Who is buying a 3090?

griff30

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 15, 2000
Messages
6,400
Just picked up a 3090 Micro Center Columbus.
Really wanted 3080 bit here I am.
PXL_20210112_141517701.jpg
 

griff30

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 15, 2000
Messages
6,400
This was the line when I got there at 8 am.
PXL_20210112_133143941.MP.jpg
20 in line. Several from 5 am. Guys comes out and says "we have 5 cards. 2 6800, 2 6800xt and one 3090. Then all but 4 in front of me leave. I asked those in front all said they wanted the AMD cards. Guys behind me wanted 3080 or 3090. I figured after 5 trips at 2 hours one way, it was time to throw down. Got a First responders discount in my scrubs and ID showing I'm a nurse.
 

griff30

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 15, 2000
Messages
6,400
PXL_20210112_205347331.jpg
My son's Christmas, a bit delayed but his first build. I'm proud of him. He doesn't get to boot it till schoolwork and homework is done though.
Likely finish the build and be on Steam later.PXL_20210112_205358426.jpg
Very tight fit with water cooling.
 

III_Slyflyer_III

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 17, 2019
Messages
254
This was the line when I got there at 8 am.
View attachment 318502
20 in line. Several from 5 am. Guys comes out and says "we have 5 cards. 2 6800, 2 6800xt and one 3090. Then all but 4 in front of me leave. I asked those in front all said they wanted the AMD cards. Guys behind me wanted 3080 or 3090. I figured after 5 trips at 2 hours one way, it was time to throw down. Got a First responders discount in my scrubs and ID showing I'm a nurse.
Wow, people still camping out at MC for these things? Nuts! Good ol' Cbus MC though... knew from the pic before I even read your post above!

I lucked out when I snagged mine on New Years Eve day, they closed for Covid Cleaning so everyone in line got screwed. I got an email at 2pm that they opened back up and I drove over in under 15 minutes and snagged mine... haha. Turns out stock lasted for 2 days!!!
 

PiEownz

Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
621
I had a Gigabyte Vision RTX 3080 then this TUF 3090 popped up at Best Buy... and now here we are lol. Funny story, Best buy shipped the 3090 in a freaking plastic envelope or bag. Surprisingly, nothing was severely damaged except for scratches and small dents on the box. I complained to BB and they gave me a 10% refund. I got $160 back lol.
 

Attachments

  • 3D938EA6-8979-4C96-B321-4FA947E98587.jpeg
    3D938EA6-8979-4C96-B321-4FA947E98587.jpeg
    683.5 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:

soulesschild

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Messages
6,108
Just picked up a 3090 Micro Center Columbus.
Really wanted 3080 bit here I am.
Honestly just enjoy the card. So many are probably now stuck until the foreseeable future. Also with NVIDIA allowing SAM who knows, maybe the 3090 will have better performance ;)
 

Westwood

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 17, 2012
Messages
4,329
There was a 3090 up for grabs on my BB screen about a week. Was there for like 10m. I just didn't have it in me to add to cart. Was something like $1500. Kind of kicking myself because before long, the 3080s will be nearing that price. =/
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,525
There was a 3070 in stock at cleveland MC - and about 14 3090s - when I got there they were OOS on 3070 - but they had them in a powerspec build for 1799 - 10700k 32 gb ram 1tb nvme and rtx3070 - case andd all that - or just buy a 3090 - I debated for a while. I could sell of fthe parts - or my old pc and have a 3070 which is what I wanted due to only 1440p gaming - but then...i caved and bought the evga rtx 3090 ftw3 - I am so weak.
 

lobstar

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
118
My RMA'd 3090 FTW3U has the same PCI-E power limit issue. I have to undervolt the shit out of it to get decent performance. Often the third 8-pin is drawing less power than the PCI-E slot. I guess I'll be selling the card when availability of the STRIX is better. I won't be buying EVGA ever again after this.
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,525
My RMA'd 3090 FTW3U has the same PCI-E power limit issue. I have to undervolt the shit out of it to get decent performance. Often the third 8-pin is drawing less power than the PCI-E slot. I guess I'll be selling the card when availability of the STRIX is better. I won't be buying EVGA ever again after this.
There is an issue with the 3090s? Hmm I am still within my return window I can return it and get the full system with a 3070 -
 

griff30

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 15, 2000
Messages
6,400
Honestly just enjoy the card. So many are probably now stuck until the foreseeable future. Also with NVIDIA allowing SAM who knows, maybe the 3090 will have better performance ;)
I'm definitely enjoying it.
Haven't even messed with motherboard settings, all stock Asus 570x , Asus 3090, and Ryzen 5 5600x, 64Gb ram
Runs great out of the box, will change ram speeds later and look at other settings.
 

exlink

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
5,733
There is an issue with the 3090s? Hmm I am still within my return window I can return it and get the full system with a 3070 -
Some 3090 FTW3’s are pulling too much power over the PCI-E slot (over 75w) which is causing the card to throttle itself. It might be fixable via a VBIOS update in the future but no word on that from EVGA. Only solution thus far for the affected cards is to RMA.
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,525
Some 3090 FTW3’s are pulling too much power over the PCI-E slot (over 75w) which is causing the card to throttle itself. It might be fixable via a VBIOS update in the future but no word on that from EVGA. Only solution thus far for the affected cards is to RMA.
Hmm I haven't noticed it - I do see it getting hot playing Boarderlands 3 - it was 81c when I checked -
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2016
Messages
2,276
Some 3090 FTW3’s are pulling too much power over the PCI-E slot (over 75w) which is causing the card to throttle itself. It might be fixable via a VBIOS update in the future but no word on that from EVGA. Only solution thus far for the affected cards is to RMA.
How does one check for this flaw? I've got a 3090 FTW3 Ultra. Seems to be benching par for the course, but still curious.
 

exlink

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
5,733
How does one check for this flaw? I've got a 3090 FTW3 Ultra. Seems to be benching par for the course, but still curious.
Use GPU-Z and you’ll be able to see the value there.

There is more information/discussion about it on the EVGA forum. My explanation was just a top level summary of what I read.
 

groebuck

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 9, 2000
Messages
2,525
exlink made a really good summary. Check out this thread specifically. https://forums.evga.com/EVGA-GeForce-RTX-3090-FTW3-XOC-BIOS-BETA-m3124192.aspx

The good news is if your card gets hot it is probably working fine. Mine never goes over 60*c.
I ran GPU-Z and Boarderlands 3 on insane with dx12 - fans set to 79% the card stayed under80C- the pcie wattage it stayed at 70.4 -with a small MAX symbol -said the card was pulling 425 ish watts - it's aryzner 3900x build with nvme drives (2) and 64 Gb ram - the PS is a corsair 750watt. which I understand is probably the bare minimum I need - thinking about getting a good 1000watt.
 

lobstar

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 24, 2004
Messages
118
Oh, yikes. Don't pop your card. My 3950x with PBO and my GPU @ 400w hitting 800w regularly on my UPS. Sorry, not trying to be 'that' guy ... you've already recognized the issue. There are a LOT of threads on the EVGA forum of 'red light' 3090 FTW3Us that black screen and just never work again. A good number were using PCI-E splitters.
 

PiEownz

Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
621
Is it normal for my TUF 3090 to max out at 1965mhz for it's core clock? Whenever I'm in games, it doesn't seem to go any higher than that. I've seen some people go over 2ghz... unless those were overclocked lol

I play games on a 3440x1440 ultrawide monitor
 

exlink

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
5,733
Is it normal for my TUF 3090 to max out at 1965mhz for it's core clock? Whenever I'm in games, it doesn't seem to go any higher than that. I've seen some people go over 2ghz... unless those were overclocked lol

I play games on a 3440x1440 ultrawide monitor
Normal. Clock speeds on a card will also vary depend on load and application. The vast majority of these 2 x 8 pin 3090s will sit between 1900-2000 MHz.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
57,398
I'm definitely enjoying it.
Haven't even messed with motherboard settings, all stock Asus 570x , Asus 3090, and Ryzen 5 5600x, 64Gb ram
Runs great out of the box, will change ram speeds later and look at other settings.

I'm in the same boat. I haven't messed with my configuration a whole lot. I've got the card waterblocked and all that, but I haven't tried overclocking it yet. I have done some preliminary overclocking on this 10900K, so far it hasn't impressed me. 5.1GHz all core is the most I've been able to get on watercooling. Temps are definitely not the issue.
 
Top