Post Your Workstations 2017

xj0hnx

n00b
Joined
Dec 6, 2017
Messages
1
My current setup



i7-920 on a EVGA x58 Classified (yes I skipped a couple generations), XFX RX 580 8gb, some HDD's an SSD. LG 49UB8200 4k TV for the main monitor, and a 24" Sony on the side. My dad built the desk back in the early 80's.

And a pile of boxes full of parts waiting for my motherboard, which should be here today, and my new system will be born ...



i5-8600k, MSI Z370M Mortar, Samsung 960 EVO 256gb m.2, Seasonic Focus Plus 850FX, 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200, should be pretty nice compared to my current rig.
 

bbs lm-r

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
292
I have a corner office in my basement. These pictures are meh due to lighting, tight space and stitching multiple pictures together.

[pic]

[pic]
I spy Subaru drive performance mag, what do you drive? Hopefully your ringlands and/or rod bearings are still intact :)
 
D

Deleted member 126051

Guest
MyRig2017a.jpg


Sorry about the cable rat's-nest. Didn't have a lot of time to get the monitors set up. Cleaning it up and aligning the panels properly are my New Years resolution.
 

spugm1r3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
1,153
View attachment 48070

Sorry about the cable rat's-nest. Didn't have a lot of time to get the monitors set up. Cleaning it up and aligning the panels properly are my New Years resolution.
Though I completely and emphatically understand, I love how new monitors justifies having power and ethernet cables strewn across your desk :)
 
D

Deleted member 126051

Guest
are you sure you're not overloading the UPS? what's the VA and what's the total consumption of your system?

Only one monitor is hooked to the UPS. Basically so I can shut down in case of power loss if it becomes necessary.
The other two are hooked to invididual surge suppressors.

So the only things hooked to the UPS are:

  • The computer itself.
  • The cablemodem and router.
  • One monitor.
Don't have a Kill-A-Watt to do accurate measurement.

My last power bill was 323 kWh.
According to the software on my UPS, my rig pulled down 240 kWh.
Granted, that's ONLY what's connected to the UPS.

The UPS is telling me that it's good for 25-ish minutes in a power loss at current draw.

Now, I don't necessarily trust that.
I DID have a power loss earlier this year.

The building owners did work on the baseboard heating and the controller in my room blew it's seal when they were flushing the system (water all over).
During the course of drying everything out, I tried to bring heaters in to help augment the fans.
POP! Blew the breakers.

Computer was still up and running and the UPS was screaming, as it should.

I had the machine shut down in under 5 minutes.

Honestly, that's good enough for me.
 
D

Deleted member 126051

Guest
Though I completely and emphatically understand, I love how new monitors justifies having power and ethernet cables strewn across your desk :)

Basically I've been working 7 days a week, 12-16 hour days since the beginning of November. Christmas Day was the first non-sleep down-time I've actually had in that entire period.
Yes, I COULD say "no" to that kind of work. But $165/hour + my base salary? I'm not saying no unless I'm falling over dead!

The monitors arrived 11/30 (Thursday) and were put in that evening as quickly as possible so I could get back to work.
 

spugm1r3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
1,153
Basically I've been working 7 days a week, 12-16 hour days since the beginning of November. Christmas Day was the first non-sleep down-time I've actually had in that entire period.
Yes, I COULD say "no" to that kind of work. But $165/hour + my base salary? I'm not saying no unless I'm falling over dead!

The monitors arrived 11/30 (Thursday) and were put in that evening as quickly as possible so I could get back to work.
I have nowhere near your schedule and my cables are a mess a good 90% of the year, as are most of the setups are here. I get a new a mouse and the carefully packed mess of cables behind the desk just explodes. This wasn't a judgement, rather a commiseration over a common problem :). By the way, what the hell do you do? Underwater welding? The only jobs I know pulling that kind of rate are high risk, high skill jobs which remind me why I'm a desk jockey instead.
 
D

Deleted member 126051

Guest
I have nowhere near your schedule and my cables are a mess a good 90% of the year, as are most of the setups are here. I get a new a mouse and the carefully packed mess of cables behind the desk just explodes. This wasn't a judgement, rather a commiseration over a common problem :). By the way, what the hell do you do? Underwater welding? The only jobs I know pulling that kind of rate are high risk, high skill jobs which remind me why I'm a desk jockey instead.

I'm a desk jockey too. I just have a very specialized skillset and clients who make government security types look like Windows XP users sharing their hard drive to the Internet.
My primary job is company network architect.
But I started out in their support division. And I'm basically AM first-tier support (basically the person shit gets dumped to when NOBODY else can figure out what's up). I've told my bosses I don't care for "Whipping Boy", so they've christened me their "Esoteric Technical Situation Specialist".
It's nice being the company rock star. And it pays great (though I know some Cisco guys who out-earn me :mad: ). It's just we had a swath of clients at the end of the year that basically DEMANDED me, in between all my other scheduled stuff.
And since I'm a greedy motherfucker...
 

Grathrax

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2005
Messages
333
I used to have two of those same desks. Damn things were bulletproof.
Unless you screw up taking them apart and the main horizontal desk turns forward, stripping the screws/holes horribly and runing the desk...
 

spugm1r3

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2012
Messages
1,153
Unless you screw up taking them apart and the main horizontal desk turns forward, stripping the screws/holes horribly and runing the desk...
Hah... fair point. But also nothing a few self tapping screws can't help resolve :) I suppose I should have included some fine print in my statement.
 

jetfire

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
182
Jetfire, how many sq. ft. is the room? Is the 1238A too large for a room of that size? because that pair is 500W + 250W + 200W

yes they are way to big for my room i just had to have them, at full power they are so loud you cant really sit in the same room as them and also the house starts to fall apart lol.;)
 

Happy Hopping

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
6,764
Jetfire, how many sq. ft. is the room? Is the 1238A too large for a room of that size? because that pair is 500W + 250W + 200W

yes they are way to big for my room i just had to have them, at full power they are so loud you cant really sit in the same room as them and also the house starts to fall apart lol.;)
then, I'll stick w/ aiming at the Focal at 450W, I'm pretty sure that should do it.

For now, my 225W is good, but if I turn the vol. up, the vocal cracks. So that seems like the wattage is not strong enough
 

|Tch0rT|

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
1,240
then, I'll stick w/ aiming at the Focal at 450W, I'm pretty sure that should do it.

For now, my 225W is good, but if I turn the vol. up, the vocal cracks. So that seems like the wattage is not strong enough
If you have 225watts on tap and the vocals crack watts aren't the problem. Mid and highs use very little watts. Either you're turning it up too loud, it's a flaw in the recording, the driver is damaged, etc...
 

Burticus

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 7, 2005
Messages
4,186
I've just noticed how many people use the plastic folding tables as desks. I've done that at a lan party, but at home that would drive me crazy.
 
Top