AMD Mining Devices Making Millionaires Worldwide

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by jww20, Nov 28, 2013.

  1. PCunicorn

    PCunicorn [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,638
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    For Bitcoins. But Litecoins, Namecoins, etc.? They don't even support ASIC.
     
  2. StoleMyOwnCar

    StoleMyOwnCar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,151
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    I've got this old i5 750 rig that I'm considering turning into a mining station. Probably just gonna start out with a fairly cheap GPU. Thinking around 150$, probably a 7870 Ghz. I'm not sure whether that MB has one or two PCIE slots, I'll look when I get home.
     
  3. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,449
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    The CPU is overkill for what you want it to do. I'd sell it and use the money toward your GPU budget. 7950 might be in range.
     
  4. TheToE!

    TheToE! [H] Brewmaster

    Messages:
    6,700
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    I just bought some cheap parts from the egg. Had a case and psu but bought a biostar mobo and a athlon 2 x3 with a asus 280x. I'm tired of using my gaming rig to mine. My power is very cheap as well. Also was looking at mining something in addition to litecoins. Tried out feather coins. They seem easy has hell to mine currently.
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013
  5. StoleMyOwnCar

    StoleMyOwnCar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,151
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    No, the 7950's are getting bought up like crazy... not really in range at all; seems like too much of a pain to acquire one. The reason I'm not going to a higher GPU isn't because I'm aching for money but because I'm just hesitant about investing in it. I think this CPU has plenty of life left in it and I could use it for other stuff. It's a powerful little thing.

    In other words what I'm saying is that this isn't an "end goal" for that machine, just something for it to do since I have it sitting around.

    That being said, what's the minimum CPU you'd use for this kind of stuff?
     
  6. Decimus

    Decimus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,959
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    You really don't need much out of the CPU at all since it won't be doing any work. For mining I go with the cheapest, coolest, and least power hungry. Right now I am using a G1610 and have a G3220 on order for the next basket.

    I must say getting cards right now is a PITA. Snagged 4 more 280x's yesterday before they sold out in 20 minutes. TBH I am still a tad worried they are going to wait another day and then tell me that they are sorry but they made a mistake and don't have them since they still haven't shipped and are just in "Packaging". If you are worried about the investment on the cards look at it this way. Right now ebay someone is selling my exact mining rig "used" for $900 more than I paid for mine with a day to go and 77 bids already.
     
  7. TheToE!

    TheToE! [H] Brewmaster

    Messages:
    6,700
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Same, i ordered one earlier and am wondering.
     
  8. -Strelok-

    -Strelok- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,002
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    If you have to use a "power hungry" cpu, just downclock it and turn off cores to reduce energy.
     
  9. dook43

    dook43 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,912
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    I ordered 6 290X's.... Sitting at packaging as well.
     
  10. Neon01

    Neon01 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Does it matter which pool you join? I saw the site that lists the features of each, and of course they have different fees, but is the work the same difficulty on all of them?

    Any tips on which to join? I just started and joined give-me-coins since it appeared to be one of the better ones. I like their site interface too.

    Right now I'm mining with my GTX680 SLI setup until my two 290Xs arrive, and I'm getting horrible hash rates (~100kh/s) for a dual card setup. Anyone have any tips on good settings for 680 cards? It seems that most of the settings online are geared for AMD cards (understandably), but I'd like to at least be making some progress while I wait for my new cards.

    TIA
     
  11. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,449
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Pool mining - theoretically, every pool should pay out similarly over time as pool luck averages out. If you like feast/famine, join a smaller pool. If you like steady blocks, join a larger pool.

    Tips on 680 - I wouldn't even try mining with them as it will cost you more in electricity than what you'd make at 100kh/s.
     
  12. Neon01

    Neon01 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Thanks for the tips. I read on one site that 680s should be able to get as high as 300-350KH/s, but I guess I have a lot of research to do with the settings. I'm also using cgminer as opposed to cudaminer, so probably not optimal at all. Maybe I'll just stop until I get the better cards.

    Also, I'm pretty concerned about the market tanking. Is it easy to just sell coins as you go? Can that be done through the pools?
     
  13. Firebug24k

    Firebug24k [H]Lite

    Messages:
    106
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Buy gift cards @ gyft.com - pretty much as good as cash if you buy Amazon ones... Instant (<60 seconds) transfer to my account. I've bought about $1k in the last week, zero issues. Great for xmas gifts too, lol.
     
  14. felt

    felt Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    502
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Yes
     
  15. collegeboy69us

    collegeboy69us [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,257
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Wrong. As big and bad as the US government is, and as much as they think they have control... they won't be able to control something like this.

    The reason governments don't like ideas like this is because it takes their power away.

    The idea of being able to send something 100% digital that holds value, anywhere in the world, to anyone, without having to jump through 10 legal hoops, and having each person take their cut along the way.... it's archaic.

    When is the last time the government has really done anything right in this country? Everything they touch costs 100X more than it should, and they are never cash positive. When the US government spends 750 milllion on a website that should cost 10 million (and it still doesnt work), that tells me everything I need to know about their level of competency with anything technical.

    Very exciting times I think -- I just wish I had a chunk of money to plunk down and get in the game in a big way. Small time mining LTC off 6 GPUs just as a hobby.
     
  16. TheToE!

    TheToE! [H] Brewmaster

    Messages:
    6,700
    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    I wish I would have gave this a go a lot sooner. I get the feeling those of us that are just getting into it are late to the game. I just hope there is enough time left to make a little.
     
  17. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,449
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    You'll have to sign up at an exchange and convert to bitcoin. Then use coinbase to get your money out.
     
  18. Spazturtle

    Spazturtle [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,526
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Turning off cores will increase power consumption, reduce core speed and vcore instead.
     
  19. cw823

    cw823 n00b

    Messages:
    34
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Any recommendations on the exchange?
     
  20. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,449
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Well, I guess cryptsy is decent for various scrypt coins. You can auto-sell them into BTC when you deposit them from your pool.
     
  21. Neon01

    Neon01 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    I've signed up for Cryptsy and Coinbase, but I'm struggling to find the LTC payment address to get my LTCs from my pool to Cryptsy. I've scoured that site over, and can't find it anywhere. Tips?
     
  22. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,449
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    On Cryptsy, click on balances at the top, then scroll down to LTC and click on the "LTC Actions" button on the right. Click on Deposit/Autosell options and it will give you a deposit address to move LTC into Cryptsy from pool.
     
  23. Neon01

    Neon01 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Thanks for the tip! Looks like I got in hours before the bubble pops! (kidding)
     
  24. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,449
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    If you're holding anyway, might as well buy some if it gets low.
     
  25. mkrohn

    mkrohn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,330
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    finding it on cryptsy or the pool? hit balances --> LTC actions --> deposit --> generate address
     
  26. Neon01

    Neon01 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,024
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    On Cryptsy was what I meant. Thanks for the help too. Anyone know what the projections are on work difficulty going up?
     
  27. DeadSkull

    DeadSkull [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,482
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    Are the 290x or 290 better then 7970 cards for mining?
     
  28. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    7970/7950, if you can find them at MSRP, are the sweetspot for hash/watt.
    R9 290 is a good substitute, though slightly worse hash/watt depending on the individual card.

    R9 290x isn't worth it for the 40% extra cost over R9 290 for the, maybe, 10% increase in performance.

    7970/7950 is also preferred because you can get 4 of them on a 1.2kw PSU, compared to only 3 oc'ed 290s on a 1.2kw.
     
  29. kametsukida

    kametsukida [H]Lite

    Messages:
    113
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    http://allchains.info
     
  30. -Strelok-

    -Strelok- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,002
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    The R9 290 and 290x actually get more hash/watt than the 7950/7970. I believe it is around 2.6 or 2.72 hash/watt for the 290x while it's 2.05 hash/watt for the 7970.
     
  31. LordEC911

    LordEC911 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,461
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Well realworld results 290 is getting ~870-880khash/s at ~1ghz and pulling around 330w.
    I thought 7970/280x was doing 740-750khash/s ~1025/1050mhz and pulling ~265w.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2013
  32. -Strelok-

    -Strelok- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,002
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/7481/the-amd-radeon-r9-290-review/15

    Going by the Furmark figures, it's only a 40 watt difference for over 100 kH/s. But my main point was why buy a 7950/7970 for $400 when you can get an R9 290 for that price? I don't get why anyone paid so much, especially 2-3 weeks ago when 290s were still in stock.
     
  33. mkrohn

    mkrohn 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,330
    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    the reasoning is because variety is MASSIVE in cards. Take my various 280x's here. I have 1 model that I plug in and BOOM straight to over 700. Most of my models though you plug them in and UNDER 500. ALL of the cards I've bought are stock 1ghz or above. After tuning for a while I've been able to get every 280x to 650 or so but that 700+ is not a guarantee. for every claim of 900+k on a 290x you will have 10+ people getting UNDER 700 out of them.

    What I like are the 7870's and 7850's. Not much investment and not that much hassle to get them going as expected. I'd rather build more systems and spend roughly the same than to spend entire days trying to get my expected value out of cards. Immediately after dropping $500 on a pair of 7970's they were hashing the same speed as my 6950's. Hours of testing later and they both ended up at 700 but why bother? When I find a model that I like I will be every single one I can get my hands on but I think I'm done rolling the dice on various models.
     
  34. DooLocsta

    DooLocsta [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,527
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Even out of stock NewEgg has gone up on all 280X and 290 by $59. Whores!
     
  35. Sodapopjones

    Sodapopjones [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,833
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
  36. -Strelok-

    -Strelok- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,002
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    And wee it just dropped over $400 in a day!
     
  37. Pitbully

    Pitbully [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,155
    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Price is crashing! Get out while you still can!

    On a side note...

    I will be buying all 7950/7970 cards for $100 each. Just pst.
     
  38. bdr529

    bdr529 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    500
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    That tesla dealership must be happy
     
  39. samm

    samm [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,757
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Its a volatile market, and just an effect to the ban of bitcoins by the Chinese Gov. It needs more time to iron out the kinks, so it will stabilize eventually.
     
  40. collegeboy69us

    collegeboy69us [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,257
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    yup -- woke up today to see the huge dip, but it's recovering a bit.

    I'm less concerned with bitcoin's value directly, and more interested in LiteCoin, it's where I have my money. (all 22 coins) lol

    We have seen bitcoin rise and fall, and one thing always seems to happen, no matter how low it goes, it always comes back MUCH bigger in the future.

    I made the decision to mine and hold any LTC and FTC I generate in the coming months. They have already exploded in price relative to 6 months ago, even if they shrink back down... odds are at some point they will blow up again in value and that's when I get a wad of cash. It's essentially free money anyway in my view, I have to heat my house in the winter, even though it's Texas and not near as bad as other places... it was 21F when I woke up for work this morning, gotta keep the place warm, might as well use electricity that's going to net me a gain in the long run.