Correct me if I'm wrong here, but supposedly they de-activate your old key meaning if you had to do a reinstall you would not be able to reinstall xp/vista, activate it (because old key is de-activated), and then upgrade again. This makes no sense because it essentially makes it seem like you only get one shot. But I can't seem to find a clear answer for it.