POST YOUR AMD XP-M O/Cs here!

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by SayNoToPistons, Dec 26, 2004.

  1. Schmucker

    Schmucker [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,631
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Yes, the topic is about XP-M chips.

    I got a memory error after playing CS:S for a half hour. I'll try playing again later to see if it was a fluke or if it is true instability. If instability, what's the solution? Naturally underclock it a bit, but would raising the vcore a bit more be beneficial? It is at 1.72 in the bios and the Abit utility says it is actually about 1.75 with the computer on.
     
  2. distr0

    distr0 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    348
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    i know, but look up and you can see several posts about desktop bartons as well as some about the p4 (?) so i was just checking :)

    the exact thing just happened to me playing hl2. my vcore was at 1.8 but watching the voltages they were very unstable. i think its time to invest in a new power supply, so for now i dropped down to 2.4ghz. you may want to monitor your voltages at idle and under full load, see if they jump around alot and/or drop under load.
     
  3. scottatwittenberg

    scottatwittenberg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,306
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    my 2200+ 35w topped out at 2.55ghz @ 1.9v.. but my computer won't post past 1.9v.. in a shuttle sn41g2v2.. but then i added a ton of crap into my computer.. 2nd hdd, vid card, wireless G, 2 sticks of memory.. and my temps kept going up.. so i put it at 2ghz @ 1.45v and haven't cared to change it since..

    i did run it at 2.4ghz.. 1.76v ish.. i think.. i can't remember anymore.. for several months.. i know it was 12 x 200.. and i did 210 x 11.5 for a long time too..

    here is a chart i made:
    i have to reupload it..

    ok:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. karsten

    karsten Gawd

    Messages:
    897
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    hey that's a cool idea, what do the two different colored lines represent? the exp. curve and actual vcore?
     
  5. PEZOHOLIC

    PEZOHOLIC Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Mine is in the sig XP-M 2400+

    This thing (havent extensively tested it since MOSFET HS were added) will only do 2.367 prime95 6+ hours stable....I want the high FSB not the multi.

    What do you guys think of the NB fan/hs? I mean I touch it and it isnt even really warm, yours? I have AS2 under it. Also I have a HS on the SB since that thing got hot as hell.

    So far right now running at 235fsbx10.5=2355mhz @ 1.825v in BIOS actual 1.776v
    Ram OCZ3200gold 200mhz 2-3-3-6 @ 235mhz 2.5-2-2-5 w/ 2.8v

    Does your NF7 strip so much voltage?? I mena .05v is A TON EVEN FOR AN NF7, and I have the mantaray d26 bios which is suppose to up the vcore .025.

    I report idle temps at 43c and load at 54c that sounds high for my speed. My AX7 is suppose to still be a good HSF and I have a really nice mechatronics 80mm that is fast but very quiet.

    LMK
    Joe
     
  6. TheGamerZ

    TheGamerZ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,217
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
  7. scottatwittenberg

    scottatwittenberg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,306
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    i just made the lines.. they are my best guesses at what voltage should be required to hit a certain ghz.. but there was no math or anything involved in making them... just photoshop..
     
  8. karsten

    karsten Gawd

    Messages:
    897
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    well that's a pretty good chip then, cuz my m2600+ takes about 1.85 to get 2472.5GHz :)
     
  9. scottatwittenberg

    scottatwittenberg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,306
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    oh yeah.. every X represents a time that the computer was at least stable enough to boot into windows, let me open photoshop, edit the photo and save it..

    some times i could open photoshop, but not save it, siht like that.. but the x's aren't really "stable" that's why the line is generally above them..

    and i am happy with the performance i got from that cpu. it was $77 and the 2400+ 35we wat $85 at the time.. and i took a gamble going on the assumption that it would at least be as good as a 45watt 2400+ for less money.. and it worked well for me.. now i just need to get a panaflo or something for my shuttle so i can account for the extra heat created by all of the extra stuff i have put in it recently.. and then OC some more again...
     
  10. tommo

    tommo Gawd

    Messages:
    951
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    I've got a slight O/C on my 35w 2200 mobile; 1.8v, 168x12.5 ( 2.1ghz). Epox 8rda3i, 333mhz crap ram. Not worth showing, but I do have a question, and a reason to why I can't get a higher o/c.

    I can't get the multiplier any higher in the BIOS. Is the multiplier locked upwards?
     
  11. Spare-Flair

    Spare-Flair [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,471
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    What voltage?
     
  12. Spare-Flair

    Spare-Flair [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,471
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    I don't have an NFS7 but I have a fan blowing on my motherboard because the mosfets get really hot and I replaced my SB as well on my DFI Infinity. I think your ram is holding you back from higher FSB, but that's good for an NFS7 board, that's about as far as they go.
     
  13. PEZOHOLIC

    PEZOHOLIC Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Hi guys,

    New news, I think the chip is limiting me. With 1.925v in the bios (effectively 1.87v) I still cant really get her to do 2.4ghz+

    With that in mind I went back the board and decided to try for more FSB and relax the mem timings a little. Also CPU INTERFACE=Enabled, if not I lose a ton of points in Sisandra.

    9.5x247=2350mhz @ 495mhz FSB. Man that is rocking SiSandra.
    Core at 1.875v Bios (about 1.82v effectively)
    VDD 1.7v (this fucker never seems to do anything but wth)
    Ram 3-2-2-11 @ 2.9v
    12v Rail likes to fluctuate from 11.55v to 11.67v under full load (via MBM5) THAT BAD?

    Still running stock NB fan, seems to get a little hotter now but nothing like the temps of the SB before I put a HS on her. God I love this ram, got her for $75 shipped here on the forums and wow she really impresses me doing 247mhz out of the box!!! I wonder what chips it has???

    Sisandra memory benchs report ~3600 and 3300 I believe (at school right now)
    NO DUAL CHANNEL
    NO CAS 2 of ANY KIND

    Pretty decent ey?
     
  14. scottatwittenberg

    scottatwittenberg 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,306
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002

    higher than 12.5? i can adjust my multi wherever i want.. it doesn' tlike 13 i think.. form what i remember.. i don't even know what i have now.. i guess 10 x 200.. yeah.. will your bios let you go past 12.5? oh... now that i remember.. i think a lot of motherboards don't go past 12.5.. look it up.. you might have to flash your bios, or even do a wire mod.. or loosen the timings on your ram and see if you can get it to 200..

    i would blame your motherboard.. i have no idea obut that mobo.. but that would be my guess.. also, can you get 2.1ghz at a lower voltage? i would guess that you could do that at 1.6v if not less...
     
  15. XeroHouR

    XeroHouR [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,326
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    I have screenies of mine at 2.8 gighz at 200mhzfsb and 500mhz fsb at 2.4 gighz. It ran D2D 2.75 at 2.0V on pretty good water cooling, 42oC load after 2 days. Would do 2.815 and hit a wall with 2.15V, (darent put more though it). That chip has since been sold, I do miss it though, it was a tough little worker, and unlocked multis own....
     
  16. mwarps

    mwarps [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,004
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    2400+M 45W @ 2.4GHz (200x12) 1.95V with reversed watercooling.

    Win some, you lose some.

    2600+M here I come!
     
  17. tommo

    tommo Gawd

    Messages:
    951
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    The multiplier has options for higher than 12.5 (think it goes to 18 or something), but it won't boot any higher than 12. I know the original multiplier was 133x12.5 because it's clocked as 1.6ghz, so it would make sense to have the multiplier locked at 12.5.

    I'll let you know about the o/c @1.6v tomorrow, ill get put it at 1.6v tonight and run it on prime95 till i wake up. Thanks for the tip.

    Update: Prime95 failed at the overclock (168x12.5 , 1.6v) after 2 hours 7 mins 1 sec :mad:
     
  18. PEZOHOLIC

    PEZOHOLIC Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    354
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    haha tommo YGM I need your paypal addy!!!


    Anyway wow, last night Prime95 for 9 hours at 246mhz=2342mhz@492fsb

    One thing I have noticed is that after about 30 restarts, crashes or w/e you wanna call it Windows XP (sp1 lol) takes a mad shit and must be re-installed to get the most outta any CPU. I could get into windows on at about any speed but once I tried to do anything NOTHING would load after about 3 mins in windows.

    Well re-installed windows and bam shes going on Prime95 about an hour now at 495mhz FSB@2351mhz. 2.9v CAS 3-2-2-5 Core@1.82v max VDD 1.7v CPU interface=ENABLED
     
  19. tommo

    tommo Gawd

    Messages:
    951
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    hahah
    When I clocked my shitty ram too high, without upping volts, Windows stopped before entering the GUI, and said it was missing files. (???)
     
  20. distr0

    distr0 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    348
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    i can run 250 fsb but i get random crashes, i think i need a new power supply. any suggestions what else it could be?
     
  21. themolt

    themolt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
  22. s10010001

    s10010001 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,468
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Is this a new site or been around a wile...
     
  23. SayNoToPistons

    SayNoToPistons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,122
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    hey my topic is up again! anywas heres the update. my 2600+xp-m does whats in my sig most of the timebut sometimes the crappy ram craps out on me and i have to set the multi by .5x and fsb by 1-2mhz to clock it back up again. it seems to be less power hunggry now i dont know why. ill get some kingston soon when i get the time.
     
  24. themolt

    themolt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    261
    Joined:
    May 7, 2003
    brand new.
     
  25. scott77

    scott77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Just got my XP-M machine set up today...specs are in sig

    I got it up to 200x13 stable @ somewhere between 1.85-1.9v, then bumped up to 200x13.5 and it wouldn't boot even with a Vcore of 2.1v

    So I'm back to 200x13 for now

    my temps @ 1.9v are 49c load, not sure what idle is since I've been running Prime95 all night :p

    I'll post some screenshots tomorrow or maybe later

    Any ideas as to how I can get it to boot at 200x13.5? :(

    edit: heres a screenshot of cpuz

    [​IMG]

    :D load is 48C
     
  26. distr0

    distr0 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    348
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    ^^^ what do you have for cooling scott77?
     
  27. scott77

    scott77 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    its in my sig ;)

    For now its a AX-7 with 80mm Tornado.. waiting on the rest of my WC parts to finish up my kit (hopefully sometime next week)
     
  28. SayNoToPistons

    SayNoToPistons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,122
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    bahh. stupid ram is crapping out on me again. now it refuses to let my FSB go over 170mhz and thats like 340 bus speed? i need to find the fsb:ddr ratio setting in my albatron kx-18 bios but i cant find it!! bahh!. anyways its funning at ~2.5ghz 1.65v and 166fsb which is ~333 bus speed. everything is stable
     
  29. mwarps

    mwarps [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,004
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Preliminary results:

    Test System:
    Shuttle SN45G
    Corsair C2 PC3200 (black) 512MB @ 2-3-3-6, 200 MHz
    Radeon 9600XT 128MB
    Thermalright SI-97 (DAMN GOOD HS) and Panaflo 92mm M1A. Best. Combo. Ever.

    IDYHA 2600+ 0503 #1 (I have three of these chips, all from the same wafer, two consecutive)
    1.8V:
    Posted 2700MHz
    Tried to turn down to 2600, would not post.
    Reset BIOS, Priming at 2500 MHz.
    Temp 42C in 20C ambient

    Will update with other two chips and priming results within the next three days.
     
  30. Spare-Flair

    Spare-Flair [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,471
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    250x10.5 =2.625GHz on air with SI-97.

    My mobile chip sucks though, it needs 1.925volts to do this. People on the DFI boards can get 2.7 and 2.8GHz on 1.75-1.85volts and some have 260FSB.
     
  31. BIGG_RAY

    BIGG_RAY [H]Lite

    Messages:
    73
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    my mobile chip is raw...and my Kingston BH-5 loves volts...running 240x12=2880 (2-2-2-11 CPC ON) 1.9 vcore and 3.1vdimm 6800gt @ 450/1200 /w 1.5 volt mod, all on the dfi infinity pace beotches
     
  32. mwarps

    mwarps [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,004
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    That much voltage on air is asking for pain and misery.
     
  33. SayNoToPistons

    SayNoToPistons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,122
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    yep. im running now 1.75 on crappy store bought compoud and Tt blower and i get 62'c full load and 42'c idle (~70'f room tempature with an air purifier blowing under my case) . im going to need some AS5 before summer comes and fries the amd xp-m 2600+ :eek: .
     
  34. mwarps

    mwarps [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,004
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    Honestly, dude.

    Respect the 2600+M. Give it some love. SI-97 and Panaflo M1A. You won't be sorry.
     
  35. SayNoToPistons

    SayNoToPistons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,122
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    whoop just did a hsf reseating and clean out the old compound. i used the same compound and it just lowered idle by 1'c and load by 1'c and socket by 1'c. sucks. im going to try AS5 first since i brought this crap tube of craptastic gunk from a craptastic store for 3 freaking bucks. if the AS5 doesn lower the load to 55 or less and idle to 40 or less then im going to try a new hsf. the si-97 is a bit too expensive for me, any thing under 40 ?
     
  36. mwarps

    mwarps [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,004
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2002
    I just bought the SI-97 for 39.99 at frozencpu.com.

    It's under 40.

    :p

    EDIT: $34.99 at crazypc.com, $35.99 at sidewindercomputers.com
     
  37. Spare-Flair

    Spare-Flair [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,471
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    55ยบ of idling pain and misery. You don't want to know how hot it gets on load. I usually crank it back down to 1.85v and 250x10 if neccessary or ambient room temperature (circulation in my house sucks) is too warm.
     
  38. ryuji

    ryuji 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,115
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    when i had my athlon.. i had to turn the heat off in my room... and run a window air conditioner durring the winter

    in the summer, i needed to run the window unit full blast 24/7 AND have the central air running to keep my room cool.. with comp not running my room grows icicles... that was idling on my athlon-xp at 2.6 ghz and 1.75v i think the fsb was somthing like 220 or 230
    one thing thats nice about the p4... full load on p4 is pretty much the heat your room up quality of a athlon-xp idling
     
  39. ThreeCub3d

    ThreeCub3d [H]Lite

    Messages:
    64
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    I have a AMD Athlon XP-m Mobile 2800+ processor , I'm wondering how to overclock this stupid thing , when I go into bios it lists the processor and all the information but when I hit the down arrow to scroll down and enter the processor catagorie , I know this is basic but i can't seem to figure it out , :confused:
     
  40. SayNoToPistons

    SayNoToPistons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,122
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    you couldve taken that question to another thread since it saids "POST YOUR AMD XP O/Cs here not ask questoins about amd xp-ms here. but w/e, are you running a lappy? because i dont hear of much people buy amd xp-m 2800+ for their non lappy rigs.. :confused:

    edit: btw i have this crap. same fan (desk shaking blower that doesnt blow very well.. :rolleyes: ) but i think its a different larger heatsink.