Riddle me this...

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Ok my new dual 2011 board came in today (thank you newegg opened box!)

I'm trying to figure out the extra 4 pin power connectors on this board:
dual2011power.jpg


(the item is on newegg and their viewer can/will give you a better look)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813182350R

So do I need to order some molex to 4 pin power plugs?
The manual doesn't even mention these. :confused:
 

tkam

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - Dec. 2012
Joined
Dec 18, 2007
Messages
436
Two 4-pin and two 8-pin connectors? I can't imagine what would require that much power.
 

Skripka

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
10,792
Two 4-pin and two 8-pin connectors? I can't imagine what would require that much power.

Hmmm...those 2x8-pin both have stickers saying "both 8-pin required for heavy load configuration".
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Hmmm...those 2x8-pin both have stickers saying "both 8-pin required for heavy load configuration".

But if someone was going to use.... say 60 watt chips........ Would you only need one? :confused:
 

ChelseaOilman

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 27, 2001
Messages
1,556
I'm guessing the 4 pin connectors supply power to the CPUs and the 8 pin connectors are for any power hungry PCI cards you install.
 

cactus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
422
OT: is that like a extra deep mATX board?

Could they be just extra power distribution like on some of the mITX boards?
 

Skripka

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
10,792
NewEgg's Flash photos aren't high enough resolution...Kendrak, are there any labels on the PCB describing the connectors at those 4pin and 8pin locations, like "ATX12V" or the like?
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
ATX = JPM1
8 Pin ESP = JPM2
8 Pin ESP = JPM3
4 Pin ATX 12v = JPM4
4 Pin ATX 12v = JPM5

That is all the labeling I get
 

cactus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
422
Look at the 6017R-TDF manual and it is labeled as 12v 4-Pin Power connector but it only shows the one furthest from the rear IO.

EDIT: Section 5-8 says A 24-pin main power supply connector (JPW1), two 8-pin CPU power connectors (JPW2/3) and one 4pin power connector (JPW5) are located on the serverboard. These power connectors meet the SSI EPS 12V spec and must be connected to your power supply to provide adequate power to the system.
 
Last edited:

W.Feather

[H]ard DCOTM x4
Joined
Nov 10, 2009
Messages
11,676
some boards have an 8pin as well as a 4pin (though my only experience with that is in the Crosshair V...), maybe it thinks its needs the power ?
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,231
yeah my guess is they are for the high wattage chips. but then again the board doesn't even support the 150w chips so who knows..
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
some boards have an 8pin as well as a 4pin (though my only experience with that is in the Crosshair V...), maybe it thinks its needs the power ?

I cannot understand it needing that much power.

The board doesn't support 150 watt chips.

It also only has 1, 16x slot for power hungry GPUs

:confused:
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2010
Messages
975
Kendrak, I will double check my Z9PE-D8 WS board tomorrow for those mysterious connectors. I seem to recall them being present, but my alcohol riddled mind is not cooperating.
 

Imitation

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 18, 2004
Messages
2,536
that's a ton of power delivery. If you don't have the ability to plug in the 2 4pin's maybe just plug in the 2 8pins, fire it up and see if it yells at you?
 

Skripka

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 5, 2012
Messages
10,792
that's a ton of power delivery. If you don't have the ability to plug in the 2 4pin's maybe just plug in the 2 8pins, fire it up and see if it yells at you?

I'm thinking this...based on the connector description on the PCB, it sounds like the 8-pins are more important than the 4pin
 

KMac

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - June 2012
Joined
Dec 30, 2002
Messages
549
They are required processor power connections. See page 2-23 of your manual. PDF.

Warning: To provide adequate power
supply to the motherboard, be sure to
connect the 24-pin ATX PWR (JPW1),
the 4-pin PWR (JPW4/5), and the
8-pin PWR connectors (JPW2/3) to
the power supply. Failure to do so will
void the manufacturer warranty on
your power supply and motherboard.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
They are required processor power connections. See page 2-23 of your manual. PDF.

Warning: To provide adequate power
supply to the motherboard, be sure to
connect the 24-pin ATX PWR (JPW1),
the 4-pin PWR (JPW4/5), and the
8-pin PWR connectors (JPW2/3) to
the power supply. Failure to do so will
void the manufacturer warranty on
your power supply and motherboard.

Where the hell is all this power going to get used?!

Damn, well thank goodness for amazon prime shipping and $3.99 overnight.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,231
Where the hell is all this power going to get used?!

Damn, well thank goodness for amazon prime shipping and $3.99 overnight.


lol you didn't read any of the reviews on the lga-2011 processors? they are power whores. they almost make bulldozer look power efficient if you take out the performance difference :p
 

cactus

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 8, 2010
Messages
422
Could also be board routing and not that the system needs more than the 24pin + 2 8pin. Looking through the E5 mobos on supermicros site, only a few boards have extra power connectors and most have much more room for current paths in the PCB.

EDIT: Also looking over them, the only boards to have the extra power connector are using the narrow cooler mount.
 
Last edited:

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
lol you didn't read any of the reviews on the lga-2011 processors? they are power whores. they almost make bulldozer look power efficient if you take out the performance difference :p

Well, the 60 watt chips I have won't have that problem.
 

nobody_here

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
8,878
just because these connectors are connected doesn't mean its using all the capacity

this board is meant to be stable no?
 

Core32

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
1,065
Most likely it's for power routing. You'd be surprised at how much droop you can get, component to component across a powerful large pcb like that one.
It might "work" without all of them connected, but not be nearly as stable.

 

jebo_4jc

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011
Joined
Apr 8, 2005
Messages
14,562
Even with Kendrak's ahem "performance" difficulties, this thread is relevant to my interests.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,479
Another related question, what case are these going into -or are we looking at more Kendrak nekkidness? I'm eying up the asus board but the killer is whether it will fit my corsair 650D
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Another related question, what case are these going into -or are we looking at more Kendrak nekkidness? I'm eying up the asus board but the killer is whether it will fit my corsair 650D

I have an empty shelf in my rack that this is going into once it gets off the test bench.
That shelf has been empty since Vaulter came back and I sent his SR-2 back to him.
Empty shelves are not a good thing :p

Even with Kendrak's ahem "performance" difficulties, this thread is relevant to my interests.

You don't even know how many wonderful threads these chips have and you are already poo pooing ;)
 

402blownstroker

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - Nov. 2012
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
3,234
You don't even know how many wonderful threads these chips have and you are already poo pooing ;)

If the threads perform on these chips anything like the threads on the 56xx series, baby Jesus is already crying from sadness.
 

Pocatello

DC Moderator and [H]ard DCOTM x6
Staff member
Joined
Jun 15, 2005
Messages
6,591
how many threads?

what chips?

some splaining for newbs is quired.
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
I will update everyone when I can get this bugger running.
 

colinstu

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 11, 2007
Messages
3,563
Interesting the link you give says deactivated... yet when I search the item I'm linked to one that is activated. Looking at the URLs... your item number is N82E16813182350R... the activated one is N82E16813182350 (no R). Tricky tricky!!
 

Kendrak

[H]ard|DCer of the Year 2009
Joined
Aug 29, 2001
Messages
21,142
Interesting the link you give says deactivated... yet when I search the item I'm linked to one that is activated. Looking at the URLs... your item number is N82E16813182350R... the activated one is N82E16813182350 (no R). Tricky tricky!!

It is deactivated because I linked the opened box one I got. They are OOS, so they deactivated the page.
 
Top