WTF microsoft

Status
Not open for further replies.

BrainEater

Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
1,023
Ok....
I spent many thousands of dollars to have a machine that would do HEVC onboard.
My processors do HEVC .

1.29$ for a codec ? Everything worked yesterday.
now you want cash ?

Go Fuck Yourself.

I'm going to Immediately start lobbying Adobe to get off your stupid OS.
Mebbie Adobe will realize the immense loss of capital when windows users have had enough.
I have.

Drop dead Microsoft , I'm in full fuck you mode and will migrate everything I can .
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
6,671
Ok....
I spent many thousands of dollars to have a machine that would do HEVC onboard.
My processors do HEVC .

1.29$ for a codec ? Everything worked yesterday.
now you want cash ?

Go Fuck Yourself.

I'm going to Immediately start lobbying Adobe to get off your stupid OS.
Mebbie Adobe will realize the immense loss of capital when windows users have had enough.
I have.

Drop dead Microsoft , I'm in full fuck you mode and will migrate everything I can .

Thanks for the background and details. Someone will care shortly
 

MMitch

Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
807
If I understand correctly, you spent thousands and went full retard mode for 1$ codec ? (Sorry if I understood the wrong way).
Don't get me wrong, I hate proprietary stuff as much as anyone else... (Again, I don't know what's the code anyway...)

Is it free on another OS ? Can't you do a VM in that case ?
 

BrainEater

Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
1,023
If I understand correctly, you spent thousands and went full retard mode for 1$ codec ? (Sorry if I understood the wrong way).
Don't get me wrong, I hate proprietary stuff as much as anyone else... (Again, I don't know what's the code anyway...)

Is it free on another OS ? Can't you do a VM in that case ?

No....let me explain.

The cost was on a Xeon video editing rig.
It's awesome , crushes the shit out of everything.
Adobe works fine.Everything worked fine until yesterdays win10 update.

Now ,when I try to play any 4k video with any other player , I get a new message from Microsoft about their new charge for that codec.

Thanks for your concern Auntjemima , but I'm pretty sure that codec should be free.
Microsoft can goto hell.

:mad:
 

MMitch

Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
807
No....let me explain.

The cost was on a Xeon video editing rig.
It's awesome , crushes the shit out of everything.
Adobe works fine.Everything worked fine until yesterdays win10 update.

Now ,when I try to play any 4k video with any other player , I get a new message from Microsoft about their new charge for that codec.

Thanks for your concern Auntjemima , but I'm pretty sure that codec should be free.
Microsoft can goto hell.

:mad:

I just did a quick free HVEC google kung fu and found some like for codecs and 3rd party apps. Have you tried anything yet ?
Maybe won't help make editing SW work though.

Sorry for you, I doubt its MS fault though... since they do not own HVEC patents.
 

BrainEater

Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
1,023
I am not sure yet wtf is going on.

Here's one for AuntJemima : I've got a new business model....let's charge a steam fee, and a facebook fee, and a twit fee.......Someone will give a shit soon right ?
Good idea yes ?

------

Yea Adobe still works , so the HEVC patent thing is probably valid.Shit pisses me off.
I'm looking for any alternative.
 

MMitch

Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
807
Patents is owned by JCT-VC as per wiki, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_Efficiency_Video_Coding

Copy/pasted from link;
The licensing fees are one of the main reasons HEVC adoption has been low on the web and is why some of the largest tech companies (Amazon, AMD, Apple, ARM, Cisco, Google, Intel, Microsoft, Mozilla, Netflix, Nvidia, and more) have joined the Alliance for Open Media,[8] which aimed to finalize the royalty-free alternative video coding format AV1 by the end of 2017.[9] An initial version of the AV1 specification was eventually released on 28 March 2018.

Again sorry for you, can't you just buy the codec and move along ? May I ask how much they charge and is it in installment form ?
 

MMitch

Gawd
Joined
Nov 29, 2016
Messages
807
I don't blame him for being pissed but this isn't really something to blame on MS. There's a lot to hate on MS about but this isn't one of them.

That said you can always join the Dark Side...we have x265 for free.

https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/x86_64/x265/

And we have cookies...

OP mentioned Adobe products, a quick google search seemed to indicate poor support on Linux. Do you know if it works well and does it have Adobe support or it's like a hack method per say to get it to work ?
I think OP should just pay the 2$ for the codec at this point :eek: and try to see if he can get that to work on linux in a VM or dual boot.
 

ChadD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
4,912
OP mentioned Adobe products, a quick google search seemed to indicate poor support on Linux. Do you know if it works well and does it have Adobe support or it's like a hack method per say to get it to work ?
I think OP should just pay the 2$ for the codec at this point :eek: and try to see if he can get that to work on linux in a VM or dual boot.

Why use Adobe at all really ....

https://www.lwks.com/ (lightworks pro has lost some of its shine perhaps the last few years but I would put it toe to toe with premier any day)
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve/
https://www.blender.org/ (ok blender isn't mainly for editing video but a lot of people find it works well)

If you really are curious... throw an old HDD drive in your machine, unplug your current drive (so you don't have any woopsies) Install some Ubuntu on it... and grab the free versions of Lightworks and Davinci to get a feel for them. Davinci is really exploding in popularity right now for a reason. Their latest updates really bring it to feature parity with Premier... and retains the superior davinci colour tools. If that is your jam... its also much cheaper and doesn't require stupid cloud connections.

I don't know exactly what type of editing your doing... but probably DR is what you want to look at if your really ready to kill adobe. If you got that way the OS is secondary. Linux Mac Windows doesn't matter versions for all 3.

 
Last edited:

BrainEater

Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
1,023
Again sorry for you, can't you just buy the codec and move along ? May I ask how much they charge and is it in installment form ?

Yes.No need to be sorry. it's a buck 30.....I have not asked about installments.lol

It's not the 1.30$.
It's the fact that Microsoft went into my machine via update , broke something, then asked me for money to fix it.
it's fucking ransomware.


https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/p/h...urer/9n4wgh0z6vhq?activetab=pivot:overviewtab

/thread?

You should try video editing in Linux. It’s a dumpster fire so bright you can see it from mars. I’d love to see your threads about it.

Heh.
I spent some time reading about Linux video editing in the last couple days.......I think I saw it referred to a dumpster fire somewhere else too...
I've got a spare rig kicking around, I'm going to try Linux out, and see for myself.
It would would be sad to lose Adobe because it's what I know , but If a Linux editor did what I wanted, I'd switch.
 

ChadD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
4,912
Heh.
I spent some time reading about Linux video editing in the last couple days.......I think I saw it referred to a dumpster fire somewhere else too...
I've got a spare rig kicking around, I'm going to try Linux out, and see for myself.
It would would be sad to lose Adobe because it's what I know , but If a Linux editor did what I wanted, I'd switch.

Grab Davinci Resolve free. Give it a go. If it does what you want... the pro version is much cheaper then adobe. There is absolute zero doubt that DR is much much better then Premier for colour work. For sound adobe has the dynamic link with their other products.... but the build in DR sound is good enough for all but the highest end work imo. (and it gets use in pretty high end work as well)

Anyway start there. People complaning about Linux editing are trying to make FOSS software work for high end stuff, or trying to compare it to non free stuff like premier. The foss options are great don't get me wrong... but if you where paying for premier happily... then consider a professional package that supports Linux as well as Mac and windows like DR or LW. IME DR is the way to go, it will give you access to a decent amount of VFX stuff, and audio including VST support, for a reasonable price. If you are really into VFX stuff you are likely looking at Maya or Houdine anyway which are also well supported by Linux. On the audio end if your really doing high end commercial work... dude forget Linux and windows and get a mac. That might change in the next year or two as Linux ramps up pipewire which is on par or better then macs core audio... but for now core audio and the mac audio tools are still better then anything windows or linux based.
 

AltTabbins

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 29, 2005
Messages
20,091
forget Linux and windows and get a mac.

For professional production work, this is the right choice. They build the Mac Pro and even the high end Macs for this. You hear consumers piss and moan about the price of Macs all the time but you rarely if ever will hear professionals who do audio/video work say anything bad about them.
 

ChadD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
4,912
For professional production work, this is the right choice. They build the Mac Pro and even the high end Macs for this. You hear consumers piss and moan about the price of Macs all the time but you rarely if ever will hear professionals who do audio/video work say anything bad about them.

Macs are what you see in 9 out of 10 pro studios doing ad work and the like. There just solid. Audio wise Macs core audio is far superior to windows and Linux at this point. Their audio driver is super low latency and hooked direct into their kernel. Its basically windows sound system and ASIO low latency all in one. Linux works like windows right now with pulse for general multi tasking audio support and then there are things like Jack which are analogous to ASIO. The Linux project pipewire should be bringing the same hardware audio capabilities to Linux shortly at least.

No doubt though if your doing serious video work... you won't find many pros not using macs, although you do find some using a mix of macs and Linux for heavy crunching and rendering.
 

viivo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
1,698
I don't blame him for being pissed but this isn't really something to blame on MS. There's a lot to hate on MS about but this isn't one of them.

That said you can always join the Dark Side...we have x265 for free.

https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/x86_64/x265/

And we have cookies...

There's still a wide number of devices in use that can't hardware decode 265, otherwise it would have been adopted as the standard.
 

ChadD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
4,912
There's still a wide number of devices in use that can't hardware decode 265, otherwise it would have been adopted as the standard.

That has a lot to do with the encode having licencing issues as well. The industry standard wasn't ready for prime time to really compete when it should have been.
 

BrainEater

Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
1,023
Yeap.

This is what pisses me off about the buck 30.

I bought hardware to service both ends : aka the GoPro's do the HEVC encode , the Xeons should do the HEVC decode.
Why does Microsoft need their cut ?
....and why did they break my GOM player to get it ?

Here's my plan :
I'm going to see if a full, paid for version of GOM player comes with that codec.If not , well, here's my $1.30.

I'm also going to try out some Linux stuff, so I can form my own opinion.
------

I'd also like to make a correction.
It's not really ransomware , it's a page from apple's playbook, which is even worse.

For professional production work, this is the right choice. They build the Mac Pro and even the high end Macs for this. You hear consumers piss and moan about the price of Macs all the time but you rarely if ever will hear professionals who do audio/video work say anything bad about them.

I have friends who do pro video work.
They agree, but most of them actually use Final Cut pro, on the macs.
I can't stand apple anything , let alone macOS , and I'm not a pro.I'm an avid hobbiest, that likes Adobe.

:dead:
 

OliverQueen

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
170
Y
I bought hardware to service both ends : aka the GoPro's do the HEVC encode , the Xeons should do the HEVC decode.

Get onto GoPro for the codec! If they force you to use it on their cameras, they should provide the tools to encode/decode it. If not, spend the $1.30 & charge each client $5 for the use of it from now on ;)
 

Biznatch

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
2,224
Yeap.

This is what pisses me off about the buck 30.

I bought hardware to service both ends : aka the GoPro's do the HEVC encode , the Xeons should do the HEVC decode.
Why does Microsoft need their cut ?
....and why did they break my GOM player to get it ?

Here's my plan :
I'm going to see if a full, paid for version of GOM player comes with that codec.If not , well, here's my $1.30.

I'm also going to try out some Linux stuff, so I can form my own opinion.
------

I'd also like to make a correction.
It's not really ransomware , it's a page from apple's playbook, which is even worse.



I have friends who do pro video work.
They agree, but most of them actually use Final Cut pro, on the macs.
I can't stand apple anything , let alone macOS , and I'm not a pro.I'm an avid hobbiest, that likes Adobe.

:dead:


Just because MS is charging you for the license, doesn't mean it's so they can 'get a cut'..... You should look at who actually owns the license for that codec..... MS most likely just stopped bundling the codec in the OS, as they have to pay the license fee for every copy of the OS and not everyone uses it. So they likely stopped bundling it with the OS to reduce cost, then let users pay the licensing fee if they do want it. Same thing they did with Media Center.
 

mvmiller12

Gawd
Joined
Aug 7, 2011
Messages
1,003
Same thing they did with Media Center.

And with the discontinuation of Media Center (and its included Dolby and h264 licensing as well as TV Guide data), the world was a sadder, less hospitable place for us Media PC enthusiasts.

Personally I use x264 for all of my encoding duties. It has hardware support pretty much everywhere and I see no real advantage to using x265 over it.
 

Biznatch

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 16, 2009
Messages
2,224
And with the discontinuation of Media Center (and its included Dolby and h264 licensing as well as TV Guide data), the world was a sadder, less hospitable place for us Media PC enthusiasts.

Personally I use x264 for all of my encoding duties. It has hardware support pretty much everywhere and I see no real advantage to using x265 over it.

True, I was just making the point that it's not a money grab by MS, just a cost saving decision.
 

Algrim

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2016
Messages
1,705
And with the discontinuation of Media Center (and its included Dolby and h264 licensing as well as TV Guide data), the world was a sadder, less hospitable place for us Media PC enthusiasts.

Personally I use x264 for all of my encoding duties. It has hardware support pretty much everywhere and I see no real advantage to using x265 over it.

H.264 has no end-user distribution fees which is why I still produce end-user videos with it. That, and as mentioned previously, not all end-user hardware has decode capability for H.265.

With that said, Adobe should be including the codec fee into their encoding software. I can understand Microsoft adding a decode fee into their operating system if the licensing consortium is starting to enforce action on the decode end. But for encoding? Adobe should be eating that (well, you will as they won't give that to you for free).
 

Mazzspeed

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
2,727
Dump Adobe, their over priced CC and their poorly supported products in the fire where they belong and run DaVinci Resolve under Linux. Better NUMA support and faster file systems (so faster performance than Windows considering multicore rendering), full Nvidia CUDA support (more than you can say for MacOS Mojave on the 4,1/5,1 Mac Pro) and better pricing.

As it is, Linux is cutting a niche in the VFX industry - It's literally all they use.
 

SvenBent

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
3,207
Windows 10. You never know what you are gonna get.

This is not new with windows 10. we heard how Group policies suddenly got removed from the os that ppl paid for to get that feature.
The uncertain if i am to start up my computer and it has the same features as i left it yesterday is the reason i had to drop windows 10. not knowing the "wheel" is going to land on today is just an unneeded frustration.

In my case it was my own installed software the windows 10 update removed without asking or informing.
 

BrainEater

Gawd
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
1,023
I'll get the codec.
-----

I will say this :
As much as this was a pissed/pissed off rant thread , I've learned some stuff forsure.

I'm loading a spare rig with Kali Linux (again, diff reason) (( Heheh))
I've heard some interesting things about video editing on Linux......(it's not all a dumpster fire AltTabbins?)
If I can have 2 rigs that do it properly , really cool.
I guess I'm goin back to school.

--------------

Thanks everyone for your input.
Next rant thread will be Linux. heh

Cheers !
 
  • Like
Reactions: ChadD
like this

Keljian

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 7, 2006
Messages
1,276
As for davinci, it uses a heck of a lot of GPU power, so if you are going down that road, make sure you cater for it.
 

Mazzspeed

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 27, 2017
Messages
2,727
I'll get the codec.
-----

I will say this :
As much as this was a pissed/pissed off rant thread , I've learned some stuff forsure.

I'm loading a spare rig with Kali Linux (again, diff reason) (( Heheh))
I've heard some interesting things about video editing on Linux......(it's not all a dumpster fire AltTabbins?)
If I can have 2 rigs that do it properly , really cool.
I guess I'm goin back to school.

--------------

Thanks everyone for your input.
Next rant thread will be Linux. heh

Cheers !

If you're running Kali to practice your Mr Robot skillz..Fair enough.

But don't run Kali thinking it'll be a great desktop experience as I can assure you it will be horrible!

And yes, video editing under Linux is actually very polished and professional - Adobe can suck a D. The way Blackmagic Design are going, one more creative package to the standard of DaVinci Resolve will have Adobe over a barrel, especially considering their latest trick manipulating copyright and the rightful ownership of legitimately licensed software.
 

ChadD

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 8, 2016
Messages
4,912
If you're running Kali to practice your Mr Robot skillz..Fair enough.

But don't run Kali thinking it'll be a great desktop experience as I can assure you it will be horrible!

And yes, video editing under Linux is actually very polished and professional - Adobe can suck a D. The way Blackmagic Design are going, one more creative package to the standard of DaVinci Resolve will have Adobe over a barrel, especially considering their latest trick manipulating copyright and the rightful ownership of legitimately licensed software.

Blackmagic doesn't have to do it all.... :)

For a photoshop replacement. Krita is coming along very very well. I was surprised a few weeks ago stopping by a small video studio I deal with, just small time ad type stuff no major 3D VFX or anything but one of their art types was using Krita. They have photoshop licences on a few macs... but they where actually using Krita on a Linux workstation. Not to shocking really the last year or so Krita has gained a bunch of features and a lot of stability and speed. Its getting pretty polished. It isn't a perfect replacement for everything photoshop does.. but if your using brushes and in general wacom type work in some regards its superior already.

Between DR Krita most users are pretty well covered. On the audio end I'm still waiting on pipewire to make life easier for people with out the Linux chops to properly setup jack. Still there are some interesting Linux options reaper works well as does Bitwig. Bitwig offers some really cool unique features like Device nesting and Multidimensional Polyphonic Expression which are really cool for people mixing surround sound stuff in a real time artistic way.... doesn't have the greatest video integration out of the box, however it supports midi time code well and I know folks doing commercial work that have used DR and Bitwig using XJaudio
http://xjadeo.sourceforge.net/main.html

Of course again in general for high end audio things like pro tools tend to be the go to... but on Mac. I have never seen a higher end commercial outfit running audio stuff on a windows PC, a few small recording studios perhaps. But even there Mac is what you will mostly see.
 

ZodaEX

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 17, 2004
Messages
3,737
I'll get the codec.
-----

I will say this :
As much as this was a pissed/pissed off rant thread , I've learned some stuff forsure.

I'm loading a spare rig with Kali Linux (again, diff reason) (( Heheh))
I've heard some interesting things about video editing on Linux......(it's not all a dumpster fire AltTabbins?)
If I can have 2 rigs that do it properly , really cool.
I guess I'm goin back to school.

--------------

Thanks everyone for your input.
Next rant thread will be Linux. heh

Cheers !

Reward them for their shady behavior. Good job!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top