New extra large -bigadv on Beta

BaBa

n00b
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
15
Hello from the folks over here at OcUK:)

Ive just snagged a 6903 on my 48 core rig frame times are around 11.30 for a theoretical ppd of 920K+:eek:

This rig is overclocked to 2.9Ghz, if things stay as they are with the points on these things i can see a 1Mill rig coming very soon:D
 

musky

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2012
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
3,154
how much did a box like that cost musky?

I got a good deal on the processsors, so both of my 4p boxen came in at around $2300 each plus PSUs that I already had. Not cheap, but not that bad, either.
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,738
Youre making me want to extend my tour over here and pick up another year in afhganistan... If I did I would SOOOO build a nice box like that lol
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,441
Hello from the folks over here at OcUK:)

Ive just snagged a 6903 on my 48 core rig frame times are around 11.30 for a theoretical ppd of 920K+:eek:

This rig is overclocked to 2.9Ghz, if things stay as they are with the points on these things i can see a 1Mill rig coming very soon:D

Hi and welcome to the home of the [H]orde.:)

i've just read your build log thread and i have to say that it is just epic and those frame times are just amazing

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18228902
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Youre making me want to extend my tour over here and pick up another year in afhganistan... If I did I would SOOOO build a nice box like that lol

Your box is safe here for as long as you need me to keep it :D

BTW, when you do come home I am going to send the HDD with it. It has all the extra tweeks and such. You will be ready to go out of the box. (and if you really wanted to you could change the U/N back to yours ;))
 

Patriot

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,496
Hello from the folks over here at OcUK:)

Ive just snagged a 6903 on my 48 core rig frame times are around 11.30 for a theoretical ppd of 920K+:eek:

This rig is overclocked to 2.9Ghz, if things stay as they are with the points on these things i can see a 1Mill rig coming very soon:D

Damn thats nice... what voltage you at? mine will do 3.2 stable...
 

BaBa

n00b
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
15
Thanks Hydra as she is called is still a work in progress, i need to sort out some vrm cooling and NB cooling to get the max out of her.

Shooting for that 1mill rig:)

Edit : Voltage is at 1.175 but I realy do need to cool the vrm's.
 

R-Type

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2011
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
2,677
Holy hell..... must find more extra special chips...


My SR-2 is currently at 27:17 tpf on 6903... 253k :)
 

Vaulter98c

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2009
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
5,738
Damn.. I remember when 100k in a box was a money pit people couldnt reach the bottom of

Hell, I remember 25k in a box being an amazing feat

O how times have changed
 

BaBa

n00b
Joined
Jun 4, 2011
Messages
15
I have some heatsinks but they need to be modified to fit and i just dont have the time at the moment, should be done by July(ish);)
 

Patriot

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,496
I have some heatsinks but they need to be modified to fit and i just dont have the time at the moment, should be done by July(ish);)

well... 1 person before me hit 3ghz... I breached it... so has R-type... sink up and join the party...
 

R-Type

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2011
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
2,677
Well the rig is still yours man ;)

Musky came down and did some linux tweeks on it so it is pumping ppd. :cool:

Your system currently:


Tobit, what voodoo did you work on this bios config and os install I'm running? I'm pulling 27:14 tpf on 6903 at 3.46ghz... I wouldn't expect the 3.5ghz SR-2 that Kendrak is babysitting to be 48 seconds slower per frame...:eek:
 

Mtnduey

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - Nov. 2013/Nov. 2014
Joined
Mar 24, 2003
Messages
1,205
Hello from the folks over here at OcUK:)

Ive just snagged a 6903 on my 48 core rig frame times are around 11.30 for a theoretical ppd of 920K+:eek:

This rig is overclocked to 2.9Ghz, if things stay as they are with the points on these things i can see a 1Mill rig coming very soon:D

how did you manage to OC a 4 proc server? you've got me all curious now
 

cactus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
422
I am still putting up ~27:05 on my SR-2. The 2.6.39 kernel seems well sorted with respect to cfs vs bfs.

SR-2 @3.5GHz x 24, 1560MHz DDR, 195 bclk, no X server, started from ubuntu 11.04 mini iso
 

cactus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
422
Also, my dual e5530 is doing ~51:14 tfp. It is on 2.6.28-server with other things running.

Code:
[01:48:44] Completed 32500 out of 250000 steps  (13%)
[02:39:54] Completed 35000 out of 250000 steps  (14%)
[03:31:10] Completed 37500 out of 250000 steps  (15%)
[04:22:24] Completed 40000 out of 250000 steps  (16%)

I could use some hexs for the Z8NA.
 

may i be worthy

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - December 2010
Joined
Aug 17, 2010
Messages
1,186
Just FYI if you want scaling data points. (off two unique live units, not same captured one)

SR2#2 - 6903 = 21:58 frame time. = 350,000 ppd
185 x (21+2turbo) = 4.255 GHz . 18x uncore, 1850 ddr on Ubuntu 10.10 / BFS - 2.6.35-28-generic-ck

Scaled down to 3.50Ghz that would be 26:42 frame time.
Scaled down to 3.45 Ghz that would be 27:05 frame time.


SR2#3 - 6903 = 22:28 frame time. = 339,000 ppd
205 x (20+no turbo) = 4.100 GHz. 18x uncore, 2050 ddr on Ubuntu 10.10 / BFS - 2.6.35-28-generic-ck

Scaled down to 3.50Ghz that would be 26:19 frame time.
Scaled down to 3.45 Ghz that would be 26:37 frame time.


So comparing both rigs, you would expect that 4100 / 4255 would result in frame times of 22:47, and the fact that actual times are 22:28 shows the minor benefit of running at ddr 2050. (so 4100 is equiv of 4160Mhz)
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
I wonder when HFM.net will update and put the new info in.

Also.... If we thought the top 20 was brutal before. It's going to be nutz now.
 

pjkenned

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 8, 2010
Messages
1,971
Got my first 6903 on the quad 6166 HE. The quad 6174's and the three dual rigs have been getting 6900/ 6901 WUs :-/

Getting 20:17 TPF on the quad 6166 HE's though.
 

sfield

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
74
The first 6903 my Quad G34 @ 2.6 uploaded last night. The early instability I observed unfortunately added several hours to overall processing time, so "only" about 600K points of credit were issued. The machine then moved onto a 6901, and is now doing a new 6903, below. Machine has stabilized around 12:15-12:20 TPF for the 6903.

Upload size of 6903 results was 230,811,794 bytes.

Will move SR-2 to -bigbeta (doing a 2684 currently).



Code:
[15:12:06] - Expanded 45233054 -> 71846524 (decompressed 63.8 percent)
[15:12:06] Called DecompressByteArray: compressed_data_size=45233054 data_size=71846524, decompressed_data_size=71846524 diff=0
[15:12:07] - Digital signature verified
[15:12:07]
[15:12:07] Project: 6903 (Run 0, Clone 0, Gen 0)
[15:12:07]
[15:12:07] Assembly optimizations on if available.
[15:12:07] Entering M.D.
                         :-)  G  R  O  M  A  C  S  (-:
[15:12:16] Mapping NT from 48 to 48
Starting 48 threads
Making 2D domain decomposition 8 x 6 x 1
starting mdrun 'Overlay'
250000 steps,   1000.0 ps.
[15:12:22] Completed 0 out of 250000 steps  (0%)
[15:25:19] Completed 2500 out of 250000 steps  (1%)
[15:38:47] Completed 5000 out of 250000 steps  (2%)

NOTE: Turning on dynamic load balancing

[15:51:15] Completed 7500 out of 250000 steps  (3%)
[16:03:37] Completed 10000 out of 250000 steps  (4%)
[16:15:58] Completed 12500 out of 250000 steps  (5%)
[16:28:19] Completed 15000 out of 250000 steps  (6%)
[16:40:33] Completed 17500 out of 250000 steps  (7%)
[16:52:54] Completed 20000 out of 250000 steps  (8%)
[17:05:14] Completed 22500 out of 250000 steps  (9%)
[17:17:34] Completed 25000 out of 250000 steps  (10%)
 
Last edited:

Zink

Gawd
Joined
Feb 9, 2010
Messages
693
230MB? How much larger than a 6901 is that? I can see why they would be able to get more useful info out of one of these WU with all of that data going back to them. Isn't that larger than the original WU downland size? Someone as Standford must be having fun figuring out what to do with the fleet of SR-2 and G34 rigs.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,441
230MB? How much larger than a 6901 is that? I can see why they would be able to get more useful info out of one of these WU with all of that data going back to them. Isn't that larger than the original WU downland size? Someone as Standford must be having fun figuring out what to do with the fleet of SR-2 and G34 rigs.

2.3 times larger, a normal -bigadv is ~100mb, on a 384Kb upload speed you are looking at ~100 minutes:eek:
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Yeah, halving that time is worth 3k by itself

I've been putting off getting a second DSL line.... yeh, going to need to do that soon. SR-2s and other folding only boxen (and the wiffy's lappy) on one connection. My main rig on another :D
 

R-Type

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - October 2011
Joined
Mar 6, 2006
Messages
2,677
Time to upgrade the FIOS from 15/5 to 25/25...
 

DooKey

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Messages
9,994
All we have in my neck of the woods is WISP. I have a 7/2 connection. The price we pay to live out in the country....

Fold On!
 

Activate: AMD

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2004
Messages
1,994
Ouch, I can definitely feel when bigadv is uploading on my connection, it must make online gaming impossible on dsl.:(
even with my 5mbit upload, gaming and uploading bigadv is impossible. is there a way to limit upload bandwith?
 

Patriot

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - March 2011/June 2013/De
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Messages
2,496
wonder how long on my edgy connection.... 155kbps...... how many megabytes... eeek...
 

Untitledone

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2012
Joined
Feb 28, 2011
Messages
1,486
At first I though I was the only one with a shitty connection... Now it looks like that is the norm here lol 6mbps/512kbps upload. If I shovel out another $5 a month they will upgrade me to 1mbps upload. Thats the end of that, I would probably need a second DSL line to get more which would double the price. Already paying $49.95 a month for the 6m/512k.

Of course I dont get the full speed, but I am lucky to have ecellent line quality, and I am close to the DSLAM. So I really get like 4.8-4.9mbps download, and 400kbps upload.
 

cactus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
422
My first 6903 dropped, nice getting 481k in one update. :D

With all this talk of slow connections, I guess mine isnt so bad at 16/2. Still wish I was in a FIOS area, my father gets 25/25 for the same price that I pay for 16/2 cable with an upload cap. Or some how connect to work, we have 1Gb/1Gb for the campus, my workstation gets consistant 100Mb/75Mb.
 
Top