Ryzen CPU Temps

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by ManofGod, Mar 2, 2017.

  1. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,274
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    The questin is, what are the cpu temps you guys are getting? My 1700x never seems to idle below 45C and the load temp can get into the 70s. I am using a Noctua NH-D15 in a Coolermaster MasterCase 5. I looked at the mounting and it appears to be properly mounted.

    These could be normal temps or I may need to remount my heatsink but, it did not appear to be incorrectly mounted.
     
  2. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger Ale, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    17,438
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    You can try to remount, however it is really hard to screw up mounting those Noctua coolers. Load temp seems normal though.
     
  3. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,274
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    I agree, which is why I am going to wait until someone tells me what the temps are supposed to be. Nothing has at all locked up or overheated.
     
  4. -Strelok-

    -Strelok- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,740
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Those idle temps seem high, but I guess it depends on how Ryzen downclocks when not in use. What are the ambient temps?
     
  5. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,274
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    SInce it is winter up here in the North east, pretty low. :D
     
  6. mothman

    mothman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,858
    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    What are you using to monitor temps. I'm running a 1700 non x and Hardware Monitor doesn't seem to report Ryzen temps yet.
     
  7. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,274
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    HWInfo64. However, when I am in the bios, I see the temp running at 60C with a 1.449v core voltage. (Asus Prime X370 Pro.)
     
    DeathFromBelow likes this.
  8. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,150
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    Yep, mine is 54c idle on a Corsair H110i GT. Prime 95 shows 73c at stock speeds on a 1700x. Feels cool as a cucumber. I think the software is not reporting correct, nor is the BIOS. I am getting weird CPU codes even though its stable in Windows.

    What I found even more strange is that my Windows activated with no key at all?! I installed Windows 10 and used as a local user and look and see that it is already activated. No clue how that would happen.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
  9. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett El Chingón Staff Member

    Messages:
    44,051
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Never saw an idle temp below 45C, and pushed 85C under load. New water block on the way.
     
  10. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    410
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    I saw this on Tom's....

    AM4 Kit Incompatibility
    One of the hardware components that’s seen some changes is the AM4 motherboard’s backplate. It’s different in two very significant ways: The distance between the holes has changed and the threaded pins are longer. Even though AMD seems to have informed manufacturers of the first change, they apparently forgot about the second one.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    We asked the manufacturers, and they confirmed that this is what happened. This means that if the original motherboard backplate’s used in conjunction with longer screws, then the cooler might not be held against the processor tightly enough.

    [​IMG]

    The solution involves adding the needed millimeter by using either thick ring washers or suitable nuts. We’ll keep in touch with the manufacturers, since the problem doesn’t seem to affect all of the kits.
     
    Master_shake_ likes this.
  11. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,150
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    I am using the standard clips and my temps are in the 70s. Idles around 47c and just jumps all over the place.
     
  12. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,397
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    The temps look bad. I really think they should have went with an easily deliddable design.

    Hopefully the R5 1600x series will be easiily deliddable. Even if 1600X is not deliddable I think it will run cooler and probably easier to over clock than 1700x or 1800x.

    I wish I would have bought some AMD stock back in July 2015 when it was at $1.67 a share. I think AMD is off to a great start and I wouldn't be suprised if the stock hits north of $20 a share by June.

    I'm looking forward to more reviews that have thermal process temps, amperage loads and voltage loads during at idle and under full load.


    Looking good AMD.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
  13. tangoseal

    tangoseal [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,627
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    I am runnig cheap hyper 212 evo garbage from Microcenter.

    I am going to order a Raystorm adaptor so I can get this chip underwater. My loop is already ran and full of fluid from my 3930K.

    All I have to do is slap the adaptor on and were off to the races and probably much much cooler.
     
  14. dergreg

    dergreg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    396
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    I was concerned about compatibility with the all in ones micro center was pushing so I went cheap air until either an AIO or block comes out that the [H] or somebody else reports as solid.

    That said, a 1700x under the Evo 212 on a tomahawk B350 reports relatively high temps in the BIOS (60c) but seems stable and hasn't hit but 80 under load. I'm going to tinker more today, though. Unless I get distracted by Zelda...
     
  15. Luka

    Luka Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    135
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Those temps are insanely high. 3.5Ghz Xeon 10/20 idles at 27C here and Load no more than 52C...using AIO Corsair cooling
     
  16. dergreg

    dergreg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    396
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    It's not going to be doing any real work until next week anyway, so I've got time to figure out what the heck is going on. The Evo 212 mounting bracket doesn't seem like it's the greatest thing in the world, honestly. I already regret not going with an AIO, but I wanted to wait until I saw some reviews on blocks that mounted to a rear bracket rather than the plastic mount before I put water in there.
     
  17. -Strelok-

    -Strelok- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,740
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    It's soldered, so I'm not sure what you think delidding will do.
     
    Ocellaris and pendragon1 like this.
  18. os2wiz

    os2wiz Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    363
    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2011
    An EVO 212 is a mediocre cooler at best and is woefully inadequate for overclocking an 8 core cpu. You need to upgrade quickly, or do not overclock. Your choice.


     
  19. dergreg

    dergreg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    396
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Not overclocking until I'm on water; it was purchased solely as a stop-gap until I found a block. I was on the fence on Ryzen until I walked in to Microcenter, so I hadn't done much looking.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
  20. SonDa5

    SonDa5 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,397
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Probably maximize cooling by direct die contact. Plus it would be fun.
     
  21. -Strelok-

    -Strelok- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,740
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    The reason people delid is because the TIM Intel uses is trash and makes a horrible seal, so heat doesn't transfer all that well. Solder is metal so the heat transfers much better. You could do direct die I guess, but it would be a PITA.
     
  22. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,688
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    all amd chips have been soldered for years. there would also be no advantage to delidding, maybe a couple degrees at most.
    and yeah all these temps seem high but maybe nothing is readying it correctly yet.
     
  23. dergreg

    dergreg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    396
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Everybody always wonders about direct-contact cooling, though. It never stops. Also, the A10-7700K uses TIM instead of solder; there are probably others I imagine.
     
  24. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,688
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yeah i didnt realize the apu's used tim, never seen one delidded before that pic shintai posted in another thread. BUT it does look a lot better than intels tim application.
     
  25. dergreg

    dergreg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    396
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    I may hate my A10-7700K for anything but the lightest of work, but temperature hasn't really been too much of an issue.

    I haven't decided if I'm going to re-do my heatsink on my Ryzen to see about temps or just wait until I get my parts for a custom loop... Zelda's in my living room waiting for me right this very moment, though so we'll see what happens.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  26. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,688
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    zelda vs ryzen, tough one!
     
    razor1, Araxie and dergreg like this.
  27. ecmaster76

    ecmaster76 Gawd

    Messages:
    786
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Crosshair owners might be able to use a spare AM3/FM2 backplate since they included the AM3 holes as well.
     
  28. CSI_PC

    CSI_PC [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,012
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Ryzen uses a lot higher voltages than Intel's CPU (such as Broadwell-E), which cannot be helping tbh.
    Needs to be seen if this is normal behaviour or something to do with the maturity of the platform/HW.
    Cheers
     
    ManofGod likes this.
  29. buttons

    buttons [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,718
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    my eight core xeon with a STOCK amd heatsink held in place by only gravity from an 8320e idles at 39c and under loads gets to a toasty 51c. Didn't even bother with thermal paste or cleaning whatever gunk was on the bottom so its all uneven and such. then again it runs 2.4ghz-2.8ghz mostly. Was going to put my antec H950 on it, but when i saw those temps why waste an aio on something that doesnt need it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
  30. Roadhogauto

    Roadhogauto n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    I am getting the similar temperature readings on my x370 pro and 1700x with noctua D15. When I added a tsensor, it showed different readings. Idle at 30c and when playing overwatch the t sensor went to 58c. I placed the sensor close to the heatsink. Hopefully someone comes up with a video explaining what they really mean.
     
  31. Killerofgnom

    Killerofgnom n00bie

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Same problem here on my 1700X cooled by a NH-U12S and PRIME X370 PRO on HWINFO I get around 28°C idle on all CPU sensor except the first one around 50°C (which is used by the bios to control fan speed which means noise even at idle).
    To me it looks like a mobo/bios problem no reading properly the sensor
     
  32. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,407
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    I can't figure out whether I might be affected by this with my Phanteks cooler:
    http://imgur.com/a/HLjc4
    (a diagram of the installation and a close up of one of the screws)
    The cooler then screws into those Phanteks provided brackets. Where would those extra millimeters be? Between the plastic studs and the retention bracket or motherboard? I tightened the scews pretty hard (but didn't over torque) since I had read about this issue. Where do I need to add washers?
     
  33. dergreg

    dergreg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    396
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    I wish I knew what was mis-reporting my temperatures. My BIOS is showing a CPU temp of 53, various hardware monitoring softwares are reporting 36.
     
  34. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,407
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    It's a bit of a mess at the moment. Without reliable temp readings, I can't decide whether I should try to re-seat the heatsink, or even get a new cooler, or just leave it as is.
     
  35. dergreg

    dergreg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    396
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    I was getting ~60 for a bit in the BIOS, reseated the heatsink(I saw where I screwed up) and got it to ~54, put on an AIO and it's reporting ~50.

    The temps in HWMonitor were like 53, 45, and now 37. So who knows.
     
  36. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger Ale, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    17,438
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    The BIOS temp is from of the CPU running at full clock and voltage while in the BIOS. No load though, so the BIOS temp won't be as high as a Windows load temp.
     
  37. dergreg

    dergreg Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    396
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    It's basically instant; it only takes a few seconds to get into Windows, I would be surprised if it managed to drop that quickly. I suppose it's possible, though.
     
  38. Roadhogauto

    Roadhogauto n00bie

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    AI 3 suite shows the CPU temp as 2 c.. Which is wrong.. anyone having the same issue.
     
  39. n00by

    n00by n00bie

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2017
    Can you guys tell me what temps you are looking at when looking at different temps than the default CPU one? When I look at HWInfo I don't see any core temps or other temps which could be related to the CPU temp.
     
  40. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,407
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    I use Ryzen Master. I'd expect it to be the most trustworthy considering it's from AMD.