Metro: Exodus

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Hardware' started by DPI, Jun 11, 2017.

  1. Nightfire

    Nightfire [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,699
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Well the Radeon 7 sits right between the GTX 1080ti and the RTX 2080 so that's pretty good. It would be nice to see some frametimes or min frames of those.
     
  2. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    as far as the RTX On vs OFF video posted earlier...I saw people jumping up and down saying it's a night/day difference...you guys need to get glasses or I'm guessing you have an RTX card currently so you need to defend your purchase...the biggest differences in that video came from the Exodus built-in benchmark and cut-scenes...in normal gameplay the difference is not anything special...yes it looks more realistic but there was a lot of variance from scene-to-scene...character close-ups with light bouncing off the snow look a lot more realistic...but overall it's not anything jawdropping that 90% of people would notice while playing

    RTX does make dark scenes darker and in brighter scenes light sources have a more realistic quality to it...I think RTX is only going to get better and has the potential to look incredible but that day is not here now...yes people with RTX cards are going to say how life-changing it looks but no...in terms of buying an RTX card today for the RTX effects seen in Metro it is definitely not worth an $800-$1000 GPU
     
    Pieter3dnow likes this.
  3. Ripskin

    Ripskin 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,218
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    I really was not that impressed. I thought it varied fairly wildly by scene how each one performed, some definitely favored the RTX while others seemed to look better without RTX. Seems like the implementation is going to take a while to tailor for each scene and need. The ones that worked well with RTX did look good but I saw very little that made the performance hit something I would be happy with beyond those few areas.
     
  4. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,688
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Indeed. Once my taxes come in I'm going to pick up a 1440p standard or ultrawide monitor. I'd rather go 1440 high refresh rate than 4K 60hz and most over 60hz 4k panels are 27", more than I want to pay for a monitor, or have TN panels (all the above in some cases). Just not worth it right now unless I want to put a TV on my desk again.
     
    polonyc2 likes this.
  5. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    11 months ago I bought a ViewSonic XG2703-GS IPS 1440p 144Hz (supports 165Hz) G-Sync monitor and it's one of the best upgrades I've ever made...still using a GTX 1070 GPU though
     
  6. Bankie

    Bankie [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Might as well run a RX460 and Medium settings since 90% of the people won't notice the difference.
     
    Auer likes this.
  7. Frraksurred

    Frraksurred 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,172
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Welp, she's pre-loading on Steam and unlocks same time I get off work tonight. Color me excited. Hopefully she runs on my aging behemoth.
     
    Maddness, piratepress and Armenius like this.
  8. piratepress

    piratepress [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    I just bought the code off CDKeys but can't preload it on Steam! Guess I have to wait until it goes live on the Epic Store tonight. :(
     
  9. Derangel

    Derangel [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    17,688
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    If you're in the US, you just got ripped off. The game is only $50 on the Epic store vs the $56 CDKeys is charging right now.
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  10. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    last night I was actually debating getting an RTX 2060 or 2080...but common sense prevailed and I decided to stick with my GTX 1070...the only game that will be crazy demanding is Metro Exodus so no point getting a new GPU for 1 game...the other games I plan on picking up soon are Anthem and Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice and neither of them are going to be hardware killers...plus the cost is not worth the performance increase...if I could find a 1080Ti I would be more interested but prices are crazy inflated ($1000+)
     
  11. mQzz

    mQzz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    298
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    see, thats the bullshit with the epic store. its 59.99 € here on there, and thats the same price as it would have been on steam. meanwhile, people from "poorer" countries like the caribbean get the game for 16 bucks on there.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  12. TaintedSquirrel

    TaintedSquirrel [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,419
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    If I were to buy this game at $50 it would be the smallest discount I've gotten on any game in the last 10 years or more, except Diablo 3 which I bought for the full $60 at launch. All of my other AAA pre-orders and day one purchases have been less than $50.

    Hardly a "discount". The issue is that for some reason third party key sellers are actually charging MORE than $50 for their epic keys.
     
  13. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    I think the Epic Store $10 discount only applies in the USA...so for everyone outside the USA the cdkeys version is still cheaper
     
    Armenius likes this.
  14. Brackle

    Brackle Old Timer

    Messages:
    7,226
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    When does the game open? 12am EST?
     
  15. w35t

    w35t [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,104
    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    I was hoping to get a good experience outta this game on my 65" c7 oled but it looks like my 1080ti may struggle a bit, as expected. I wonder too how much the extra inevitable input lag with this tv will bother me.

    If I made more money I'd buy a 2080ti and an X27 just for this bitch.

    Still super pumped.
     
  16. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,374
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Yeah, i'm pumped. I bought the 2080ti and X27 initially for AC: Odyssey, but this is really going to be good.
     
    GoldenTiger, Maddness and w35t like this.
  17. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    just finished pre-ordering on the Epic Store...waited until the last minute because I wanted to see reviews and performance numbers first...the Epic Store purchase was painless...it doesn't even store your payment information if you don't want it to (which is a good thing)...no pre-load is not a big deal as I have a fast connection (100/100)...it should unlock at midnight so I'm looking forward to playing
     
  18. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,374
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Hitting max bandwidth of my connection for the download.. Lets see if it holds as they get more hammered. If they are able to do this without any issues i'll have no complaints with the epic store.
     
  19. Brackle

    Brackle Old Timer

    Messages:
    7,226
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Woot download starting! With the Epic launcher im maxing out my download speed! So far so good Epic
     
  20. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,374
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Can't get HDR working correct with this game. The gamma is all sorts of jacked up and it's just blown out.

    Also, the control is complete balls out of the box.
     
  21. Maddness

    Maddness [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,209
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Downloading now. Got a new card so pumped to try this out on it.
     
    stashix likes this.
  22. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    download was slower then Steam normally is for me...took 1 hour 15 minutes to finish (100/100 internet)...but now I'm ready to roll...
     
    Maddness likes this.
  23. jiminator

    jiminator Capt Obvious

    Messages:
    11,159
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Yeah, it took a long while here also. I only had a few minutes to play. Pretty much the same metro experience in the beginning. Highly annoyed that they don't have a windowed option, you know, so I can like watch porn or videos or google while playing, but it was the same in previous games. It can be enabled by modifying user.cfg but then to figure out how to move it from the fixed position on top left. :(

    The game does have QTEs but the best thing about them is a setting to press and hold a button instead of that tapping bullshit.
     
  24. Brackle

    Brackle Old Timer

    Messages:
    7,226
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Epic store finished in about 15-20 minutes for me? 50GB.

    So far man this game is great, the story the graphics....It sucks that I have to stop and go to bed. One thing I am shocked is I haven't had 1 single issue with the Epic store. No issues with the game no crashing or anything. Now, I do not run it in HDR or use Ray Tracing, but with my system below this game runs so damn good...I can't say enough how good it is so far.

    Can't wait to play it more tomorrow!
     
    Maddness likes this.
  25. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,374
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Everything is working fine for me except for HDR. The raytracing makes the game look incredible, and the AA that DLSS provides with zero performance hit is really nice. It blurs things a tiny bit, but the game just runs so much faster with it compared to normal AA.

    It's just pissing me off that HDR is so broke. I'm not sure why.

    Edit - Looks like having DLSS enabled in conjunction with HDR results in a washed out image. Disabling DLSS fixed it. It's pretty insane that nvidia overlooked this for release.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2019
    Frraksurred likes this.
  26. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    can someone explain DLSS for those without RTX cards...in Exodus there's no AA option at all...in the previous 2 Metro games there was an SSAA option...does that mean that any game that comes with DLSS will not have any other AA method available for those without RTX cards?...and if another AA method is available (if I have an RTX card) can I choose both DLSS and whatever other AA option there is (for example TAA + DLSS)?

    there is a 'Shading Rate' option in Exodus which I guess is the same as super-sampling
     
  27. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,374
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Shading rate isn't super-sampling per say. I had to look it up, and it's a bit different, but basically that's what it is.

    I'm not sure what AA is being used outside of DLSS. I know it's being used - Because the performance difference between DLSS On and DLSS Off is fairly noticeable @ Ultra settings @ 4k. Unfortunately because of the HDR issue, i'm having to run DLSS off, which lowers performance enough that I have to drop shading rate to 80% if I want to keep ray tracing enabled.
     
  28. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    I saw this on another site:

    Shading Rate: This setting determines how many shaders are run per pixel, with 100 being the normal 1:1 ratio. It has a range of 0.4x-4.0x, with 0.5x being somewhat like 50 percent resolution scaling except only applied to pixels (not geometry or other elements), while 2.0 is sort of like 2x supersampling for shader calculations. This can have a significant impact on performance as well as visual quality. Setting this to 0.5x improves performance by 18-24 percent, while increasing this to 2.0x decreases performance 25-30 percent—I didn't even try maxing it out at 4.0x. Most people should leave this setting at 1.0, though the low preset in the benchmark utility sets it to 0.5
     
  29. Mchart

    Mchart 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,374
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    I just read that DLSS means the engine is actually rendering at a lower resolution and then the algorithm magic is then worked, so it makes sense that it would provide such a huge performance increase at higher resolutions.
     
  30. stashix

    stashix Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    343
    Joined:
    May 25, 2016
    Crap, the physical copy only comes with a single DVD, looks like I won't be able to play until tomorrow, based on our village tier Internet speeds.
     
  31. schoolslave

    schoolslave Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
  32. magoo

    magoo [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,363
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    This page is good reading. Good tips already.
    I bought the game from Epic.
    So far I have had no issues with the purchase.
    I opened up the library page this AM and there was the game.
    My download speed this AM at 6.45 EST was about 75% of what I generally see, but hey, I'm at work and the game will be ready tonight.

    Anybody know if this game supports SLi??
     
  33. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    game is running surprisingly well at 1440p with a GTX 1070...DX12, everything on Ultra and Hairworks, Advanced PhysX etc turned On...I'm still in the very early tunnel area but steady 50's into 60's fps...the in-game Gamma setting is weird...the image it shows you to set your gamma doesn't seem correct...I put my Gamma at 0 according to that image but in-game it was pitch black...still trying to find a good balance in terms of dark and light
     
    Frraksurred likes this.
  34. The Cobra

    The Cobra 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,624
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    A Russian site yesterday had a small Q&A with one of the Metro devs...they stated that SLI/Crossfire will be available soon with a driver update since DX11 has to be turned on with the video card companies. mGPU support will be available in a few months once the DXR/DLSS issues are worked out and tweaked. I am trying to find the article since it was posted on Twitter yesterday.
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.
  35. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,209
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    DLSS renders the game at a resolution lower than your selected resolution and then upsamples the image to your chosen resolution using a deep learning algorithm. What resolution the game is rendered at is not disclosed. With how blurry the implementation is in BFV I would imagine it's 1920x1080 or even lower. NVIDIA locks out DLSS to certain resolutions based on the model of your video card, so DLSS only works at 4K on the 2080 Ti. The 2060 and 2070 can use DLSS at 1920x1080 and up. DLSS is only officially supported for 16:9 resolutions up to UHD 4K at this time.
     
  36. piratepress

    piratepress [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,456
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Metro.jpg Anyone have a direct link from Steam or Epic that I can download the game? I bought the key yesterday on CDKeys, but on Steam it says invalid key and the Epic store wants payment before letting me download it! :mad:

    EDIT: Nevermind, I got it:
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2019
  37. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    but will there be other AA options available for those without RTX cards?...Exodus doesn't have any AA options...the previous 2 games had SSAA (even if it killed performance at least it was available)...and will people with RTX cards be able to use DLSS + another AA setting like TAA together?

    the DLSS implementation is just as blurry in Exodus from pictures I've seen...
    https://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/metro_exodus_pc_graphics_performance_benchmarks,8.html
     
  38. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,209
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    I don't know, I was just answering your question of what DLSS is. Does forcing AA through the NVIDIA control panel work? Using an injector like SweetFX?
     
  39. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,706
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    ReShade doesn't work with DX12 games...Exodus is a gorgeous game as is...I was just curious about DLSS going forward and how it effects other more traditional AA methods
     
  40. magoo

    magoo [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,363
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Good to hear, thanks for the reply.
    I'm going to try something with nvidia Inspector and see if I can get Sli to work, but it will be cool if they get it fixed on the driver end.
     
    GoldenTiger likes this.