ARECA Owner's Thread (SAS/SATA RAID Cards)

Discussion in 'SSDs & Data Storage' started by odditory, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. Ondrej

    Ondrej n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Hello to everybody,
    so did it. I backed up everything and I had to format the disk array to a 64KB Cluster size.

    And then I tried to initialize the new disk and after a week of migration I extended the partition with another full 10TB (9.3TB) and everything is fine :)

    Now I run on Raid6 and 7 units of 10 TB (home storage)
     
    arnemetis likes this.
  2. arnemetis

    arnemetis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,640
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    So I have my arrays set up to do a monthly scrub. I had an unrelated issue today and decided to check the log anyway to make sure something odd wasn't going on. The latest scrub of my 8x 8tb array found 2 errors. What can this mean? I can't find any additional information, all previous checks pulled up 0 errors. Did the scrubbing fix the errors?
    upload_2019-7-2_17-58-56.png
    HD Sentinel shows no issues with the drives. I hope I'm just being paranoid here!
     
  3. Snowknight26

    Snowknight26 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,159
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    This is a long shot but what stick of RAM did you use that allowed your ARC-1882IX-24 to use 8GB (more than 4GB advertised maximum)? I tried a Micron MT18KSF1G72PZ-1G6E1 (which is 1Rx4) without success.
     
  4. Ondrej

    Ondrej n00b

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    Hi Snowknight26 i have a
    Transcend - TS1GLK72V3H
    https://www.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=TS1GLK72V3H&_sacat=0 and work fine :)

    I tried a lot of brands and different and without success. Here this type of advice has been given to every kid on ebay when I was buying a 2GB module.
     
  5. Snowknight26

    Snowknight26 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,159
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Dual rank, interesting. That goes against what the manual says:

    But I'll give a 2Rx8 module a shot.

    Edit:
    After posing my original question I found an Areca FAQ article that confirmed 8GB support.

    http://faq.areca.com.tw/index.php?action=artikel&cat=14&id=359&artlang=en&highlight=8gb
     
  6. Snowknight26

    Snowknight26 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,159
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    For those that are curious, I was able to get 8GB in my ARC-1882ix-24 using a stick of ADATA ADDE1333W8G9-BMIE, which matches what Areca's FAQ says: 2Rx8 unbuffered.