LG 48CX

Kev13Dd

n00b
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
36
I have been rocking a 40" 4k that is attached to my standing desk via arm...the PPI is such that it's in a sweet spot and I was thinking of downsizing because I don't know how much I put things in the corners...but that'd mean I'd probably be leaning and squinting a lot more, now that I think about it. But adding an extra 8" seems silly to be that up close to. About how far are you from it, and do you use the corners much? Any simulates monitor borders using software that divides the screen?

I suppose I could wall mount it and move my standing desk back, I just don't know if I want it to come to that, as I like my monitor moving with my height.
I went from a 40" 4K on my desk to the 48". I was already a bit uncomfortable on the 40" (I felt like I wasn't as quick to notice things in competitive shooters because I had to move my head) and moving the 48" to the far back of the desk pretty much matches the 40"; right on the edge of uncomfortable-but-usable. For single player immersive games it's worth it though

Desktop use definitely ends up with wasted space; I find myself moving things to the corner and treating it as a smaller monitor a lot. And the 48CX I'm still getting used to the weird subpixel arrangement which is enough to be bothersome

Hopefully the Gsync and HDMI 2.1 issues get ironed out. Without those I'm not sure the upgrade was worth it
 

CyJackX

n00b
Joined
Apr 8, 2015
Messages
21
I went from a 40" 4K on my desk to the 48". I was already a bit uncomfortable on the 40" (I felt like I wasn't as quick to notice things in competitive shooters because I had to move my head) and moving the 48" to the far back of the desk pretty much matches the 40"; right on the edge of uncomfortable-but-usable. For single player immersive games it's worth it though

Desktop use definitely ends up with wasted space; I find myself moving things to the corner and treating it as a smaller monitor a lot. And the 48CX I'm still getting used to the weird subpixel arrangement which is enough to be bothersome

Hopefully the Gsync and HDMI 2.1 issues get ironed out. Without those I'm not sure the upgrade was worth it
Any other cons? Thought there was a firmware update for that.
 

Kev13Dd

n00b
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
36
Any other cons? Thought there was a firmware update for that.
As you can see from the last couple of pages, it's hit-and-miss for people. Some say it's fine, some get stutter, some get tearing. I'm on team "having issues" sadly. But definitely sounds fixable in drivers/firmware eventually

Some of my other cons are just minor things not exactly size/display issues. How Windows handles HDR, Plex not handling HDR correctly either, annoying TV pop-ups when turning on the TV or starting games, etc. Nothing that makes me regret the decision, but when I splurged on the TV (European prices are ridiculous) I naively expected to be immediately blown away. But that's not how PC gaming works. Everything is tinkering and adjusting...
 

Monstieur

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
294
I found that the stuttering was caused by setting Low Latency Mode to Ultra in NVCP for Dota 2. After setting it to Off, G-SYNC works perfectly with Vsync enabled and fps_max 118. CS: GO doesn't have the same issue with Low Latency Mode.

Additionally, as others have stated, Enable settings for the selected display model must be disabled in the NVCP G-SYNC settings. If this is enabled, it will result in stuttering in all games below the Vsync refresh rate. You can tell when this stuttering occurs by looking at the FreeSync Information screen on the CX (press the green button repeatedly) - the Hz value changes rapidly.
 

Dahkoht

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 2, 2014
Messages
450
Been reading off and on , if wouldn't mind from the experts current situation on these ?

Decided I didn't like the curve on the 38" LG combined with loss of vertical space (used to 4k 60hz for a while now). So sent it back to Costco and going to give the CX 48 another go.

1. Currently have Pascal Titan , am fine with it being 60hz till I get a 3080 , but in misc places have noticed people complaining about high input lag at 60hz ? Anyone running or did run it ok at 60 hz until they got their new card ? Didn't want to get it in and hate it until I got a 3080.

2. Is running at 120hz at 4k doable without issues I've noticed the past few pages if I am fine without HDR etc , just hoping to get full normal color at 120 as can at 60 without a hassle once I get my 3080.

Thanks in advance.

(only other possible thing on the horizon for me is the 43" ASUS with 2.1 HDMI but no concrete dates on it I've found)
 

Monstieur

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
294
Been reading off and on , if wouldn't mind from the experts current situation on these ?

Decided I didn't like the curve on the 38" LG combined with loss of vertical space (used to 4k 60hz for a while now). So sent it back to Costco and going to give the CX 48 another go.

1. Currently have Pascal Titan , am fine with it being 60hz till I get a 3080 , but in misc places have noticed people complaining about high input lag at 60hz ? Anyone running or did run it ok at 60 hz until they got their new card ? Didn't want to get it in and hate it until I got a 3080.

2. Is running at 120hz at 4k doable without issues I've noticed the past few pages if I am fine without HDR etc , just hoping to get full normal color at 120 as can at 60 without a hassle once I get my 3080.

Thanks in advance.

(only other possible thing on the horizon for me is the 43" ASUS with 2.1 HDMI but no concrete dates on it I've found)
There are no compatibility issues with latest firmware & drivers, apart from having to deselect Enable settings for the selected display model in the NVCP G-SYNC settings.
 

gamerk2

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 9, 2012
Messages
1,805
I found that the stuttering was caused by setting Low Latency Mode to Ultra in NVCP for Dota 2. After setting it to Off, G-SYNC works perfectly with Vsync enabled and fps_max 118. CS: GO doesn't have the same issue with Low Latency Mode.
Can anyone else confirm?
 

Kev13Dd

n00b
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
36
Can anyone else confirm?
It might work for some people, but latency mode doesn't fix Gsync for me

Neither does Windows VRR with "Enable settings for the selected display" unchecked

Something is janky with the current firmware, and I'm not the only one on here experiencing the same thing
 

steiNetti

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
48

Does anybody have any experience with this type of wallmount?

17mm depth looks promising..
 
Last edited:

kasakka

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
1,928

Does anybody have any experience with this type of wallmount?

17mm depth looks promising..
Would prevent you from using the ports at the back of the display. HDMI 1-3 are on the side but HDMI 4, LAN and optical poke out from the back.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
2,695

Does anybody have any experience with this type of wallmount?

17mm depth looks promising..
As long as you hit a stud it looks like it would work. The only thing is you can’t slide it left or right to help center it over your desk. Also if you don’t nail level it’s going to bother you. Won’t be level with your desk. The one I got is a full length one but is only 1 inch off the wall. I can still adjust level and slide it around 6-8 inches left to right if I want to move my desk. Which I ended up doing after I had it up. Had to move my computer to the other side due to the glare off the glass side panel. Just depends on what you want.
 

steiNetti

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
48
Would prevent you from using the ports at the back of the display. HDMI 1-3 are on the side but HDMI 4, LAN and optical poke out from the back.
Yeah, I only need the sideports. The single purpose is usage as a pc/console gaming monitor. The thing that bothers me most is the power cord coming out straight from the back..

As long as you hit a stud it looks like it would work. The only thing is you can’t slide it left or right to help center it over your desk. Also if you don’t nail level it’s going to bother you. Won’t be level with your desk. The one I got is a full length one but is only 1 inch off the wall. I can still adjust level and slide it around 6-8 inches left to right if I want to move my desk. Which I ended up doing after I had it up. Had to move my computer to the other side due to the glare off the glass side panel. Just depends on what you want.
I have the luxury of not having to deal with drywalls in my house. 😅

What I am afraid of is exactly what you mentioned though, 0 adjustability. But what I'm really afraid of is the small window for hanging it in the clip. I'm really scared that I might break the panel while trying to hit that..

But with 55" staring at my face on a 65cm deep desk I need every cm of depth I can get haha..
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
2,695
Yeah, I only need the sideports. The single purpose is usage as a pc/console gaming monitor. The thing that bothers me most is the power cord coming out straight from the back..


I have the luxury of not having to deal with drywalls in my house. 😅

What I am afraid of is exactly what you mentioned though, 0 adjustability. But what I'm really afraid of is the small window for hanging it in the clip. I'm really scared that I might break the panel while trying to hit that..

But with 55" staring at my face on a 65cm deep desk I need every cm of depth I can get haha..
Here is the one I used Mounting Dream TV Wall Mount TV... https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07P645JGR?ref=ppx_pop_mob_ap_share
It’s 1.4 inches. For all the added adjustments, it’s worth giving up the inch.
 

Monstieur

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
294
?
If you do this, GSYNC is not working at all. And the Hz-value changing rapidly is the whole point, that's how it works.
When running at a locked 118 fps with G-SYNC, the Hz value should not change. It's 5.5 Hz at a locked 120 fps, and IIRC 5.4 Hz at 118 fps. If the Hz value changes rapidly while running at the same fps, that is the G-SYNC stuttering problem due to the Enable settings for the selected display model checkbox being selected. The Hz value should change only when the framerate is actually varying. It's easy to tell G-SYNC is in fact working, because there is no tearing, stuttering, or input lag (in case it was actually Vsync).
 
Last edited:

Kev13Dd

n00b
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
36
Did you try the Enable settings for the selected display model checkbox? This is the only thing has been shown to work.

Low Latency Mode should be Off by default. It's not compatible with many games and it's a mistake to switch it on globally.
Yes. My low latency is off globally. I tried that Gsync "Enable settings" checkbox on/off, I tried the VRR setting in Windows on/off, and Freesync on TV on/off. And all combos between. Still see stuttering/tearing on the Pendulum test, as well as in games

I'm still not on a certified 2.1 HDMI cable but that shouldn't be a big deal at 4K 60Hz (full 10), and it can handle 4K 100Hz 10bit just fine too. I'll update when I get the new cable tomorrow, but my stutter/tearing issue matches what quite a few people are saying here and on reddit so I doubt it's the cable
 

Monstieur

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
294
I just discovered something else. If you reboot the PC with Enable settings for the selected display model unchecked, G-SYNC doesn't activate on the CX after booting. You must check and uncheck the box once again after each reboot. If you forget to do this and have an fps limit configured, it will run in Vsync mode and result in stuttering.
 

lors

n00b
Joined
May 23, 2020
Messages
43
When running at a locked 118 fps with G-SYNC, the Hz value should not change. It's 5.5 Hz at a locked 120 fps, and IIRC 5.4 Hz at 118 fps. If the Hz value changes rapidly while running at the same fps, that is the G-SYNC stuttering problem due to the Enable settings for the selected display model checkbox being selected. The Hz value should change only when the framerate is actually varying. It's easy to tell G-SYNC is in fact working, because there is no tearing, stuttering, or input lag (in case it was actually Vsync).

Sorry I totally overlooked that locked fps part.
 

Monstieur

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
294
Yes. My low latency is off globally. I tried that Gsync "Enable settings" checkbox on/off, I tried the VRR setting in Windows on/off, and Freesync on TV on/off. And all combos between. Still see stuttering/tearing on the Pendulum test, as well as in games

I'm still not on a certified 2.1 HDMI cable but that shouldn't be a big deal at 4K 60Hz (full 10), and it can handle 4K 100Hz 10bit just fine too. I'll update when I get the new cable tomorrow, but my stutter/tearing issue matches what quite a few people are saying here and on reddit so I doubt it's the cable
The pendulum demo is broken on G-SYNC Compatible displays - I cannot even select G-SYNC most of the time even though the display is running in VRR mode.

Are you sure G-SYNC is actually active in-game? Use the Display > G-SYNC Compatible Indicator menu option in NVCP (it only appears while Set up G-SYNC is selected).
 

Kev13Dd

n00b
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
36
The pendulum demo is broken on G-SYNC Compatible displays - I cannot even select G-SYNC most of the time even though the display is running in VRR mode.

Are you sure G-SYNC is actually active in-game? Use the Display > G-SYNC Compatible Indicator menu option in NVCP (it only appears while Set up G-SYNC is selected).
I'll give it a try in games. I have the Gsync indicator on but I've only been using Pendulum to test configurations; I don't leave Gsync enabled when I'm playing games simply because of the stuttering/tearing issues when testing it on Pendulum

EDIT: Still getting tearing and stuttering, even when the Gsync indicator is on. Avengers felt juddery at full refresh rate and had visible screen tearing when dropping below refresh rate, even when Gsync indicator was on. Turning Gsync back off made it feel good again
 
Last edited:

Monstieur

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 10, 2011
Messages
294
I'll give it a try in games. I have the Gsync indicator on but I've only been using Pendulum to test configurations; I don't leave Gsync enabled when I'm playing games simply because of the stuttering/tearing issues when testing it on Pendulum

EDIT: Still getting tearing and stuttering, even when the Gsync indicator is on. Avengers felt juddery at full refresh rate and had visible screen tearing when dropping below refresh rate, even when Gsync indicator was on. Turning Gsync back off made it feel good again
Does the FreeSync Information menu show a variable Hz value when running at a locked fps?
 

steiNetti

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
48
I don't think that all of this is strictly related to the .25/.26 firmware.

I'm still on .10.20 (somehow I don't get an OTA update) and a 2070 Super @ 1440p120 and I sometimes get stuttering or tearing, depending on vsync settings after launching GTA5..

I didn't have this 3 days ago (was buttery smooth until today) and the only thing I did was playing around with the TV settings.. I also had similar behaviour on my old Philips Momentum 43 at times (FreeSync / G-Sync compat too).

Slowly I'm thinking that this may not be an exclusive CX/30 series issue, but rather Windows 10 / NVIDIA related..

PS: I'm wondering if any of those issues exist on AMD cards? Anyone here crazy enough to run a 5700XT or something?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
2,695
I don't think that all of this is strictly related to the .25/.26 firmware.

I'm still on .10.20 (somehow I don't get an OTA update) and a 2070 Super @ 1440p120 and I sometimes get stuttering or tearing, depending on vsync settings after launching GTA5..

I didn't have this 3 days ago (was buttery smooth until today) and the only thing I did was playing around with the TV settings.. I also had similar behaviour on my old Philips Momentum 43 at times (FreeSync / G-Sync compat too).

Slowly I'm thinking that this may not be an exclusive CX/30 series issue, but rather Windows 10 / NVIDIA related..

PS: I'm wondering if any of those issues exist on AMD cards? Anyone here crazy enough to run a 5700XT or something?
I believe I’m the only one running a 5700xt. Mine runs super smooth with VRR on and it does 120hz at all custom resolutions. Playing WOW at the moment and FPS dips a lot anything from 45fps to 120fps. But it’s super smooth . Knock on wood I haven’t had any issues. Only one I have had is when game mode clicks over I was getting a black screen but that just started since this last OTA on the lg.
 

steiNetti

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2020
Messages
48
On another note that just hit me: shouldn't I be able to drive 2560x1440@120Hz RGB with 10bit and HDR?

If I calculated right (meaning: used the right calculator) it should come out < 16gbps, well under the 18gbps HDMI 2.0 limit..?

I can only select 8bit in the control panel..

//Edit: nevermind.. stupid nvidia hdmi 2.0 limitation of only 8 and 12 bit..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 13, 2012
Messages
34
And the 48CX I'm still getting used to the weird subpixel arrangement which is enough to be bothersome
Does setting ClearType to greyscale, or straight-up disabling ClearType altogether, not aleliviate the issue? (this can be easily achieved via Better ClearType Tuner)

Or is that exactly what the issue is - that you're not used to using text that is rendered without sub-pixel anti-aliasing?
 

gordy

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2020
Messages
4
Does setting ClearType to greyscale, or straight-up disabling ClearType altogether, not aleliviate the issue? (this can be easily achieved via Better ClearType Tuner)

Or is that exactly what the issue is - that you're not used to using text that is rendered without sub-pixel anti-aliasing?

To me RGB ClearType is plainly better-looking than greyscale - this wasn't the case prior to enabling Ultra HD Deep Color on the TV though. I tried taking some photos about an inch from the screen. I normally sit a bit more than an arm's length away and definitely cannot see individual pixels.

..from this page:
cleartype1.jpg


..and this image from www.lagom.nl/lcd-test
subpixel-font.png

cleartype3.jpg
 

Tol

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Messages
234
Last post I saw in this thread mentioned that custom, ultrawide resolutions weren't working perfectly with the Club-3D CAC-1085. Anyone able to confirm if that's still the case? Looks like it might still be a while before I can find a Strix 3090 so I'm considering a temporary solution...
 

kasakka

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 25, 2008
Messages
1,928
To me RGB ClearType is plainly better-looking than greyscale - this wasn't the case prior to enabling Ultra HD Deep Color on the TV though. I tried taking some photos about an inch from the screen. I normally sit a bit more than an arm's length away and definitely cannot see individual pixels.

..from this page:
View attachment 290372

..and this image from www.lagom.nl/lcd-test
View attachment 290375
View attachment 290374
RGB subpixel smoothing has clear fringing effects that are not present with grayscale. Also you can't use that image as a reference, it's meant to represent how the different subpixel rendering looks like on any monitor, it's the "Rendering of your browser below:" that you need to be looking at. That only changes when you change subpixels smoothing. Also it's best to restart your browser if you change subpixel rendering as it might not follow it right away.

Grayscale to me is the best compromise but it's still a bit rubbish compared to grayscale antialiasing on MacOS.
 

madpistol

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
311
My CX just updated to 3.11.25 this morning. Going to check GSYNC compatibility later (currently have my 2070 Super installed)
 

Lateralus

More [H]uman than Human
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
16,003
My CX just updated to 3.11.25 this morning. Going to check GSYNC compatibility later (currently have my 2070 Super installed)

I just got the 03.11.25 OTA update this morning as well. Still on my 1080 Ti until a 3080 can be found...looking forward to your results.
 

gordy

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2020
Messages
4
RGB subpixel smoothing has clear fringing effects that are not present with grayscale.
compared to an LCD or just in general? it's the nature of cleartype that it adds color to the edges - if you used it on an LCD screen then it works just as well on the CX. I had poor results at first and I thought it might be due to there being a different subpixel layout but after finding and enabling the HDMI Ultra HD Deep Color setting now it looks great and I think the subpixel layout is certainly RGB - if there's an extra W inbetween it mustn't be addressable.
 

madpistol

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
311
I just got the 03.11.25 OTA update this morning as well. Still on my 1080 Ti until a 3080 can be found...looking forward to your results.
I just put my RTX 3080 back in, installed drivers, and did 2 tests.

Euro Truck Simulator 4K/120
Pendulum Demo 50-110 FPS

I did the little green button VRR screen to verify, and it is running 4K/120 VRR 4:4:4 10-bit.

Both passed with flying colors. LG seems to have fixed it, and it looks beautiful!!!!

I am officially a happy 3080 and LG CX owner. Feels good!
 

Lateralus

More [H]uman than Human
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
16,003
I just put my RTX 3080 back in, installed drivers, and did 2 tests.

Euro Truck Simulator 4K/120
Pendulum Demo 50-110 FPS

I did the little green button VRR screen to verify, and it is running 4K/120 VRR 4:4:4 10-bit.

Both passed with flying colors. LG seems to have fixed it, and it looks beautiful!!!!

I am officially a happy 3080 and LG CX owner. Feels good!

Thank you. That's great to hear, man! I'm really, really enjoying this display even without having the equipment to fully unleash its capabilities. Can't imagine what your experience must be like with a 3080 running the thing at 4:4:4 10-bit with VRR!
 

Groto

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
234
Can you confirm if you can do 4:4:4, 10-Bit, HDR, GSYNC, 120HZ all at the same time without stuttering or other issues?
 

NukeDukem

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 15, 2011
Messages
2,368
I installed the new firmware. Had some general desktop weirdness after setting 4k 120Hz 444 10bpc in the NVCP... but that was resolved after setting my second display to 60Hz. It appears I cannot run both displays at 120Hz G-Sync simultaneously. No worries though, because I just tried a few games on the CX @ 4k and it's amazing! I haven't encountered stutter yet but I definitely need to test out more games.
 

Groto

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
234
What about with HDR? Looking for someone to confirm this is working properly with all of the main settings HDR, GSYNC, 4:4:4, 10-Bit, 120hz
 

madpistol

Limp Gawd
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
311
Nope. Definitely see some stuttering around 100-120 FPS. My test case is Battlefield 1.

Does anyone know a fix for this? The display seems fine from what I can tell, so I dunno.
 
Last edited:
Top