Red Dead Redemption 2

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Hardware' started by Blade-Runner, Jun 22, 2018.

  1. dave343

    dave343 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,607
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000

    Kudo's for tweaking it and having it run good on that hardware... I was wondering if people were out there running it on pre Ryzen CPU's. You also may be able to squeeze some more performance out of that 970 by looking for an older 2600k/mobo combo, or 3770/4770. But at any rate, that's pretty awesome and goes to show you can get stuff running good on older hardware if you take the time to make the right adjustments while keeping the game looking good.
     
    Armenius and SputnikYuri like this.
  2. Island

    Island Gawd

    Messages:
    801
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Thanks for the info Arm-So, does enabling HDR in windows provide a better visual experience and overall better picture? I always thought it made things look worse especially with text in Windows? Wonder if I should just keep it disabled and continue to use Vulkan as I have not encountered any issues with running it
     
  3. SputnikYuri

    SputnikYuri n00b

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Thanks Dave! It’s definitely about setting realistic expectations too. We all love firing up a game, maxing out the settings, and hitting play but that has never been the case for me in Rockstar games. All told I still have spent less than I probably would for a full new pc or console+TV+subscription(!?) (I sure love pc gaming). That said, if you’ve been sitting on that hardware since it came out, look for something new. I’ve been trying to stay with my rig for too long now, but I am truly impressed with how well it’s held up.
     
  4. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,522
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    It depends on how good your calibration is on your panel for SDR mode. In HDR mode the colors, for most people, will have less contrast because all the data is being passed to your panel without any 'enhancements' many like to have in SDR mode.
     
  5. dave343

    dave343 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,607
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    most people’s rigs could probably last a lot longer if settings were tweaked, but most jump into the latest hardware, which granted is why this forum exists because we all love playing with the latest hardware.
     
  6. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    19,166
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    For content consumption outside of entertainment with HDR I turn it off. Almost everything in Windows still uses sRGB, so with HDR you just end up with oversaturation. In some SDR games the increased contrast with HDR is a boon, though. It really depends. For desktop application use and web browsing, though, it's always off.
     
    Nenu likes this.
  7. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,522
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    This is not how I experience HDR in Windows 10 w/ my HDR display. Windows keeps SDR content (Basically everything) within the SDR colorspace, and that gets passed with the proper fixed brightness to your HDR display as the HDR signal.

    If your display is setup right, HDR mode in windows should shouldn't look over-saturated at all. It should look normal, to the point that a lot of people won't like it because a properly setup HDR panel shouldn't be applying different calibration over the HDR source.
     
  8. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,991
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Thats not the experience I got when I tried it.
    It didnt look bad but it was no where near normal, way too strong colours on the desktop. Using a Samsung Q9FN TV and 1080ti with no driver image quality tweaks, completely default.

    As Armenius said, disable HDR when you are not playing a game or movie that uses it.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  9. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,522
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    It may be because your TV is applying different things to the image. On my X27, when it receives a HDR signal, it's displaying only what it gets. You can't adjust contrast/etc.
     
  10. Nenu

    Nenu [H]ardened

    Messages:
    18,991
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    It uses the exact same settings as HDR games, they look bang on correct, really good HDR.
    All the settings can be changed, nothing is greyed out. It has different settings for HDR modes, it doesnt use those of SDR.
     
  11. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    I'm pretty sure the guy who voiced Arthur and whomever in the main cast had to do certain dialogues 2 or 3 times in different tones.

    If you're on a horse chatting with someone on a horse next to you, Arthur's voice is low tone.

    But as soon as you gain distance, he starts raising his voice to even yelling the same dialogue.

    Pretty in depth I'd say.
     
  12. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,548
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Anybody know what causes all my equipped guns (except pistol) to sometimes disappear when I get off my horse?
    I know you store some guns on your horse but 1 second I got em on my back and the next, I hop off and they're gone.
     
  13. Colonel Sanders

    Colonel Sanders 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,940
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    I forget the precise specifics of how it works, but basically your character can and will auto-store the long gun back on the horse. You just gotta make sure you pull it out before you get off (even if you had it when you got back on.)
     
    Eshelmen likes this.
  14. dave343

    dave343 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,607
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Ok, I finally got around to the BIOS update which fixed the launch issue. First benchmark run, I set everything to Ultra @1440P, as well I used 2x MSAA and disabled TAA. It ran "smooth" which is good, because I was expecting to get demolished. A few notes, this was using DX12, and I used the Ultra Preset, but turned off TAA and enabled 2x MSAA, and anything else that could go higher I did. Specs of my rig:

    Ryzen 3700X (stock)
    MSI Gaming Pro Carbon
    Corsair H150i
    32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair C18
    1TB Corsair 4th Gen PCIe
    Gigabyte RX 5700 XT 8GB (latest drivers)

    There was one pause in the bench mark, when he's escaping on horse through town, the benchmark literally paused for at least 1 second, almost like a mid benchmark loading. Then it continued without issue, and I'm assuming this accounts for the 2fps minimum. The benchmark ran pretty good, as you can see my averages are in the higher 30's. I'm currently using the Asus PG279Q which is a G-Sync monitor, so I'm going to hook up a Freesync 2 monitor and see if that helps. I know the Freesync is good between 48-165 so I may have to adjust some settings to get in between those lines.

    I've made some edits to this post, because the original benchmark run put out 58 average, but I knew that didn't seem right. Turns out the Ultra settings didn't stick, and after re-adjusting RDR2 crashed in the settings menu. I then went back in, made sure everything was set to ultra, and I mean everything... water reflections, and physics etc... and so this is the result at 1440P.

    Can anyone who runs with MSAA on, tell me if you also use TAA because I noticed during the benchmark in Valentine, I could see jaggies... which I thought MSAA was going to take care of? So is 2x doing nothing, or do I need to add in TAA?

    Oh, and I love the flat looking tree foliage... :rolleyes:

    Overall I'm happy with the result, but obviously I won't run the game like this, I'd like to be in the steady 55-60 range. I'll have to do some searching online and see what the different settings do, I'm sure a few of the Ultra settings impact FPS quite a bit while not really giving a huge enhancements over high or maybe even medium. Like the water physics. Actually... I bet our FPS tanks because of the horse balls physics? :LOL:

    rdr2_bench.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2019
    Comixbooks and odditory like this.
  15. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    I've been seeing so many articles stating they can't see a difference between high and ultra..
    And high will probably net you another 20 frames..just a heads up.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  16. BeavermanA

    BeavermanA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Holy crap the Epic game launcher is terrible.

    Played for about 30 min and requested a refund. Will wait for Steam and a newer gfx card.
     
  17. Brackle

    Brackle Old Timer

    Messages:
    7,253
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    You realize its the rockstar game launcher that is the issue? You still need to use it when you get it on steam.
     
  18. BeavermanA

    BeavermanA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    I mean the Epic launcher looks and runs like ass. Don't want any part of it at this time.

    The game itself ran fine stability wise after restarting my PC.
     
  19. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004

    You literally need or use the launcher for one thing... to press play. 0_o
    If the game ran smooth, it did its part.

    What on earth else do you need it to do?
     
    Porter_ likes this.
  20. BeavermanA

    BeavermanA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,323
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    I don't need that deuce on my PC lol.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  21. horrorshow

    horrorshow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,341
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    I hate being right sometimes..
     
  22. Vega

    Vega [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,281
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    My god the controls in this game are abysmal. So clunky and laggy.

    And full-screen mode isn't real working full screen, leading to stutters. Epic fail developers.
     
  23. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,548
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    GTA 4 came out like 10 years ago and it's still trash on PC.
    Play now or never. Or just wait a decade and brute force it with new hardware.

    I guess with the steam version you can spend 2 hours benchmarking and get a refund if you don't like it.
     
  24. Eshelmen

    Eshelmen [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,334
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004

    This is what every one says in their first 10 minutes of gameplay.

    And then a few hours kick in and it's not so bad...
     
  25. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,522
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Full screen is working on my setup, but the game has issues with many setups right now.
     
  26. GOD'SlittleSERVANT

    GOD'SlittleSERVANT [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,005
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Was the same on PS4, too. You just need to get used to it.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  27. TheSandman21

    TheSandman21 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    510
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    That's impressive. Makes me almost want to get my old 8320 and GTX 970 back out just to see how well I can get it running on that.
     
    SputnikYuri likes this.
  28. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    19,166
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Seems like water physics is done on the CPU and is a major contributor to poor frames and stutter. Turning it down gives you a major improvement.
     
  29. Comixbooks

    Comixbooks Ignore Me

    Messages:
    13,927
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
  30. SputnikYuri

    SputnikYuri n00b

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Ok maybe not 144 fps in my other title like I said earlier haha. But definitely 60+ fps.

    I’m happy to report that the people saying so are correct, the 970 was/ still is a hefty card that responds very well to overclocking. I believe the one I got is not factory overclocked, which is a bummer... but at the end of my session last night I bumped the boost clock as far as 1499Mhz and the overclock seemed stable! Going higher caused instability and soon a CTD (one of my first or seconds ones in hours of gameplay). This is with no additional voltage. Temps stable at 62C under load. The MSI Twin Frozr cooler is MUCH quieter than the EVGA ACX cooler. Benchmark came back better, Min: 13 Max: 67 Avg: 43 but again the benchmark isn’t really a great tell, the best benchmark so far seems to be walking around Horseshoe Overlook or a town during night, dawn or dusk.

    So, I’m very pleased to get my PC to it’s “final form” and be able to probably get another year or so out of it, when doing a platform upgrade will make most sense to me. There are some really great black friday deals out there but I am definitely convinced ray tracing will be here to stay, so I’ll wait until the tech is more developed and prices come down.
     
  31. SputnikYuri

    SputnikYuri n00b

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Also I checked in MSI Afterburner and it seems my CPU (FX-8350) isn’t even totally bottlenecked, it bumps around in the 75-90% range when it isnt being fully utilized. The GPU is maxed out though :woot:
     
  32. Porter_

    Porter_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,928
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    In some scenes the PC version almost looks a little over-saturated.
     
  33. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,548
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    I ran the benchmark last night at 1024x768 w/ 50% res scale, and was GPU bottlenecked the entire time. ~150fps, which seems kind of low tbh.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2019
    odditory likes this.
  34. InaDaise

    InaDaise [H]Lite

    Messages:
    67
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Wonder what the best film grain setting is for most players, in the Nvidia control panel. It's below the sharpen slider. Film grain at the far right on the slider at 1.0 reduces the grain the most but can cause loss of image quality even though more detail itself is visible. The loss of image quality is something like the visuals look less "alive" or less "rich". So I'm guessing .5 or .3 is better for most, not really sure.
     
  35. Ricky T

    Ricky T [H]Lite

    Messages:
    107
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    CPU usage alone doesn't tell you if your CPU is a bottleneck or not.
     
  36. mr_zen256

    mr_zen256 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,302
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    The game is crashing for me 50% of the time when entering the town Valentine. Happening for anyone else?
     
  37. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,332
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    how 'bout 0. i hate film grain and all that other crap that darkens or blurs the edges of the screen.
     
    ChoGGi, Porter_ and Armenius like this.
  38. Ricky T

    Ricky T [H]Lite

    Messages:
    107
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2019
    Vignetting does not bother me too bad especially on a really large screen. On a typical size computer monitor though it is more noticeable and can be distracting.
     
  39. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    19,166
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Ja, I'm trying to understand how turning off film grain reduces image quality...
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  40. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,548
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    New launcher update for crashes. Some posts on Reddit say it does nothing.

     
    Comixbooks and Eshelmen like this.