Gigabyte ga-ep45-ud3P motherboard

haug

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
12
Have a problem, what can the corse of it

OC on a E8400 and Corsair Dom 8500 = 4Ghz works fine

Problem, when the computer is cold (not been used for a day or so) it keeps rebooting when i start it.
No problem when its hot

Could it be the powersupply ? it is "only" a 400W

Or ????

haug
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
What power supply is it? When the board keeps rebooting, its due to a stability issue, so re-test it to see if its stable.
 

haug

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
12
it's a NorthQ NQ 4001

From the label on it
+5V = 35A
+12V = 15A
+3.3V = 26A
-12V = 0,8A
+5V=2A

Can it be the Vdrop that are causing the problems (how to test this)

haug
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
Whats your system again, that looks like a very weak power supply if you have a decent entry pc. Then again i know nothing about psu's besides 12v rails :p

I really doubt it its vdroop, up the voltage one more knot and see if that fixes it. Also do some intelburntests (pref around 10-20) to check stability.
 

haug

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
12
I know
it is at bit on the old side, have not been upgrading the PSU for some time maybe it is time now
 

rayv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
130
Have a problem, what can the corse of it

OC on a E8400 and Corsair Dom 8500 = 4Ghz works fine

Problem, when the computer is cold (not been used for a day or so) it keeps rebooting when i start it.
No problem when its hot

Could it be the powersupply ? it is "only" a 400W

Or ????

haug

Does it keep rebooting with no end or does it do it X amount of times, then reboots with the default CPU speed listed prior to post? Have you run memtest on the memory at the specified frequency to make sure the memory is good at that speed?
 

rayv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
130
it's a NorthQ NQ 4001

From the label on it
+5V = 35A
+12V = 15A
+3.3V = 26A
-12V = 0,8A
+5V=2A

Can it be the Vdrop that are causing the problems (how to test this)

haug

When it is rebooting? Prior to post, after post, during windows load or after windows has loaded?
 

DeadSkull

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
4,482
it's a NorthQ NQ 4001

From the label on it
+5V = 35A
+12V = 15A
+3.3V = 26A
-12V = 0,8A
+5V=2A

Can it be the Vdrop that are causing the problems (how to test this)

haug


I've never ever heard of NorthQ and by the specs of it, thats a complete POS power supply. Throw that garbage out and get yourself a decent psu.
 

haug

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
12
hello again,

NorthQ is a danish company http://www.northq.com/

about the psu, it is only when i start the pc from totally cold (1 day or so)
It only gets to the gigabyte bootpage on the restarts
after 5-10 times the pc starts ok and everything works normal, and i can reboot the pc like normal and it comes on the first time. (like a cold engine not villing to start and when its hot it starts every time)

haug
 

haug

n00b
Joined
Jan 4, 2009
Messages
12
anyway, i will monday go out and get me a new PSU.

is there something a should be aware of ???

I'am thinking on a Corsair, any comments god/bad on this

haug
 

fsh42na

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Messages
1,472
looks like an extremely weak power supply to me, plus it's old so it's probably not even providing what the label states (if it ever did;)). New quality power supply would be answer (Corsairs are nice and not too expensive).
 

rayv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
130
Anyone having issues with windows/sandra reporting the wrong CPU speed and/or FSB? I am running at 3.2Ghz (x8 CPU and 400FSB w/ DDR2 800 1:1 ratio). CPU-Z reports accurately. Sandra is telling me that CPU speed is higher than rated speed! Reduce CPU speed, CPU FSB higher than rated FSB! Reduce FSB.
 

DeadSkull

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
4,482
Anyone having issues with windows/sandra reporting the wrong CPU speed and/or FSB? I am running at 3.2Ghz (x8 CPU and 400FSB w/ DDR2 800 1:1 ratio). CPU-Z reports accurately. Sandra is telling me that CPU speed is higher than rated speed! Reduce CPU speed, CPU FSB higher than rated FSB! Reduce FSB.

Yes, had same issue when I ran with 8x multiplyer. Actually that was also the culprit of prime95 crashing within minutes, somehow lower multiplyer made prime unstable yet intelburn would pass for 60+ runs at same speed. Now that I'm back to stock 9x, no apparent problems so far. Maybe a bios issue?
 

rayv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
130
Yes, had same issue when I ran with 8x multiplyer. Actually that was also the culprit of prime95 crashing within minutes, somehow lower multiplyer made prime unstable yet intelburn would pass for 60+ runs at same speed. Now that I'm back to stock 9x, no apparent problems so far. Maybe a bios issue?

Prime95 doesnt crash on me. I've ran it for 25hrs at 3.2 with x8 cpu multi and 400mhz FSB with no problems. It just most applications are reporting that I am running at 3.6. It's as if they are not looking at my cpu multi and assuming its x9*400mhz FSB.
 

harlanpepper

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
137
Yeah, I had the same issue with incorrect reporting of my CPU speed with an 8x multi. Only CPU-z had it right. I stopped worrying about it - never caused any issues with my stability. But I have since gone to 9x.
 

rayv

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 22, 2008
Messages
130
Yeah, I had the same issue with incorrect reporting of my CPU speed with an 8x multi. Only CPU-z had it right. I stopped worrying about it - never caused any issues with my stability. But I have since gone to 9x.

Well nothing is acting weird and everything is stable, I was just wondering if anyone else had the issue and if there was something I could do to correct it. I dont really want to goto 3.6 because of the higher voltage and the temps. It's just not worth is to me.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3
Hi everyone

I'm planning to order parts to build a new PC in the next couple days. I was actually going to order last week but ran into some payment issues. Annoying, but I can put the extra time to good use doing more research. This is my first build, so I'm a bit concerned about compatibility. I don't want to have to spend extra money returning/exchanging parts because I got the wrong stuff. This thread seems like a good place to ask since I'm getting an EP45-UD3P motherboard and all my questions relate to it. I'm a newbie at this, so please forgive any silly questions I may ask. I'm just out to learn all I can:).

Here are the specs of my planned system minus peripherals and drives. Those will be standard USB and SATA devices.
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
RAM: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5 (2x2gb sticks of DDR2 800 at 1.9v)
PSU: PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750 (EPS12v)
CPU cooler: Coolermaster GeminII S
GPU: Radeon HD4870 1gb
Monitor: Acer H213H (21.5", 1920x1080)
Case: NZXT Tempest (has a bunch of 140mm and 120mm fans for airflow)
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


My specific questions are...

1) The Corsair RAM is specced at 1.9v. The motherboard's default setting is 1.8v for RAM from what I understand. Will I be able to start up my computer with the 1.9v RAM to change the BIOS settings, or will I need to have access to 1.8v RAM to boot and change settings before using my Corsair sticks? If I need 1.8v RAM, what are some good, reliable models that will stand up to overclocking.

2) The Silencer 750 is listed as a EPS12v PSU. The UD3P is ATX12v. Will I be able to use them together anyways? I think the Silencer has connecters to power both ATX and EPS boards, but I haven't been able to confirm that.

3) Would anyone happen to know if the Coolermaster GeminII S can fit on this board? It's a rather large heatsink that's supposedly designed to help cool both the CPU and surrounding components like RAM and the chipset. For that matter, should I bother with an aftermarket heatsink, or will the retail Intel unit (with Arctic Silver 5) and my case fans be enough to keep temps down? I plan to try some overclocking since this board seems to be quite good at it. Nothing extreme though. If the GeminII won't work and I need aftermarket cooling, what are some good models?

4) Are there any issues with the original F4 BIOS that may cause problems during my build? On a similar note, should I bother flashing to the latest BIOS (F7?) or just leave that alone for now.

Those are the potential problems I noticed. If an experienced reader notices some other issue with my build, please let me know.

Thanks for the help.
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
Hi everyone

I'm planning to order parts to build a new PC in the next couple days. I was actually going to order last week but ran into some payment issues. Annoying, but I can put the extra time to good use doing more research. This is my first build, so I'm a bit concerned about compatibility. I don't want to have to spend extra money returning/exchanging parts because I got the wrong stuff. This thread seems like a good place to ask since I'm getting an EP45-UD3P motherboard and all my questions relate to it. I'm a newbie at this, so please forgive any silly questions I may ask. I'm just out to learn all I can:).

Here are the specs of my planned system minus peripherals and drives. Those will be standard USB and SATA devices.
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
RAM: Corsair TWIN2X4096-6400C5 (2x2gb sticks of DDR2 800 at 1.9v)
PSU: PC Power and Cooling Silencer 750 (EPS12v)
CPU cooler: Coolermaster GeminII S
GPU: Radeon HD4870 1gb
Monitor: Acer H213H (21.5", 1920x1080)
Case: NZXT Tempest (has a bunch of 140mm and 120mm fans for airflow)
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64bit


My specific questions are...

1) The Corsair RAM is specced at 1.9v. The motherboard's default setting is 1.8v for RAM from what I understand. Will I be able to start up my computer with the 1.9v RAM to change the BIOS settings, or will I need to have access to 1.8v RAM to boot and change settings before using my Corsair sticks? If I need 1.8v RAM, what are some good, reliable models that will stand up to overclocking.

2) The Silencer 750 is listed as a EPS12v PSU. The UD3P is ATX12v. Will I be able to use them together anyways? I think the Silencer has connecters to power both ATX and EPS boards, but I haven't been able to confirm that.

3) Would anyone happen to know if the Coolermaster GeminII S can fit on this board? It's a rather large heatsink that's supposedly designed to help cool both the CPU and surrounding components like RAM and the chipset. For that matter, should I bother with an aftermarket heatsink, or will the retail Intel unit (with Arctic Silver 5) and my case fans be enough to keep temps down? I plan to try some overclocking since this board seems to be quite good at it. Nothing extreme though. If the GeminII won't work and I need aftermarket cooling, what are some good models?

4) Are there any issues with the original F4 BIOS that may cause problems during my build? On a similar note, should I bother flashing to the latest BIOS (F7?) or just leave that alone for now.

Those are the potential problems I noticed. If an experienced reader notices some other issue with my build, please let me know.

Thanks for the help.

1)You can boot and change the voltage of the ram, I have undervolted my ram and it just reboots and downclocks em, for example, when i overclocked past my rams threshold, my cpu is clocked under 2.0ghz which will bring the ram to DDR600 area, which will boot into the bios, leave the settings i tryed booting with but will give me a error notice that the overclock was not stable.

2)Im 80% positive you can.

3) I do not see the cooler not fitting as more as i see if you have high ram, in the example like the dominators or for example my PI modules. Mind giving how much room it gives over the ram of the cooler? Just lay it on the table or if you have it installed now, Just telling me how tall it is. Just to make sure it will clear the northbridge cooler and ram.

4) I do not know if newer bios effect performance and or overclocks, i do suggest updating to a bios that updates/fixes a major problem. I think the f7 is the one that gives better compability with easy tune.

I do not see a problem with your system other than the gemini clearance issues that i stated.
 

harlanpepper

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 30, 2008
Messages
137
To answer some of your questions:

1) My RAM is spec'd at 2.1v, so you'll be fine with 1.9v. It started up fine on the first power up, and I eventually put it down to 1.8v for my 2x2GB sticks.

2) I have a PCP&C 750w quad and no issues with my UD3P, other than it not reading my 12v rail correctly in monitoring programs (BIOS does, though). Rock solid, otherwise.

3) Don't know about the Gemini... but I do know the board is a little tight with HSFs in general If you're ordering, I'd go with one of the proven models - like the True, Xigmatek, or Noctua NH-U12P

4) F4 should be fine, I prefer the F5 over F6 for my system, but haven't tried F7 yet.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3
Thanks for the quick replies.

I'll go ahead with the Corsair RAM and Silencer 750.

The Noctua NH-U12P seems to be an excellent performer. I completely missed it when researching parts. Thanks for pointing it out. It is a bit expensive though. I may try the retail Intel cooler for now and get the Noctua later. Newegg offers versions with either 1 or 2 fans. Will the dual fan model fit?

casper312, I didn't think about heatsink/RAM fit issues. I don't have any idea how tall the Corsair RAM sticks are or how much clearance the GeminII offers. I'm getting normal Corsair RAM (not Dominator series) which shouldn't be unusually tall, but I don't want to take a chance. Since the Noctua offers better cooling and a garanteed fit, I'd rather go with it unless someone can confirm that the GeminII/Corsair/UD3P will all fit together..
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
Im sure it will fit if the sticks are normal size, hell it might even fit dominators, really depends. The gemini is actually a good heatsink with some decent fans.
 

DeadSkull

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
4,482
F6 bios is more Gigabyte ET6 (in windows overclock utility) compatible and also maybe better for 65nm quads?

I don't think you'll have any problem with ram, first boot with new ram sticks your mobo will probably just default to the ddr2 6400 speed at 1.8V for the ram.

I would go for the Xigmatek s1283 OR S1284EE heatsink if I were you, getting great results from my 1384 and at the speeds in sig all cores idle around 30C at ambient of 70F.
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
F6 bios is more Gigabyte ET6 (in windows overclock utility) compatible and also maybe better for 65nm quads?

I don't think you'll have any problem with ram, first boot with new ram sticks your mobo will probably just default to the ddr2 6400 speed at 1.8V for the ram.

I would go for the Xigmatek s1283 OR S1284EE heatsink if I were you, getting great results from my 1384 and at the speeds in sig all cores idle around 30C at ambient of 70F.

Why not the dark knight? It already comes with the backplate and its just a blacken s1283. Newegg has it for 44.99, while the s1283 and the back plate will end up costing more. Unless it actually underperforms compared to the s1283, then do not mind this statement.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
3
My budget won't accomodate an i7 system even with that motherboard. DDR3 prices are still too high.

The Xigmatek S1283 looks like a good heatsink at a reasonable price. I think I'll end up getting one. The Dark Knight version looks like a good deal with the included bracket and LED fan. I suspect the nickel plating will slightly decrease performance, but the Dark Knight should still keep my CPU nice and cool.

Thanks for the advice. It's time to order now:). I'll probably be back once everything arrives for some help with making sure everything is running optimally and maybe even some OC fun.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
8
Hope there might be some useful stuff in here for you guys:

Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R Living Review

One thing that i've found outstanding is the difference in CPU temps.


Has anyonne else noticed a ud3 mobo running cooler than previous/other mobo ?

I have noticed how cool it is, i have one, and the inside case temp is so much lower than my old Gigabyte GA-8S648FX P4 board it replaced. Stressing it with a game doesn't increase temps either, i haven't done any actual temp readings while stressing, just placed my hand inside. I'm running with an E5200, and Gigabyte Radeon HD4650 1GB.
 

Supershanks

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
246
Kitamura Computers said:
i haven't done any actual temp readings while stressing, just placed my hand inside. I'm running with an E5200, and Gigabyte Radeon HD4650 1GB.
Yep I didn't really notice it until I'd run a few benches. Would normally hsave switched to water cooling by now :LOL:

Xig 1283;
yep the Xigmatek HDT-SD964 I used is the 92mm baby brother :loL;
 

Nate5452

n00b
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Messages
53
How will the GA-EP45-UD3P hold up against a Q9650. I have one of these motherboards already for my dads Q9550 and so far no issue, but i dont want the motherboard to be a bottleneck especially since the price of this motherboard is on the cheap side compared to the 200-300 dollar motherboards.


Nate
 

Casper312

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 29, 2008
Messages
1,762
How will the GA-EP45-UD3P hold up against a Q9650. I have one of these motherboards already for my dads Q9550 and so far no issue, but i dont want the motherboard to be a bottleneck especially since the price of this motherboard is on the cheap side compared to the 200-300 dollar motherboards.


Nate

It should do more than perfect, I had a UD3R do 511 fsb. So im sure you will be fine. As for the bottleneck statement, im sure the board will hold up its part ;)

Also for UD3P/R Owners, i took off the north/south bridge coolers and applied some mx-2 and my temps went from 35C to 30C under load testing, So if you have the time, I suggest doing it. :cool:
 

Supershanks

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 12, 2005
Messages
246
How will the GA-EP45-UD3P hold up against a Q9650
As Casper312 say's should do fine.

i took off the north/south bridge coolers and applied some mx-2 and my temps went from 35C to 30C under load testing, So if you have the time, I suggest doing it.
Yes good point it's something I generally do on all mobos, but not got there yet. Mainly cios i'm a nosy git and like to see what's there but as you say it usually has a payback, in cooler temps.
 

vick1000

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,331

madh83

n00b
Joined
Apr 11, 2007
Messages
61
Oh, I missed that, it's still odd though. Did creative suddenly change their mind about licensing out EAX or something, also anyone try it yet?
 
Top