The Router Recommendations Thread (Consumer)

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Orinthical, Sep 30, 2007.

  1. scgt1

    scgt1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,122
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    I have signal to the end of my driveway as is. But the speed of the 200meg connection is greatly degraded. That was my reasoning behind a router with more range. I get a flat 50meg down on my front deck but at the end of my driveway it's only 1-2 meg.
     
  2. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Get an access point and place it close to the driveway
    //Danne
     
  3. scgt1

    scgt1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,122
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Got it running a cord now:D
     
  4. AMD T-type

    AMD T-type [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,591
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    What's the recommendation for a router that won't be using WiFi?

    I have a UBNT AP that works wonderfully, and my Asus RT-N16 router just shit the bed, so I need a new one.
    I pondered at getting an EdgeRouter Lite but it's WAY overkill for my home setup.

    Just need a solid router with Gb that won't have it's WiFi enabled.


    edit: I ended up just ordering a TP-LINK TL-WR1043ND V2. I just wont be putting the antennas on it or using the wireless at all.
    http://www.amazon.com/TP-LINK-TL-WR1043ND-Wireless-Detachable-Antennas/dp/B002YLAUU8
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2015
  5. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Decent one, you can also run OpenWRT (recommended) on that router.
    //Danne
     
  6. Makaveli@BETA

    Makaveli@BETA 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,305
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
  7. Skullstorm

    Skullstorm n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Looking for a good stock firmware home router (11n, 5-10 devices decent usage). Regarding TP-LINK, do you recommend the TL-WDR4300 over the TL-WDR3600? Thanks for any help!
     
  8. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    3600 will do fine, both are just as fast in terms of overall performance.
    //Danne
     
  9. Skullstorm

    Skullstorm n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Thanks! Is the 3600/4300 still pretty much the cream of the crop for 11n? Or would you recommend something else?
     
  10. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    They're very solid, not the best ones around in terms of performance (wirespeed) but they are very reliable. Good up to ~300mbit total WAN-traffic or so at least running OpenWRT. I've been playing around with a D-Link DIR-860L B1 right now and as far as overall performance goes it's very impressive (about 50% faster) although I have no idea how well wireless works (yet).
    https://wikidevi.com/wiki/D-Link_DIR-860L_rev_B1
    //Danne
     
  11. Skullstorm

    Skullstorm n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    By wirespeed are you referring to the total bandwidth the ISP provides? Thx again for the help! :)
     
  12. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Yes, total bandwith (up and down).
    //Danne
     
  13. HarryNutz

    HarryNutz [H]Lite

    Messages:
    70
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    I'm on my 2nd router from Comcast in the past 2 months and have had enough. I need to replace this thing with something stable. When I was living in Arkansas a few yrs back I was using a Linksys WRT54G and for the yrs I used it, was fast and stable... but this is 2015 and that model is too dated.

    I do a TON of gaming online, by my computer is hardwired, also print via WiFi and I have a house full of Galaxy S5 users and we have Metro PCS for a carrier and they have WiFi Calling so whichever router I get needs to be extremely stable and reliable. Looking to spend whatever it takes to get the best for my purposes, be it spending $50 or $500, as long as it suits my needs and isn't breaking down every month.
     
  14. Skullstorm

    Skullstorm n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Ok, so I guess since my ISP isn't that fast, I won't need that extra speed the D-Link provides.
     
  15. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    You'll be fine most likely, if anything I'd say that MT7621A would be next "sane" step in terms of performance. The 11ac stuff from Atheros is pretty good too however the 11ac driver (11n is fine) leaves much to desire, performance-wise they're a step up from the WDR3600/WDR4300 but not as much as the Mediatek SoC.
    //Danne
     
  16. Skullstorm

    Skullstorm n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Does anyone know if the TP-LINK routers Traffic Statistics feature (to keep track of data usage) resets after router reboot on stock firmware?
     
  17. bjamm

    bjamm Gawd

    Messages:
    527
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Have a question about upgrading wifi and keeping Tomato for main router.

    Current setup is an Asus N66u with Tomato. Firewall/static ip configured on this router. 75/75 Fios internet. Wifi is disabled.

    Currently have two TPlink TL WDR4300 as AP on both sides of the house to provide coverage. Not pleased with it as it is not keeping up and dropped connections. Both running Gargoyle 1.71 firmware.

    I just bought two Linksys EA8500 AC2600 Mu-MIMO routers. Is it going to be my best bet to keep the Asus N66u as my main router for configuration and setup the EA8500's as Wifi AP in two different locations? I know there isnt any alternate firmware for the linksys yet so I want to keep my main static ip/dhcp and port forwarding on what I'm used to. Im figuring this will be my best bet. A little bit of a waste of two EA8500s but I got a killer deal on them. Hopefully will increase my wifi coverage of the house.
     
  18. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    ...or you could upgrade to OpenWRT trunk which works fine on the TP-Links.
    //Danne
     
  19. bjamm

    bjamm Gawd

    Messages:
    527
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    I got the Linksys AC2600 for $71 so I couldn't pass that up. Seems speedy so far with 1 AP setup.
     
  20. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Update to trunk and use the TP-Links as APs, works great.
    //Danne
     
  21. viisual

    viisual n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2011
    Looking for a recommendation for new net setup.

    I have a Arris SB6141 modem running off comcast 250MB plan (no fiber avail. booo).

    I currently have a Netgear n300 (WNR2000v5). I was hoping, at the time, to be able to flash it and use one of the third-party firmware; however, last I checked none support it.

    This router is not that great, and it definitely lacks in wireless coverage and my roommates have been complaining.

    The house is 2800 sq. ft area so in this case I think I'd like to get:
    1. Router (For some reason I'm drawn too the Ubiquiti line of products)
    2. Switch (Probably need one)
    3. Wireless AP (x1 or x2)

    I've read a bit that the Ubiquiti APs aren't "up to snuff" and that using any ol' AP might be better... but I really don't know what to look at in regards to APs, I've never had to deal with one.

    Any help would be appreciated, otherwise I'll end up with my 8th linksys I suppose, ack.
     
  22. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    I'd say go for the Mediatek MT7621A platform if possible, it's fairly cheap and fast enough to handle that kind of connection speed. If you have the D-Link DIR-860L HW rev B1 in US it's a nice box with OpenWRT however WIFI is a bit dodgy at the moment. Hook that up to a switch (PoE), grab two dual band 11n routers and you'll be fine. The WiTi board might be an option too but there's some delivery time...

    1 x https://www.google.com/shopping/pro...Pn8gCFYN-cgodh04ATg&ei=m0kMVvmMGYP9yQOHnYHwBA

    1 x www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833181321

    2 x https://www.google.com/shopping/pro...Mn8gCFaWOcgodVyoOqg&ei=REYMVtL6HaWdygPX1LjQCg
     
  23. lord_farfig

    lord_farfig [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,410
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    I'm currently rocking an ERL and UAP. (Upgraded from an amazing Mikrotik RB2011UiAS-2HnD-IN, but got a good deal on the UBNT gear... plus we use it at work.)

    Only drawback with the UAP is no 5 GHz in the base model. I just picked up a UAP-AC-LR to play with now.

    Oh, and you'll have to use the UniFi Controller to manage the UAP's. The 4.x version is a huge improvement over the 3.x branch. I found an AMD Geode based system on eBay for cheap and have been using that as my UniFi Controller appliance.
     
  24. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    The ERL is really slow if you use QoS which you probably want to use on a cable connection...
    The access points by EnGenius are dual band and Atheros-based ones and are stock PoE compared to the UAPs which aren't unless you're going for the Pro-version.
     
  25. Mackintire

    Mackintire 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,893
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    ERL QOS can only accelerate ~70Mbps of total WAN throughput. So add your upload+download speed and that's your total WAN throughput.

    90% of the time most people only need QOS on their upload anyhow.

    I also believe that Ubiquiti addressed the non-std POE issue on their newest APs as well.

    Feedback on the price/performance ration of the newest AC AP models from Ubiquiti are good....frighteningly good.
     
  26. justbenice

    justbenice Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    I think this theard shouldn't stick because those router old already.
     
  27. Smashed Ixnay

    Smashed Ixnay 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,927
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Hey guys. I'm looking for a new router for the house. The house is 2200sq ft. I was using an Arris Touchstone TG852, but the wifi in the house was horrible. I ended up buying a cable modem and it came with a free TP-LINK TL-WR940N. I've been using that, but it is pretty bad also.

    Here is a beautiful drawing I did of my house and where the router is (pink circled area) and where it used to be and still go (black area)

    http://imgur.com/RhmxBBf



    My internet speed plan is 75/5.


    In bedroom 2 and 3 I can get about 20/5 connection.
    In the living room I get about 30/5.
    In the Master bedroom I get about 10/5 connection.
    In the back yard (behind living room) I get a 3/5 connection.
    In the garage I get 10/5.

    I think the router is working better tonight, because usually it's worse than the speeds I got tonight. Half the time it doesn't want to connect either. It's just my wife and I. I'm usually on my desktop that uses wired and she uses her ultrabook. She usually does her school test in the bedroom, but the wifi acts up so much at times she can't use her ultrabook, so she has to use my laptop to do them.

    She used to stream movies in the bedroom, but the wifi was so bad that I ended up running an ethernet cord from the router to the Master bedroom, so that solved that problem.

    My budget is I guess $250+-. I saw Netgear came out witha Nighthawk X8, but I guess that would be overkill, right? I'm sure it's a nice router, but it's not nice enough to make me spend $400. What about the Nighthawk X6? I know that is out of my budget, but do you think it'd solve my problems?


    I'd appreciate any input given!
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2015
  28. iamwhoiamtoday

    iamwhoiamtoday Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    493
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    I'd recommend using an EdgeRouter Lite or EdgeRouter X for your router, and then having two of the UniFi LR WAPs at opposing ends of the house. I have one per floor, and get fantastic coverage in my condo.
     
  29. ob1

    ob1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,274
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    What I did in a similar situation to yours Smash, was went to BestBuy and bought one there, in case it didn't work very well I could return it easily and try another brand. Fortunately I got a really good working Asus AC68 unit that covers my whole house with really good WiFi. If you the ability to get to an electronics store, or a Fry's or something, try one out and see how it works. Either the Asus or the Netgear Night Hawk would be good starts.
     
  30. Smashed Ixnay

    Smashed Ixnay 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,927
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Hmm, I'll look into that a little more, but I'm kinda hoping just a router will fix my issue. Honestly, I think if I move my router back into the living room where it was, it'd help my issue with the bedroom wifi. Right now it has to pass an extra wall, and I'm sure that kinda weakens the signal. IDK, I think I'm gonna do what the other poster said first, and then try to move it to living room to see if that helps performance.


    That's actually not a bad idea. It's kinda hard for me to go to any store during the week, so Amazon usually gets my service. It's actually kinda cheaper for me to order off Amazon and just pay shipping fees back if I don't want the item anymore. I figure it's cheaper than me trying to find time to go to a store and having to use the gas to get there. I also don't have to deal with anyone if I want to return something. :)

    I'm kinda thinking about just getting the X6 and seeing if that fixes the issue. If it doesn't, then I may move the router into the living room to see if that helps at all. The X8 still isn't out of the running because it has 6 lan ports. I know with a good router I can stream netflix/amazon, but I'd prefer them to be wired. Right now I have my desktop wired, bedroom tv wired, Sprint airave (for better house service) wired, living room tv wired, and soon will be buying a new TV that will need to be wired in my daughters room. We just had another daughter, so I plan on getting another tv down the road (2 years max) and will need it wired. The X8 would be the best router for me in that situation. Black Friday is coming up, so I'm thinking I should probably wait, or just buy something now, and if I get a good deal on something, just send it back and keep the new one, lol.
     
  31. ob1

    ob1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,274
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2000
    You can read my old posts in this very thread, but before the AC68 I used to use the DLink gamer routers thinking they were the best, but man, was I wrong. The wireless connections versus the old DLink and new AC68 aren't even comparable. We have four TV's in the house, and each one has either an FireStick or FireTV attached at minimum, (my primary has FireTV into HDMI#2 and a FireTV plugged into Pioneer receiver). At any rate, with all the wireless devices like cell phones, tablets, laptops, etc, it gets pretty crowded. I haven't had any issues though yet. But if I had to do things over, I might buy the X6/X8 unit next time.
     
  32. Smashed Ixnay

    Smashed Ixnay 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,927
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    I went ahead and ordered the Nighthawk X8. It'll be here by the time I get home from work tomorrow. :D
     
  33. Smashed Ixnay

    Smashed Ixnay 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,927
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    I know it's early, but holy moly do I love this router so far. In my daughter's room I was pulling 55mb down, in master bedroom 40mb down, outside in back yard 40mb down, and in front 40mb down. I gotta reposition the antanees a little better, but so far I am impressed. The X8 is HUGE! I don't mind the looks of it though, because it looks pretty nice. I just gotta reorganize my desk a little and make it blend in better. I'll come back and give an update on it after a few days, but so far it's night and day difference from my old TP-LINK TL-WR940N. I know it isn't fair to compare the too, but if the wifi stays working great in the house, then the wife won't complain I spent $428 on it. :D
     
  34. fatphatboy88

    fatphatboy88 n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Good morning. I am about to buy two of the new Chromecast to do some streaming on my TVs. But I highly doubt my current router will be able to keep up. It is a 12 year old Linksys WRT54g. Got it when I moved from dialup to DSL. I am out in the country and have CenturyLink so I dont have insane download speeds and won't for quite some time.

    Currently the fastest internet I can get at my house is 25mb down. 2up. Which is what I have, but I am supposed to be able to move up to 50mb down in about six months. I desperately need a new router. The only things that are connected to the router are two cell phones, two tablets, a laptop, and my desktop which is connected via ethernet. And I will be adding two chromecast on TVs. Not all of that will be used at the same time though. Probably one chromecast, a tablet, and two phones.

    I'd like to keep my budget under $100 and have this router last at least 5 years. Maybe $150 if it will last even longer. I dont need a lot of range either. My house is only 1300 square feet and the router is centrally located.

    What would serve me best and be the most stable, trouble free router.
     
  35. djgizmo

    djgizmo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,429
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Almost anything you try will be a massive upgrade for you. However, if you want 'stable', then you'll need either Ubiquiti or Mikrotik.

    I went the way of Mikrotik and have a wifi version of the RB2011. Super stable, pretty easy to setup, and covers my entire house decently. (1400 sq feet)
     
  36. munkle

    munkle [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,191
    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    You don't need those to be stable, my netgear R7000 is the best consumer router I have ever owned (though out of the previous poster's price range). I've only reset it 2 or 3 times in 2 years. Though I will agree finding a consumer router that is actually stable is a pain. I dread having to replace my R7000 in the future because the 4 routers I owned in between my wrt54g and my R7000 were all pieces of crap (and they were said to be the most stable routers at the time that they were 'good' routers).
     
  37. travanx

    travanx [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,577
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Got tired of waiting for the new Ubiquiti AP's to come out so I got the basic Unifi UAP. The UAP and EdgeRouter Lite just work.Maybe overkill for most people, but no weird issues with the ERL. About $170 total from Amazon. I was looking at spending up to $350 on an AP too.

    Coming from Netgear WNDR3700's that always had issues no matter what firmware (Stock, Gargoyle/OpenWRT, DD-WRT) was on them.
     
  38. fatphatboy88

    fatphatboy88 n00b

    Messages:
    21
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Would the Netgear R6250 be a good choice? There is a seller on eBay that has them refurbished for $64 shipped. And I guess my version of stable is much more forgiving than yalls. If I only have to reset it once every 2 or 3 months then I am fine with that. I have had other routers besides the WRT54G that I would have to reset weekly, if not every 2 or 3 days.
     
  39. diizzy

    diizzy 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,602
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    You're better off using the WiTi board from aliexpress.com
     
  40. annilation

    annilation Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    242
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    I was using

    Comcast 75/15
    EdgeRouter X
    Meraki MR18
    Meraki 8 port switch

    Just replaced it with
    RCN 155/15
    T-Mobile branded RTAC68U
    Meraki 8 port switch

    https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CTzGuAGUsAApFY2.jpg:large

    Cannot speak highly enough about the RTAC68U! Getting 190-205 down on wifi