You May Need Less RAM Than You Think

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by Megalith, Jul 9, 2016.

  1. ep0x73

    ep0x73 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,564
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Another Abit IP35 user and their machine still works. I only have 4 gigs in that machine but it works well for old games which is all the CPU can handle. It's now semi-retired even though I have 10-64 on it.
    That said both of my current builds have 8 gigs and unless I have 20+ tabs in FF and chrome open I only use 3.5G.
    When I play a game I simple shut down any browsers and never ran into issues.
    Some of the latest top titles that state they recommend 16G, that is a different story.

    8G is enough now for general use, power users, gamers with new titles I'd say 16G should suffice.
     
  2. maw

    maw [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,131
    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2000
    Our new workstations came with 64GB, seemed like complete overkill at first, but we anticipate the use of VM's to become more and more common, and the projected 5-6 year life-span of these machines will probably take us to the era where 64GB is close to mainstream.
     
  3. rezerekted

    rezerekted 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,043
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Yea, seen that but don't think I want to play it again even if I do have more than enough ram now. Not a big fan of point and click adventure games, although I do own a few of them, especially hate those hidden object adventure games.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016
  4. rezerekted

    rezerekted 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,043
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    What do you call "quite a difference"? We are talking a few fps dif probably.
     
  5. Shadohh

    Shadohh Gawd

    Messages:
    820
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    We all need 128gb for rainbow tables!


    HACK THE GIBSON!
     
    Slyr7.62 likes this.
  6. Slyr7.62

    Slyr7.62 Gawd

    Messages:
    757
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Pong runs better with more ram.

    Would you likke to play a game? :D
     
  7. nightfly

    nightfly 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,341
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    then
    Even my idiot brother in law opens so many tabs when browsing that 8GB isn't adequate. The whole family seems to love youtube and it's 'open in new tab' feature that doesn't start the tab playing until you go to it, so they add tabs that they think they MIGHT want to watch later. Same with the girls and shopping sites. I think 16GB is the minimum that we should recommend right now for the average user.
     
  8. DocSavage

    DocSavage 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,409
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    At work, our main Hypervisor machine has 64GB ram and It's running 9 client 2012r2 OSs. Apart from one machine running a hungry version of SQL Server, none of the guest OSs use over 2.5GB ram.
    Capture.PNG
     
  9. Zarathustra[H]

    Zarathustra[H] Official Forum Curmudgeon

    Messages:
    28,433
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Yeah, but client workloads do tend to use a bit more RAM than server based VM's
     
  10. next-Jin

    next-Jin [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,178
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    I have a cheap Dell Inspiron 1557 w/ i3 3227U , 250GB 850 EVO and 16GB of ram. In my case I went with 16GB because it was only 17 dollars more, but had much slower ram prior 8GB worth too. It doesn't make a whole lot of difference because of the CPU. Sure I can open a huge amount of tabs and programs but by that point the CPU is screaming in pain.
     
  11. DogChainX

    DogChainX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,026
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    I used to run 12GB for my office system. However, it is now 24GB. Why? Custom Java programs, Chrome, and a few VMs running in the background eat the RAM very quickly. I'd get pegged at 11-12GB used all the time. Now, i usually have about 3-4GB "spare" free. System is a lot more responsive.

    I know how much I need. And, I know how much i WANT. Big difference. ;-)