LG Ultragear 27" OLED 240hz 1440P 27GR95QE-B

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
Where is Image cleaning can't seem to find it says it hasn't been completed thinking it might be on the OEM remote.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
HDR Effect is my favorite preset it works and looks way better than regular HDR enabled in Win 11. The Gamer 1 and Gamer ,2 modes have some unnatural haze tint to them. Not like digital goods are unatural but has a haze to colored tint to them.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
I think the image cleaning is mostly automatic, but there is a separate menu you can access on the OEM remote - it's the center "screen-shaped icon" right underneath the four-way arrows/select button. That'll let you have a look at those settings (Screen Move, Screen Saver, Image Cleaning, and Pixel Cleaning).
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
HDR Effect is my favorite preset it works and looks way better than regular HDR enabled in Win 11. The Gamer 1 and Gamer ,2 modes have some unnatural haze tint to them. Not like digital goods are unatural but has a haze to colored tint to them.

It's a neat effect some people really like, though it's not real HDR (it fakes it by converting SDR images over with an algorithm). Make sure if you are comparing to Win11 HDR and haven't you run the Windows HDR Calibration to make sure you're getting the best HDR picture (it's a separate free app from the app store). If accuracy matters to you, as far as HDR presets, I've found Gamer 1 to be more accurate just from eyeballing it (though 2 can be brighter and raise gamma some), and HDTVTest's recent review also determined Gamer 1 to be the more accurate setting.
 

kramnelis

Gawd
Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
793
HDR Effect is my favorite preset it works and looks way better than regular HDR enabled in Win 11. The Gamer 1 and Gamer ,2 modes have some unnatural haze tint to them. Not like digital goods are unatural but has a haze to colored tint to them.
HDR Effect is a boosted SDR mode with a wider colorspace such as DCI-P3 at higher brightness to simulate HDR.

It's similar when you use Adobe colorspace at 400nits. Welcome to SDR400.

Isn't it rather funny? At such low range with so low brightness, the clipped SDR with extended colorspace looks better than whatever inaccurate dim HDR on this monitor.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
I get a error message that I'm running at a higher Rez than supported that it's suppose to run at 2560x1440P but the monitor is already set at that rez.
Just when I launch any game it says to close the menu but not sure how to close it. I pressed the middle button to not show this message again it might be gone now lauched Dead Space twice and it didn't show up.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
I get a error message that I'm running at a higher Rez than supported that it's suppose to run at 2560x1440P but the monitor is already set at that rez.
Just when I launch any game it says to close the menu but not sure how to close it. I pressed the middle button to not show this message again it might be gone now lauched Dead Space twice and it didn't show up.

See this that I posted some days ago:

By the way, I did have one small issue I forgot to mention here. Some games, when set to fullscreen native resolution (2560 x 1440) trigger a screen saying the monitor is not in it's native res (it thinks it thinks it's in 4K for whatever reason). There's just a warning that pops up on the bottom you can dismiss. It's not a big deal, but it can get annoying. There are two workarounds. You can play in 2560 x 1440 Windowed Fullscreen in most games, and it doesn't trigger, or there's a little software trick here that makes it go away permanently.

See this: https://www.reddit.com/r/Monitors/c...ed_27gr95qebaus_says_resolution_is_incorrect/
(The reply for CRU tells you what to do; you're basically just removing a few 4K TV resolutions from the computer's monitor profile).

It's a simple fix and does not modify the monitor at all; only how Windows sees it to prevent that from happening. (There's also a reset executable to undo any changes.) Seems like multiple LG monitors do this, so you'd think they'd be able to sort it out in firmware, but I guess it's been around a while for certain configurations. Has something to do with the 4K downscaling feature.

This appears to be a bug with not just this monitor but other LG monitors too (I'm not sure how many). Basically, some of their 2560 x 1440 monitors support downscaling 4K from boxes that connect to TV's and don't offer this monitor's native resolution.

For whatever reason, by default, games set to the native resolution think they're in 4K sometimes when they're not. Hopefully dismissing that error worked, but if it comes back, you can either switch to Windowed Fullscreen (which doesn't appear to do that, but not all games support it) or do that reddit trick to remove the TV resolutions from Windows detection of the monitor. I did the reddit trick and haven't seen the error since.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
See this that I posted some days ago:



This appears to be a bug with not just this monitor but other LG monitors too (I'm not sure how many). Basically, some of their 2560 x 1440 monitors support downscaling 4K from boxes that connect to TV's and don't offer this monitor's native resolution.

For whatever reason, by default, games set to the native resolution think they're in 4K sometimes when they're not. Hopefully dismissing that error worked, but if it comes back, you can either switch to Windowed Fullscreen (which doesn't appear to do that, but not all games support it) or do that reddit trick to remove the TV resolutions from Windows detection of the monitor. I did the reddit trick and haven't seen the error since.

Thanks that worked saved a screenshot from the Reddit post incase I have to do it again with a new install of Drivers or Win 11.
 
Last edited:

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
See this that I posted some days ago:



This appears to be a bug with not just this monitor but other LG monitors too (I'm not sure how many). Basically, some of their 2560 x 1440 monitors support downscaling 4K from boxes that connect to TV's and don't offer this monitor's native resolution.

For whatever reason, by default, games set to the native resolution think they're in 4K sometimes when they're not. Hopefully dismissing that error worked, but if it comes back, you can either switch to Windowed Fullscreen (which doesn't appear to do that, but not all games support it) or do that reddit trick to remove the TV resolutions from Windows detection of the monitor. I did the reddit trick and haven't seen the error since.

Bad move this totally screwed up my games I restored it and had to reset my monitor settings I was getting flicker in games just a flashing screen.
I'll live with the Nag screen if it shows up again.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
Bad move this totally screwed up my games I restored it and had to reset my monitor settings I was getting flicker in games just a flashing screen.
I'll live with the Nag screen if it shows up again.
Sorry to hear - that's odd. I haven't had that experience for whatever reason.
I got a bit of flashing in some games with GSync on, but disabling that (as I didn't need it for that game) seemed to resolve it.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
It could of been the latest Nvidia driver too installed the older set it's working fine now.
 

LittleBuddy

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 3, 2023
Messages
74
I returned my display today for a refund. I had a flickering issue with G-Sync + HDR enabled and it was making me feel sick and couldn't get used to gaming at 1440P, too much aliasing for me lack of detail.

TFT Central Put out a settings video if anyone is interested


The display was pretty awesome though, I wish 4K displays were as fast as this LG. So I guess now I'll wait for LG's 1560 zone mini-led.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
Sorry to hear it didn't work out, LittleBuddy, and hope you find one you like! (After trying and returning two other monitors before this one, I know how frustrating that can be.)

It'll be interesting to see what that mini-LED will be like! Hopefully you can find something until then that works in the interim.
 

james2400

n00b
Joined
Oct 25, 2022
Messages
48
sgupta you gave up your PA32UCG for the 27 inch OLED? thats insane my man all you had to do was just add the local dimming option to the shortcut menu in the OSD then it would of been just a click away to turn on/off.

I run the PA in 24x7 HDR as im lazy, i still havent seen pops as good as the PA32UCG for HDR and i own a C2 for the bedroom and a QN95A for the lounge.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
sgupta you gave up your PA32UCG for the 27 inch OLED? thats insane my man all you had to do was just add the local dimming option to the shortcut menu in the OSD then it would of been just a click away to turn on/off.

I run the PA in 24x7 HDR as im lazy, i still havent seen pops as good as the PA32UCG for HDR and i own a C2 for the bedroom and a QN95A for the lounge.

The PA32UCG had quality control issues which would have prevented me from keeping it anyways (3 dead pixels, a stuck pixel, something in the screen [eyelash or plastic shaving] - I eventually got the latter to disappear, but who knows if it would have come back). It also didn't like to come back from standby properly, which I'm unsure if was something with the monitor or just general behavior.

Even so, I really didn't want to have to turn off local dimming for desktop use since that's the majority of what I do, and I had some (albeit minor) viewing angle issues in the corners with such a big display since I sit fairly close. I didn't expect the local dimming to be that distracting to me for desktop use.

I'm glad you love the UCG and I agree the HDR on them is phenomenal and pretty unparalleled, but for me, this OLED has been a much better fit (price aside, but the savings were really nice too). Even if the UCG was perfect, I don't really regret the trade and think I made a good choice.

If you mainly view HDR, though, or need its capabilities, I agree the UCG is a beast, and the color calibration was fantastic out of the box. I also like that it came with a colorimeter. It's a great monitor [assuming you get one without the QC issues] - just turned out to not be the best fit for me.
 

james2400

n00b
Joined
Oct 25, 2022
Messages
48
The PA32UCG had quality control issues which would have prevented me from keeping it anyways (3 dead pixels, a stuck pixel, something in the screen [eyelash or plastic shaving] - I eventually got the latter to disappear, but who knows if it would have come back). It also didn't like to come back from standby properly, which I'm unsure if was something with the monitor or just general behavior.

Even so, I really didn't want to have to turn off local dimming for desktop use since that's the majority of what I do, and I had some (albeit minor) viewing angle issues in the corners with such a big display since I sit fairly close. I didn't expect the local dimming to be that distracting to me for desktop use.

I'm glad you love the UCG and I agree the HDR on them is phenomenal and pretty unparalleled, but for me, this OLED has been a much better fit (price aside, but the savings were really nice too). Even if the UCG was perfect, I don't really regret the trade and think I made a good choice.

If you mainly view HDR, though, or need its capabilities, I agree the UCG is a beast, and the color calibration was fantastic out of the box. I also like that it came with a colorimeter. It's a great monitor [assuming you get one without the QC issues] - just turned out to not be the best fit for me.

Thats fair im on the PC from the moment i wake to the time i go to sleep from grading work to then leisure having a OLED as a PC monitor well makes little sense in my case especially when it will be used 14hrs a day.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
Thats fair im on the PC from the moment i wake to the time i go to sleep from grading work to then leisure having a OLED as a PC monitor well makes little sense in my case especially when it will be used 14hrs a day.

Yup - very understandable - I'd be super worried about burn-in with that kind of use. Mine gets its usage, but not nearly that much.
 

james2400

n00b
Joined
Oct 25, 2022
Messages
48
Yup - very understandable - I'd be super worried about burn-in with that kind of use. Mine gets its usage, but not nearly that much.

I think if you really are determined to make OLED work as a PC monitor you need two screens a decent LED for productivity/grading color and then use the OLED for content consumption (HDR gaming/Movies) that way the bulk of the usage is done on the LED and you have OLED for leisure/entertainment.
 
  • Like
Reactions: XoR_
like this

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
I think if you really are determined to make OLED work as a PC monitor you need two screens a decent LED for productivity/grading color and then use the OLED for content consumption (HDR gaming/Movies) that way the bulk of the usage is done on the LED and you have OLED for leisure/entertainment.

That'd be neat, but I only have room for one screen with my current setup unfortunately. If I did have that setup, if anything I'd probably prioritize sRGB/SDR work on the OLED since that's where it shines most IMO, then do HDR stuff on the LED since it can get brighter. But as a display that does everything, this seems to handle it all pretty well so far.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
Here are my Settings after a week of adjusting to the monitor. I like my monitors dark so what works for you would probably blind me. I can run any dark game without problems with the settings Darktide or Deadspace remake still look fine
I do have the gamma slightly turned up in game to compensate for the lower brightness. The problem was when I first had the monitor I had Windows 11 desktop gamma down all the way so it was screwing with the overall gamma on the monitor.

Gamer 1

60 Brightness
60 Contrast
Gamma Mode 2
Color Temp Cool
Black Equalizer 50


Nvidia settings

50B
50C

.81 gamma

Found lowering the gamma gives stuff better contrast in games just upped the brightness contrast to 60 from 46 because a few games were too dark went with gamma mode 2 instead of 3.
 
Last edited:

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
I returned my display today for a refund. I had a flickering issue with G-Sync + HDR enabled and it was making me feel sick and couldn't get used to gaming at 1440P, too much aliasing for me lack of detail.

TFT Central Put out a settings video if anyone is interested


The display was pretty awesome though, I wish 4K displays were as fast as this LG. So I guess now I'll wait for LG's 1560 zone mini-led.


Thank You for posting this I was wondering what was going on in some games. I disabled Gsync and the flicker goes away I mean my PC is good enough where I really don't need Gsync I had Freesync monitors and just used Nvidia cards and that worked for me
without having cross capatibilty. I was getting flicker in Wild Hearts I didn't know what was going on.
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
27,087
Thank You for posting this I was wondering what was going on in some games. I disabled Gsync and the flicker goes away I mean my PC is good enough where I really don't need Gsync I had Freesync monitors and just used Nvidia cards and that worked for me
without having cross capatibilty. I was getting flicker in Wild Hearts I didn't know what was going on.
Gsync shouldn't cause flicker normally, and it has nothing to do with having s beefy computer or not as to its benefits. It synchs the monitor's refresh with output video card frames to eliminate tearing.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
The monitor probably wasn't tested before LG left it in wild luckily Little Buddy posted that otherwise I wouldn't have figured it out. It could be a Nvidia Driver problem or a Monitor problem.
The Flicker was bad with Gsync enabled basically made anything unplayable like a little stobe light going off in the background.
 
Last edited:

LittleBuddy

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 3, 2023
Messages
74
I'm thinking that's why it's Freesync Premium rather than Freesync Premium Pro, since VRR and HDR don't work properly together all the time.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
It seems like VRR without GSync works well for me, at least in the games I've tried so far?
I turned VRR off in the monitor just to experiment and noticed a lot more lag, so it's definitely doing something, even if GSync isn't on.
I find all the distinctions between these things a tad confusing.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
I just had this problem loading up the game Wild Hearts other games were fine Gsync is only really needed if your PC is slow and can't produce a steady frame rate.
Say you only get like 30-40 and notice tearing in the game Gsync will make it smooth but if you already have a bunch of 144+ FPS your not going to notice it.
 
Last edited:

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
27,087
I just had this problem loading up the game Wild Hearts other games were fine Gsync is only really needed if your PC is slow and can't produce a steady frame rate.
Say you only get like 30-40 and notice tearing in the game Gsync will make it smooth but if you already have a bunch of 144+ FPS your not going to notice it.
Wrong, as explained above.
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
20,003
Ok I see that you can have Adaptive Sync something new to me on the Monitor and have it off in Nvidia settings software side so maybe it's built inside the monitor where you don't need to enable it with software.
 

jbltecnicspro

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
8,386
So looking at the review on RTINGS it appears that you cannot adjust the white balance while using sRGB mode? Ugh... Why do monitor companies lock certain features out so arbitrarily.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
So looking at the review on RTINGS it appears that you cannot adjust the white balance while using sRGB mode? Ugh... Why do monitor companies lock certain features out so arbitrarily.

In sRGB mode, the available adjustments are Brightness, Contrast, and R/G/B channels (and Picture Reset).
Grayed out controls are Sharpness, Gamma, Color Temp, Six Color, and Black Level.

I don't see "white balance" anywhere specifically. But I agree it's odd certain settings are locked out in certain modes. I also wish certain features like DAS or the ability to not use ABL (as Gamer modes appear to do) were toggleable in other modes. That said, I'm pretty happy with my settings at this point even with the unavailability of certain options.

Calibration modes can also be calibrated to sRGB if you have the equipment (colorimeter), but only Brightness is adjustable there (though you specify things like a target gamma and color space when you calibrate).
 

Xar

n00b
Joined
Dec 15, 2022
Messages
45
I'm thinking that's why it's Freesync Premium rather than Freesync Premium Pro, since VRR and HDR don't work properly together all the time.
It's like FreeSync Premium Pro requires specific brightness level, input lag, response time, and other monitor's specifications to match the certificate. It's strange the Dough/Eve version of this META-MLA WRGB is FreeSync Premium Pro certified while LG's own monitor doesn't.
 

pandora's box

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
4,819
I picked one of these up tonight from the local Microcenter. Sold my LG C2 OLED to a friend. I found with the 42" C2 I was getting headaches and eye strain from extended gaming sessions (5+ hours). Decided to drop down to 27", I also picked up a regular IPS 27" too (LG 27GL83A) as a secondary monitor. I imagine I was sitting close to the 42" C2, my desk is 28" deep. The 27" OLED fits much better.

I have the monitor in "Gamer 1" mode and I turned off the energy saving feature. To me, text looks just as clear, if not clearer than it did on the C2, I don't see what the big deal is about "fuzzy" text on this monitor. I didn't think I would notice the difference between 240hz and 120hz, I was wrong. For desktop use, while it's not as big as an upgrade from 60hz to 120hz, it definitely feels much smoother, definitely noticeable. I havent had a chance to test games yet.

I personally LOVE the matte coating on this monitor. The C2 OLED would drive me crazy with the reflections, I've never been a fan of glossy monitors. Anytime I would game I would have to close the blinds in the room, middle of the day and I have the light on. No more! Will report back with more feedback when I've had a chance to use it a bit more.
 

sgupta

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2016
Messages
225
I have the monitor in "Gamer 1" mode and I turned off the energy saving feature. To me, text looks just as clear, if not clearer than it did on the C2, I don't see what the big deal is about "fuzzy" text on this monitor. I didn't think I would notice the difference between 240hz and 120hz, I was wrong. For desktop use, while it's not as big as an upgrade from 60hz to 120hz, it definitely feels much smoother, definitely noticeable. I havent had a chance to test games yet.

Congrats!

I too think text looks good on the monitor. I just assumed I wasn't particularly sensitive to text fringing since it does seem to be a common complaint with these. I actually work with text quite a bit on here, and while I can notice it, it just doesn't seem to bother me.

Yeah the 240hz is really nice. I accidentally switched it to 60 the other day in Windows and I was like "WTF is wrong??" hehe.

Also, I've been playing a game not using DLSS [on my video card] and thought the performance was good. Playing around, I enabled it the other day (I always thought it was unnecessary/could introduce artifacts if your system was beefy enough to run without it) and got a HUGE performance boost, to the point I can't even believe how responsive this monitor can actually get. (It was decent before, but this is a whole other level as far as how good/smooth it feels.) Pretty insane! I didn't use the frame counter but I'm quite sure I was hitting the 240 with DLSS on. It was like butter - definitely not going back to DLSS off.

I personally LOVE the matte coating on this monitor. The C2 OLED would drive me crazy with the reflections, I've never been a fan of glossy monitors. Anytime I would game I would have to close the blinds in the room, middle of the day and I have the light on. No more! Will report back with more feedback when I've had a chance to use it a bit more.

I get the matte criticisms and would love to compare to glossy someday, but I don't mind the matte finish either tbh.
 

pandora's box

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2004
Messages
4,819
Also, I've been playing a game not using DLSS [on my video card] and thought the performance was good. Playing around, I enabled it the other day (I always thought it was unnecessary/could introduce artifacts if your system was beefy enough to run without it) and got a HUGE performance boost, to the point I can't even believe how responsive this monitor can actually get. (It was decent before, but this is a whole other level as far as how good/smooth it feels.) Pretty insane! I didn't use the frame counter but I'm quite sure I was hitting the 240 with DLSS on. It was like butter - definitely not going back to DLSS off.

lol. Yeah my 4090 is totally overkill at this point, was great for 4K but of the games I've tested so far tonight, none are pushing the 4090 that hard at all. Oh well, guess I wont need to upgrade for a while.
 

jbltecnicspro

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 18, 2006
Messages
8,386
In sRGB mode, the available adjustments are Brightness, Contrast, and R/G/B channels (and Picture Reset).
Grayed out controls are Sharpness, Gamma, Color Temp, Six Color, and Black Level.

I don't see "white balance" anywhere specifically. But I agree it's odd certain settings are locked out in certain modes. I also wish certain features like DAS or the ability to not use ABL (as Gamer modes appear to do) were toggleable in other modes. That said, I'm pretty happy with my settings at this point even with the unavailability of certain options.

Calibration modes can also be calibrated to sRGB if you have the equipment (colorimeter), but only Brightness is adjustable there (though you specify things like a target gamma and color space when you calibrate).
According to Rtings, they still couldn’t reign in the color as much as the sRGB mode. I think the color space was still 112% of sRGB after calibration.

Really annoying. I don’t want to drop $1K on a monitor to have even less calibration options than my $219 monitor from 2019.
 
Top