Best Buy To Combat "Showrooming"

HardOCP News

[H] News
Best Buy plans to combat showrooming by providing more "training" to 50,000 employees. Umm, what?? The last thing anyone wants is to be pestered by BB employees. I have an idea to combat showrooming, offer competitive prices compared to online retailers, axe the Geek Squad and quit making your employees bug your customers. ;)

Best buy will provide new intensive induction to 50,000 U.S. employees beginning in August. The company also will focus on return on investments, leaving no sacred cows, reducing the retail footprint and relying on alliances with outside groups to drive sales, he said. He referred to Best Buy as a "personalized technology solutions" company.

I envision a concierge service where if you sing a contract to purchase a five year replacement plan up front and subscribe to any four of twenty-five prestigious publications for a discounted price, they will help you purchase the one model of TV they have in stock of the size you want. As you exit the airlock, and reclaim 90% of the clothing and valuables you checked on the way in as you donned your disposable paper jumpsuit, you will be informed that your TV is no longer in stock and will be delivered in 3-6 weeks to within a block of your home. The service will ocntinue to improve from there.

I dunno how they're planning to stop the showroom problem without hiding things inside display cases where they can't be touched.

So they're trying to combat the primary reason most people like us would ever even go there in the first place?

Good luck with that.

offer competitive prices compared to online retailers

The problem is that they cant do that. There is far too much overhead with the cost of running a building and the employees. I personally don't see them lasting much longer.

sounds like they're going to train the geeks in a different way to bug you, not bugging you less.