Post your Intel Burn Test Temps

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SonDa5, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Just a basic default 10 time run.

    Download latest versing 2.53 here: http://www.xgamingstudio.com/forum/showthread.php?9-RELEASE-IntelBurnTest-v2-53

    IBT 2.53 requires windows 7 SP1 to support AVX processing. http://software.intel.com/en-us/avx/ AVX has alot to do with performance on applications that support AVX. Part of the Sandy Bridge processing performance upgrades over prior architectures.

    How long did it take? What were your temps? What type of cooling did you use? Photos? Screen shots? CPU-Z validation links? Running Windows 7 with SP1?


    I'm currently playing around with a water cooled 2500k on a MSI Z68 GD65 G3 MB. I am working on finding a stable turbo boost/auto voltage setting.

    So far my 2500k is stable at 4.6GHZ with these settings:

    [​IMG]
    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2191062

    Using a custom water cooling loop for cooling.


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    Components of water loop.

    CPU block Swiftech Apogee HD
    GPU block Aquagrafx GTX 470 with nickel coating
    Tubing PrimoFlex Pro LRT UV Blue Tubing -7/16in. ID X 5/8in. OD
    Pump Swiftech MCP655-B
    Radiators 1x120 and 1x360 Black Ice Gen 2 GT Stealth
    Reservoir EK-Multioption RES X2 - 150 Basic
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  2. djgizmo

    djgizmo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Nice load temps. Wish my ibt temps were only 60c
     
  3. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,890
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I am hitting mid 70's with my i7 2600K @ 4.44Ghz and a Corsair H60 Hydro Cooler with 2 fans.
     
  4. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008

    Not bad.



    I increased the stress test settings to maximum and ran it.


    [​IMG]

    This is with the Turbo Boost over clocked and auto voltage working. Lowest multiplier is 16 and highest is 46.

    http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2192781
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  5. djgizmo

    djgizmo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Before with my H50 using MX-2 using push pull exhaust fans.
    [​IMG]

    After with my H60 using stock TIM using push pull intake fans.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. FireBean

    FireBean Gawd

    Messages:
    994
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    I use CoreTemp, but here is my stuff. I'm getting lower performance on the test due to ram speed I think. I'm only running at 1333 but I got 16GB of it.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. djgizmo

    djgizmo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Nice wc setup. Very clean. Almost didn't notice it.
     
  8. tunatime

    tunatime 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,011
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    wow nice temps op i thought i was doing good at 4.8ghz 1.38v on my 3930k by keeping my load temps under 50c though 3 of my cores run 40-41c and the other 3 run 48-52, this is on 60f chilled water btw
     
  9. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    My 5.2ghz boot up. http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2194378


    As I type this I'm running P95 blend at a little over 5ghz.. Been going for 10 minutes and temps are in low 60s.


    Prime95 runs easy for me but when I try to run intel Burn test it's much more tougher even though it doesn't take very long at all to do 10 passes.
     
  10. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008

    Very nice 5GHZ stable. Nice Voltage as well. Any hints on getting the voltage setting dialed in? Having a tough time getting stable IBT at 5GHZ.
     
  11. FireBean

    FireBean Gawd

    Messages:
    994
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Set the PLL at 1.9125v Also, give all the other voltages a VERY slight bump as well. FIW it will do 4.7 at 1.35v but it needs a helluva jump for 5Ghz. Also, set IBT to stress to Very High. At standard, it barely has a chance to stress the cores because it gets the work done so quickly. I ran a couple of passes at 12GBs of Ram and called it stable. Took a lot of time, but I think it's stable.

    I'm thinking of just keeping at 4.7 so that I don't wear out the processor though. I can afford a few more minutes for my projects to complete. (3d stuff)
     
  12. Idef1x

    Idef1x Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    227
    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    The hardware is in my signature. I know the shot of the interior is crap, but the lighting is bad, and the only camera I own is my phone. The test was done without the sidepanels on - the temperature might have gone a few degress higher if I had kept them on.

    If the temperatures are too tiny to read, it says: 62, 61, 61, 58 maximum. I would guess the room temperature to be 21-22c.

    EDIT: Mind you, the stress level was set at maximum. I can't figure out if the time it took to complete was normal or what. Seems my 920 is getting beat down by a 2500k.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  13. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Great looking RIG. Very nice temps for i7-920.


    I sold my I7 X58 stuff to build S1155 2500k. With that cooling set up you can tame any S1155 SB or IB.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  14. Silent Knight

    Silent Knight [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,212
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Only high end CPUs are shown here,i might aswell as GTFO of here.

    Since IBT and Linx use the same library,can i use Linx instead of IBT?
     
  15. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008


    Linx seems tricky to set up to run properly. IBT is simple install and run. Start a Linx thread if you want to share Linx temps. This thread is focusing on IBT. Post your IBT results if you can. Thanks. :cool:
     
  16. Aaron_ATX

    Aaron_ATX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Scythe Mugen 3, single fan, pushing. Case closed. Vcore is 1.404 under load. 47x10

    Toasty! Still dialing in o/c, trying to get temps down.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2012
  17. FireBean

    FireBean Gawd

    Messages:
    994
    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Your gonna have to go water for anything faster. That is quite toasty. Currently, mine hovers around 60c at 4.7@1.35v
     
  18. Aaron_ATX

    Aaron_ATX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    If I have to stay at 1.4vcore I agree, trying to get it lower and stay stable. I dont fold, and so far gaming I havent seen any temps over 65c... but I still think I can fine tune it on air more.
     
  19. fenixv

    fenixv Gawd

    Messages:
    609
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
  20. delvryboy

    delvryboy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,486
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Running the i7-860 @ 4.48(22x204) w/ 1.32 vcore. Temps at 77ish on all cores w/ a H60 and push/pull gentle typhoons.

    I'll get some screens if i decide to play with it again. Handbrake will break 55 degrees depending on the work load, but it usually sits around 52-53 on all 4.

    Also, have the H60 fans exhausting with 1 intake fan.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. delvryboy

    delvryboy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,486
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    I'll probably drop the overclock though. It will do 22x183 @ 1.21 vcore and not break a sweat: <60 degrees on IBT. I mostly encode/photoshop and the difference between 4.0 and 4.5 is negligible.
     
  22. Dapperdan

    Dapperdan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,963
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    [​IMG]

    Is it me or are those temps to high for the kuhler h2o 920 cooler? I did the asus auto tune so Im not sure if I should press it or not higher. I restarted at 4.7 so I kept it at 4.6.
     
  23. mrkazador

    mrkazador Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Hyper 212+ with single stock fan.

    IIRC, the max temp I've seen is 81c on a 20pass run of IBT on Maximum.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Aaron_ATX

    Aaron_ATX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Damn, those times seem very fast mrkazador ~ an i5 clocked at 4.4? is your ram overclocked? 144 seconds was the fastest i've gotten so far and that was at 4.7ghz .....
     
  25. mrkazador

    mrkazador Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    134
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
  26. Aaron_ATX

    Aaron_ATX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Hmm, just read that hyper threading is supposed to lower the gflops and time to complete each test. Ill have to try that out.
     
  27. MaZa

    MaZa 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,719
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    2500K @ 4.7ghz, Thermalright HR-02 Macho and Silverstone Raven 2 case.

    [​IMG]



    Not too shabby considering its on air and still virtually silent. I am more concerned with the uneven temperatures between cores, and reseating the cooler didnt help.
     
  28. MaZa

    MaZa 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,719
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008

    If I would have to take a wild guess I would say that auto tune has been bit extreme with the vcore voltage, they usually are from what I have read. If your voltages are on manual/fixed (and not in offset, dunno how the set those) setting try dropping it down step by step until you find the freezing point in IBT, then turn it a notch back up and test it few times on IBT and Prime95. You should see a hefty improvement in temperatures.
     
  29. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008

    Nice results.

    What are you running your ram at?
     
  30. MaZa

    MaZa 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,719
    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    At their stock speed, 1600mhz. Dont see much point in ram overclocking.
     
  31. sram

    sram [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,323
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Is it me or are those temps in the OP really idle temps? I don't see the 100% in the load indicator and the CPU is clocked at 1.6GHz and using the lowest multiplier?

    I hate to use the Max reading in coretemp and realtemp.
     
  32. Stanfiem

    Stanfiem Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Dont worry about the different temps. I had a 2500k that had a similar spread as yours did except one of my cores was a solid 10 degrees higher under load constantly. I read up on the core temps and posted on some forums and everyone told me that it was normal. I reseated the heat sink 3 times and that did not help. after 2 weeks the chip died, dont let this scare you, and I got an rma for another chip and it has a similar spread in temps across the cores except there is not a 10 degree difference. the uneven temps seems to be normal for these chips. As long as they are within 5 or so degrees of each other most of the time you should be ok.

    I am going to post my temps soon for an on going overclock I have. Im at x44 right now with temps at about 64
     
  33. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008

    Mine are closer.


    I put a drop of thermal paste in the center and then carefully apply pressure down while I tighten the heat sink set screws. A few days after running I go back and make sure the screws feel even in pressure with hand pressure. Not too tight, just snug.

    The difference in temps may be because the TP needs time to spread out and "burn in". There is normally a "burn in" period for most TP.

    I'm running IC diamond TP.
     
  34. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008

    As seen in the screen shot ITB has just finished running and core temps are at idle, minimum temps and max temps. The max temps are the important ones to see how hot the cpu got during the test.

    The reason why the CPU is clocked down to 1.6GHZ is because I am using Turbo Boost to over clock and when my CPU is idle without load it down clocks to 1.6GHZ. However during load it goes to 4.6GHZ on all four cores. I provided a valid CPU-Z link to see the CPU speed during load.
     
  35. Stanfiem

    Stanfiem Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    I am pretty sure they should be I was implying that it was bad that my chip was 10 degrees different because it ended up dieing with no overlcock at all on it.


    The paste I use does not have a burn in time Or it is like 10 minutes It is the Tuniq tx4 a great paste. I am pretty satisfied my temps are much "tighter" with my new chip.never varying within a few degrees of each other 95 percent of the time.

    Here is my overclock. Case is closed and the ambient temp is 69-70 farenheit so I think that is like 21 celcius
    [​IMG]

    Not to thread jack but I am working on an overclock right now and would love all of the guys in here to give the advice if you have any on this thread...http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1667181...Thanks for any help.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2012
  36. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Stanfiem

    Very nice temps. Cooler Master 212+ works well.
     
  37. Aaron_ATX

    Aaron_ATX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,801
    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    People really should state approx ambient temperatures and if the case is completely closed... not a fair comparison otherwise :p
     
  38. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008


    More information the better. My case is closed.
     
  39. Stanfiem

    Stanfiem Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    364
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    My case is closed ambient temp is about 69-70 farenheit
     
  40. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,403
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    In this photo you can see Prim95 running with 100% load. Max temps were with IBT.

    1.332v on core.


    [​IMG]