48-core Ryzen Threadripper 3980X processor exposed

erek

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
4,387

TheBuzzer

HACK THE WORLD!
Joined
Aug 15, 2005
Messages
12,570
i bet all threadtripper are really 64 cores but some cores are unstable and becomes a weaker cpu model.
 
  • Like
Reactions: erek
like this

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
21,757
i bet all threadtripper are really 64 cores but some cores are unstable and becomes a weaker cpu model.
nope.. unlike with zen+ where there was a reason to put the extra dies there isn't one with the 3960/70x since the IO and 4 chiplets are in center area of the PCB.. every cpu has the exact amount of chiplets it needs. that was why originally people thought that maybe the 3800x was just a 3900x with cores disabled for the benefits of the dual chiplets but instead it's just a binned single chiplet 3700x.

the only thing that carries over from the 64 core cpu's to the 3960/3970x is the PCB the dies are put on. you can see pads through the first layer of the PCB coating where the 4 extra chiplets would of gone.
 

idiomatic

[H]Lite
Joined
Jan 12, 2018
Messages
94
nope.. unlike with zen+ where there was a reason to put the extra dies there isn't one with the 3960/70x since the IO and 4 chiplets are in center area of the PCB.. every cpu has the exact amount of chiplets it needs. that was why originally people thought that maybe the 3800x was just a 3900x with cores disabled for the benefits of the dual chiplets but instead it's just a binned single chiplet 3700x.

the only thing that carries over from the 64 core cpu's to the 3960/3970x is the PCB the dies are put on. you can see pads through the first layer of the PCB coating where the 4 extra chiplets would of gone.
Some chiplets have 8 cores enabled and others 6. Its why there are 24 and 48 core models.
 

odditory

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
5,868
800MHz All Core, can't wait!

Now if only software could evolve past 8 cores.
 

1_rick

Gawd
Joined
Feb 7, 2017
Messages
841
I was thinking of system reqs, not age. Win 7's minimum was 1GB ram for 32 bit. Win 95 in theory would run in 4MB. Like I said, entirely in L3, as a stunt.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
21,757
800MHz All Core, can't wait!

Now if only software could evolve past 8 cores.
base clock on the 7742 is 2.25Ghz, i'd guess the 3990x will be closer to the 2.6Ghz epyc 7H12 since cooling and VRM's really aren't as big of a limitation on the consumer side but i wouldn't be surprised if the boards are in the 1500-2000 dollar price range running some insane vrm configurations on the boards similar to the xeon w-3175.
 

idiomatic

[H]Lite
Joined
Jan 12, 2018
Messages
94
I was thinking of system reqs, not age. Win 7's minimum was 1GB ram for 32 bit. Win 95 in theory would run in 4MB. Like I said, entirely in L3, as a stunt.
You would need a bios that will boot without Ram? Bioses these days are bigger than whole GUI OSes.
 

ryan_975

[H]ardForum Junkie
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
14,277
You would need a bios that will boot without Ram? Bioses these days are bigger than whole GUI OSes.
OSes take up gigabytes of space. BIOS chips are 32MB (128Mbit) or less.

It wouldn’t be impossible to use cache as main memory for an interactive OS. The first stage of boot up is done that way until the IMC is initialized and DRAM is tested and ready to go.
 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
16,059
OSes take up gigabytes of space. BIOS chips are 32MB (128Mbit) or less.

It wouldn’t be impossible to use cache as main memory for an interactive OS. The first stage of boot up is done that way until the IMC is initialized and DRAM is tested and ready to go.
I used to boot DOS 3.3 off a single 1.44 floppy...
 

Nobu

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 7, 2007
Messages
3,669
Amiga had a full multi tasking GUI OS that ran in 520K. What Bioses are doing with all that space...
Half of the space is used by background/interface images and logos, the other half is configuration tables for different CPUs and memory. The actual BIOS/firmware program is pretty small by comparison.
 
Top