Asus 39 inch 3840x2160 60Hz panel.

kabobi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
271
If windows fails to scale properly you're gonna have a bad time.
That is why I've upgraded(side graded as I only use desktop enviroment) to windows 8 and 8.1

This is definitely a tangent, but do you have any driver problems with Windows 8.1? I installed the preview and my USB devices would only be recognized intermittently and the nvidia drivers specific for 8.1 didn't work...so I went back to 8.
 

rudy

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 4, 2004
Messages
8,704
If windows fails to scale properly you're gonna have a bad time.
That is why I've upgraded(side graded as I only use desktop enviroment) to windows 8 and 8.1

Windows scales, programs ignore it, other programs can scale fine. Please make the correct distinction not ignorantly blame it on windows.
 

DrinkTea

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
377
On Windows, everyone blames the OS when a program scales poorly. On OS X, they blame the developer. What gives?
 

rudy

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 4, 2004
Messages
8,704
On Windows, everyone blames the OS when a program scales poorly. On OS X, they blame the developer. What gives?

lol no kidding, you know what is hilarious that is exactly what happened with guess what company when the MBPr came out? Yep it was google and chrome. The because of the publicity chrome was patched for macbooks. On the other hand MS has offered scaling to developers in windows since before chrome existed and google has never bothered to get it working.
 

maarten12100

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
186
Windows scales, programs ignore it, other programs can scale fine. Please make the correct distinction not ignorantly blame it on windows.
One kind of scaling for every item on the screen =/= good scaling.
MS admitted this needed fixing and that is why they are doing so for high density screens on tablets and phones this is a must already.
 

maarten12100

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
186
This is definitely a tangent, but do you have any driver problems with Windows 8.1? I installed the preview and my USB devices would only be recognized intermittently and the nvidia drivers specific for 8.1 didn't work...so I went back to 8.
No problems so far after switching to the Preview instead of the Alpha.
Works good for me.
 

DrinkTea

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2013
Messages
377
How does the scaling in 8.1 compare to how it's done in OS X? Because honestly, while it's kind of hacky, it does seem to do a pretty good job.
 

maarten12100

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
186
How does the scaling in 8.1 compare to how it's done in OS X? Because honestly, while it's kind of hacky, it does seem to do a pretty good job.
I would say according to reports that OSX does better since it has pixel doubling for apps that don't support scaling natively.
My powermac G5 has no HDMI and most certainly no HDMI that is capable of 4k (AGP pro slot :rolleyes:)
 

maarten12100

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2013
Messages
186
What does win8 do for non scaling programs.
It has an option for scaling on base of the application instead of universal scaling it works rather well one of the downsides is that switching resolutions requires a reboot before everything looks good again.
 

MrGuvernment

Fully [H]
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
20,566
They are greedy little bastards.

Korea has 27 inch 1440p monitors for $300 and in the US Dell, HP, and others sell them for $700.

cause they are made there... shipping, processing, taxes, duty...employing people to do all that...
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
18
The SE39UY04 is en route to me and I'm even sure my system can handle it.

I have a 2008 Mac Pro with a PC GTX570 which seems to run just fine under Maverick. I hope it will work but fingers crossed. Worst comes to worst, I'll run it natively in Windows and settle for whatever the Mac will handle.

Does anyone know if the GTX570 will handle the native res?
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
The SE39UY04 is en route to me and I'm even sure my system can handle it.

I have a 2008 Mac Pro with a PC GTX570 which seems to run just fine under Maverick. I hope it will work but fingers crossed. Worst comes to worst, I'll run it natively in Windows and settle for whatever the Mac will handle.

Does anyone know if the GTX570 will handle the native res?

Well if its anything like the linux drivers nvidia only enabled it on kepler series and above (even though a geforce 500 series *should* be able to do it). As long as it has a displayport port on it, it will work on any version of mac OS with this adapter which runs about $30:

http://www.amazon.com/Accell-B086B-...TF8&qid=1384637528&sr=8-2&keywords=B086B-008B

Unfortunately they are out of stock right now at both amazon and from accel directly.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
The SE39UY04 is en route to me and I'm even sure my system can handle it.

I have a 2008 Mac Pro with a PC GTX570 which seems to run just fine under Maverick. I hope it will work but fingers crossed. Worst comes to worst, I'll run it natively in Windows and settle for whatever the Mac will handle.

Does anyone know if the GTX570 will handle the native res?

It's $519 on amazon now btw.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
18
I got Amazon to readjust the price for me as it's on sale for $496 ATM.

So I think I'm SOL. Without the adapter, am I stuck at whatever HDMI will give me? Not sure if the 570 is a Kepler. Guess I'll have to order the adapter and hopes its restocked soon.

What's the difference between the adapter you posted and this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Accell-B086B-004B-2-UltraAV-DisplayPort-Passive/dp/B00DUTIYQU/ref=pd_sim_pc_2

Seems to be the same. Displayport to HDMI 1.4

Does it HAVE to be Accel branded? Monoprice seems to carry their own adapter.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product/?c...d=1042801&p_id=4826&seq=1&format=1#largeimage
 
Last edited:

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,679
The GTX570 is Fermi- Kepler consists of the GTX600-series, GTX700-series, and the GTX Titan.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
I got Amazon to readjust the price for me as it's on sale for $496 ATM.

So I think I'm SOL. Without the adapter, am I stuck at whatever HDMI will give me? Not sure if the 570 is a Kepler. Guess I'll have to order the adapter and hopes its restocked soon.

What's the difference between the adapter you posted and this one:

http://www.amazon.com/Accell-B086B-004B-2-UltraAV-DisplayPort-Passive/dp/B00DUTIYQU/ref=pd_sim_pc_2

Seems to be the same. Displayport to HDMI 1.4

Does it HAVE to be Accel branded? Monoprice seems to carry their own adapter.

http://www.monoprice.com/Product/?c...d=1042801&p_id=4826&seq=1&format=1#largeimage


The geforce 500 series is Fermi not Kepler. Older video cards inccluding the 500 series *should* have the hardware to do it. It seems people on windows are able to but I wanted to point out that with the unix drivers (which may be similar to mac) require a Fermi based graphics card for whatever reason.

That monoprice adapter will not work. Accel Cables are the only ones (unfortunately) that make a DP 1.1 -> Active HDMI adapter capable of 4k. The non-active adapters just to TMDS pass-through and you would have the exact same possible issues when using the native HDMI port.

I am not saying it won't work on the gtx 570 just that it wouldn't on unix. Mac could be different if your using a maverick based one. You might be able to get toms mac patch to get around that issue but even then it seems like you have to dick around with custom resolutions and stuff. It seems like the easiest thing by far is just using the active DP 1.1 -> HDMI adapter.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
18
The geforce 500 series is Fermi not Kepler. Older video cards inccluding the 500 series *should* have the hardware to do it. It seems people on windows are able to but I wanted to point out that with the unix drivers (which may be similar to mac) require a Fermi based graphics card for whatever reason.

That monoprice adapter will not work. Accel Cables are the only ones (unfortunately) that make a DP 1.1 -> Active HDMI adapter capable of 4k. The non-active adapters just to TMDS pass-through and you would have the exact same possible issues when using the native HDMI port.

I am not saying it won't work on the gtx 570 just that it wouldn't on unix. Mac could be different if your using a maverick based one. You might be able to get toms mac patch to get around that issue but even then it seems like you have to dick around with custom resolutions and stuff. It seems like the easiest thing by far is just using the active DP 1.1 -> HDMI adapter.


In light of this troubling finding, can you recommend a card that IS Kepler based? I don't want to break the bank. I'm just looking for a card that is compatible with my Mac Pro and still allow me to game if not at 4k, at least 1080p. My GTX570 can handle 1600p without breaking a sweat in games like Tomb Raider on highest settings. I would love to get a 670 or 770 but compatibility with this Seiki is pretty much a must.

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-..._m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1SNNMR365ZQ1SG0DS4PX

Also can you link me to this Tom Mac's patch? I am not versed in this thread's discussion at all.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
In light of this troubling finding, can you recommend a card that IS Kepler based? I don't want to break the bank. I'm just looking for a card that is compatible with my Mac Pro and still allow me to game if not at 4k, at least 1080p. My GTX570 can handle 1600p without breaking a sweat in games like Tomb Raider on highest settings. I would love to get a 670 or 770 but compatibility with this Seiki is pretty much a must.

http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-..._m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1SNNMR365ZQ1SG0DS4PX

Also can you link me to this Tom Mac's patch? I am not versed in this thread's discussion at all.


Not sure what is available in the realm of Mac Editions of video cards but any geforce 600/700 series graphics card or newer should work on nvidia. Also its possible the 500 series might work I just know the mac/linux drivers often have things in common (both did not support HDMI 1.4 correctly initially). I have not heard any results from people running maverick and a geforce 500 or 400 series to see if they were able to run HDMI @ 4k on those (which both should also have the hardware to do).

This is Tom:

http://hardforum.com/member.php?u=265159

He made the patch so you could ask him about it. I was able to use it but unfortunately did not suceed in adding the custom resolution after to get it working on my macbook pro retina running Lion. I ended up just using the accel active DP -> HDMI adapter instead as that was quite a bit easier.
 

Vega

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2004
Messages
6,848
Had to return my 4K asus. Just couldn't deal with the back light bleed and the uneven panel uniformity on light colors for $3,500. May try the 4K 60 Hz panny once the Asus refund hits lol.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
18
Not sure what is available in the realm of Mac Editions of video cards but any geforce 600/700 series graphics card or newer should work on nvidia. Also its possible the 500 series might work I just know the mac/linux drivers often have things in common (both did not support HDMI 1.4 correctly initially). I have not heard any results from people running maverick and a geforce 500 or 400 series to see if they were able to run HDMI @ 4k on those (which both should also have the hardware to do).

This is Tom:

http://hardforum.com/member.php?u=265159

He made the patch so you could ask him about it. I was able to use it but unfortunately did not suceed in adding the custom resolution after to get it working on my macbook pro retina running Lion. I ended up just using the accel active DP -> HDMI adapter instead as that was quite a bit easier.


Thanks a bunch. I'm going to see if it works on my current setup then get a new card, if need be.
 

Psychor

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
388
Had to return my 4K asus. Just couldn't deal with the back light bleed and the uneven panel uniformity on light colors for $3,500. May try the 4K 60 Hz panny once the Asus refund hits lol.

Have you considered the Dell? http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&sku=210-ACBL My wife asked me to send her a link so I might be shopping for video cards soon. :)

What sort of VRAM usage were you seeing while gaming? I can't decide whether to go tri-CF 290X or tri-SLI 780Ti. The 3GB on the Ti is really bugging me and for the 290X the lack of frame pacing for everything (e.g., DX9), albeit a temporary problem, is bugging me.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
Have you considered the Dell? http://accessories.us.dell.com/sna/productdetail.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&sku=210-ACBL My wife asked me to send her a link so I might be shopping for video cards soon. :)

What sort of VRAM usage were you seeing while gaming? I can't decide whether to go tri-CF 290X or tri-SLI 780Ti. The 3GB on the Ti is really bugging me and for the 290X the lack of frame pacing for everything (e.g., DX9) is bugging me.

Do you really think another monitor that uses the same panel is really going to be all that different?
 

Psychor

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
388
Do you really think another monitor that uses the same panel is really going to be all that different?

Yes I do. Backlight bleed isn't solely due to the panel - it can be a result of overall poor housing construction.
 

cvgd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
421
Has there been any information about the 39" 4k monitor? Last I read, Asus pushed the launch back to Q1 2014, but it wasn't a reliable source.

The Seiki has been on the market for half a year; the panel has obviously been available. I'm frustrated that no other manufacturer has brought it to market.
 

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,679
Has there been any information about the 39" 4k monitor? Last I read, Asus pushed the launch back to Q1 2014, but it wasn't a reliable source.

The Seiki has been on the market for half a year; the panel has obviously been available. I'm frustrated that no other manufacturer has brought it to market.

Two very, very different panels, neither of which you actually want for critical work. The Seiki is functional; the Asus (and others based on the Sharp IGZO 39" panel) are just plain over priced.
 

Psychor

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
388
True. But Dell isn't exactly renowned for stellar QC...;)

I've owned monitors from all of the big manufacturers and have half a dozen or so, also from various manufacturers, sitting in my PC room right now. I wouldn't say that any of them are a product of "stellar" QC. The point was that Asus is not the only option for a 4K ~30" monitor and that he might have better luck with Dell. I guess I'll find out sometime in Dec. ;)

Yeah but they can't change slow panel into a fast one.

Response time wasn't an issue raised as to why he was returning it. I've been gaming with a 7-8 ms monitor for years and it hasn't been an issue for me in terms of gaming (including FPS games). Now don't get me wrong... I'd love a high resolution, high Hz and low response time monitor but unfortunately you can't get all three.
 
Last edited:

kabobi

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 4, 2013
Messages
271
Has there been any information about the 39" 4k monitor? Last I read, Asus pushed the launch back to Q1 2014, but it wasn't a reliable source.

The Seiki has been on the market for half a year; the panel has obviously been available. I'm frustrated that no other manufacturer has brought it to market.

The Q1 2014 date was given by an Asus rep on the Tom's Hardware AMA a couple of months back, so I would say it's as reliable of an estimate as you can get.

And the 39" Asus does NOT use the Sharp IGZO panel. I believe it's the same as the Seiki...
 

sethk

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
May 3, 2005
Messages
2,026
There are already a few 55" 4K TVs with HDMI 2.0 based 60hz input, just no way to feed that input (that I know of) from a PC. Would be an interesting option to compare for those who are looking for 4K for living room / gaming / entertainment purposes rather than color grading or pro. work.
 

cvgd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
421
Two very, very different panels, neither of which you actually want for critical work. The Seiki is functional; the Asus (and others based on the Sharp IGZO 39" panel) are just plain over priced.

As kabobi mentioned, this is not correct. The 4K IGZO panels are 31.5"; the 39" panels are all expected to be VA, like the Seiki. I don't know if they will be identical to the Seiki panel or a variant, but it's reportedly also going to be manufactured by Chimei Innolux.

The PPI on a 39" 4K monitor is very similar to 27" 2560x1440 monitors -- I think it's a sweet spot, and will give me more actually useable space than the 31.5" monitors. The expected lower price point is a bonus. It's just been a seemingly interminable wait.
 

cvgd

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2011
Messages
421
The Q1 2014 date was given by an Asus rep on the Tom's Hardware AMA a couple of months back, so I would say it's as reliable of an estimate as you can get.

And the 39" Asus does NOT use the Sharp IGZO panel. I believe it's the same as the Seiki...

Thanks for the info. Here's the source, from late June:

Q. Can you provide any more details about the release of the 39" 4K monitor you announced at CES 2013? A price range or release timetable (other than just Q3 2013) would be great.

A. No pricing information yet, but release will likely be around the beginning of 2014. Our 32" PQ321Q should start being available for purchase in a few weeks with pre-orders starting at some retailers in the next week.
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
18
I recently received the monitor and am using it. Thanks to houkouonchi and Tom the creator of SwitchResX I am able to get my Mac to run it in custom resolution otherwise I was limited to 1080p. Unfortunately I am only able to get 18hz from my setup so I had to order the Accell. DP to HDMI adapter which Amazon says will take over a month to get here and is still sitting in processing (4 days including weekends).

About the monitor, it's great for the price I paid, however I was recently told by a coworker that Sony's XBR 4K television for their 55" was on sale for $2,999 CND on their Sony Store. I immediately thought, whoa that's pretty cheap. Are 4k panels dropping in price that quickly?

Back to the Seiki, I don't regret having purchased it per se, I have purchased other components on whims before but Iit makes me wonder if truly desktop complaint units will be coming down to these prices soon with the IGZO panels.

At any rate, I cannot really use it at 18hz. The novelty of having this huge resolution is wearing off and trying to use it with regularity is proving rather challenging with the mouse lag. I hope 30hz will be a drastic improvement but moving back and forth between 18hz and 60hz the discrepancy is quite glaring.

Reminds me when I use to run PearPC's OS X port on my AMD 600Mhz Athlon computer way back when. Sluggish as all get out but I was running OS X on a x86 arch. Good times.
 
Last edited:

IdiotInCharge

NVIDIA SHILL
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,679
About the monitor, it's great for the price I paid, however I was recently told by a coworker that Sony's XBR 4K television for their 55" was on sale for $2,999 CND on their Sony Store. I immediately thought, whoa that's pretty cheap. Are 4k panels dropping in price that quickly?

The panels cost little more than their 1080p counterparts; it's the collection of other market factors that allow prices of name brands to remain so high, yet also allow bargain brands like Seiki to introduce new tech so so low.

So yeah, standard market forces will quickly put some good downward pressure on full TV and monitor prices faster than one might expect, and we will likely expect 4k to begin to replace other high-resolution options such as 2560x1600 at similar price-points in the near-ish future.

I honestly expect 4k monitor adoption and pricing to drop faster than with 4k TVs; as others have repeatedly stated, real 1080p content for TVs is few and far between outside of Blu-rays, what with most broadcast and cable TV topping out at 720p/1080i. The only real caveat is if broadband providers start pushing streamed services a la HBO/Netflix/Hulu/Youtube via local hookups to their networks, essentially switching over to fully-streamed services. They would be able to allocate more bandwidth to data, streaming directly to STBs or connected TVs/players/receivers etc., with streams topping out at 3-5 per household, easily accommodating multiple high-quality 4k streams. But the level of demand such services would induce is still far behind the very real demand for 4k on the desktop today.
 
Joined
Sep 14, 2008
Messages
1,622
At any rate, I cannot really use it at 18hz. The novelty of having this huge resolution is wearing off and trying to use it with regularity is proving rather challenging with the mouse lag. I hope 30hz will be a drastic improvement but moving back and forth between 18hz and 60hz the discrepancy is quite glaring.

I originally had to run mine at 18 Hz too due to broken nvidia drivers not doing > 165 Mhz pixelclock over HDMI. Even going from 18 to like 23 Hz using the only active HDMI adapter at the time (which started having issues over 225 Mhz pixelclock was a big improvement from 18. I would say running at 30Hz is a massive improvement over 18 Hz.

I have to say 18Hz was pretty damn horrible which I was stuck at for the 6 or 7 weeks until nvidia fixed their drivers. I was already researching the accel cables (via finding the actual chip that did the conversion with parade technologies) and literally was just waiting for it to be released. Luckily nvidia fixed their drivers before accel released its cable so I didn't have to wait as long as I otherwise might have. I since used the adapter on my laptop and other machines. Oddly enough on the same hardware (which works under linux) windows would not detect the monitor at all for the short time I ran it. Maybe because my HDMI cable is 65 feet? Not sure but I had to use the accel DP -> HDMI adapter to get anything on windows and 1080p@120hz and 3840x2160@30Hz both worked flawlessly with the adapter. My Dad has 3 of the 39 inch seiki's as well and so far the adapters have been knock on wood. He is having some issues with the HDMI and power on/off with the ATI drivers with his dual seiki 39 inch setup at home (no problems on his triple monitor system at work which is a single seiki).
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2004
Messages
18
I originally had to run mine at 18 Hz too due to broken nvidia drivers not doing > 165 Mhz pixelclock over HDMI. Even going from 18 to like 23 Hz using the only active HDMI adapter at the time (which started having issues over 225 Mhz pixelclock was a big improvement from 18. I would say running at 30Hz is a massive improvement over 18 Hz.

I have to say 18Hz was pretty damn horrible which I was stuck at for the 6 or 7 weeks until nvidia fixed their drivers. I was already researching the accel cables (via finding the actual chip that did the conversion with parade technologies) and literally was just waiting for it to be released. Luckily nvidia fixed their drivers before accel released its cable so I didn't have to wait as long as I otherwise might have. I since used the adapter on my laptop and other machines. Oddly enough on the same hardware (which works under linux) windows would not detect the monitor at all for the short time I ran it. Maybe because my HDMI cable is 65 feet? Not sure but I had to use the accel DP -> HDMI adapter to get anything on windows and 1080p@120hz and 3840x2160@30Hz both worked flawlessly with the adapter. My Dad has 3 of the 39 inch seiki's as well and so far the adapters have been knock on wood. He is having some issues with the HDMI and power on/off with the ATI drivers with his dual seiki 39 inch setup at home (no problems on his triple monitor system at work which is a single seiki).

Is there another adapter that will work? I can't seem to get my order from Amazon to process and it says it will ship to me no sooner than Dec. 25th.
I tried MyUS.com for forwarding service since I'm in Canada and Accell doesn't ship outside of the US, they want $25 for something that is less than .1 lbs.

I'm having a hard time finding it in Canada. Is it the chipset in these adapters that are specific to making the Seiki work or can some other generic Displayport to HDMI 1.4 do the job as well?
 
Top