Wolfenstein: Youngblood

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,701
I thought there was a way of redeeming these Nvidia promo codes even if you didn't have the required cards?...something about having the seller activate it somehow on his Steam account and then transferring etc

That might work in special cases (unless I'm missing something) but generally you can't transfer a key on Steam unless it was purchased as a gift? Maybe you can now, but that's what my admittedly fuzzy memory of it was. Maybe you can activate it into your inventory now or something.
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,701
Well, I wasn’t interested in the game because of the embarrassing acting, but now just for the whiz-bang-visual aspect, plus the fact that it’s a *cough* Wolfenstein game, I may have to grab it and an RTX card. (But really the RTX card is for Quake II)

...

Yeah...

I think I shall do so next month. Birthday time :D
 

polonyc2

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 25, 2004
Messages
19,759
sounds like the RTX features in Youngblood are really impressive...new RTX showcase title?

Wolfenstein Youngblood - Ray Tracing/VRS/DLSS in id Tech 6 - A Next-Gen Features Showcase?

 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
16,551
Soon as I find this game for cheap I'm going to play it again just so I can try out the Ray Tracing plus I didn't game the game a fair shake.
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,701
Don’t let RTX fool you, this game is garbage.

:D I'm actually grabbing a 2070 Super next week just for the hell of it. I plan to upgrade again before I play Cyberpunk, so this 2070S can go into one of the other PCs. (I trickle hardware throughout the house.) Probably into the living room PC. I'll spend more time with Quake II, Doom Eternal (when RTX support is ready) maybe Control, etc. but I'll probably grab this on sale and blast through it. It's still kinda Wolf(ish) and I can probably handle slumming it for a few hours just for the visuals. (like watching a crappy action movie or something) :D
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
16,551
:D I'm actually grabbing a 2070 Super next week just for the hell of it. I plan to upgrade again before I play Cyberpunk, so this 2070S can go into one of the other PCs. (I trickle hardware throughout the house.) Probably into the living room PC. I'll spend more time with Quake II, Doom Eternal (when RTX support is ready) maybe Control, etc. but I'll probably grab this on sale and blast through it. It's still kinda Wolf(ish) and I can probably handle slumming it for a few hours just for the visuals. (like watching a crappy action movie or something) :D

You know Cyperpunk is delayed untill Sep 16th many more months?
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,701
You know Cyperpunk is delayed untill Sep 16th many more months?

Yes, I'm aware of that. Which is why I plan to upgrade my card AGAIN before then. I just feel like playing around with some of the current RTX titles, and figured a 2070 Super would be good enough to muck about for now. I'll revisit that when Cyberpunk gets released. I'm also not worried about what Doom Eternal's RTX performance will be like because id Software knows what they're doing, and despite what appears to be a somewhat limited implementation, Youngblood looks pretty decent (visually and performance-wise) in the RTX videos. To be honest, in the meantime, I just want to give the Quake II RTX thing a play, and I'm looking forward to Atomic Heart if it ever actually sees the light of day.
 

Youn

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
5,745
is there any way to disable the voices and cut scenes on this game... it all looks okay until that starts to kick in, I don't see mods for the game, but maybe it's salvageable or is the gameplay also a turd salad?
 
  • Like
Reactions: J3RK
like this

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,701
is there any way to disable the voices and cut scenes on this game... it all looks okay until that starts to kick in, I don't see mods for the game, but maybe it's salvageable or is the gameplay also a turd salad?

Hehehe, that's the only part that has kept me from getting this. The cut scenes on TNO and TOB were great. TNC was a noticeable step down in that department, but I LOVED the shooting on TNC. Youngblood looks absolutely horrible for dialog, but the shooting still looks half-decent. I'd love the same thing. Being able to skip or disable.
 

evo2point0

Weaksauce
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
64
Recently got this game, thanks to Black Friday sale.
Anyway, this games seems heavily multi-threaded. My 5950X (16-core, 32-thread) shows up to 70% utilization while playing single player campaign. What makes this game so multi-threaded?
Compared to this, Doom Eternal (presumably using the same engine) shows CPU utilization around 3~5% only.
 

piratepress

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
1,533
Recently got this game, thanks to Black Friday sale.
Anyway, this games seems heavily multi-threaded. My 5950X (16-core, 32-thread) shows up to 70% utilization while playing single player campaign. What makes this game so multi-threaded?
Compared to this, Doom Eternal (presumably using the same engine) shows CPU utilization around 3~5% only.
Hmmm, I haven't tried it on my new 3900X, but it ran great on my old 4-core, eight-thread i7-3770.
 

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,701
Recently got this game, thanks to Black Friday sale.
Anyway, this games seems heavily multi-threaded. My 5950X (16-core, 32-thread) shows up to 70% utilization while playing single player campaign. What makes this game so multi-threaded?
Compared to this, Doom Eternal (presumably using the same engine) shows CPU utilization around 3~5% only.

Are you running it with RTX features? I wonder if there's more CPU overhead in this mode? RTX support isn't in Doom Eternal yet. That's one thing that springs to mind. Another is that id Software proper made Doom Eternal, and while their engine was used for Wolfenstein, Machine Games made the game. Who knows to what degree id consulted on it, so maybe it's just less efficient than DE. Some possibilities anyway.
 

evo2point0

Weaksauce
Joined
May 18, 2016
Messages
64
Are you running it with RTX features? I wonder if there's more CPU overhead in this mode? RTX support isn't in Doom Eternal yet. That's one thing that springs to mind. Another is that id Software proper made Doom Eternal, and while their engine was used for Wolfenstein, Machine Games made the game. Who knows to what degree id consulted on it, so maybe it's just less efficient than DE. Some possibilities anyway.
Yes, ray tracing enabled with RTX 3090.
Today I saw CPU utilization as high as 82% (peak) while playing this game in single player campaign mode. Performance is outstanding. But wow.. 82% peak utilization on a 16-core (32-threads) for a single player game. This is mystery to me. Hehe
 

piratepress

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
1,533
My 3080 is arriving next week, so I'm looking forward to replaying it with RTX enabled.

Maybe I have low standards, but I really enjoyed the game!
 
  • Like
Reactions: J3RK
like this

J3RK

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 25, 2004
Messages
9,701
My 3080 is arriving next week, so I'm looking forward to replaying it with RTX enabled.

Maybe I have low standards, but I really enjoyed the game!

the game play itself is actually refined and quite good. The acting and story... kinda makes me embarrassed to be playing it honestly. But it’s definitely fun. It’s a really weird mix :D
 

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
16,551
I'm going to get this game again I never gave a fair shot plus I have a good RTX card.
 
  • Like
Reactions: J3RK
like this

piratepress

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Messages
1,533
Just got done playing my first hour with my new 3080 and the game looks great, but MY GOD does that card throw off some heat!

No exaggeration, the air coming out of my case feels like a space heater. LOL, it makes my 1080 Ti feel like an air conditioner!
 

Colonel Sanders

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 26, 2001
Messages
4,600
Just got done playing my first hour with my new 3080 and the game looks great, but MY GOD does that card throw off some heat!

No exaggeration, the air coming out of my case feels like a space heater. LOL, it makes my 1080 Ti feel like an air conditioner!
Shows you how effective the cooling is. The hotter the air you feel coming out, the more heat is being transferred away from the chip etc.
 

GoldenTiger

Fully [H]
Joined
Dec 2, 2004
Messages
20,632
Just got done playing my first hour with my new 3080 and the game looks great, but MY GOD does that card throw off some heat!

No exaggeration, the air coming out of my case feels like a space heater. LOL, it makes my 1080 Ti feel like an air conditioner!
Undervolt! You can get the same or better perf while lowering the heat or just lower the heat further with a couple percent loss.

The card out of the box hits the power limit and throttles clocks. https://hardforum.com/threads/rtx-3000-series-undervolt-discussion.2003050/
 
Last edited:

Comixbooks

Fully [H]
Joined
Jun 7, 2008
Messages
16,551
Just got done playing my first hour with my new 3080 and the game looks great, but MY GOD does that card throw off some heat!

No exaggeration, the air coming out of my case feels like a space heater. LOL, it makes my 1080 Ti feel like an air conditioner!

I went with a 3070 because of thermals and didn't want to upgrade my PSU.
 
Top