SENTRY: Console-sized gaming PC case project

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor Systems' started by SaperPL, Sep 1, 2014.

  1. FredomFM

    FredomFM n00bie

    Messages:
    18
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    As far as I know the Supermicro board also has 2 M.2 slots.
     
  2. Ej24

    Ej24 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    494
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Wow I guess it's more common this generation. Glad to see it becoming more popular
     
  3. rfarmer

    rfarmer Gawd

    Messages:
    1,015
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    I think it will be common soon. What surprised me is the Asrock Z370 (non Fatal1ty) has a M.2 on the front of the board, but didn't add one to the back, seems like an oversight to me.
     
  4. AgShield

    AgShield n00bie

    Messages:
    19
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Thanks a lot for answering Ej24.

    From my questions (1st and last especially), it's glaringly obvious that I'm a noob :LOL:. My line of thinking was "H-series chipset is for locked CPU's, therefore, if I use that, my 8700k will behave like 8700..." Feel free to laugh with me, at me. :LOL::LOL:

    I'll definitely get a Z370 board then. I'm leaning towards Asus, but I'll need to do more research to see what the other boards offer.

    Regarding RAM, I guess I'll just stick with low profile ones since I have a spare Samsung 500GB 2.5" SSD that I bought last Nov 2016.
     
  5. SaperPL

    SaperPL [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,724
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    There is a Supermicro ITX Z370 board??
     
  6. rfarmer

    rfarmer Gawd

    Messages:
    1,015
    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Not released yet but they have one coming, C7Z370-CG-IW.
     
    kingtron, FredomFM and SaperPL like this.
  7. Chrit

    Chrit n00bie

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2017
    Just an update from Cryorig. I've been waiting for the Cu series for ages and contacted them.

    Looks like they'll a bit longer yet...


     
    REX666, dtagirov and ZombiPL like this.
  8. NuclearLemons

    NuclearLemons [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    so this is an open question and i would really appreciate some feedback. at the moment i am having some power issues with my psu and my vega 64, basically running at peak use. i was wondering if i could fit an hdplex 160w in along side the sfx psu and only have the sfx power the gpu. is that possible and will it fit? i was also looking at the nano psus but they don't have an 8 pin cpu.
     
  9. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    so your under powered psu is causing problems with your gpu? and now you want to attempt to power a card that calls for a 750w with a stand alone 160w?! just stop before you kill anything and get a proper sized psu.

    PS this is exactly what I've been saying USE THE RECOMMENDED PSU! YOU DO NOT KNOW BETTER THAN THE PEOPLE THAT MADE IT!!!!
     
  10. SaperPL

    SaperPL [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,724
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    His idea was actually to use the hd-plex to power the motherboard and CPU from those 160W and dedicate SFX to GPU.

    This might work, but it means buying hd-plex, an external power brick and a new riser on top of that, the one that gets power from a molex or something like that because you should power the slot with the PSU that is powering the card. Getting such riser might be tricky because such problem exists generally in mining riggs where you connect the GPUs through pci-e x1 risers.

    I think that this is doable, but it'll be more expensive than getting a proper SFX PSU in the first place.

    Btw for others thinking about vega 64 - not recommended because of power draw and thermals :p
     
  11. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    OK I misread that but my point still stands. people argued that a low wattage psu wouldn't be a problem but it obviously is.
     
  12. NuclearLemons

    NuclearLemons [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    i love your enthusiasm really, i was just looking for a cheaper option than having to go with an sfx-l psu given i already have the highest wattage sfx. i had seen on forums that it ran fine but my dorm power delivery is a little shoddy and i believe the headroom provided by removing the cpu from the equation would be enough, especially given that the recommendation of 750w is for the system, not the entire card.
    so the odds are i should just look at fitting a larger sfx-l psu? shame, i was hoping to avoid doing it as im unsure how easy it would be to re-sell the 650w.

    would a different powered riser really be an issue? i
     
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
  14. NuclearLemons

    NuclearLemons [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    going to be honest, I made a very right choice, picked it up for 560 bucks. could resell for 60-80% more given the crypto boom

    -edit, i appreciate the links but the only psu i could use would be the silverstone 750-800w sfx-l due to custom cables
     
  15. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you kinda will win IF you sell or trade it. otherwise you can't even use it to its full potential....
    and now youre stuck with custom cables for a psu that doesn't work right for your build. lesson learned?
     
  16. NuclearLemons

    NuclearLemons [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    i'm not stuck with anything, find me a sfx-l psu that isn't silver-stone in the 800w range then i would agree.
    Despite the potential profit, i have a lovely 2k freesync ulrawide on its way and i would really like to use that feature.
     
  17. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    there aren't any yet. whats wrong with the Silverstone? [H] liked it, gave it gold.
     
  18. NuclearLemons

    NuclearLemons [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    nothing, you simply argued that the custom cables were for a psu that doesn't work right, they should be compatible for the entire silverstone line as the pinouts are the same. the 800w is the one i would go for, if i could find a way to sell the 650
     
  19. SaperPL

    SaperPL [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,724
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    I guess that is a problem since it is actually addressed. The problem might be the power delivery not being in sync or something like that. I never dug deep in this as this is a generally mining oriented problem, but I've read and heard few times about this when people were figuring out how to do multi-gpu with two power supplies. They mentioned it few times in LTT's scrapyard wars as well.

    As for silverstone sfx PSUs - I actually have nothing against them - they are quiet and they do their job. Every other brand of SFX we've tested had it quirks, although we haven't tested corsair's PSUs. BeQuiet's SFX units aren't really quiet, at least the old ones with 80mm, chieftec's SFX-L had the coil-whine-like noise for some time before the bearing in its fan stabilised etc.

    I think that, while people treat silverstone as a sub/low-quality brand, they actually took care of their SFX PSU lineup properly way ahead every other brand that had SFX units in their offer.

    For example full sized BeQuiet PSUs we've got at my gamedev studio are really quiet, while multiple bequiet SFX units that we've bought for testing and fitting are simply a disgrace to the brand name - they are nothing near being quiet and are far from what silverstone did offer at the same time.

    If you want a high-powered SFX from other brand, this might mean you'll have to wait some time for that.
     
  20. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you do or don't have custom cables then? cause I'm not understanding why you mention them...
    you should be able to resell it but expect to take a bit of a hit or if its not too long, return it to retailer.
     
  21. NuclearLemons

    NuclearLemons [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    im fine with silver stone, i already have one of their psus, thanks for clarifying the power delivery issue, makes the solution pretty evident.
    i mentioned them because it meant i was restricted to one line. however given that they should be compatible with said line, it shouldn't be much of an issue besides a few lengths might now be too short due to the size difference in the psu body, potentially enough that id need to get them remade.
     
  22. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    oh so you do have them now and would want to transplant them to a new unit. yes you would be "stuck" with SS. I doubt their pinout would be different between units and as long as the cable sockets align to the same place length shouldn't be a problem.

    SaperPL do the SFX and SFX-L line up the same, where the sockets are inside the case?
     
  23. SaperPL

    SaperPL [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,724
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    What do you mean by "line up the same"? SFX and SFX-L have (at least should have) the same mounting side where you screw them to the case.

    This is actually tricky because there's that fifth screw hole in the middle on some PSUs and there are those that have only 3 with only that one in the middle on one side.

    As for the SFX-L being longer, there's a risk that some units might have their modular connectors standing out more than the ones we've tested and having more of them might mean those giving you a hard time to connect cables because of the central wall in Sentry being a bit too close.

    Does any of that answer your question?
     
  24. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    I mean this edge: and I think that you are saying yes...
    if that edge is the same position for both formats then his cables should be fine. if that edge moves he might have issues.
    this is a SFXL right?

    upload_2018-1-12_5-5-42.png
     
  25. SaperPL

    SaperPL [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,724
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2014
    Yes, that's SFX-L. The thing is, someone noted that for those 700W and 800W silverstone squeezed out the modular connectors even more than the ones we've tested, and having more of the connectors means they are spread wider/closer to the front of the case, meaning those may be blocked off by the piece of the central wall that is connected to the front next to the power switch.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  26. NuclearLemons

    NuclearLemons [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    thats kinda the issue i would be facing. im concerned my cables wouldn't be able to make that bend let alone fit. [​IMG]
     
  27. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    maybe and your had would prob be in the way too.
     
  28. 7x1x

    7x1x [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Two suggestions:
    Try limiting the power draw on the card while you're at the dorm, or if the power is that bad get a decent UPS.
     
    riba2233 likes this.
  29. NuclearLemons

    NuclearLemons [H]Lite

    Messages:
    89
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    well the hd goes over it but you can see the issue i would have with the 24pin
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  30. St1X

    St1X [H]Lite

    Messages:
    92
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    SaperPL, any news regarding retail release\additional sales of the Sentry?
     
  31. JUNEK9

    JUNEK9 n00bie

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    The noise from my sentry is annoying the hell out of me, I'm very sensitive to fan noise and it seems to be the gpu fan needs to be at 100% at max load to not thermal throttle, which to me is just too loud.

    The cpu could also do with some additional cooling but it's not as bad as the gpu. I'm using a gtx 1080 aero 8g oc with a vapor chamber cooler taken from an gtx 1080fe.

    The case is sitting in a horizontal position in a relatively cool room. So I'm looking for some suggestions, I've thought about watercooling although I'm not sure it's even technically possible or perhaps some additional fans although I have no idea where they could go?
     
  32. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you modified your gpu with a crappier cooler, that's the problem. not the case.
     
  33. JUNEK9

    JUNEK9 n00bie

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    You're saying a vapor chamber cooler is worse than the one on the aero oc? Because if you look through this thread there are about five different users saying the opposite.
     
  34. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    well it has to run at full blast right?!
     
  35. JUNEK9

    JUNEK9 n00bie

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Correct. But it's considered to be better so I don't see why you feel the stock was better than the vapor chamber. I actually replaced the stock to increase cooling performance as that was also inadequate.
     
  36. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    because its so hot it has to run full blast and is so loud you are complaining about it
     
  37. JUNEK9

    JUNEK9 n00bie

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    But you never asked me how loud the stock cooler was. (it was also extremely loud)

    Vapor chamber coolers are more effective coolers by design. I'm trying to figure out how I can further optimise my system to deal with the acoustics.
     
  38. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    that's debatable. maybe get [H]ard and mod it for some more breathing, cut yourself a hole for the fan.
    bottom line is its not the case its the gpu fans.
     
  39. JUNEK9

    JUNEK9 n00bie

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017

    Dude this is the second smallest gaming pc case available I think it's highly probable that that is a major contributing factor to the heat issue. Which is why I'm asking for advice on this thread and not somewhere else.

    I'm not looking to place the blame on any one factor I'm looking for solutions to this problem that preferably doesn't involve damaging the case. I don't understand why you are so dead set on it being the gpu fans when my cpu is also partially effected. I'm looking to reduce noise of the computer as a whole as much as possible, again without causing any major damage to the case itself.
     
  40. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,087
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you need better/more airflow. its that simple. modding your case would greatly improve the airflow and prove that your [H]ard :) its not damage its a mod, like we used to do...