Ryzen 3950X Build Help

Discussion in 'AMD MoBos' started by erek, Sep 2, 2019.

  1. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    perhaps i should have waited, that ram dropped even further down to $175 ... 25 dollars
     
  2. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,434
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Pocket change, really.

    If it dropped in half? That might be more annoying.

    I'm sure you're well acquainted with the challenges of getting 'the best price' in the tumultuous hardware market :)
     
    erek likes this.
  3. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
  4. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    So far now: (parts already owned)

    Corsair AX1200
    Western Digital Black 6TB
    NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    LG - 27UD68-P 4K IPS

    Corsair H115i RGB AIO Water Cooler
    Inland 1TB NVMe M.2 (Phison E12 Controller)
    G.SKILL Trident Z Neo (For AMD Ryzen) Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin RGB DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3600 (PC4 28800) Desktop Memory Model F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC


    --------

    Need to buy / considerations:

    Fractal Design Define R6
    Asus ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Hero
    Ryzen 9 3950X
     
  5. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,434
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    It's a nice enclosure, but after owning the Define R5 and tossing out all of the mechanical bays for better radiator placement, I'd probably look at one of their more stripped-down variants unless the R6 has something else that you need.
     
  6. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    honestly i have no clue, the R6 was recommended to me

    i currently have a Cooler Master Elite 430

    https://www.coolermaster.com/catalog/legacy-products/cases/elite-430-black
     
  7. crazycuz20

    crazycuz20 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    99
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Lian Li O11 Dynamic all day :)
     
    erek likes this.
  8. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
  9. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    I ended up pulling the trigger on:

    Fractal Design Define R6
    Asus ROG X570 Crosshair VIII Hero
     
  10. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Gaming Mobo arrived
     

    Attached Files:

    BassTek and Jamie Marsala like this.
  11. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
  12. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Fractal Design Define R6

    case.jpg
     
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,628
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    thats an asus issue(missing grill). its not like amazon is opening them up and removing them. keep on asus and hopefully its not just a printable part.
     
    erek likes this.
  14. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    with my CH8W mobo i noticed even with the power off the RGB LEDs and other LEDS are running, does that seem normal for modern boards?
     
  15. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,434
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Yup, that's just ATX.

    Essentially the whole system still has a small amount of power available, and the power switch is a 'soft' switch.
     
    erek likes this.
  16. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,628
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yes. you have to disable that in bios rgb/led section
     
    erek likes this.
  17. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
  18. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,944
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    That sucks. Especially on a $379 motherboard :eek:. That piece is the one that went on last (you'd have to remove it to get under the M.2 heatsink by the video card), and I guess they just missed it during assembly as it's probably the last piece that goes on. You'd think there would be better QC though as it is pretty obvious when it is not there.
     
    erek likes this.
  19. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    R20

    255257_upload_2019-11-26_18-35-30.png

    255255_upload_2019-11-26_18-28-13.png
     
    thesmokingman likes this.
  20. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,357
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    So sexy!

    Btw, are you running gen3 m.2?
     
  21. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Not running PCIe 4.0 yet
     
  22. thesmokingman

    thesmokingman [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,357
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Ah that explains it.
     
  23. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    need a new HDD :( mine just kicked the bucket ...

    upload_2019-11-26_21-37-22.png
     
  24. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
  25. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,434
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    kirbyrj and pendragon1 like this.
  26. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,628
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    jesus fuck dude! air cans are your friend!
     
  27. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    I cleaned it out now, but was it really dangerous?

    here's my current voltages:


    upload_2019-11-26_23-7-43.png
     
  28. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,628
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    potentially
     
    kirbyrj and erek like this.
  29. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
  30. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Been dealing with Bad Ram during this build ...

    Details mostly consolidated through this thread:

    https://www.passmark.com/forum/memtest86/45924-ram-cpu-or-motherboard-issue


    But also just uncovered a horribly buggy Sonic 3 Audio suite taking up crazy amounts of ram:


    [5:54 PM]
    erek:
    https://steamuserimages-a.akamaihd....198/2731EFEFE5D0DC41F1B5258FAC52B65FDD1DE836/
    Windows successfully diagnosed a low virtual memory condition. The following programs consumed the most virtual memory: NahimicService.exe (7056) consumed 11528499200 bytes, chrome.exe (10992) consumed 1243463680 bytes, and steamwebhelper.exe (2740) consumed 545935360 bytes.
    [6:03 PM]
    XXX:
    https://www.google.com/search?q=Nah...me..69i57.409171j0j1&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8
    So go google, fix your shit.
    I can't help you, because I can't reproduce the problem;

    Though an audio service consuming 11.5GB of ram means your shit is pretty fucked up. I'd rip out everything audio related, over and over, until you're at bare metal, and then lay down newest/best tested drivers.
    [6:06 PM]
    erek:
    heh
    [6:11 PM]
    erek:
    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthre...ervice-causing-programs-to-startup-slow/page2
     
  31. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    do you guys move all of your Page File System / Virtual Memory to spinners these days? you know to reduce wear and tear on the SSDs?
     
  32. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,434
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    No...
     
    erek likes this.
  33. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Several years ago this advice was spread around that people ought to have the Page File on the Spinners to reduce wear and tear on the SSDs, been along time since i revisited this

    Thanks
     
  34. primetime

    primetime [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,073
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    yep leave it alone
     
    erek likes this.
  35. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Good news, I was just now successfully approved for a RMA Number for my G.SKILL Trident Z Neo !
     
    Jamie Marsala and IdiotInCharge like this.
  36. erek

    erek 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,510
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Can you help me with air flow design? here's my current setup, imagine two fans mounted on the top

    upload_2019-12-5_20-8-43.png
     
  37. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,628
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    reverse those except the back intake. and pop out that last slot cover.
     
    erek likes this.
  38. Jamie Marsala

    Jamie Marsala [H]Lite

    Messages:
    91
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    I have mine all going the opposite of your box. Two top and back are exhausting the case and are 120mm fans. They are Corsair and only do 1600RPM. The front two are intake for the 280mm radiator, it would not fit on top so it had to go in front. The VRM heatsinks on my MSI board are too close to the top of the case and edge to fit the 280 up top. I took the screen from the top and put it in front and cut three more holes in my front covers using a hole saw and measuring to make it look good. Can't even tell they are not factory cut.
     

    Attached Files:

    pendragon1 likes this.