Fallout 4

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Hardware' started by w35t, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. Frankie

    Frankie 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,088
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    As far as recorded names, does anyone know if the game is smart enough to know that Fuckface McGee is a first and last name, and to use Fuckface? I would assume so, but you never know. I'm an hour in and no one has called me Fuckface yet, so I'm getting worried.

    Correct.
     
  2. DPI

    DPI Nitpick Police

    Messages:
    10,960
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Please. It is said tongue-in-cheek. They do good reviews generally speaking. it just seems to be a pattern with them: when a game's overwhelming positive, they often seem to go opposite direction just to stand out, or will get hung up on some minor detail that they drop points for disproportionately. I ultimately don't care what the reviews are on a game like this but my own.
     
  3. rezerekted

    rezerekted 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,043
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    GMG has it for $59.99 USD.

    59.99 USD = 79.6096 CAD

    I would save 0.39 - yay.
     
  4. horrorshow

    horrorshow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,198
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Could someone please link me to a legit VPN??

    Pre-load just finished etc
     
  5. bloodhawke83

    bloodhawke83 I Strike Fear into the Hearts of the Masses

    Messages:
    8,414
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    i paid 45 bucks on Greenmangaming, i am glad i waited for the coupon.
     
  6. Frankie

    Frankie 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,088
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    There's a site that gave the new Simcity a 100/100. On release. When it was the biggest shitshow on the planet. Let that sink in for a minute.

    Outliers (both top and bottom) should be ignored in almost everything in life, but especially videogame reviews.
     
  7. devil22

    devil22 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,834
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    According to a post on reddit and my own tests, the issue where you get stuck after using the computer terminals is due to high FPS. I locked mine at 100hz instead of the usual 144hz, and computer terminals worked. :( cuz the game looks noticeably smoother/better at 144hz.
     
  8. Frankie

    Frankie 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,088
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    I used:

    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct...H6KpzSuM-BIqJzDZ0y84iA&bvm=bv.106923889,d.eWE

    This morning they were 100-105% of capacity so it took me about 20 minutes of clicking to connect. But right now they're 55-80%. You don't need to make an account I don't think, just get the software and click on the "free trial" on their website and use one of the accounts and passwords shown there.

    I had to play around with the type of VPN settings (in the software) to get it to work for me. (l2tp/ipsec worked, others didn't). Then just pick an aussie or NZ location (probably others will work by now) and you should be good to go.

    After you get into the game you can stop the VPN, but if you close out of the game, and want to get back in, you'll have to VPN in again from my experience.
     
  9. Colonel Sanders

    Colonel Sanders 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,888
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Yeah I just made a post about this a few posts up. Typical Shitbryo engine at work.
     
  10. horrorshow

    horrorshow [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,198
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Thanks for typing up all that info.

    But, the free version I picked up had a lot of 'blacked out / grey' options....

    I'm thinking I'll just wait another another 3 hours etc.
     
  11. devil22

    devil22 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,834
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Yea, I can't believe it can't be worked around somehow. However the computer terminal issue is the only thing I've noticed, and I know some people were wondering about it earlier. Maybe because I use Gsync the other problems are avoided, I'm curious what all you've seen though.
     
  12. Colonel Sanders

    Colonel Sanders 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,888
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Unless Bethesda some day patches the game, we're going to have to wait for the people that made the Script Extender and the Stutter Remover plugin for it to fix this properly, like with FO3 and NV.

    It just boggles my fucking brain that one of, if not THE biggest PC release of the year (and no doubt something GPU manufacturers will be showing off for some time) never got tested with 120/144hz displays, which while still a niche, are FAR more prevalent now than when Skyrim came out (and you could give Bethesda a pass on it.)
     
  13. Q-BZ

    Q-BZ [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,290
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    That's because they're using an ancient game engine that should have been abandoned long ago.
     
  14. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,081
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    I won't have the high refresh rate issue, but I'm always concerned about games properly supporting ultrawide screen resolutions like 2560x1080 with the right aspect ratio & FOV.

    Can anyone confirm that FO4 works well with such?
     
  15. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    18,831
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Bethesda has been releasing games on a shit game engine for years and people eat it up :( I picked this up on PS4 so I can trade it in if it pisses me off too much.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2015
  16. Frankie

    Frankie 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,088
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Hrm, worked for me. I've never paid them a cent (not even given them my email address, IIRC). If it's blacked out, you don't need it to get to FO4.
     
  17. Frankie

    Frankie 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,088
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Confirmed that this is fine and it recognizes spaces.
     
  18. Stiler

    Stiler [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,538
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    So is anyone else on a similar system to mine:
    2600k
    Geforce 780
    8gb ram.

    I had it auto detect high, I pushed some things up to ultra, I left shadows on just high, I turned AA down to 4 vs 16, etc..

    I am getting some noticable stuttering even in the starting house area, just moving around, it definitely doesn't feel "smooth" at all.

    Also can someone tell me, are you able to alter the characters looks post-creation? In Fallout 3 for example Mr Handy the robot allowed you to change things once you got him.

    So I am just wondering, cause I am super-picky about characters I creat in rpgs and if I notice something "off" after playing for a few hours it can drive me nuts. THankfully many newer games allow this (IE mmo's, Dragon Age, etc).
     
  19. naticus

    naticus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Is anyone else getting stutter while indoors? I have high fps 80+ @1600p but the stutter in the museum is pretty brutal.
     
  20. Solitude

    Solitude [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,567
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    some more weirdness!

    -dogmeat will walk right off high ledges and break his stupid legs (funny)
    -dogmeat will sometimes attack an enemy and suddenly him and the enemy he is fighting just start floating up like 30 feet in the air
    -some of the settlers will just be standing facing a random wall of a structure like 1 foot away from them. sometimes walking in place, sometimes just staring at a wall.'
     
  21. Drawmonster

    Drawmonster 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,301
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Wow, glad I didn't preorder this. I'll grab it next year on sale or something.
     
  22. Tyler-Durden

    Tyler-Durden 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,302
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2012
    Based on my experience with Oblivion and Fallout 3, I'm staying clear of Fallout 4 until about six months after release. By then, enough patches and mods should be available to compensate for the inevitable gameplay quirks and frustrations guaranteed to accompany a Bethesda game.
     
  23. Suprfire

    Suprfire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,100
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Made a quick video detailing cheesing the crafting/workbench system to get some easy early XP.

    Might be worth the watch to a few of ya if you want those compounding effect perks early on.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7dh7g4xgxH0
     
  24. Solhokuten

    Solhokuten [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,224
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Cool...thanks!
     
  25. CrimsonKnight13

    CrimsonKnight13 Lord Stabington of [H]ard|Fortress

    Messages:
    7,081
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Great tip. Thanks! I'll be using this one tonight. :D
     
  26. Zorlag

    Zorlag Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    272
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Lol, that gave me serious vanilla Skyrim vibes. All those iron daggers... :eek:
     
  27. Suprfire

    Suprfire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,100
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    My exact thought when I first came across it!

    Oh the memories...
     
  28. DPI

    DPI Nitpick Police

    Messages:
    10,960
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Suit yourself. Playing fine here. Not one crash or game-breaking weirdness in 7.5 hrs. Smoothest Bethesda Game Studios launch I've experienced anyway (FO3, NV, Skyrim were all far worse on day one).
     
  29. Dion

    Dion 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,721
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    But the internet says its buggy. How can you have a positive experience. Post videos and ss's please to prove yourself.

    /sarcasm
     
  30. DPI

    DPI Nitpick Police

    Messages:
    10,960
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    I mean sure there are idiosyncrasies, and people with hardware configuration edge cases are going to insist their one issue means the game is totally broken and unplayable, but I did a couple .INI tweaks and its smooth sailing. In fairness maybe low expectations were low, such that I expected a broken disaster based on prior BGS games on day one, and now that F4 is running pretty good in my 2560x1440 @ 60hz configuration with no major issues or broken quests, my brain was keyed up for disappointment that never came. Ofcourse that could all change in an instant, I stumble on a broken quest and lose my mud and start raging. :mad::mad::mad:

    I reckon the people that aren't really having problems are too busy actually playing right now. So a thread invariably just becomes the complaint department during the first few days.
     
  31. MavericK

    MavericK Zero Cool

    Messages:
    28,935
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Nice video...your text is too fucking huge though. :p
     
  32. Porter_

    Porter_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,880
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    haha ditto with the Skyrim flashback. thanks for the tip Suprfire.
     
  33. Porter_

    Porter_ [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,880
    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    [​IMG]

    1 hour left getting excited! i realize some people have been playing all day but i'm waiting until official release and it's getting close :). i have a six pack of beer, a 5am alarm clock, and an 'eh tomorrow will be a shitty day at work' mentality.
     
  34. BDV

    BDV [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,957
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Anyone with 4 GB of ram running this? Does it work?
     
  35. LeninGHOLA

    LeninGHOLA Vladimir Hayt

    Messages:
    18,416
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    The game doesn't seem to exceed 4gb, if that's your question.
     
  36. NickJames

    NickJames [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,618
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    I remember hearing Fallout 4 would be able to go over 60 FPS and the application would now run in 64-bit to allow over 4GB of RAM usage.
     
  37. KickAssCop

    KickAssCop [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,576
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Runs fine and looks fine on PS4. All the screens I have seen for PC version show little improvement over the PS4 version except for resolution and some AF ofcourse.
     
  38. LeninGHOLA

    LeninGHOLA Vladimir Hayt

    Messages:
    18,416
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Bethesda, Bethesda never changes...
     
  39. polonyc2

    polonyc2 [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    16,836
    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    most reviews mentioned the numerous bugs but no show-stopping bugs...yet...so buggy but considerably less buggy then the typical Bethesda game
     
  40. AceGoober

    AceGoober Live! Laug[H]! Overclock!

    Messages:
    21,782
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Fallout 4 is 64bit.

    Where did you hear 'Fallout 4 would be able to go over 60fps'.

    Citation required.