X470 ECC Support

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by drescherjm, May 6, 2018.

  1. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,166
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I have zfs on several single drive installations (home and work). I make good use of the other features like snapshots and send / receive. The lack of TRIM has not caused an issue except for possibly the WDC G1 Black. My 10+ year old core2quad system (which the ryzen is supposed to replace) has a 1TB Sandisk ssd single disk zfs root for probably 2 years now.
     
  2. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,357
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Understood- however, giving up trim on a modern drive is likely to not be winning proposition on an OS drive. From a usability perspective, and this is absolutely subjective, it might be worth investigating alternatives so that you can keep trim support.
     
  3. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,166
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
  4. Jedibeeftrix

    Jedibeeftrix [H]Lite

    Messages:
    100
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    What is Gigabytes cheapest 6-layer PCB socket AM4 board?
     
  5. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,166
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Thankfully replacing the WDC Black G1 NVMe drive with a Samsung 960 1TB NVMe seems to have fixed the problem.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  6. Jandor

    Jandor n00b

    Messages:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    I know this is already old.
    However I made 2 systems using ECC memory.
    1st is using an Asus Prime B350m-k + Ryzen 1600x + 2x4GB RAM ECC Kingston Value DDR4 2400 (non Micron)
    Ran flawless from the beginning. Windows 7 Pro OEM. used as server. OS on raid 1 sata made of Crucial MX500 250GB and Samsung 860 evo 250GB. Both sata drives in Raid mode. I didn't take time to upgrade the SSD firmwares.

    2nd is an Asus Prim B350m-a + Ryzen 2600 + 2x8GB RAMM ECC Kingston Value DDR4 2400 (non Micron).
    Ran from the beginning but after needed Bios upgrade (used a Ryzen 1700), Windows 7 Pro OEM. Running 2 sata SSD as Raid1 with Crudual MX 500 500GB and Samsung Evo 860 500GB.

    The ECC memory I grabbed on Amazon is the less expensive I could find.

    So both running fine. I stopped all Microsft updates at february 2017. Using MS antivirus and Windows Firewall. May swap to Avira and Comodo in the future.

    Opinions needed.
     
  7. mda

    mda [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,373
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Opinions on what?
     
  8. Jandor

    Jandor n00b

    Messages:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Opinion on the stuff and the use. I like 0 problem working hardware that doesn't need maintenance. The people using it will be on a user profile.

    Do the SSD need upgrading to run safe in Raid1 mode ? Also, I heard new SSD do not need Trim.
     
  9. drescherjm

    drescherjm [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,166
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    I am running my Ryzen 2700 X470 ECC server / DVR box with gentoo linux as the OS MythTV as the DVR software. I originally had a 5XX GB WDC black G1 NVMe drive but found that that had an incompatibility with my board. This system is to replace a core2quad based system that had over 10 years of 24/7/365 with over 99% uptime. I have not finished the transfer yet (lack of free time + an injury got in the way). The system is stable since the BIOS update. Although I do have an Arduino based watchdog that monitors it to ensure it will reboot if it crashes. With that said it has not needed to do so and I have yet to actually connect the reset switch for it to take action..
     
    Last edited: Jan 4, 2019
  10. Jandor

    Jandor n00b

    Messages:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    Well, to be precise.
    I put 2 SSD in raid1 mode : Crucial MX 500 250GB, and Samsung 860 Evo 250GB. the raid1 volume is 220GB, left 30GB for overprovisioning if it works. The Bios is the original for both and didn't do any trick to extend the hardware overprovision with any tool. Not sure if it works. Don't know how to check (all SSD tools are made for AHCI mode). For now it's 100% functional. Windows 7 Pro.
    Another one : 2 volumes Raid1. Same brands 500GB. Updated firmwares (by going through AHCI mode first). Created 400GB volume left 100GB for overprovisioning (not hardware again).

    Opinions and advice needed.
    Do you believe the overprovisioning is working, that Trim is not needed ? I even wonder if the drivers do not use trim by themselves. It is supposed to be ultra-easy to implement Trim at driver level on Raid1 (not 0).
    For instance, just thinking that if Trim doesn't work, Raid1 continuous sync activity may forbid overprovisioning use while resting, because it never rests. Also free space left for overprovisioning may not be seen by the SSD chipset on raid1 volumes. I wonder about all those things.
    Those computers are not going to be heavy duty servers ! But one of the cell of those SSD may support around 500 writes before failing in worst case, so I'm trying to be on the safe side about rewrites and those things that matter. MLC SSD are only twice better, and SLC would be great if still produced (like 50 times better).
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
  11. Jandor

    Jandor n00b

    Messages:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    It's an old post but I looked into it as I like Gigabyte. They were out of stock so I went Asus.
    There is the old AX370 Gaming 5 (not K5) and also the AB350n (mini-iTX) and the B450i (mini-ITX). Those are the most inexpensive AM4 Boards at Gigabyte supporting ECC and also no so full of Led thing, I personally hate.
     
  12. Warriorprophet

    Warriorprophet [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,508
    Joined:
    May 22, 2001
    DDR4 already has built in error correction that is seriously fine unless your system is literally going to be powered on for years at a time where unswapped RAM pages might actually degrade...

    If you reboot your system more often than annually, and you are not compiling things like OS kernels for a living, then you'll be fine and see WAY better performance with normal DDR4 ram.
     
  13. osrk

    osrk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,859
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    For NAS users that use ZFS it's apparently pretty instrumental in data integrity. This is the only reason I buy ECC. Other than that the standard stuff is fine.
     
  14. Warriorprophet

    Warriorprophet [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,508
    Joined:
    May 22, 2001
    Only on ddr3 platforms, on ddr4 its unnecessary and you are just sacrificing performance. There are tons of more knowledgeable people who have discussed this topic. Level1techs, forum posts with anecdotal and long term testing, et al.
     
  15. osrk

    osrk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,859
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Do you mind sharing then?
     
  16. Jandor

    Jandor n00b

    Messages:
    43
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2018
    I think there is nothing to share. If you use DDR4 RAM without ECC you WILL experience bit errors and especially there is new RAM using thinner gates that will become even more sensible to this. There are 2 known reasons. First one is quality of RAM. Whatever you do there may be some bits on a chip prone to errors. This may happen at random occasions, like some small current surge, hotter temps in the case, or things like that. But if the chip is tested and of great quality and your system provide great current quality, the risk of this happening is low and will not become very much bigger with time. Circuits do wear with time and RAM circuitry is more prone to wear, for instance than a CPU.
    Now there is another type of bit error that is unavoidable and that is due to natural radioactivity. As far as I remember you would have for best quality material for the best case, around 1 bit error per day for 32GB of RAM. That may not affect you but there are chances that it may corrupt a file system in the OS or a data file of yours. And that is true only with the best material.

    ECC protection is very simple, costs less than 10% more to produce (it is another matter when you buy it as a basic customer), has nearly no speed penalty when in use. Every computer should run on ECC RAM.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2019