Powerful ClockTuner Optimization App For AMD Ryzen Zen 2 CPUs Launches September 29

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
6,695
"The utility works its magic at the Core Complex (CCX) level, and is capable of undervolting each of the clusters individually, and without disabling any of AMD's energy saving technologies. In addition, it configures overclocked settings depending on how the clusters respond, using a step-by-step algorithm to adjust the frequencies of each CCX.

Previously, Guru3D offered up some performance claims based on its testing of a pre-release build. Using the CTR utility, the site was able to achieve a 7 percent performance gain from a 12-core/24-thread Ryzen 9 3900X, with a 9.5 percent reduction in power consumption. And from a 24-core/48-thread Ryzen Threadripper 3960X, the site saw a 5 percent performance jump and 4.5 percent power consumption reduction, from using the utility. Not too shabby."


https://hothardware.com/news/clocktuner-optimization-app-amd-ryzen-zen-2-cpus
 

Grimlakin

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 9, 2001
Messages
1,310
I had read about this tool other places. Seems pretty cool. Anyone here try it yet?
 

VoloxitySF

Gawd
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
676
Nice. I've been waiting to see this in action. Last time I OC'd an AMD CPU was my Opteron 165. Things are much different now. Hope it does a little something nice for my 3800X even though I hear it does better for Ryzen 9+
 

[L]imey

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 9, 2009
Messages
2,026
I'll check this out just for the power draw reduction. Excited to see something cool for the 3700x build I just put together.
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
11,318
I'll check this out just for the power draw reduction. Excited to see something cool for the 3700x build I just put together.
The way I heard it this is mostly only useful on the big cpus with many CCX-es. I don't expect much if any result on my 3700x.
 

TheSlySyl

Gawd
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
582
I'll give it a go. Haven't actually attempted any CCX or core specific overclocks yet for Ryzen.
 

SPARTAN VI

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
7,717
Looks like I'm assed out. This Asrock B450 Fatal1ty ITX board doesn't have LLC options.:(
 

Jon855

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 25, 2005
Messages
9,609
I got to give this a try... Improvement in performance and less power... That's double win win... I'll report back w/ results - my specs in sig.
 

Jon855

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 25, 2005
Messages
9,609
I got to give this a try... Improvement in performance and less power... That's double win win... I'll report back w/ results - my specs in sig.
I just did mine and in the process, I had to update my BIOS first.

Ran mine... An improvement!

Tips;
Follow the guide, it's a bit not direct and straightforward but read it first.
Run Diagnose FIRST
Select Either Undervolt Settings or Overclock Settings based on the log of the Diagnose test.
Click START
Wait for it to finish
Check Benchmark for Results
Either Save & Apply Settings or etc... All up to you at this point.
1601521403070.png
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2017
Messages
725
I just did mine and in the process, I had to update my BIOS first.

Ran mine... An improvement!

Tips;
Follow the guide, it's a bit not direct and straightforward but read it first.
Run Diagnose FIRST
Select Either Undervolt Settings or Overclock Settings based on the log of the Diagnose test.
Click START
Wait for it to finish
Check Benchmark for Results
Either Save & Apply Settings or etc... All up to you at this point.
View attachment 284467
That's freaking sweet!
 

NightReaver

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 20, 2017
Messages
207
Anyone with a 3600/3600X tried this yet?
I'm going to run it later on my 3600X when I'm doing other stuff. Though the notes say it might not work well with AsRock boards, and I'm running an x570 Taichi so we'll see.
 

1_rick

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
1,379
I'm going to run it later on my 3600X when I'm doing other stuff. Though the notes say it might not work well with AsRock boards, and I'm running an x570 Taichi so we'll see.

Well, if you do run it, please post the results.
 

ashmelev75

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2007
Messages
1,636
Anyone with a 3600/3600X tried this yet?

I've tried with 3700x, it tripped the temp alert during diagnose stage. I use the stock cooler.
Anyway, don't see much point in this. Undervolting does not lower the temperature or wattage all that much.
 

1_rick

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
1,379
I've tried with 3700x, it tripped the temp alert during diagnose stage. I use the stock cooler.
Anyway, don't see much point in this. Undervolting does not lower the temperature or wattage all that much.

The limited testing i did with my 3600x when they first came out seemed to show undercoating reducing the cinebench score slightly, so I quit doing it. Otoh, if it did reduce tempos, that would be useful to some people.
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,369
Looks like I'm assed out. This Asrock B450 Fatal1ty ITX board doesn't have LLC options.:(
I have the same board, haven't even looked at this at all, matter of fact, had to RMA just to get 3700x running in my board. My first board said ryzen 3000 ready, but wouldn't boot (was on the latest bios) with my 3700x, but ran 100% stable with my 1600. RMA, new board boots and runs perfect with my 3700x. I did notice it had a different part #, even though it's the same model #, so no clue if there was some weird issue that was fixed.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
13,729
I've tried with 3700x, it tripped the temp alert during diagnose stage. I use the stock cooler.
Anyway, don't see much point in this. Undervolting does not lower the temperature or wattage all that much.


Right, this is just another pointless tweaking tool for people who "feel the need to constantly keep touching something."

IF your changes are under 5%, you are not going to notice.
 

bigddybn

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
7,238
people who "feel the need to constantly keep touching something."
I think the word you are looking for is "Enthusiast" AKA the vast majority of the people on this forum.

Now if you'll excuse me I need to go rebuild my number 3 backup NAS for the 9th time this month. I had a file transfer that night that was 109MB/s instead of 110.
 

sc5mu93

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
307
so when it is done with the tweaking, does it store the settings in the firmware/BIOS, or does it load them at startup of the OS?
I may make temp boot drive to windows, let it tweak itself (store to BIOS), and then switch back to linux.
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
13,729
I think the word you are looking for is "Enthusiast" AKA the vast majority of the people on this forum.

Now if you'll excuse me I need to go rebuild my number 3 backup NAS for the 9th time this month. I had a file transfer that night that was 109MB/s instead of 110.


No, I'm a 25-year computer enthusiast. I just don't feel the need to create Makework for myself (unlike hardcore optimizer like yourself.)

Get it overclocked once, then don't touch it for five years. I have enough issues t deal with in real life that I don't have to make work for myself.

Folks like you are the same people who put countless hours maintaining/constantly changing one of the several-dozen different Windows Managers under Linux...even though they all do basically the same thing. You have to change something to feel like you are making progress (even though you could just leave it alone, sand go do something more productive).

You are either rich (and your free time is limitless), or you have a problem prioritizing your time/saying no to "yet-another-distraction" (most of the folks maintaining free software). I'm assuming you fall into one of the two.

There are a lot more PC Enthusiasts who don't have your problem, but you tend to be the most vocal (and pretend that, because you don't hear anyone else complaining, they all must agree)
 
Last edited:

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
16,687
No, I'm a 25-year computer enthusiast. I just don't feel the need to create Makework for myself (unlike hardcore optimizer like yourself.)

Get it overclocked once, then don't touch it for five years. I have enough issues t deal with in real life that I don't have to make work for myself.

Folks like you are the same people who put countless hours maintaining/constantly changing one of the several-dozen different Windows Managers under Linux...even though they all do basically the same thing. You have to change something to feel like you are making progress (even though you could just leave it alone, sand go do something more productive).

You are either rich (and your free time is limitless), or you have a problem prioritizing your time/saying no to "yet-another-distraction" (most of the folks maintaining free software). I'm assuming you fall into one of the two.

There are a lot more PC Enthusiasts who don't have your problem, but you tend to be the most vocal (and pretend that, because you don't hear anyone else complaining, they all must agree)

Planning your life around 100% production efficiency must really suck. I get the feeling it also causes quite a bit of bitterness.

I'll stick to enjoying the things I enjoy doing even if it doesn't garner your perfect efficiency seal of approval.
 

bigddybn

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 21, 2006
Messages
7,238
No, I'm a 25-year computer enthusiast. I just don't feel the need to create Makework for myself (unlike hardcore optimizer like yourself.)

Get it overclocked once, then don't touch it for five years. I have enough issues t deal with in real life that I don't have to make work for myself.

Folks like you are the same people who put countless hours maintaining/constantly changing one of the several-dozen different Windows Managers under Linux...even though they all do basically the same thing. You have to change something to feel like you are making progress (even though you could just leave it alone, sand go do something more productive).

You are either rich (and your free time is limitless), or you have a problem prioritizing your time/saying no to "yet-another-distraction" (most of the folks maintaining free software). I'm assuming you fall into one of the two.

There are a lot more PC Enthusiasts who don't have your problem, but you tend to be the most vocal (and pretend that, because you don't hear anyone else complaining, they all must agree)
Wow.

Climb down off your pedestal, pull the stick out of your rear end and realize that not everything in the world is a personal attack. The rest of us saw the humor. Get over yourself.
 

Aegir

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 15, 2020
Messages
417
And here I stand upon a mountain between valleys.

On one side, busy-body over-achievers who can't keep their hands off their hardware, and on the other, "I only do REAL work" "All work, no play," snobs on the other.

So here I am, tinkering around in my hardware in order to achieve that perfectly optimized configuration that enables me to do SIGNIFICANTLY more ACTUAL work, in 97% less time.
You fools are so beneath me it's not even funny. It's worse than funny. It's hilarious.
 

Bowman15

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 7, 2015
Messages
1,466
And here I stand upon a mountain between valleys.

On one side, busy-body over-achievers who can't keep their hands off their hardware, and on the other, "I only do REAL work" "All work, no play," snobs on the other.

So here I am, tinkering around in my hardware in order to achieve that perfectly optimized configuration that enables me to do SIGNIFICANTLY more ACTUAL work, in 97% less time.
You fools are so beneath me it's not even funny. It's worse than funny. It's hilarious.

LOL must be nice knowing in your mind only how superior you are! 😁
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,676
Let's see how ye old 3950x does with this.

Edit: This thing definitely roots out the weak leg CCX pretty quick, that's for sure.
 

sappyse107

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 21, 2000
Messages
477
3600x water cooled on Asus B450-F. Think ill leave it stock.
 

Attachments

  • nope.png
    nope.png
    128.2 KB · Views: 0

Verado

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
282
3600x water cooled on Asus B450-F. Think ill leave it stock.

why does your 3600x score lower than my air-cooled 3600, while mine has to deal with so many applications running that i'm using 12gb before even starting cb20?
 

sc5mu93

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
307
so when it is done with the tweaking, does it store the settings in the firmware/BIOS, or does it load them at startup of the OS?
I may make temp boot drive to windows, let it tweak itself (store to BIOS), and then switch back to linux.
Thought I would bump this since new revision was released.
For those who have tried, do the optimized setting get loaded at OS boot or are they written to the UEFI?
 
Top