Tell us about your first overclock

D3v01D

Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
557
Just to see who here has grey hairs in their beard. :D

I will begin.
My first overclock was a 166Mhz Pentium I oc'd to 200Mhz. This was, I believe, before you could even buy a 200Mhz processor. People were in awe of my mad computer scientist skills. :p

My second oc was my Diamond Monster 3D card, but I can't remember what speeds I was running it at.

Both were in the same rig. Man I wish I still had that thing. :(


Edit: Spelling
 

sarbz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
1,319
I jumped on the celeron 300A bandwagon right when it started. 450 easy. Shortly after, I purchased a 366 and got it up to 500 :D
 

DougLite

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
4,766
I got my PIII 1GHz Coppermine to 1.05 on a Tyan S1854 Trinity 400 board. I was rocking at 140FSB :D I never overclocked my next CPU (A-XP 1600+) but every subsequent chip has been OC'd at least once.
 

N H O

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
3,732
i never believed in overclocking til i was using my bro's computer two summers ago...his computer had a 1700+ tbred with this nice FIC AN19E kt400 mobo that was basically an exact clone of the epox and 256mb of ram......it was lagging soo bad that i juss couldnt stand it so i upped the fsb to 166 and had it running 2ghz @ 1.6volts :D
 

Steel Chicken

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jan 29, 2001
Messages
4,798
Pentium 150Mhz at 180Mhz. I actually ran it at 166mhz, though, for that l33t 33mhz bus verus 30mhz bus.

Discovered it by accident. I was just screwing around with the puter, and started playing with jumpers on the mobo. Sho enough, put it at 180 and it worked.
 

CRaZYMoFo

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2005
Messages
489
D3v01D said:
Yea... Now a'days you have 'point and click' overclocking :eek:

We live in a lazy world. Im surprised I still have to actually use keyboards and mice :D
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,775
300A here to 450, then the 366's to 500 on the ABIT BH6 I think it was? Talk about feeling so cool having a dual cpu setup .... wow .. that was 5+ years ago ? lol


Remember Coolitnowdude or way2cooldude.com ?

Can't remember the website ... something like that. They had those bad ass custom coolers for the 300A that EVERYONE ordered from


Anyone remember those guys? That website ?

I remember when they went out of buisness ... I was crushed ... the guy had a "going out of buisness" post .. was kinda sad. In short, he said he didnt expand fast enough. That demand outpaced him basically .... and he wasn't ready. Hard to believe you could go out of buisness that way.
 

V99

Gawd
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
689
I overclocked my P1 from 166mhz to an unbelieveably fast 200mhz...If I got some water cooling in there Im sure I could of pushed it alot further (Like its worth it :p)

It was super easy to overclock back then... Just changed a few switches on my mobo and your away. Almost everything is done in the bio nowdays.
 

D3v01D

Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
557
SixFootDuo said:
...They had those bad ass custom coolers for the 300A that EVERYONE ordered from

Do you mean the Alpha P125 heatsink? The one with the dual fans?
I still have my Alpha, it's sitting here on my desk. :)
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,775
Yeah Dual Fans, Clip design, was cheap too, like 15 or 20 dollars. I loved that website and, at the time, the unique cooling solutions NO ONE else had.


Anyone have the story on that guy? Website name? Interested to go back and read up on what happened with him. I remember he was an older dude. Back then, you could actually call to ask questions, place and order and sometimes he would answer lol.

think it was coolitnowdude.com
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2003
Messages
3,212
AXP 1600+ (1.4GHz stock) OC'ed to 1.6GHz was my first OC, ran hella hot but I owned Q3A with it lol.
 

Asian Dub Foundation

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 1, 2005
Messages
7,940
i didnt get into the "game" til recently, so i dont have ancient chips like u vets, so my first OC was a 2.4c P4 to around 3ghz
 

Elysian

Gawd
Joined
Aug 27, 2005
Messages
590
my first was a P133@166, my second a p200 which hit 295 on air, and later on, still 295 on water, couldn't run it at 100 fsb 3x multiplier for 300, even with 3.3v.... i think my favorite oc was my unlidded K6-2 450@600, using the 2x multiplier trick, where 2x=6x for K6-2 processors... and my next fav would have to be my venice 3000+ at 2.8ghz. i've been overclocking everything since that p133


and i had a axp 1600+ that even with a 156w peltier strapped to it running at 12C wouldn't go above 1.6ghz :(
 

54YW4T

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 27, 2004
Messages
1,645
My first Overclock involved My 2500+M and NF7-S V2. Got it to 2.6Ghz. 12x217 1.90 Vcore on an SI-97 and 92mm Panaflo fan. Temps werent that bad. 47C Idle 56C Load
 

meatfestival

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
1,767
My first overclock was getting an Athlon XP 2400 to 2.2Ghz... my crappy L&C PSU died a few days later. It was probably a combination of the overclock and my new 6600GT that did it...
 

sarbz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
1,319
SixFootDuo said:
300A here to 450, then the 366's to 500 on the ABIT BH6 I think it was? Talk about feeling so cool having a dual cpu setup .... wow .. that was 5+ years ago ? lol


Remember Coolitnowdude or way2cooldude.com ?

Can't remember the website ... something like that. They had those bad ass custom coolers for the 300A that EVERYONE ordered from


Anyone remember those guys? That website ?

I remember when they went out of buisness ... I was crushed ... the guy had a "going out of buisness" post .. was kinda sad. In short, he said he didnt expand fast enough. That demand outpaced him basically .... and he wasn't ready. Hard to believe you could go out of buisness that way.

That reminds me of a site that was selling Athlons that were already overclocked with a big ass copper heatsink. I think it was a 750 running at 1ghz or something. It was the fastest chip you could buy at the time. Faster than any stock cpu's. It was expensive as hell too! I think I had it paired with a geforce 3 :D (or maybe 2, can't remember any more)
 

tcraig_4096

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 9, 2004
Messages
211
Hehe, great thread.

Celeron 566 CuMine on an Asus P3V4X... got it around 830 with a Globalwin FOP32.

My first self built system, learned a bunch, also probably the first time I read about HardOCP.
 

jackbomb

n00b
Joined
Nov 5, 2005
Messages
9
My first post ever on this [H]ard forum. Please take it easy on me, till I'm as 1337 as you guys are.

My first overclock was a 486-25 to 33MHz.
I then overclocked a 166mhz Pentium to 233mhz.
I've overclocked a whole bunch of K6-2s and PIIs
I overclocked an AMD 3000 to 2.94ghz
And a P3-1000 up to a whopping 1.7ghz
And my FX-57 up to 3.2 ghz

My latest overclock was the P3-1000 to 1.7ghz.
Take a look at this:
P3Overclock.jpg

-
-
-
untitled.jpg
 

N H O

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 10, 2004
Messages
3,732
sarbz said:
That reminds me of a site that was selling Athlons that were already overclocked with a big ass copper heatsink. I think it was a 750 running at 1ghz or something. It was the fastest chip you could buy at the time. Faster than any stock cpu's. It was expensive as hell too! I think I had it paired with a geforce 3 :D (or maybe 2, can't remember any more)
prolly a geforce 2 :p
 

Decker87

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 24, 2005
Messages
415
My first overclock is the processor that I am using now -
An AMD Socket A Athlon Mobile 2400. Stock: 1.6Ghz Current: 2.2Ghz.


On a sidenote, Everybody can be a bit more responsible in setting good sizes for pictures. We don't need to see 2.3 million pixels of an image to see the 178K pixels of the screenshot that matter. Cropping and resizing are your friends!
 

SixFootDuo

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 5, 2004
Messages
5,775
I just remembered, my first overclock was, putting a 68010 into my Amiga 2000 to give CinemaWares Wings that extra boost, and it did work. I swapped out the 68010 with the 68000 all the time playing that game.

This is Kristina's boyfriend, hence the SixFootDuo name. I'm 37. and I've been on the net since Dec of 93'

First comp was the C-64 back in 83 ? I remember entering tons of basic code with my friend only to have to leave the thing on because if we turned it off, we would have lost all our hard work. Boy, those were the days :) I was a freshman in Highschool. lol

regards
 

Gronich13

n00b
Joined
Oct 10, 2005
Messages
22
My first overclock was a 486SX 20Mhz to 24Mhz!
Cyrix 150Mhz to 166Mhz
AMD K6 200Mhz to 233Mhz
BP6 with two Celeron 500Mhz to 640Mhz
Athlon 1.33Ghz to 1.66Ghz
AthlonXP2000+ 1.66Ghz to 1.8Ghz
AthlonXP2500+ 1.833Ghz to 2.25Ghz
AthlonXPM2600+ 1.933 to 2.4Ghz
Athlon64 3000+ Winnie 1.8Ghz to 2.52Ghz
Athlon64 X2 3800+ 2Ghz to 2.8Ghz
 

D3v01D

Gawd
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
557
Gronich13 said:
My first overclock was a 486SX 20Mhz to 24Mhz!

Hahaha I think that puts you at the top of the greybeards list :D

Anyone else oc a 486?
 

Mendes

n00b
Joined
Oct 14, 2003
Messages
29
many computers but my first OC was a 2.4 Celeron that i got to 3.2 on a stock HSF
 

sarbz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
1,319
D3v01D said:
Hahaha I think that puts you at the top of the greybeards list :D

Anyone else oc a 486?

Does pushing the "Turbo" button count? :p
 

wadec22

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 26, 2005
Messages
3,877
p3 450 clocked to 558 on my abit be6 mobo :) softmenu, no jumpers!!! lol some corsair ram i think.....
 

wee96

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 5, 2005
Messages
2,165
D3v01D said:
Hahaha I think that puts you at the top of the greybeards list :D

Anyone else oc a 486?
.

My first OC was a 286-8mhz, to 10mhz if I remember right. Man alive that was along time ago! I did have a 486DX2-50mhz that I got to 66mhz, and id say probably my best OC (during the times) was the good ol K6-2 266mhz I had. Back then, this cpu was high up there as far as performance (yes, its hard to remember that far back) but I was successfully able to overclock it to 525mhz via peltier cooling, which 500mhz back then was crazy. Unfortunately though I fried the sucker when I had linux running all night and forgot that it idles the cpu, so I was sub-room temp'in the thing and condensation shorted/corroded the socket and pins. Man those were the days though :)
 

CentronMe

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Messages
2,346
D3v01D said:
Hahaha I think that puts you at the top of the greybeards list :D

Anyone else oc a 486?


AMD 5x86 133Mhz overclocked with a 40Mhz bus speed to 160MHz. :)

160MHz 486 was bitchen fast back in the day.
 

pawstar

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Messages
465
I overclocked my 486/66 DX2 to 75 Mhz by changing jumpers on board the motherboard. And this was with a teeny tiny heatsink withpit a fan. I tried to go faster but it would keep crashing. I bet I could push it to 133 Mhz today with an XP-120 and a Delta TFB1212 :D :D :D
 

tillyoubreakit

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Messages
153
I had a P2 i think and stuck some tape over the BE6 pin on the cpu cartridge which set the FSB from 66 to 100 i think...ran for a couple of minutes until it died :D
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2002
Messages
3,306
my current computer..

2200+ 35w.. at all kinds of settings depending on mood, temps.. shit like that.. right now 200x12, 1.775v

then after i did it on this comp i started messing wtih old stuff..

took an 800mhz celeron up to 1.03.. changed teh fsb from 100 to 133..

had/have 2 celeron 333's that go to 500 with no sweat.. well.. until i drilled a hole in one and used it for a keychain for 6 months or so..

750 pIII slot 1, i can only get it to 850ish cause the mobo sucks.. that's like 113 fsb or so..

oc'ed my mom's computer. celeron D.. something liek a 2.4ghz to about 3ghz.. it was whatever was $60 at the time..

yeah.. all this has been in the last year and a half.. before then i was under the philosopy of getting the absolute cheapest shit out there.. especially those $10 psu's.. and really never had any problems..
 

Borgschulze

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 28, 2005
Messages
3,579
First Overclock

An HP computer with a Celeron 733.

I could run it up to 900mhz, but it screwed up the onboard sound, so I had to find the highest 33mhz PCI frequency to correspond with the FSB. so it ran around 800mhz :(

Second Overclock

Custom build Athlon XP 1800+ JIUHB DLT3C (Whoo, old school) running in a Chaintech APOGEE 7VJL
I had a WEAK power supply, so I could run the chip at 1.91ghz with my 9600 Pro.
Then when I got my 6600GT I had to clock down to ~1.6ghz

Current Overclock

Well... it explains itself. (sig)
Sempron 2800+ (1.6ghz) on a DFI LP UT NF3 250GB
I run 275x8=2200mhz, at 1.35v
This chip won't stable out at ANY settings above this.
 

Fawkes

Gawd
Joined
Jan 30, 2005
Messages
526
Nothing to right home about really...

AMD K6-2 400mhz to 450 and later a 450mhz K6-2 to 500mhz, that was on an MSI mobo with an ALI chipset.

Next up was my Athlon XP 1800+ (throughbred) 1.53ghz maxed out @ 2.2ghz on a DFI NF2 Ultra Infinity. Also did a 2500+ @ 2.2ghz on there from time to time.

Now my 3200+ Venice @ 2.65.

Did some vid card overclocking too.32mb TNT2 (creative card paired with the K6-2s) to TNT2 Ultra speeds (forget the exact speed, something like 150core 175 ram), then no vid card overclocking to my 6600GTs. 590/1.2 on my PNY AGP and 575/1.15 on my Leadtek PCI-E. And now 490/1.2 on my BFG 7800GT.
 

lifeinchains

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 29, 2004
Messages
311
My first oc i believe was a P90 to 120, man i was tickled pink when i found out i could do that with no effort whatsoever.

My next was a P200 to 233, my first system with udma sdram that was awesome.

Then was the slot 1 era. First with a s370 celery 366 on a slocket, didnt oc so great only did 456. Then i saved up and bought a P3 550 cumine when they were all the rage. Did 733 right of the box and still does to this day in my file server. Man that system ruled when paired with a GeForce 256, ah the good old days of Q2 and HL.
 

landofoz

Weaksauce
Joined
Oct 28, 2005
Messages
89
p100 to 133mhz on a packard bell
ppro 200 to 233mhz on a gayway
p2300 SL2w8 to 500mhz
amd blue meanie 750 to 1133mhz
bunch of amd 1000 and 1333
p4 1.6a to 2.3
p42.4c to 3.3
p4 3.2 preshott to 3.8
and now a CABNE 148 to 3003mhz on 1.45 volts on a assrock board lol........
 

FurBurglar

Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2005
Messages
513
Ahhh yes, the good old days. My first was also a 300Y OCed to 450 with a "Celery Sandwich" HSF from www.computernerd.com Two big hunks of aluminum heatsing on each side of the chip with 2 small fans on each side. That thing was a beast. Probably one of the more stable builds I hace ever had though. Ran it on an Abit BX board. I think I still actually have the processor and HSF around somewhere. Hmmmmm.

www.computernerd.com seemed to have the same fate as the other site mentioned earlier. I actually had a very hard time with my order being severely delayed because of growing pains. Shortly after they were gone.
 

Advil

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 16, 2004
Messages
2,007
I think enabling the "turbo" mode on my 8mhz Eagle IBM clone was the first overclock, but if you want something more hardcore, then it would have to be bumping up the bus on a 486/33.

The real good overclocking started with the pentium 90.

Then I thought I reached nirvana playing Total Annihilation on a celeron 300A o/cd to 450.
 
Top