My 2018 Linux Test

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by JSumrall, Jul 28, 2018.

  1. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,934
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Agreed, but mostly because few companies have been good at DX12. Given the relative feature parity and modus operandi of Vulkan and DX12, I don't really care which developers use, so long as it works. DX12 <-> Vulkan should be so trivial as to not make a difference at any level.
     
    DrezKill and ChadD like this.
  2. ChadD

    ChadD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,697
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    Fair... ya probably the crossover guys selling I would assume. No doubt VKD3D is still cooking. Not sure when it will be a drop in ready to plop into proton. Hopefully soon... Valve money is moving things forward at least.
     
  3. JSumrall

    JSumrall Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    So I just ran a system update with Arch and once again X completely rebuilt those two .conf files from scratch and totally hosed GDM. I had to switch to TTY3 and manually configure the file by removing the intel section and removing 'Primary GPU'. Once I did GDM loaded and I was able to get back into Gnome.

    Really crazy it is doing this but at least I know how to fix it.
     
  4. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,050
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    What was updated that caused X to rebuild the files? Nvidia driver?
     
  5. JSumrall

    JSumrall Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Yeah, the driver was definitely updated. I just don't know why X is building the file the way it is. It is like some kind of catch all config file that's breaking a lot of things like GDM and Xfce.
     
  6. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,050
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    You sure X is making the change or is it the NV driver telling X to make the change?

    and on a side note...LFS is kicking my ass lol.
     
  7. JSumrall

    JSumrall Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Pretty sure X is doing it on load. The only time ive seen nvidia create or modify a conf file is in /etc/X11/xorg.conf and it adds a self identifier at the top of the file that says nvidia made a change.
     
  8. JSumrall

    JSumrall Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Wow, I originally thought you were messing around with Linux File System, but I'm guessing it is Linux From Scratch. :D

    That looks pretty interesting to be honest.
     
  9. Algrim

    Algrim [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,380
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2016
    About a decade ago I looked into it. If you have lots of time on your hands...
     
  10. JSumrall

    JSumrall Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    I definitely do have a lot of time on my hands lol
     
  11. ChadD

    ChadD 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,697
    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2016
    There is a reason most distros even smaller ones are maintained by teams. :)

    Cool idea build your own distro... fun as a learning project perhaps as long as you treat it that way.
     
  12. JSumrall

    JSumrall Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    I definitely would not be doing it to make a distro. If I messed with it, I'd just be doing it to learn how things work.
     
  13. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,050
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    I'm basically doing it more for a learning thing. I'd never truly run a distro. Too much time and effort. I'll probably use it for myself on simple systems like the E7270 though. Barebones and more or less all open source will make it easier.

    That said it's fucking HARD. I initially tried using Ubuntu 18.04.02 live environments as they suggest and that just was unstable. I'd get through half of the compiling and the system would crash hard. When that happens sure you can reboot and remount everything but after that it never compiles properly again.

    So I installed full Ubuntu and started going. First time I must have missed something in the documentation because GCC second pass wouldn't compile to save it's life. So had to start over. Got that one down to Flex in chroot and Flex wouldn't compile. This is where I learned that the version-check.sh file from LFS isn't totally accurate with the packages you need installed. At least in my opinion. So I have other things I installed now and it seems to have balanced everything out for me.

    I rebuilt the whole machine after that Flex issue to start cleanly. That one turned into my best try yet. I got all the way to reboot last night and as soon as I rebooted I went "shit..."

    The system rebooted and GRUB came up and there was my kernel version but I screwed up because I wasn't paying attention. My dumbass self hadn't set a /boot partition when I built Ubuntu so without that I the virtual image needed for my kernel was in the wrong place and GRUB had no idea where it was.

    I probably could have booted to a live environment and modified things and mounted again and chroot in to try to fix it but I said fuck it. Ubuntu already rebuilt, with a proper boot partition this time, and all LFS packages downloading right now. Will have it do it's thing while at work today lol.
     
    Meeho, ChadD, JSumrall and 1 other person like this.
  14. JSumrall

    JSumrall Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    The more I listen to you the more I want to try it.

    I've been really enjoying Arch since I've got it up and running with Gnome 3 on my main desktop and laptop.

    But I'm starting to get that 'fiddle' itch. *twitch*
     
  15. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,050
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    This ain't fiddling. This is straight up masochism. ;)

    It's incredibly time consuming and frustrating. I am learning a lot though. I'm actually really hoping I can get this right and just make it my own personal build for simple Intel graphics based laptops simply for bragging rights. It's a badge of honor to get this done and actually keep it updated. :eek:

    That said I'll still use Arch as my daily driver overall. The difference between say Arch and LFS is I'm doing all the compiling myself. An Arch based system is already as slim as LFS is for the most part so there is no real advantage to LFS over Arch or any other distro really. It's just learning and bragging rights. The sense of accomplishment yesterday though when I clicked REBOOT was a great feeling though even though I borked it all with my stupidity. ;)
     
    Algrim likes this.
  16. extide

    extide 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,286
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    If you have a fiddle itch and actually want a working system while still really getting into it, try out Gentoo. LFS is great for learning how it works, but other than that..
     
  17. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,050
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Oh I'll be busy tonight...

    This new LFS build is going well so far with a proper boot partition and I just got my order of new fully decked out 5530 Precision's and one is mine. Hexacore powah!
     
    JSumrall likes this.
  18. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,050
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Life due to kids was busy tonight but LFS still looking good. GCC compiled correctly but couldn't do more than that. The new 5530 I screwed up (no more building Arch at 10pm at a night with a glass of scotch) because it's a 512 GB NVME for the main drive and a standard spinner 1TB for storage. So the NVME needs UEFI and I forgot that. Have never done Arch on UEFI before so won't try again tonight. Just too damn tired but know how to do it. Just can't bring myself to build it all right now. UEFI + NVME (/dev/nvme0n1 harder to remember than /dev/sda) + LUKS + tired + scotch = FAIL so won't go there. ;)
     
    extide and JSumrall like this.
  19. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,050
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    5530 up and running. Just config stuff left and to follow JSumrall's guide for PRIME. Encrypted and UEFI boot. Was a lot more complicated than I expected. LFS still going well.

    Screenshot_2019-05-16_09-32-51.png
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  20. Vermillion

    Vermillion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,050
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    First things first...LFS broke again upon reboot. Not sure what's going on. Will probably try one last time but not in any hurry right now.

    As for the 5530 I opted to NOT go with the switching stuff from earlier in this thread. I don't care about the intel chip. I want the Quadro only but the issue is tearing. So I instead modified the kernel parameters for Nvidia DRM and have no tearing now using just the Quadro P2000. More or less done with setup just 2 or 3 things left to install and re-theme. Maybe swap out XFCE compositor for Compton. We'll see. This machine is crazy fast...

    Screenshot_2019-05-16_11-53-38.png
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  21. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,934
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    If it's going to be a desk queen, switching won't make much of a difference I don't think. I gave up on anything larger than ultrabooks years ago, as I never just carry around a laptop and I value the lower weight over anything else :D.
     
  22. JSumrall

    JSumrall Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    295
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    I'm interested in making sure my system is running as efficiently as possible. I'm curious to know if the system can be set hardware wise to not look for new hardware every time I boot. I'm also curious if there's any tweaking recommendations you all have?

    Currently running Arch w/ Gnome 3.32.2
    Intel 5820 CPU
    32GB Ram
    nVidia 1080