have to do a short reply, but that is a Lot Of" HBM voltage" unless you have crap Hynix HBM. . I say that in wuotes since that is not the HBM voltage at all but the "GPU FLOOR VOLTAGE"... You are using way too much of the board's power limit feeding the core that much.

    Which brand ram do you have?
     
  11. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    127
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Samsung. I dropped it to .975 and it locked up/crashed. 1.0 was stable but my core settings were set higher(P6-1632/P7-1742) when that happened.
     
  12. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    127
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Hey does this seem right? trying to undervolt since everyone says it the way to go. but Im down to 980mv no crashes yet.
    Screenshot (3334).png
     
    deruberhanyok likes this.
  13. jmnovak

    jmnovak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    127
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Well after editing Powerplay table (no bios stuff) I think Im maxed out on air. 1700mhz avg clock with 1100mhz HBM. stable at 61-65c core 66-70c HBM. Cooler Sapphire used on this card is great. Got the card on sale for $390 and it keeps close to a 2070 which is going for $100-$130 more so I cant complain.
    Screenshot (3347).png
     
    Auer, deruberhanyok and cybereality like this.
  14. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    That is a very nice score, and a great card...I would love to see that under water with a 200% PL. You would eat a 2070 in anything.
     
  15. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,364
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    How come my reference vega 56 flashed to 64 gets stuck at 800mhz memory even if I set it to 1050mhz in wattman?
     
  16. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,936
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Does it work at the 940Mhz if you do not overclock it?
     
  17. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,364
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    It seems to bounce between 800mhz and 940mhz when I put the speed at 940Mhz in wattman.
    I think I might have flashed this to a custom bios for mining a long while back.
    Hmm..
     
  18. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,936
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I would completely remove the drivers and then install the latest ones. (Use DDU, Display Driver Uninstaller)
     
  19. Dark12

    Dark12 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,364
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    I will do that tonight.
    I appreciate the suggestion!
     
  20. Dan

    Dan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,475
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    I just bought a used Xfx V56 and I cannot believe how fking loud this thing gets. Coming from a GTX 780 than 970.... This is wild.
     
  21. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,936
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Which one? Also, bad fan if it is a custom one?
     
  22. Dan

    Dan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,475
    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    xfx.jpg
    This one, I dont think its a bad fan, It just spins up so loud it reminds me of the 290x days. Right now im only using 1 1080p monitor. In 2-3 weeks ill be rocking 3. Poor GPU is going to be taking off like a fighter jet.
     
    Maddness and ManofGod like this.
  23. Nolan7689

    Nolan7689 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,405
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    You got taken. I’ve yet to read anything good about that model of Vega 56. You’d probably be better off with a reference model
     
  24. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,507
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Watercool that whiny bitch.
     
    Maddness likes this.
  25. mvmiller12

    mvmiller12 Gawd

    Messages:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Well, I am the proud new owner of [H]ardOCP's AMD reference Vega 64 that Kyle sold me this past Thursday. The card is expected to arrive this coming Thursday. I've been skimming this thread off and on for a while now, but now that I am actually the owner of a Vega 64 (coming off of RX 480), I have some questions...

    I am ordering a Barrow liquid block for this card so I can fit it to my custom water loop. My questions are these:

    1) How do I determine what kind of HBM memory is on the card?

    2) Are there any gotchas I need to be aware of before I pull off the reference blower?

    3) How do I acquire and flash a Liquid Cooled BIOS to this card?

    4) What is the best process to use and utilities needed for undervolting and overclocking this card?


    My water loop right now is installed in a Cooler Master C700P and consists of 2x420mm Black Ice Nemesis slim copper rads cooled by 3 Corsair ML-140's each (one front mounted and one top mounted, both with fans blowing in to case, one ML-120 used as rear exhaust), a Koolance CPU-390 block mounted on a Ryzen R7 2700X using PBO, and a XSPC Photon v2 270 D5 pump/res combo. Right now, I also have my monstrosity of a rigged RX480 in it, but that is obviously being replaced by the Vega. Power supply is an older Antec 850. When I go to install this into my loop, I am considering reversing the top rad fans to exhaust and would like opinions on this.
     
  26. THUMPer

    THUMPer 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,041
    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Welcome to the club!

    1) I would guess you have Samsung HBM.

    2) Not that I'm aware of

    3 and 4) You should be able to find everything here. BIOS and tweaking info.
    https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-amd/1634018-official-vega-frontier-rx-vega-owners-thread.html

    https://www.overclock.net/forum/67-amd/1633446-preliminary-view-amd-vega-bios.html

    For overclocking and undervolting I use Overdriven tool
    https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/overdriventool-tool-for-amd-gpus.416116/
     
  27. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    How old is an "older Antec 850W?" Is it a multi-rail unit? If so, and you aren't planning on Crossfire anytime soon, then do yourself a favor and pick up a quality 80+Gold 750/850W unit..

    . I'd normally recommend the Seasonic FP+ Gold 850Ws, but they have issues with Vega that SS both blames AMD for causing and says has been fixed in a revision since Feb of '18. In my experience this is not true (but that is just my experience with 3 failed units).

    The EVGA G2+ are excellent units. Either way it's worth the $80-100 for a new quality unit.


    Congrads on the card, did you get him to sign the shroud?
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  28. mvmiller12

    mvmiller12 Gawd

    Messages:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Thanks, guys, for the info and utility links. I'll be looking that over carefully.

    I also have a Corsair 750 80+ gold power supply I can swap in if I need it, but I will keep in mind that there might be issues.

    Ya know, it never even occurred to me to ask to have him sign it. :(
     
  29. ironforge

    ironforge [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    My msi twin frozr 7950, that i have had for years and years, finally died on me.

    Just bought an ASUS STRIX Vega 56 as a replacement.
     
    Maddness and Pieter3dnow like this.
  30. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,380
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    damn that's what I call a gargantuan performance jump... you are looking at about 3x performance increase..
     
    N4CR, Maddness and ironforge like this.
  31. ironforge

    ironforge [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    I'm looking forward to it! Maybe now I can plow through my steam game backlog!
     
  32. Araxie

    Araxie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,380
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    watch out the CPU usage, at 1080P sadly you will underutilize your GPU being bottlenecked by that CPU, but you you will be mostly fine for most tittles.. anyway the performance jump will worth every penny spent on the Vega56
     
    ironforge likes this.
  33. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    Congratulations...I had a 7950 Msi that used the 7970 PCB abd under water would do 1.375Ghz on the core...it was crazy fast for what it was.

    The 56 should serve you nicely.
     
    N4CR and ironforge like this.
  34. ironforge

    ironforge [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,228
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Yeah I game at 1080P. It should be a speed improvement over the 7950 at least. Will give me a reason to upgrade everything else later.. lol.

    Nice! I had the 7970 PCB on mine also.. ran it on air at ~1.1Ghz.
     
  35. ccityinstaller

    ccityinstaller [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,229
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007

    Your best bet would be to use VSR to 1440P....If you can find a good deal (say ~$100) for a used 3770K then that would be nice upgrade without doing a full platform update. I had one at 5~5.2Ghz AC turbo with direct die water cooling. Was a great chip until the Intel/MS mitigations slowed things down to the point that even with a fresh install on a 960 Evo I was not happy.

    I jumped ship to a 1600@ 4.1Gjz and then a 2700 @ 4.3 (before selling the 2700 before the price cuts since I knew I was getting either an 8 or 12 core Zen2 SKU). Despite the clock speed difference I was super hsppy. The AMD plstform was much smoother and my frame times were much more consistent in games.
     
    ironforge and Maddness like this.
  36. jbean7457

    jbean7457 Gawd

    Messages:
    603
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    I just scored an open box Vega 56 for a great price.. haven't had much time to really dial in the undervolting and overclocking.. I have undervolted the gpu and overclocked the memory up to 1000 (it has samsung according to gpu-z). I'm looking forward to spending more time finding that sweet spot. Running this with a Ryzen 2700x.. first time i've had a fully all Red box in a while, good to be back!
     
    mvmiller12 and THUMPer like this.
  37. mvmiller12

    mvmiller12 Gawd

    Messages:
    860
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Overclocking Vega cards is... interesting. In my (limited as I just recently got a Vega 64) experience, you just dial back the voltage at states 6 and 7 a bit, set the Power Limit up to +50% and you are done. Just change the voltage to match a noise and performance level you are happy with.
     
  38. jbean7457

    jbean7457 Gawd

    Messages:
    603
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Maybe i'm missing something basic, but how do I get my overclocking and undervolting settings to "stick"? I booted up last night and opened up wattman and everything was back to stock?
     
  39. THUMPer

    THUMPer 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,041
    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
  40. jbean7457

    jbean7457 Gawd

    Messages:
    603
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    I Think I know why I got such a good deal on this Vega 56.. what I thought might be a squirrely fan motor might be coil whine? Are these known for coil whine issues? I wear headphones when I game at night so it's not an issue.. but it's the first time I've encountered an issue like this.

    Overdriven tool works great btw