LG L246W

Discussion in 'Displays' started by ascarytiger, Mar 10, 2007.

  1. bryanb

    bryanb n00b

    Messages:
    40
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Thanks to Blahman in this thread, we have a fix for this issue. I will post the exact instructions later (it's a little complicated), but basically you need to use OverrideEdidFlags0 with an EDID modified so that number of extensions is 0 rather than 1. This seems to disable the monitor advertising itself as an HDTV.
     
  2. tdashmike

    tdashmike n00b

    Messages:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    I'm reading that posting right now, I'm glad that works, I'm gonna try it right now, you just change the numbers in the line you add into the inf file right?
     
  3. tdashmike

    tdashmike n00b

    Messages:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    I tried saving the dat file from Phoenix with extensions=0 and then i went into the registry and found all the instances with OverrideEdidFlags0 in it and changed the numbers but it still doesn't work.
     
  4. bryanb

    bryanb n00b

    Messages:
    40
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    I did a comparison between the working and non-working EDID and the only difference is the last byte (before the checksum) is a 0 instead of a 1. So really the OverrideEdidFlags0 value just needs to be:

    Code:
    1E 6D 3F 56 00 00 FF FF 04 00 00 00 7E 01 00
    The first 4 bytes identify the LG monitor. The key is the last 3 bytes of 7E 01 00. That says replace the 127th byte with a 0.

    Explanation of OverrideEdidFlags

    The simplest way to install this is to modify the nv_disp.inf by doing the following:
    1. Start the installation of the latest Nvidia drivers and cancel out once the files are extracted
    2. Open nv_disp.inf. By default for the current drivers this is in C:\NVIDIA\WinVista\169.25
    3. In the [nv_SoftwareDeviceSettings] section add the following:
      Code:
      HKR,, OverrideEdidFlags0, %REG_BINARY%, 1E,6D,3F,56,00,00,FF,FF,04,00,00,00,7E,01,00
    4. Uninstall your current drivers and reboot
    5. Install the modified drivers by running the previously extracted setup.exe. By default for the current drivers this is in C:\NVIDIA\WinVista\169.25. You'll get a warning about the driver not being signed because of the modified inf. Just press OK.

    You can avoid the uninstall/reinstall by adding the value directly to the registry, but I don't know of a reliable way to locate the correct registry hive within HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video. If you can figure out which hive is correct, you can directly add the OverrideEdidFlags0 key and value in the 0000 hive (where you'll see all the other Nvidia keys).

    Hope that helps.
     
  5. tdashmike

    tdashmike n00b

    Messages:
    52
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    I bought an ATI video card instead and it works beautifully out of the box. Until NVIDIA fixes the problem I guess I won't using an NVIDIA card. I could not get the fix to work. XFX did not offer and good solutions for me, they sent a component cable but I don't want to use that.
     
  6. hmongkeysauce

    hmongkeysauce n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Anybody have an issue with this monitor where it would not wake up after Windows shut it off due to inactivity? Basically, i would leave Windows running. After, say 20mins, of inactivity, Windows will shut down the monitor. But if you move the mouse to wake up the system again, the monitor doesn't power back up. I have to manually turn it off and then turn it back on again. It's strange because it's only happening to one of them(I have 2 set up as dual display). It may be a video card issue as it didn't happen with I was using an 8800gts but now it's doing it with any ati(I tried a 2600XT and 2600PRO) cards. Unfortunately, I sold that nvidia card so I no longer have access to any nvidia cards. Any comments, ideas?
     
  7. mattchapman

    mattchapman Gawd

    Messages:
    571
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Yes I have the same problem. I'm using Vista x64 and a 8800GT.

    I guess I have to get used to pressing the power button to wake it up.
     
  8. suicidaltaco

    suicidaltaco n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    If anyone can point me to the L246WP or L245WP in Toronto/Scarborough for non-ripoff prices, I would be most grateful. I've searched VERY thoroughly =(

    Best bet looks like CanadaComputers for $580 (if i recall) so far but they're pretty darn scarce on stock, if not out.

    Thanks.
     
  9. Vasp

    Vasp n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Circuit city has this monitor on clearance for $301.96
     
  10. Griminal

    Griminal n00b

    Messages:
    28
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Thanks for this. It worked great for my L246WP-BN. I upgraded from a 8600GT to a 9600GT and I now have 1920x1200 again.
     
  11. enjay

    enjay n00b

    Messages:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    I have no problems with my 8800gts at 1920x1200, BUT:

    Hasn't anyone noticed the screen has extreme "white crush" over DVI?? Everything over RGB 227 is white, unbeliavable. Everything's fine through analog (VGA).

    Any ideas? It almost looks like the input is always using video levels (RGB 16 to 235). Toggling the PC/Video-Setting in the OSD doesn't do anything.

    Otherwise, the screen is good for the price in spite of lack of uniformity and bad black level (my old 213T PVA looks like a Black Trinitron CRT in direct comparison).
    But this problem is really serious.

    edit: it's most likely a wrong default contrast preset, will test later.
     
  12. rogue_jedi

    rogue_jedi [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,822
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    I'm running sRGB with brightness at 40 (no contrast in sRGB Mode) and I can distinguish up to 253.
     
  13. enjay

    enjay n00b

    Messages:
    38
    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Okay, maybe low brightness settings are not regulating the backlight but are also connected to the contrast setting. I'll check once I get home.

    edit: checked. You must be using the monitor through VGA? sRGB definitely kills the upper end of a grey gradient through DVI, at least on the current European L245WP. Someone else reported just the same.
    Fortunately, the "User" mode works great: set contrast to 80, voila (also confirmed by others).
    Contrary to what I've read, this setting also regulates the backlight. Black level improves with low brightness, this wouldn't be possible with digital regulation.
     
  14. stevemedes

    stevemedes Bad Trader

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Guys, run to Circuit City, they have this monitor on clearance. As with all clearances, YMMV. It was on clearance for 326, but they had no stock. I bought the display model and they knocked off $100 off the price! $229 plus tax!

    Proof:
    [​IMG]
     
  15. JamesL

    JamesL Gawd

    Messages:
    657
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Holy shinizzles!!
    I was trying to find it in stock back when it was $500 - and the local stores in Chicago were all out =(.
    If I found that for the price you did.. I'd be such a happy crab - though, I can't say I'm not happy with my 2407wfp =)
     
  16. stevemedes

    stevemedes Bad Trader

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    im happy as a clam right now. beats the 22" acer TN i came from, no dead pixels either. just ordered my hdmi->dvi cable from monoprice. have it on vga right now, still looks great! what are your guys recommended color settings, as its kinda fubared out of box.
     
  17. dark_reign

    dark_reign 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    That's a great deal on this monitor. I got mine for $499 when it was on sale at BB many moons ago.

    For color I recommend setting the monitor to sRGB mode and then adjusting color via your video card control panel. This monitor runs a bit cool out of the box, so just turn down the blue a bit. The sRGB setting is better because it allows you to turn the brightness down to a reasonable level while keeping the contrast ratio still very high. The User and other color temp settings make this monitor look more washed out if you use it in a darker, low-level lighting enviroment.
     
  18. stevemedes

    stevemedes Bad Trader

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    thanks for the tip! looks alot better that way. cant wait to get it hooked up thru hdmi.
     
  19. teeck

    teeck n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Hey guys was wondering if you could give me some advice. I currently have the Westinghouse L2410NM and was wondering If I would see improvement if I got the LG L246WP. So far the Wesy is really nice except for a couple of points. The colors and brightness across the screen is really nice. The only things that are killing me for this lcd is the input lag and the vary faint hum that I can hear (I have very sensitive hearing) through my Mac Pro. I have read all great reviews about the L246, the only thing thats holding me back is I saw the screen in frys and the text looked blurry at full rez through the HDMI to DVI on a PC. I've read some people don't have the blurry text so just wanted to get some input. Can someone who has used both tell me what differences they have observed from the westy and LG in regards to text sharpness, color, even brightness accross the screen, input lag, buzzing and the various input qualities. I just sold my iMac 24" to get a mac pro, which had an incredible screen so Im kind of bummed out.

    Thanks

    P.S. Just found this forum 2 days ago and it ROCKS, so much great info!!
     
  20. Dainas

    Dainas Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    202
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Well I have a L245WP (online version of the L246WP) and it rocks for gaming, very very little lag for a 24" non TN. It is allot like the Westinghouse though as it uses HDMI and has an MVA panel (some would say the same make) but with slightly better colors and no reported humming that I know of.

    I actually think the L2410NM is a prettier monitor though for pure aesthetics, my L245WP is a very plain office spec looking monitor. But I love the image in every sense to death. As for blurry text, I do not have that problem at all, infact with clear type under Vista it still looks kinda sharp to me next to medium text smoothing on my Powermac.
     
  21. mxpxrulzz

    mxpxrulzz [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,674
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    just bought mine today too!!

    curcuit city - new in box - $277.96!!!
     
  22. gtg465x

    gtg465x 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,112
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    I got mine today too. Time to return the Westy and sell my Gateway FHD2400. I feel my monitor search is finally over until OLED comes around!
     
  23. stevemedes

    stevemedes Bad Trader

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    from circuit city? price?

     
  24. gtg465x

    gtg465x 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,112
    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2005
    $277.96 plus tax. Yes from Circuit City.
     
  25. luis1985

    luis1985 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    I got mine too :) open box though only vga cable and power cable. 239.99 plus 4 year warranty. Its HUGE. I want to connect my PC and xbox 360 thru HDMI, what do I need to buy in order to be able to connect both through HDMI? Thank You. And thanks for letting me know about this offer... By the way no more monitors available in the San Jose area at all, I got the last one in display :)
     
  26. NoNRG

    NoNRG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,126
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    I would advise anyone looking for a 24" monitor who could pick one up at the Circuit City clearance to do so. I picked it up about 40 days ago from the Best Buy clearance at ~$370 and thought it was a steal back then.
     
  27. Dainas

    Dainas Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    202
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Hardly surprising, all the local ones and BB were out of them by last December. Fry's had them but at well north of $500. But then again every type store in San Jose is like that, there's a culture in management around here that seems to think that its better to have empty shelves than bother ordering a few more. I've bought out soo many things permanently around here that never ever showed back up even 6 months later despite many request. :p


    Great deal, wish I was soo lucky when I was looking last month.
     
  28. mxpxrulzz

    mxpxrulzz [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,674
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    unfortunately the monitor only has one hdmi port, so you are going to need an hdmi switch to keep them both connected.

    Anyone have any suggestions?
     
  29. luis1985

    luis1985 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Lol thanks, I got very lucky,
    This in my first monitor so I have a few questions, What should I look out for? Such as dead pixels? and How do I find them? Thanks and sorry again first LCD.
     
  30. rogue_jedi

    rogue_jedi [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,822
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    These are probably what you'll need for that.

    Dead Pixel Buddy

    You may also want to go through the LCD tests on lagom.nl.
     
  31. luis1985

    luis1985 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    144
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Hi guys my monitor seems to cut off the edges of my xbox 360, it was made feb, 2007. It also says versions 1.440. It was an open box item. I think I can still return it.
     
  32. NoNRG

    NoNRG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,126
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Mine works fine with my XBox 360. How do you have it hooked up, and are you sure the resolution is set correctly?
     
  33. teeck

    teeck n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    I decided to get the L246 but I wasn't as lucky as some of the people here with the price. I pretty much called all the best buys and circuit city around la in a 25 mile radius (lol), but none of them had any left. The local fry's had 2 left on display and I picked one up. They gave me a 10% discount for the floor model so it ended up being $514 with tax. Kind of sucks here in LA that the prices are so much but Im happy. The Westinghouse was an awesome LCD but the buzzing and input lag was too much for me. Im glad to say this LG is an AMAZING MONITOR. Very close to my iMac 24" I-SPS regarding color and the extra inputs work well. I connected my canon HV20 cam up to the component and it looked great, better than the Westinghouse. Although I will say the westinghouse is still a really great monitor and blows away all the CRAP TN 24" picture wise if you can stand the input lag.

    When I started researching 24" displays for my mac pro I initially decided to go with the Apple 23 Inch if I couldn't find anything decent...it would be the last resort, and of course was trying to get the most bang for the buck. The LG was my first choice but I changed my mind after reading a review from x-bit labs that gave it a really bad rating ( I dunno what they were doing honestly) and the fact that the LG 246WP was hard to find and out of stock. I headed to fry's and looked at the monitors, I didn't really pay attention to LG that was on display (maybe if fry's connected it with HDMI to a decent video card so the text wasn't all blurred). I was mainly looking for the best picture with the most inputs, I spotted the Gateway FHD2400 which INITIALLY looked the best from all the monitors. At this point I wasn't aware of all the Panel types and their limitations, specifically TN panels, so I decided on the Gateway and the price was $550. Now here is where it gets really good, the young employee at fry's wrote up my order for a HD2200 which was going in for $350 but gave me a FHD2400 box, which is of course is what I asked for. I didn't realize this until the cashier told me my total, and naturally I didn't say anything, so I ended up paying $380 total for a FHD2400. Ohh man you can imagine how happy I was, saved $200 on fry's behalf. Sadly after I brought it home I learned the ways of the TN panel, viewing angle was pretty awful. I would move a window from the bottom to the top where the bottom of the screen was super bright and the top was dark and changed colors. I returned the FHD2400 and bought the westinghouse which was miles ahead of the FHD2400, but the input lag and buzzing was annoying so I got the LG and I am finally satisfied...my epic LCD hunting adventure is over. Sorry for the long post, its just been a pretty crazy week and wanted to share my crazy experience with you guys.
     
  34. 10e

    10e 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,383
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Sounds like a component connection as neither VGA nor HDMI have this issue.

    The VGA cable works much better with the LG.

    Regards,

    10e

     
  35. 10e

    10e 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,383
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Sounds like my quest,

    I tried two L246WP's but both had dead sub pixels. I guess I shoulda stuck with them until I found one, as so far my Westinghouse L2410NM (while a great multi-functional monitor) does not have the panel quality of the LG, and my BenQ FP241VW is just plain FLAKEY.

    I even used an LG 37LB5D TV as a monitor, which is great, but suffers from slight input lag.

    But so far, this monitor, even for $500.00 or so, is a great unit.

    Enjoy,

    10e


     
  36. stevemedes

    stevemedes Bad Trader

    Messages:
    342
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    found 3 dead pixels using dead pixel buddy

    listen to how awesome LG's service is:

    called them up, told them about the dead pixels. no questions asked, are sending me DHL packing labels for free and are giving me a brand new monitor! not bad since the monitor i originally bought was open box anyway! hoping my new unit has no dead pixels. other than the dead pixels, this monitor is absolutely fabulous!
     
  37. mickey4paws

    mickey4paws [H]Lite

    Messages:
    116
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Thanks to Stevemedes for this deal. I just got a display model at Circuit City. I have a few dead pixels too though, so hopefully LG will come through for me. I had bought a Princeton Graphics one at Costco this weekend that is going back. It had bad backlight bleed plus I'm sure this LG is much better.
     
  38. AthlonXP

    AthlonXP [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    20,269
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    well I will be going to check this out today myself, maybe get lucky.. hopefully one of the 4 in my area still has it.
     
  39. Opeth

    Opeth [H]Lite

    Messages:
    77
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    If you are using VGA there is an Auto calibration thing in the menu somewhere. That should fix it for you. Also make sure your ARC is on Original and not Full.
     
  40. AndyZhang

    AndyZhang n00b

    Messages:
    30
    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Been reading some of these posts, and seeing that people have been having problems w/1920 x 1200 in Windows. Does anybody have an 8800GTS 512 that can confirm/deny this?

    Also, does it run 1080p w/a PS3 plugged in? Or 1080i with the 360 (the highest it can output, right?)

    Ditching a Soyo 24" to get this, since it actually has all the features I want in a monitor, while still being cheap. Just hope CC B&M has this in stock!