Show Your LCD(s) setups!!!

#Grey

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 1, 2013
Messages
136
Looks like the Logitech Z906 unit to me.

Correct. I used my z906 for a couple of years and eventually decided I did not want a 5.1 system on my PC anymore. 2.1 is still better for music listening and gaming. (IMO)

The z906 is a costly bit of kit though so I still wanted to make use of the control console & sub.
 

elvn

2[H]4U
Joined
May 5, 2006
Messages
3,940
Make sure that you differentiate between "faked" 120hz and 240hz etc that tv's have 60hz input in the back and do their higher hz quotes using interpolatated (quasi-cloned) frames, and a true 120hz or higher input computer monitor that will show you many more new, unique frame "slices" of whats happening in the game world per second (provided you supply each hz with a new frame of game action by achieving equal to or greater than the hz rating in fps number).
.
Currently $1k in gpu's (a 690, 680x2 sli, a titan, etc) can get over 100fps and hit 120fps in some cases at 1080p on high+ or ultra settings , depending on the game. 2560x, triple monitor gaming, and 4k are much more demanding so require a huge expense in gpus to get over 100fps to feed a 120hz input enough frames. Best scenario is over the hz rating in fps... running over 120fps on a 120hz monitor allows you to run without vsync with insignificant tearing, and provides an overshoot "buffer" vs scene complexity fps dips. 120hz increases motion tracking (twice as many unique "slices" of new action info shown per second), and cuts the motion blur by half vs 60hz. Recently, the nvidia lightboost - in - 2D gaming crowd is running 100hz & 100fps+ , or 120hz & 120fps+ and getting zero motion blur via backlight strobing.
 
Last edited:
D

Deleted member 238539

Guest
Wow I honestly didn't even know that the u3014 was out. Solid set up.
 
Joined
May 28, 2013
Messages
1
Zetc, how did you get both of your 30" monitors to display at it's native resolution @ 2560x1600?

I currently have 2x U2711 running on XFX Radeon HD6970 but later found out that the card only got 1 dvi-d port capable of supporting resolution at 2560x1600 (or in my case 2560x1440). the other port is dvi-i which the resolution max out at 1920x1200.

under your PC setup spec, you stated that you are using 7950. that card only got one dvi port as well.
 

Zetc

n00b
Joined
Sep 20, 2012
Messages
61
^ Niiiiice. 2x U3014, I'm very jealous...
Thanks :) Love the amount of screen space I have now.

@Zetc: Where's number 3?
haha, that's the goal.. which is why there's another monitor stand prepared on the right ;)
Will get number 3 some time in the future. Probably wait for the next Rev first so that I can compare.

Wow I honestly didn't even know that the u3014 was out. Solid set up.

Thanks :)

Zetc, how did you get both of your 30" monitors to display at it's native resolution @ 2560x1600?

I currently have 2x U2711 running on XFX Radeon HD6970 but later found out that the card only got 1 dvi-d port capable of supporting resolution at 2560x1600 (or in my case 2560x1440). the other port is dvi-i which the resolution max out at 1920x1200.

under your PC setup spec, you stated that you are using 7950. that card only got one dvi port as well.

Am using the DisplayPort outputs on my card to drive the 2 U3014s via their respective DisplayPort inputs.
The U2711 has a DisplayPort input as well. Your card has 2 mini DisplayPort outputs which can drive 2560x1440.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
683
Added a Crossover 30q5Pro (straight from South Korea) to my setup. Kinda messy and in need of tidy up.

 
Joined
Aug 2, 2008
Messages
683
All you need to do is sign up for google voice (free), buy a adapter called obihai (one time cost about $30), plug the adapter into your router and configure the obihai to use google voice. Plug in any cordless phone that you have laying around the house from yesteryears and voila! Free calls as in $0.00 calls. The configuration is easy and provided with the obihai adapter.
 

Gronnie

Weaksauce
Joined
Jan 8, 2013
Messages
115
You can also sign up for a service that will give you 911 access for $1/mo as Google voice does not provide 911.
 

Afkap

Weaksauce
Joined
Nov 27, 2012
Messages
114
Oh God, my poor little W8 tablet can't display those epic pictures?! From what I could glean from scrolling around, it looks like a decent setup! Also I think the cat wants to go out... :)
 

Syndicated_Death

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,604
Sounds like some of you need higher resolution monitors. go forth and buy them and report back with pictures of them set up!
 

r4nd0m

n00b
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
2
Sounds like some of you need higher resolution monitors. go forth and buy them and report back with pictures of them set up!

Such a silly comment. The photos are 2851x1900, which won't fit on a screen unless you had a quad HD panel. Why don't you show off your quad HD panel so we can judge whether or not it's worth it to view such photos?
 

r4nd0m

n00b
Joined
Dec 9, 2012
Messages
2
heys guys what is the best configuration for a 27in setup? 17x27x17 or 19x27x19.

Looking at the pixel size/pitch shows, nothing fits very well like the 20, 30, 20.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dot_pitch

I think there were a few 17" 1440x900 widescreen LCDs but those would be too old and slow. Not to mention 900 width is just too narrow.
Moving up, a 20" 1680x1050 wouldn't be bad either but they'd be old 16:10 style monitors again.
Best bet might be a 21.x" 1080p as that's the only real currently widely available (therefore cheap & quality should be possible) size that matches reasonably well other than 3x27".
 

bdr

n00b
Joined
Jul 1, 2011
Messages
14
^ ^ ^ ^ ^

20, 30, 20 and 23, 40, 23 both fit nicely. 20, 30, 20 is the perfect match though.
 

rtangwai

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 26, 2007
Messages
1,369
heys guys what is the best configuration for a 27in setup? 17x27x17 or 19x27x19.

If you're going to use Eyefinity/nVSurround the best configuration is 27x27x27 - there is no PLP support in Eyefinity/nVSurround.

17" and 19" panels don't make good wing monitors with a 27". The PPI is all wrong so there is massive distortion regardless of whether the 27" is 1080p or 1440p. The only good panel match for a 27" 1440p are those 15" 1440x900 laptop panels, but they need a lot of work to wire up. It can be done - an [H] forum member named nickchong did just that. There are no panels that match up with a 27" 1080p monitor. Most of the 17" and 19" you can get ahold of now are TN so putting them in portrait mode makes for a very poor display, another reason to avoid 17" and 19".
 

Syndicated_Death

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
1,604
Such a silly comment. The photos are 2851x1900, which won't fit on a screen unless you had a quad HD panel. Why don't you show off your quad HD panel so we can judge whether or not it's worth it to view such photos?

I guess you didn't detect that it was intended to be silly. After all that comment was made from work on my 1920x1200 laptop screen. But, since you mentioned it I'm rather interested in that new monitor Asus announced. 31.5 inch "4k" display. the time to replace my 3007 wfp has come I think.
 
Top