Vive vs. Elite: Dangerous, stuttering

Litfod

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
1,465
Has anyone else whose Vive has arrived tried Elite? Loading into the cockpit for the first time was by far the biggest "wow" moment I've had with it so far, which is saying something. The sensation of really being in the ship is just ridiculous.

BUT.

Then I took off, and there's not quite a stutter, but a sort of periodic "pulsing" of the movement of things outside the ship, 2-3 times per second. The head tracking seems to be fine, nice and smooth, and I don't think it's a detail thing because it's the same whether the settings are max or min. There's understandably not much out there regarding ED on the Vive yet, so apart from a bunch of issues people had with the Rift which don't seem quite the same, I haven't had any success tracking down the cause.

It's a bummer because even with the issue it's still playable and often breathtaking in dogfights, and so cool to be able to lean forward to look around the edges of the windows.
 

Litfod

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
1,465
So I finally got this sorted, based on the comments in this thread (trigger warning: reddit). The general gist is to create a 1920x1080 75Hz custom resolution for your monitor (unless you already have one I guess), then I had to run my monitor at that spec, launch the game and then set it to those same values (they don't seem to stick). I suspect matching the frequency is key. I thought that was a lost cause because I'm running a crappy old 1280x1024 monitor, but somehow it will run at that res (letterboxed) and frequency otherwise I might have been SOL. Now the game's running at ultra settings on my 980Ti, and everything is lovely.

All I can say about ED running properly in VR is holy shit. I thought the head tracking was smooth before, but I was wrong. Now it's silky smooth and the difference is night and day. If you get the chance I recommend flying around close to the outside of a Coriolis station, it's absolutely mental.
 

prtzlboy

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
1,729
So I finally got this sorted, based on the comments in this thread (trigger warning: reddit). The general gist is to create a 1920x1080 75Hz custom resolution for your monitor (unless you already have one I guess), then I had to run my monitor at that spec, launch the game and then set it to those same values (they don't seem to stick). I suspect matching the frequency is key. I thought that was a lost cause because I'm running a crappy old 1280x1024 monitor, but somehow it will run at that res (letterboxed) and frequency otherwise I might have been SOL. Now the game's running at ultra settings on my 980Ti, and everything is lovely.

All I can say about ED running properly in VR is holy shit. I thought the head tracking was smooth before, but I was wrong. Now it's silky smooth and the difference is night and day. If you get the chance I recommend flying around close to the outside of a Coriolis station, it's absolutely mental.

Yeah, ED is pretty mind blowing in VR (if a little boring over time IMO). Try the ASP when you get the chance--the cockpit is like all glass.

I remember setting up the DK2 was a huuuuuuuuge pain in the ass, but the payoff was worth it. Hopefully they'll get it smoothed out and more plug-and-play as time goes on.
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
20,162
Op, do you have to run a monitor at the same time.
Can you switch displays?
 

Litfod

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2006
Messages
1,465
Yeah, ED is pretty mind blowing in VR (if a little boring over time IMO). Try the ASP when you get the chance--the cockpit is like all glass.

I remember setting up the DK2 was a huuuuuuuuge pain in the ass, but the payoff was worth it. Hopefully they'll get it smoothed out and more plug-and-play as time goes on.

It's definitely the most impressive VR experience I've had so far, and to be fair the game's no more tedious in VR than it is on a monitor :) but it sure is more immersive. I haven't looked into Star Citizen's VR status these days, although I expect it's lacking, and the FPS component would complicate it, not to mention I don't see it running at a consistent 75Hz+ on anything other than ultra low settings, if at all. Would be awesome if it worked as well as Elite, though.

Op, do you have to run a monitor at the same time.
Can you switch displays?

I'm not really clear on what the relationship between the monitor and headset is, especially given the problems I had with Elite, but it's not like the Vive shows up as a regular display device in Windows. With the Rift I keep seeing people talking about running it in "extended" or "mirrored" mode so I don't know if that behaves differently.
All the games/apps seem to mirror the output to the monitor. The closest I've seen to using it like a monitor is the Virtual Desktop app, but that is just a program running like any other.
 

schizrade

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 15, 2003
Messages
4,885
once the prince of sets come down, and the integration gets better, I am buying one for this very game.
 
Top