Leaked AMD Ryzen Benchmarks?

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by HardOCP News, Dec 26, 2016.

  1. CSI_PC

    CSI_PC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,200
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    You probably missed my question to you.
    Any chance you can ask that guy who told you about the clocking if they used just the supplied cooler or a 3rd party one such as the AM4 Noctua D15, which would be better tbh.
    Also was his conclusions and experience with just for 6C or 8C or both?
    Thanks
     
  2. OrangeKhrush

    OrangeKhrush [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    I will ask him but it is probably that they test stock and their own solution
     
    razor1 and CSI_PC like this.
  3. OrangeKhrush

    OrangeKhrush [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    It is accepted as a good source, obviously you can continue picking and choosing what you want to believe, nobody really cares. When asked about the leak it was not rejected like other leaks were, and he even commented on it implying the numbers are correct. It is a week away the numbers will become more realistic reflections of final product.
     
  4. SighTurtle

    SighTurtle [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,394
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    I remember during the final weeks up to RX 480 launch, as the rumors, hope and hype swerved to create a GPU that would seemingly defeat the GTX 980Ti or the GTX 1070 at a price point now pretty clear to be absurd, there was a poster going around the forums and comment sections of hardware sites, claiming collaboration of the hype and rumors, saying he had inside sources, and I remember him (or her) cause before launch he disappeared off the face of the earth (at least as far as I can tell).

    tldr: salt, salt. Until we can get info from people who can actually be affected by the consequences of lying (not WCCF), all rumors and leaks should be seen with at least a little skepticism. When looking at rumors and leaks, evaluation of sources is paramount. Length of time existing, known background information, technical knowledge, etc are all part of the evaluation.

    Edit: Thankfully, having healthy discussion on leaks and rumors serves also as a process of evaluation.
     
    Algrim and Shintai like this.
  5. NKD

    NKD [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,390
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Dude you do come out as you have some bad shit for amd. Did you even read the rest of the fricking thread? You come back make one post that starts shit! Get ready to eat some serious shit in few weeks. I am sure you will find another reason to hold on to intels balls. This comes from a guy who has 6850k. Seriously your hate for amd is pretty damn shameful bro. Do something productive with your posts.
     
  6. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    INo, but if you buy the Vega gpu it will support it and also AMD Raven Ridge apu will definitely support it. The cpu has to have an igpu that supports the 10 bit technology in order to decode 4K Netflix or have dedicated GPU that supports it. Dump your old video card and upgrade to Vega or a Vega based igpu and Ryzen will work.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
  7. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    That's just a temporary exclusive. The requirement is HEVC 10bit decoding.
     
  8. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    I like facts, exactly because of all the previous hype and BS. And he provides nothing. Did you even bother to read the post I quoted on before going all defensive? I bet you didn't.
     
  9. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    And that's exactly why we need facts and not just some random forumpost nonsense that may or may not be true.
     
  10. chenw

    chenw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,977
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Sure, but I am currently not keen on buying an extra GPU, the 970 I will be using for the HTPC is currently unemployed and I don't have a lot of will to spend money on low end Pascal or Vega, and not a big fan of selling the card.

    Hopefully, I just have a very funny feeling that they will remove pentiums from the list of compatible CPUs.
     
  11. razor1

    razor1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,155
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005

    WOW TMI.......
     
  12. psyclist

    psyclist Gawd

    Messages:
    843
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    More and more leaks are putting this CPU in a great spot Haswell/Broadwell IPC with better SMT. Bang for the buck they have it in the bag if pricing and performance leaks are true. Im back on the hype train, Ryzen with their upcoming GPU uarch and HBM is gonna put them in a pretty sweet spot for a lot of markets. Next gen consoles are gonna eat this up...Choo Choo indeed!
     
  13. cageymaru

    cageymaru [H]ard|News

    Messages:
    19,237
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
  14. CSI_PC

    CSI_PC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,200
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Well I think most will be replacing the Max Wraith if the info is correct about its weight at 545g.
    The Noctua U14S without fans still weighs 770g, and this is not as chunky as the high performing AM4 D15 with its weight of 980g without fans.

    On the plus side that gives a lot more cooling capability available compared to the stock cooler.
    So that is positive and raises questions on whether benches used standard cooler or a custom high performance.

    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
  15. chenw

    chenw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,977
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    The one that stood out to me the MOST is the magical 3 words near the bottom of the chip.

    AMD is basically digging themselves a grave by going that, WTF are they still outsourcing their chip production there?
     
  16. CSI_PC

    CSI_PC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,200
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    I never noticed that until you mentioned it, bit of a shame.
    Anyone know where Intel's Skylake and Kaby Lake both manufacturered and made?
    I think there is a difference between where components are manufactured and where put together for context and how applied to "made in", not entirely sure though.

    Although I do not think AMD's choice of where made is going to put many off.
    Cheers
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2017
  17. chenw

    chenw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,977
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Skylake and Kaby Lake don't have the manufacturing location stamped on their chips, if I build my HTPC during the weekend, I'll let ye know.

    I am not concerned its made in that location (it's extremely hard to buy something not made there these days), more that, from my perspective, any business that outsource trade-secret type manufacturing to that location usually wound up either getting bought out by them, or have the tech stolen by them and have their business ground down to oblivion. Training your competitors and paying them for it comes to mind.

    I am still astounded at how long Terry Guo has lasted this long, I would have expected him to be ousted or forcibly bankrupted long before his company got to this point.

    TSMC is also investing in plants there, and I am extremely worried.
     
  18. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    27,595
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    It's just assembled packaged there. The real manufacturing takes place at the fab in the U.S.

    The days of basic assembly in the U.S. are mostly over, and they'll never be coming back.

    The only manufacturing we can do here, is of the complex, highly qualified variety, you know, like the foundry they were diffused in.
     
    Schmave likes this.
  19. chenw

    chenw 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,977
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    For the sake of semi conductor industry, I hope it stays that way. And I sincerely hope TSMC's plant over there is a superficial one (packaging) and none of the actual chip production.
     
  20. Schmave

    Schmave [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,719
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    That made me wonder, does Global Foundries deliver full wafers to AMD, or is it cut dice? Packaging the dice is surely a complicated bit of manufacturing, but nowhere near as complex as the silicon fab. It doesn't surprise me though that they would do packaging in China (and I also don't think it's a deal breaker for most).
     
  21. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    506
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    It would be better done in Mexico. The wasted travel time by ship to China and back is over 2 weeks. In Mexico they could do it in 3 days . A few dimes an hour more in wages but lower shipping cost and faster time to suppliers and then retail.
     
  22. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    https://videocardz.com/66182/amd-radeon-7-1700x-pictured-and-tested

    New leaks. Ryzen doesn't show boost or XFR speeds. So its a good question what it ran at. The CPUmark99 far from good(3.4Ghz SB speed). The CB15 ST score is around a 3.5Ghz Haswell. But who knows how high Ryzen clocked. The chip is supposed to be a 3.4Ghz base clock but shows 3.5.
    upload_2017-2-21_12-10-29.png
    upload_2017-2-21_12-10-56.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2017
  23. CentroX

    CentroX n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2017
    Intel is done. Happy days indeed.

    That cinebench score at 3.5ghz is insane. An OC 1800X is going to reach the 1800 dollar 6950x score.
     
    griff30 and fadedlogic like this.
  24. OrangeKhrush

    OrangeKhrush [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    3.5Ghz, CPU ID is showing no variation of clocks, if that is true then it is freakishly fast

    @3.5Ghz

    2600k 123.6
    3770K 128.3
    4770K/5960X 140
    6700K 150.8
    7700K 150.1
     
  25. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Stilt says XFR is invisible tho. And note the CR2 memory ;)
     
  26. Tup3x

    Tup3x [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,818
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Some slow ass memory they used there. It will bottleneck for sure.
     
  27. OrangeKhrush

    OrangeKhrush [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    this is a proper release version though, nno longer a engineering or quality assessment sample.
     
  28. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
  29. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    3Dmark shows 3.9Ghz and still below a stock 6900K and 4.2Ghz 6800K.

    upload_2017-2-21_12-36-16.png
     
  30. OrangeKhrush

    OrangeKhrush [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
  31. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    But they are not the actual source so no NDA to break. A reviewer wouldn't use Windows 8 either. And do they even get samples?
     
  32. Spirit_Retro

    Spirit_Retro Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    306
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
  33. CSI_PC

    CSI_PC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,200
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    That is what I thought, but then why ship all the components to China afterwards....
    I assume then they are splitting the assembly zones depending upon region the CPU is being sold?
    I wonder where European region CPUs will be assembled.
    Cheers
     
  34. lolfail9001

    lolfail9001 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,509
    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Still better than Haswell.
    100% positive the final stages of 3dmark [after all the tests are run] are single threaded, so XFR could be acting up here. Matter of fact, using 3.9Ghz as single core turbo makes the results align with previous leaks. Perfectly.
    Fairly positive they ARE the source.
    Someone has a cognitive dissonance.
    Because it probably works out cheaper anyways.
     
  35. toddw

    toddw [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,375
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Worst case I get 8/16 CPU for around the price of Intel 4/8 CPU... Either way need this puppy to drop. My 2500K is dying... fast. Note to self don't push your CPU to "max" after 6 years.... For myself going forward, no more 4 core CPUs, even if I lose on single core performance.
     
  36. OrangeKhrush

    OrangeKhrush [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,338
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2016
    The results align with what was leaked and what I was told. Ryzen is probably more than even I was expecting.
     
    griff30 likes this.
  37. Shintai

    Shintai [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,691
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Are you saying SB is better than HSW? :D

    If a 3.4Ghz base clock CPU is 3.9Ghz one place, 3.5Ghz the other and both are after the work is completed. Who knows what it was clocked at during the test. But we can conclude that both boost and XFR is enabled. Else it would be 3.8Ghz max.
     
  38. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,584
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012

    Again, RAM speeds are still slow.
     
  39. SighTurtle

    SighTurtle [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,394
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Why is every rumor and leak using slow ram?
     
    griff30 and razor1 like this.
  40. razor1

    razor1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,155
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005

    That is weird, pretty much know that 3200mhz is the max ram Ryzen can take but still....