Win 10 won't Screen Save or Sleep

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Agrajag, May 15, 2018.

  1. Agrajag

    Agrajag [H]Lite

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    I have a fairly new install of Windows 10 after a full system upgrade (mb, ram, cpu) and now the system refuses to pay attention to my power settings so my monitor never turns off.

    If I boot into Safe mode it turns off after 1 minute which is exactly what I have set (If I get this working again that will change to 20 minutes).

    I've tried going into Task Manager/Startup and disabling everything in there to no avail. It still won't sleep.

    Does anyone have insight on what the process should be to finding the offending culprit? I'd hate to have to resort to a re-install just over this, but I also don't want to be killing my two monitors over this issue.

    Thanks.
     
  2. drutman

    drutman n00b

    Messages:
    57
    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Do you have Origin installed? When I exit the Origin program it borks my Win screensaver.
     
  3. Agrajag

    Agrajag [H]Lite

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    No Origin here. The screensaver just never works, period. Not a fresh boot. The only time it works is, as noted, in Safe Mode. SOMETHING in the registry has to be screwed up.
     
  4. elavanis

    elavanis n00b

    Messages:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    I have two win 10 computers that will not sleep. After trying to get the computers to sleep to no avail I ended up writing a program to make it sleep 30 minutes after the last key press on the keyboard. I really need to update it so it is configurable since that won't work when watching a movie on the htpc but if you want I can send you the program/source code after I update it.
     
  5. Agrajag

    Agrajag [H]Lite

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    That would be great. Thanks.
     
  6. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Run an energy report: https://davescomputertips.com/windows-10-wont-sleep-solved/

    For example from an elevated command prompt run : powercfg /energy /output %USERPROFILE%\Desktop\energy-report.html

    Even on a system that sleeps perfectly there are usually warnings generated by this however the culprit is probably there.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,439
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    something in the background is causing it since it works correctly in safe mode. start disabling thing in startup/background or try that ^.
     
  8. Agrajag

    Agrajag [H]Lite

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    As noted, I did exactly what you suggested with zero impact. I will be trying out the suggestion in the post above yours.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  9. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,439
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    look at your services too, not everything show in task managers startup section. you could also try and create a new temporary account to see if it does it. if it doesn't comparing the running processes could help track it down.
     
  10. elavanis

    elavanis n00b

    Messages:
    37
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    I haven't forgot you, I apparently wrote the program on my old work computer so I didn't have access to the original source code. I copied it all over from a decompiled exe but missed a line yesterday so it was not working. I got it reading the key inputs now and the app.config file for the configurable time to sleep. I ran through a quick test and it appears to work just like the old one did.

    Here is a copy to the source code and the exe.
    https:// drive.google.com/open?id=1LbwtRrEQSJXOvmCNO3iIyRv6JI1siugZ (note I put a space after the https:// so it would show up. Its the same link as below just wanted to have a actual link you could see incase the magic below quits working)





    If you want to look at the source or make any changes I wrote the program using C# in visual studio.
    If you just want to use the program then in the directory ForceComputerSleep\bin\debug there you be two files. ForceComputerSleep.exe and ForceComputerSleep.exe.config Copy those where ever you want and run the exe. If you want to change the default sleep time from 30 minutes in the config there is a line "<add key="ShutDownTime" value="00:30:00"/>" Change that to something else like "<add key="ShutDownTime" value="02:00:00"/>" and it will sleep for 2 hours.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2018