Transformer Prime, when and how much?

Discussion in 'Mobile Computing' started by sasquatch182, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. Black-Tom

    Black-Tom Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    408
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Honestly I'm not sure that wifi strength is an issue. My tablet actually got higher scores on a speedtest on several occasions than my laptop or phone connected to wifi. Whenever I'm on campus I never have wifi reception problems, which I think would be the place most likely to have issues because the access points are undoubtably spread out. As for the GPS, I have yet to try to use it while driving around because I have no use for it, my phone does it and I still have an actual GPS.
     
  2. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Wifi is definitely an issue with the Transformer Prime. All you have to do is read the comments of all the people having issues. Not everyone has issues because the relationship between one person's Prime and another person's to their Wifi signal is always different. That's why many have problems while others don't.

    Navigation on a tablet is seriously cool. A much, much better experience than using most phones or dedicated Nav devices (I have both and have used both for a long time). Of course, due to the size of the tablet it make more sense on long trips. Short trips can be effectively handled by a phone or hard GPS unit.
     
  3. silentcoercion

    silentcoercion Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Having worked with my TP awhile now, I can say that the wifi is stable, but weak. I don't have the super annoying fluctuations in strength, and it's plenty good enough at my house/SB/B&N. However, at my work? Another company in our complex has a random unsecured wireless access point, which I can hit easily with my laptop, but while I can see it with my Prime, I can't actually connect to it. Et cetera. Also, I've never once gotten the GPS to work, though I've only tried that in buildings or in a car, not outside (still, in a car is a primary place it should work). Still haven't attempted to use the BT.

    I'm still putting the tablet down as working fantastically for my purposes (others may hate it, using it differently). Also, battery life has been great. Sound is just okay - little bit quiet.
     
  4. nanotechy

    nanotechy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Folks,

    Great thread! Thanks for all the sharing.

    Wondering for those of you who are from the US, where did you get your TP? If you haven't got yours yet, would you wait till the ICS-loaded out of the box comes along? Been wanting to get one of these, and would greatly appreciate all and any thought/recommendation on this.
     
  5. bleeblak8

    bleeblak8 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    I got mine from Best Buy, you just have to check to see when they are in stock. I had it pre-ordered on amazon but cancelled and went to BB Online to grab it. I know this link has been on here but here it is again. Now In Stock
    As for the wifi, I was getting crap signal but i moved my wifi router to ontop of my stuff and got better signal. And for the ICS loadout, it updates right away once you connect to wifi. So I mean its not like your going to be on Honeycomb for maybe 5 minutes. But if you can get it at Best Buy you can always roll into that Buy Back Program and they should be able to give you full price for a year of your purchase or however the do it. And you can always upgrade to the new Prime if you have issues with the wifi/gps.
     
  6. americanbeast

    americanbeast n00b

    Messages:
    47
    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    My transformer prime finally shipped from Best Buy. I had ordered it before Christmas...

    Moving to Europe for 3 years for work this Spring and finally taking the plunge on a tablet to use while traveling since I don't plan to buy a smartphone while there. Hope mine works alright.
     
  7. Black-Tom

    Black-Tom Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    408
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Received mine from Amazon.

    A new firmware update is out as of today, I read that it's supposed to help alleviate WiFi and gps related issues as well as increase battery life/ performance. Of course who knows by how much. Seeing as how I don't have any issues connecting to WiFi (and apparently the minority) somebody else will have to see if it helps.
     
  8. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    I canceled my (It was at best buy) prime but I plan to get the 1080p version when it comes out in summer (I hope).
     
  9. BobSutan

    BobSutan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,410
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
    I still haven't seen the ICS upgrade for the original TF. Is there an ETA for this or what?
     
  10. jeremyshaw

    jeremyshaw [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,072
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    "February" I'm waiting, as well.
     
  11. silentcoercion

    silentcoercion Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Hey... so that firmware update? At least for me and a few people who have posted on Asus' Facebook page, it actually BROKE the wifi! Whereas I formerly had no wifi issues, I now can connect for a few seconds at a time before the connection drops, sitting in the same room as my router.

    Way to go, Asus! What was fantastic just got made frustrating and kinda crappy, by a basically unstoppable push update (you get to postpone three times, then the tablet runs the update whether you want it to or not. as far as I know, rooting is the only way around this). As my only other purchase from you was a so-so motherboard... my brand loyalty is dropping.

    I'm really, really hoping this gets fixed asap...
     
  12. Black-Tom

    Black-Tom Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    408
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    That is quite unfortunate. Have you been able to rectify the issue? If there's one thing that has put me off android it would be how all updates are required. Aka, if you don't root your device and such you are forced to accept updates that might brick it. In my particular case my droid incredible got the first gingerbread update and it had this fun little issue where every time I received a text it switched the audio from my Bluetooth to the phone while still pumping white noise through the BT.
     
  13. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Well get ready. When the gingerbread update came to my Droid Incredible, it broke it. I then started getting all of these "low memory" notices and was forced to delete lots of apps, all of my txt messages and emails, a few e-mail accounts. And then the second part of the update wouldn't load...this went on for months...I finally had to just wipe everything off the phone and start over from scratch (it took me the better part of a day to complete this). Then the rest of the update came down. Bad part is I still have the potential for the "low memory" problems to return, unless I root the phone and run to other codes (or install a rom -- I haven't done this yet) to actually solve the problem, a solution not offered by either HTC or Verizon. There is no place to take the phone to have an "expert" fix the problem, either.
     
  14. Black-Tom

    Black-Tom Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    408
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    I fixed my droid incredible problems by rooting and going to skyraider the day that my BT no longer worked ;-)
    I also encountered the low space problem as well, which I had before the GB update but the update made it so I could no longer clear the correct cache.

    The day that my tablet ceases to function will be the day I switch to a custom rom as well.
     
  15. drstk

    drstk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,382
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    if anyone is still on the prime wagon, asus released the bootloader unlock tool today...... lets see what the devs can do with this thing.
     
  16. MrSneis

    MrSneis 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,555
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Just wanted to say, this is too funny, as a Transformers fan (the cartoon/movie franchise) there is a current running show called Transformers Prime - in fact the action figures are starting to show up on shelves now!
     
  17. dkev

    dkev Gawd

    Messages:
    1,013
    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2000
    You apparently did not know that Hasbro is suing Asus over the name.
     
  18. BobSutan

    BobSutan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,410
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
    ICS is due out next week for the TF1. That is all.
     
  19. nanotechy

    nanotechy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    257
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Folks,

    Those of you who have your TP now, if you would to buy another TP again, would you do it now or wait for the next updated version? If not mistaken, read somewhere that there is a new updated version coming up, is that true? Where you do you guys go to stay current on what's expected in next release and so on?
     
  20. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,131
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Asus announced an updated version with a 1080p screen for this summer. This one will surely fix all issues with wifi, gps, and bluetooth. I'm waiting on that one. Of course, there will be other options from the Android competition to consider. Personally, I will have the iPad 3 and one of the Android tablets.
     
  21. Sly

    Sly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,747
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Just downloaded update for my TF101. It now says 4.0.3 :)

    Not really sure what the changes are besides cosmetics.
     
  22. jeremyshaw

    jeremyshaw [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,072
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Well,it runs chrome beta now, which is good enough for me :D


    Though the software kb is still bad, imo.
     
  23. DogsofJune

    DogsofJune 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,665
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    There is always an "updated" version of something. If one keeps holding out for the next greatest variant, how many will have passed you by that could have satisfied your needs?

    I have been wanting one of these since I first heard of them. I will probably hold out with my original Galaxy Tab and see what the summer brings.
    Maybe see other tablets running Tegra 3's then too. Who knows.
     
  24. Harkov

    Harkov n00b

    Messages:
    41
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    I just bought one a few days ago. Would I buy one again, hell ya I would! I'm absolutely in love with this thing. My ipad 2 is going for a ride in the country now.
     
  25. Sly

    Sly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,747
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Don't update! I when I leave it alone for long periods f have to do forced shutdown to turn it on again! I have yet to wake it up properly!
     
  26. drstk

    drstk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,382
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    TF101 or TF201? last couple posts are talking about TF101 ICS update.....
     
  27. Sly

    Sly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,747
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Tf101. It's fine if it's only a few minutes, but I've left it alone for atleast an hour now and the screen stayed black. I had to hold down the power button for 10s so I can turn it on again.

    Maybe i need to do a hard reset.
     
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2012
  28. silentcoercion

    silentcoercion Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    362
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Latest update on my tf201 is that each time asus comes out with a push update, my wifi breaks for about two days. It continually drops connection, reconnects, drops again, etc. As fast as the tablet can manage it. After roughly two days, it works again. Really freaking bizarre, and is enough of a final straw that I'm going to be approaching any future asus purchases VERY cautiously.
     
  29. drstk

    drstk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,382
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    every update i got so far with my tf201, i had zero problems except for .13(or 14? i forgot...) with that battery drain problem. but from the beginning, gps is weak and random......
     
  30. VE2007

    VE2007 Gawd

    Messages:
    703
    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Who is getting the Asus Transformer TF700T which has a high res of 1920 x 1200:cool:
     
  31. guitarslingerchris

    guitarslingerchris Failure is just success rounded down

    Messages:
    6,471
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    So I ended up with a TF101 instead of a TF201 and it's updated to 4.0.3. Life is good, tablet works great, but trying to stream transcoded video to any player I can find ends with no sound coming out. Playing MKVs off the tablet itself the sound only works if I use software decoding but I believe this wasn't an issue for people in Honeycomb.

    AVIs and material that doesn't require a special player to play works fine, even streaming over my network but X.264 and similar videos just have no sound and it's driving me nuts. I've tried MX Player, Mobo Player, Rock Player, NSW Player and even the alpha version of VLC so far to no avail.

    Anyone having similar issues or found a workaround?

    EDIT: Dice Player will play MKVs properly off of the tablet itself but it crashes playing any network stream.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  32. BobSutan

    BobSutan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,410
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
    I'm thinking about it. I like my high res videos and the TF1 tends to choke pretty hard on full HD.
     
  33. bleeblak8

    bleeblak8 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,240
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Try BS Player Lite, that works good for streaming MKV's and playing them local.
     
  34. BobSutan

    BobSutan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,410
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
    Where the hell is ICS for the TF101?????!!!!
     
  35. jeremyshaw

    jeremyshaw [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,072
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    For most regions, it's already OTA.
     
  36. BobSutan

    BobSutan [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,410
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
    I'm in the USA so I don't know what's the holdup.
     
  37. guitarslingerchris

    guitarslingerchris Failure is just success rounded down

    Messages:
    6,471
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    What are you using to serve the MKVs? Tversity is working well but so far I've only found ONE video, out of over 100 I've tried from various sources, that will play with sound.
     
  38. shansoft

    shansoft [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,075
    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Didn't they updated a month ago or something?

    Mine is updated for awhile...
     
  39. guitarslingerchris

    guitarslingerchris Failure is just success rounded down

    Messages:
    6,471
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Right and I currently have 8 different video players installed that I have tried, including MX Player, and none so far have been able to do what I want.