Post your mining rigs!

Deacon_Jones1988

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 8, 2012
Messages
159
After seeing all of these mining rigs on here.... I feel like a dumbass, wasting my time mining with 2x7970s. Which I plan/planned on getting some of the dual miners just to mine some scrypt coin.
Some badass rigs you all have there.

Stay [H]
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,309
Here is my current and only mining rig. 6 750TI's hashing X11 coins

2014-03-16%2019.37.50.jpg
 

oblox

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1,059
Selling my 80MH+ X11 farm (46 GPUs, gold rated PSUs, DDR3, powered risers, etc in 13 rigs) for 6 BTC. Broken down and ready to go in western Wisconsin (54701). 95% of the parts have existing factory warranties and are unregistered (I have all the old invoices in my Newegg, Amazon and Tiger Direct accounts). Nearly everything has factory boxes, manuals, and accessories. Must pick up.
 
Last edited:

GonzoP

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
3,660
I do appreciate the mining community fire sale on 79xx cards these days. A local miner just sold me a 7970 for $120 and he's got more at that price if wanted a second one.
 

pbassjunk

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2012
Messages
441
Fail me.

77 grid seeds... does 26 mh/s total, about 450w.

Also have a dozen blizzard/fury (1.3mh/s each), 2 22mh/s cyclones, 2 14-15? mh/s black widows. I'll get a picture, but they are boring in comparison.
 

atp1916

[H]ard|DCoTM x1
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
4,809
Those are scrypt devices, Sunni. Not SHA stuff.

Each of those gridseeds do about 330-350khs each.
 

fumbduck

n00b
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
20
http://i.imgur.com/PowEicy.jpg

awful picture with potato phone

Corsair 1200w AXi Platinum
Thermaltake 1250w Platinum
Asrock H97 anniversary
Celeron - Whatever the cheapest was
3x r9 290x Reference (will flash these to 390x eventually)
1x r9 290
1x r9 280x
1x r9 280

all frankensteined together off of craigslist and at and ebay for less than 900$. My main desktop mines with an r9 290 as well
 

fumbduck

n00b
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
20
the reference 290x are loud as hell. Everything else is pretty quiet. but yes, its loud and hot and power hungry. Luckily power is cheap here in TX and mining will be over soon after winter. I'm ready to get rid of it!
 

sauria

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 8, 2005
Messages
90
the reference 290x are loud as hell. Everything else is pretty quiet. but yes, its loud and hot and power hungry. Luckily power is cheap here in TX and mining will be over soon after winter. I'm ready to get rid of it!
How was your return on investment now ?
 

fumbduck

n00b
Joined
Mar 1, 2015
Messages
20
How was your return on investment now ?

i spent a total of 864$ over the course of a few months, plus using a PSU and 280x I already had, and now I have something like 340 ethereum worth over 4000$. I wish i had setup 10 machines, but I definitely wouldn't start now. The heat here in Texas this summer was a bit much to deal with and I'm sure stressed the hell out of the hardware, but everything is working well. I am ready for it to be over with and I sit on it for a few years.
 

nvgrim

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 1, 2013
Messages
1,743
I miss the mining days, especially the alt coin boom in 2013. Those were some fun days having tons of GPU's running in my spare room looking like a mad man. It was like the wild west, everyday a new coin came out, btc price rises, diff rises, the pool you're in just keeps getting bigger and bigger everyday. I kinda wish ASIC's for scrypt coins never came out, and that it was strictly GPU/CPU only...
 

DuronClocker

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
1,063
Figure this needs a fresh pic after 6+ months of nothingness.

Current setup as listed in sig:
Miner 1.5 | MSI Z77A-GD65 | G1610 | 4GB DDR3 | 5x RX 470 + 2x RX 480 | Rosewill Quark 1200 | ethOS
Miner 2.5 | MSI Z87-G55 | G3220 | 4GB DDR3 | 7x RX 470 | EVGA 850BQ + Antec 430HE | ethOS
Miner 3.5 | Asrock Z87 Killer | G3220 | 4GB DDR3 | 5x RX 470 + 1x RX 480 | EVGA 850BQ | ethOS

The Asrock has been pretty finicky lately. Kinda bummed, having trouble with a few of the PCIe slots these days, so its only running 4 of the 6 cards at the moment. Replacing it with an MSI Z97 Gaming 5 (can you tell I'm an MSI fanboy?) as soon as it shows up and have another RX 470 on the way to fill that one out to 7 cards.

With 18 cards running, I'm right at 475-480mh/s currently. Everything is running at 1050 core, powertune level 3, and memory flashed with 1500 straps running between 1900-2000 depending on RAM type.. been able to get the Samsung chips to 2000. My Elpidas and Hynix's generally don't like anything over 1900.

Need to pick up another PSU and find some more deals on a few more cards. I've got enough room on that wall and on my switch for one more machine there, so I'll run the Asrock with 4 cards for a while and then maybe try to find a deal on another MSI Z77A-GD65 / Z77A-GD55 / Z77 MPower to expand up to 7 cards.



Still need to tidy up the wires a bit, but I haven't had the time just yet. Just moved things to this new layout (hanging the cards from the mounting brackets) in the last couple days, but I'm really happy with it for ease of access and airflow.



EDIT 5/20/2017:
Replaced the Asrock board with an MSI Z87-G45 and got a 7th card running, was at 550-560Mh/s.
Then bought another 7 cards for the MSI Z97 Gaming 5 but decided to mess around again with the Asrock board to see what I could figure out. Few more BIOS tweaks (I've found that PCI-e Gen 2 across the board works best for me, not 2-1-1), and I got 6 of the 7 PCIe slots working and mining again. Looks like I managed to break one of the presence pins on the 7th slot (PCIE0), so I guess I'm limited to 6 cards on that board. Now at ~715Mh/s.

With the recent spike in ether value, I've decided to swap the 1080Ti over to mining ether exclusively and got away from Nicehash. It is happily adding another 35-36Mh/s @ somewhere around 150w, putting my total right now at about 750Mh/s.

Still have the Z97 Gaming 5 doing nothing, so I decided to go ahead and pick up 6 more cards to fill it up. I'll end up with 4x 7-gpu rigs and 1x 6-gpu rig. Now I'm definitely done. Garage is getting super hot now, and I'm trying to figure out the best way to move air in/through/out. As it is, now I have to run another circuit to the garage before I can get the 5th machine up and running anyways. Think I'm making the jump to 240v. Should put me into the 930-940Mh/s range... soooo close to 1Gh/s!!
 

Attachments

  • miners.jpg
    miners.jpg
    224.4 KB · Views: 315
Last edited:

Hitti2

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
335
2011GB Burstcoin mining.
Acer Predator G9-591, 6700HQ, 16GBRam, 256M.2 SSD OS 100GB allocated for Bursting, 1TB internal drive Bursting.
1TB WD Black WD1003FBYZ inserted into a ICY DOCK EZ-Dock MB981U3S-1S 2.5"/3.5" SATA HDD/SSD USB 3.0 & eSATA Docking Station over USB3 connection.

  1. 32gb SD
  2. 16gb SD
  3. 8gb SD
The third sd card is inserted internally into the laptops sd card slot.

The 32GB SD card is on USB3 device transcend thingy, shown in pic.

Thumbs Up!

Hope near future I can pickup a USB3 hub and HDD/SSD docking stations.
cc8X0NP.jpg
 

Hitti2

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Messages
335
Plotted: Burstcoin.

C:\100GB: Raid 0 256GB OS drive. 2 x Samsung 840 pro 128GB SSD
D:\100GB: 700GB Storage HDD
E:\1TB: 1TB HDD
F:\74.5GB: 80GB HDD
H:\55.7GB: Vertex II 60GB SSD
One 15GB and one 30GB SD cards.
Will be adding another 1 to 2 TB hdd's soon. I've got 25 bucks in BTC coming a week from now, refunded that icydock adding 35.99, got 3-4 bucks unconfirmed btc to be returned soon from blockchain, btc fee mess up, 4 bucks in burstcoin. I should have enough for a good 2TB hdd in a week,.

uTYhqDi.png

MVF01AC.png

MNkuqGz.jpg

idrXHH0.jpg
 

DuronClocker

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
1,063
Prettiness doesn't count when it comes to profitability, right? Maybe one of these days when it isn't so hot out th--, well that won't happen til I turn them off, so I guess they'll never get cleaned up.


All running ethOS on 16GB USB sticks..

4 7-GPU rigs:
MSI Z77A-GD65 | Celeron G1610 | 4GB RAM | Rosewill Quark 1200w Platinum PSU | 2x RX 480 + 5x RX 470 >>> 185Mh/s
MSI Z87-G45 | Pentium G3220 | 4GB RAM | EVGA 850BQ Bronze + HP 1200w server (platinum) | 1x RX 480 + 6x RX 470 >>> 183Mh/s
MSI Z87-G55 | Pentium G3220 | 4GB RAM | EVGA 850BQ Bronze + HP 1200w server (platinum) | 7x RX 470 >>> 183Mh/s
MSI Z97 Gaming 5 | Pentium G3220 | 4GB RAM | Seasonic SS-750KM3 + HP 1200w server (platinum) | 1x RX 480 + 6x RX 470 >>> 182Mh/s

1 6-GPU rig:
ASRock Fatal1ty Z87 Killer | Pentium G3220 | 4GB RAM | Antec Neo 430HE + HP 1200w server (platinum) >>> 5x RX 570 + 1x RX 470 >>> 162Mh/s
^^ This used to run 7 GPUs but started having some issues after swapping some parts around. Turns out it looks like I somehow managed to break one of the pins in the first 1x slot. I assume from having the slot jumpered and shoving a riser in. Pretty sure it'd work fine again if I solder a jumper wire on the back of the PCB, but I don't have another card to throw in it anyways, and they are far too expensive now to pick another one up for it anyways.

Single GTX 1080 Ti @ 37Mh/s in my desktop puts me just over 930Mh/s. So close to 1Gh/s :(
 

Attachments

  • image1 (4).JPG
    image1 (4).JPG
    296.8 KB · Views: 271
Last edited:

6foot4geek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
1,287
^^^
Heh nice setup buddy, I'm jealous. I assume this is in your home, did you have to make any changes to your electrical setup to accommodate the power draw?
 

DuronClocker

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 12, 2004
Messages
1,063
^^^
Heh nice setup buddy, I'm jealous. I assume this is in your home, did you have to make any changes to your electrical setup to accommodate the power draw?

Thanks! Carefully balanced across a couple circuits available in the garage. I've basically decided on running a 60A sub-panel out there and converting to 220v for the extra few % efficiency.. just haven't pulled the trigger on the copper yet. I really don't feel like climbing around in the attic laying out the conduit now in summer :(
 

6foot4geek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
1,287
I hear that, its 100F+ here in AZ for awhile! I was tripping breakers with 2 x 4GPU rigs on a single circuit. I had extension cords strewn across the house for outlets on different circuits.
Fire hazard + my wife hates the noise and heat but come'on this shits a blast :D
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,359
I am just mining Burst right now with this machine. I have a single 4TB drive dedicated to Burst, and a friend is going to buy me an 8TB to add to the machine and we will split the profit.
IMG_1074.JPG
 

6foot4geek

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 27, 2008
Messages
1,287
NkExC7s.jpg

My mining rack, it's pretty toasty but it's organized and gets the job done.

Ethereum: 62MH/s +/-
Burst: 100TB +/-

I just got it all consolidated this weekend and still have a few kinks to work out:
- Relatively low Ethereum hashrate, I need to undervolt my cards and boost the mem clock speed.
- Burst drives are spread out on a few rigs but all on the same pool (which I believe get's me a penalty and it's hard to monitor the stats so I'm considering standing up a pool, solo-mining or a proxy).
- I want to diversify into Siacoin a little so I'll add some storage or change my allocation.

To the moon!
 

Attachments

  • jpNo90x.jpg
    jpNo90x.jpg
    160.5 KB · Views: 220
  • rQOScqM.jpg
    rQOScqM.jpg
    329.5 KB · Views: 222
  • X6gFCKr.jpg
    X6gFCKr.jpg
    132 KB · Views: 226
  • raPEUse.jpg
    raPEUse.jpg
    233.3 KB · Views: 218

workshop35

Gawd
Joined
Nov 24, 2013
Messages
663
Here's mine from 2014. Couple 280x's, 7950's, and three 7850's. Also a pile of gridseeds hashing away at litecoin.
20140406_214057.jpg
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,359
I moved my Burst mining drives into my old cube, has an E6700 and HD5770, 250GB SSD, 2x 4TB drives, and will have a couple more 2TB drives when I am done plotting them.
I am using the Dual Xeon to do the plotting since it does 32K nonces/min.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1196.JPG
    IMG_1196.JPG
    187.2 KB · Views: 227
  • IMG_1195.JPG
    IMG_1195.JPG
    141.4 KB · Views: 209

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,428
I moved my Burst mining drives into my old cube, has an E6700 and HD5770, 250GB SSD, 2x 4TB drives, and will have a couple more 2TB drives when I am done plotting them.
I am using the Dual Xeon to do the plotting since it does 32K nonces/min.

is 8-12TB for bursting really enough to warrant electricity costs?
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
18,359
is 8-12TB for bursting really enough to warrant electricity costs?
I am getting almost 60 coins/day after 10 days, half of those days were with 4TB.
That is about $1/day in Burst. I am pretty sure that it won't cost $30/mo in power for this one machine.
Our power bill is about $130/mo and I have 3 machines running 24/7 (4 now), and another gaming desktop being used 10-12 hours day.
I am also in the garage so I have a portable AC unit in here using about 1500watts for 12-16 hours a day.
That AC unit is using more power than all the machines combined.
 

mnewxcv

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
8,428
I am getting almost 60 coins/day after 10 days, half of those days were with 4TB.
That is about $1/day in Burst. I am pretty sure that it won't cost $30/mo in power for this one machine.
Our power bill is about $130/mo and I have 3 machines running 24/7 (4 now), and another gaming desktop being used 10-12 hours day.
I am also in the garage so I have a portable AC unit in here using about 1500watts for 12-16 hours a day.
That AC unit is using more power than all the machines combined.

thanks for the reply. I have been on the fence about getting into the game. Might have to give it a shot. If I can get like 5 drives between 1 and 1.5TB for $10/TB, think its worthwhile?
 
Top