The Installation Failed in the SAFE_OS Phase

Executioner

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
465
Anyone ever get this error while updating windows 7 or updating in general?

0x8007001F - 0x20006
The Installation Failed in the SAFE_OS Phase with an error during REPLICATE_OC operation

I decided to update my last desktop running windows 7 x64 pro. The 10 update seemed to work just fine after the downloads and first reboot, but then I get the message after it restores my original OS:

0x8007001F - 0x20006
The Installation Failed in the SAFE_OS Phase with an error during REPLICATE_OC operation

I did go through and update every driver as some suggested on a google search. I also ran sfc /scannow and it found no errors. I also disconnected any usb devices except for the usb flash drive with the win10 20H2. I ran setup from within windows 7. Not sure what else to try. It is an old mobo 10+ years with only a duo cpu and 8 gigs of ram. I manly use it to store all my music and other files on the 4TB drive. I do have Eset Internet Security and Malwarebytes running, but I've updated other laptops with those running with no issues.

My next try is to unplug the cat5 cable so there is no internet access while upgrading.
 

Mchart

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 7, 2004
Messages
4,411
This is generally due to not having enough space on the selected installation partition. How much space is on the OS partition you are upgrading?
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
28,302
Even though I've updated my other laptops/desktops with it enabled with no issues?
possibly. its usually whats causing issues in my experience. my theory is that it doesnt recognize the windows update process and messes with the files change over, it interrupts the update which goes "oh shit i cant change files" and so it gets rolled back.
 

Executioner

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
465
Still won't work even though I ran "msconfig" and disabled a lot of stuff for starup and some other programs. I also uninstalled Eset Internet Security and Malwarebytes. I also disconnected access to the internet. Started the update only to have it do the same - after the 1st reboot, it's restoring my old OS. So I'm guessing it's so old it must be a hardware issue. So I'm going to continue to use it until I get tired of it or it quits working.
 

SmokeRngs

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2008
Joined
Aug 9, 2001
Messages
17,134
You haven't mentioned what hardware you're running but from what little you have said it's not likely to be motherboard/CPU incompatibility if you're running a Core2 CPU. I upgraded over a year and a half ago and retired a Core2Quad Q6600 and Abit IP35 motherboard but it had Win10 running on it just fine. Other than the optical drive I don't think a single thing in the computer was less than 10 years old.

It's possible some hardware went bad which is causing the issue but it doesn't sound like it. If there was a hardware problem it should have failed earlier in the installation.
 

vick1000

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 15, 2007
Messages
2,287
You can try an in place upgrade using the Media Creation Tool to make a USB drive, boot from it and choose to keep your files etc...
 

Executioner

Limp Gawd
Joined
Apr 22, 2015
Messages
465
It's an Asus P5Q-E. Thanks vick1000, but I'm tired of wasting time on this old machine. I'm just going to continue to use it until I'm tired of it or it fails.
 
Top