Windows 7 random reboot, no bsod, no dump file.

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Underbyte, Nov 15, 2010.

  1. Underbyte

    Underbyte n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    So I have been reading this forum for a long while now. Just decided to register because of a serious ongoing problem.

    My windows 7 homebuilt pc keeps rebooting.

    What I have tried is taking my components out and cleaning them thoroughly. I have ran a memtest for 7 hours and no errors. I do not believe overheating is the issue. All components run at normal operable temps. I removed my graphics card and ran onboard video. No luck at all.

    Also, a while back I was experiencing the same reboots. They happened every 2-3 days. Nothing unusual. Then it wouldn't happen for a month or so. One day my pc never turned back on. So I RMA'd my motherboard and pwr supply. It is back up and running but now it reboots happen every 20 mins. :(

    I have scoured the web for the last week with no avail. Help is much appreciated.

    mobo: gigabyte ma78gm
    600w ocz
    6400+ AMD X2
    3 sata drives
    1 raptorX 150gb (os is installed on this| partitioned with 70gb on each)
    razer barracuda AC-1
    8800gt 512mb
    4gb ram GSKill 2x2gb
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2010
  2. Tawnos

    Tawnos 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,809
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2001
    Check your PSU and motherboard for bulging capacitors.
     
  3. Underbyte

    Underbyte n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Gotcha. Another thing though, I can run memtest for 7 hours with no reboots. Must be something (like a driver) once I am on Windows 7. Can't be on for longer than 20 mins.
     
  4. frenchie

    frenchie Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    156
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    If I understand correctly, your PC reboots every 20mins, even when it's just sitting here doing nothing ?
    When you say reboot, does it quit windows properly or does it just shut off and then reboot ?
     
  5. wrangler

    wrangler 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,933
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Same thing happened to me and it was psu. It can sometimes (rarely) happen with ram but these threads usually end up with a new psu.
     
  6. YeuEmMaiMai

    YeuEmMaiMai Death Incarnate

    Messages:
    13,547
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    +1 for flaky power supply
     
  7. Underbyte

    Underbyte n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Yathink!? My psu? I thought that was the problem way back when. But I did an RMA and I thought it should have fixed it. But the reboot happens every 5-25 mins. Just a black screen then bios comes up.

    I wouldn't doubt the pwr supply at all. You would think they would have fixed it. Actually I have some more information. The reason why I RMA both my motherboard and pwr supply is because my CPU 4port connector had melted to the pwr supply connector. It would still work, but I figured when my computer died I should have them both sent in.

    My mobo had a brownish area next to the cpu, so I am sure that is what failed.

    eh.....
     
  8. Crispy002

    Crispy002 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,346
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    You can troubleshoot windows as an issue by running some sort of temporary OS. I'd suggest using a Knoppix (linux) dvd for this. Link is here --> http://www.knoppix.net/

    It really does sound like a PSU issue though. OCZ's PSUs are not exactly known for quality.
     
  9. Javelin3o4

    Javelin3o4 Gawd

    Messages:
    717
    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    I was getting random reboots on my machine aswell, turns out the RAM wasnt fully compatible. I couldnt adjust the ram timing in my BIOS (factory mobo from gateway) it would pass memtest, so I ended up buying the same speed ram the unit came with and I havent had issues since.
     
  10. Underbyte

    Underbyte n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    I will try Knoppix. Thanks!

    I have been thinking of buying a corsair psu. I have heard good things (always stable) from their ram and psu's. So maybe that will be an option. I'm going to call and complain to OCZ tomorrow. I like their stuff, but if its their psu, imagonnabemad.jpg.

    If my computer will stay on long enough to download knoppix I guess I will know maybe what my problem is. Good option for troubleshooting. My ram though is set to 1.8mhz. I set it to 1.9 on my mobo. Same reset error. Gonna switch it back. Don't think its my ram anymore. :{
     
  11. Underbyte

    Underbyte n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    so after about a straight week and a half of constant testing, and trying everyones advice. I think I found it out on my own. :\

    Someone on toms hardware forums told me to go to advanced settings in bios by hitting crtl+f1 to change ram timings. They were accurate, but I went back online to check cpu voltage settings. It is supposed to run on 1.4000

    I bumped it down to 1.3500. Seems really stable. I guess under voltage did the trick. Who would have guessed? Thanks for you help.

    Hope it stays stable.
     
  12. Bahamut

    Bahamut n00b

    Messages:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Which is a sad testament considering they bought Power PC & Cooling a few years ago, arguably the best computer PSU maker ever. Supposedly they still operate "hands off" by OCZ management but, I've heard not so many good things about PPC&C since that takeover happened.

    Sad, sad thing. :(
     
  13. H-street

    H-street [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,536
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    so changing the power supply didn't fix it?