Quake II RTX

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,369
Funny, I've been saying the exact opposite for 20+ years. Quake is exactly the game where you need those frames. I simply do not tolerate playing Quake below 120 fps.

Quake 2 RTX looks very cool and I want to play it in the sense that I want to fool around looking at the pretty lights. Would't call that gaming. That's just being a graphics whore and is not meant as an insult.
Fair enough.

I'm with Nytegard tho. I find 60 FPS to be just fine. And back in the day I played thru Nightmare mode many times on less than 60...
 

dgz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
5,712
Fair enough.

I'm with Nytegard tho. I find 60 FPS to be just fine. And back in the day I played thru Nightmare mode many times on less than 60...
Back in the day I was more than happy with software rendering and just the fact that I had bots to shoot in Q2. Just 5 years later Q3 at 125fps was the standard, though. I got burned hard going LCD back in 2006. Forced me stop playing Quake/UT/HL for a few years until I moved on to a 120 Hz panel. Not going to sacrifice gameplay in the name of pretty
 

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,147
Back in the day I was more than happy with software rendering and just the fact that I had bots to shoot in Q2. Just 5 years later Q3 at 125fps was the standard, though. I got burned hard going LCD back in 2006. Forced me stop playing Quake/UT/HL for a few years until I moved on to a 120 Hz panel. Not going to sacrifice gameplay in the name of pretty
How much of that was the input lag though? It was quite a long time before monitors were able to get less than 10 ms., which might not seem like much, but causes a definite off feeling.

For example, I can pretty much one shot Super Mario Bros. on a real NES on my CRT television. I struggle though trying to play it on my Wii and OLED.
 

dgz

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 15, 2010
Messages
5,712
How much of that was the input lag though? It was quite a long time before monitors were able to get less than 10 ms., which might not seem like much, but causes a definite off feeling.

For example, I can pretty much one shot Super Mario Bros. on a real NES on my CRT television. I struggle though trying to play it on my Wii and OLED.
Well, of course it was input lag. I had literally cut my refresh rate in half. The feeling is much worse than the choppiness itself

If you have horrible input lag, enable frame limiter and vsync in the game options and set your in game res to "@60" refresh.
That's got to be the worst advice ever. Want to get rid of input lag? Here's some ways to get more of it! :D
 

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,369
One day in the future someone will look at this thread and go: Man that guy Auer, what an asshole with his stupid screenshots
 

Attachments

Denpepe

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 26, 2015
Messages
1,349
I played it a bit, while it looks decent enopugh, it feels a bit off, sluggish even, maybe I need to mess around a bit with the graphics options.
 

Absalom

Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
711
When I launched the game it said no RTX card detected and didn't load up.
Ran into that issue too. Solved by updating the latest drivers from Nvidia.

You are not going to want to play at native res though. I found 720p barely playable on a GTX 1080.
 

spine

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
2,630
When Quake2 first came out, I was playing it at 1024x768, so that should be what it's benchmarked against. 1080's got that in a the bag surely? ;)
 

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,147
When Quake2 first came out, I was playing it at 1024x768, so that should be what it's benchmarked against. 1080's got that in a the bag surely? ;)
Did you have dual Voodoo 2s? Anything short of SLI kept you @ 800x600, and software couldn't run it at that resolution. I don't think I was playing @ 1024x768 at least until I got my TNT2 Ultra in 1999.

For nostalgia purposes:

https://www.hardocp.com/article/1999/07/29/v770_tnt2_ultra_review/3

It could run Quake 3 @ 1024x768 at over 30 FPS!
 

Absalom

Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
711

Absalom

Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
711
No surprise there as the 1080 completely lacks dedicated RTX hardware.

Like the Voodoo 2 back in its day had the right hardware for the job, so do RTX cards with todays version, Q2RTX.
True, but a 1080 still runs Quake 2 RTX better than the software renderer back in the day.

The fact that the software renderer worked at all was an amazing feat back then (having a Carmack helps). I find a similar parallel here today.
 

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,369
Some FAQ's from Steam:

EDIT: We'll be updating below with some of the more frequently asked questions as they come in.

Q: Recommended resolution?
A: Quake II RTX is best played at 1080p.

Q: Minimum for GPU?
A: Although the game can be played with the 10-series, it is highly recommended that you play with at least a RTX 2060.

Q: The game environment is very bright. Is there a way to change this?
A: Under the environment option in the Settings menu, choose the atmosphere that best suites your preferences.

Q: FPS is stuttering/unstable. What's going on.
A: If you are playing with recommended hardware and specs (at least RTX 2060, at 1080p), the fix at this time is by disabling any On-Screen Display - this includes the Steam overlay. Our devs are looking into this issue.

Q: Why is GTX performance poor?
A: Quake II RTX implements path tracing, which is incredibly more intensive on hardware than any of the current RTX games out there. Without the dedicated RT cores in RTX GPUs, performance can suffer. To learn more about these technical details, please take a look our video about path tracing in Quake II RTX with Tony Tamasi. Video is on our FAQ page linked above.

Q: But I still want to try it out with my GTX card.
A: If you'd still like to try out the demo with ray tracing turned off - Menu -> Video -> Renderer = opengl

Q: Will there be support for Steam Cloud saves (or achievements)?
A: Unfortunately, no. NVIDIA does not own the rights to Q2, and since we are making the modified engine open source, we cannot create and make calls to a Steam library.

https://steamcommunity.com/app/1089130/discussions/0/1638661595045974026/
 

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,369
And for tonights edition I have included a FPS counter in the top right corner, for all the faithless to marvel at.

EDIT: These are capped at 60fps as theyre on a 4K monitor now, in 1080P, Using the sharpening and other editing tools from the Nvidia Freestyle overlay. Pretty cool.
 

Attachments

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,369

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,369
Same setup as before, this map demands a little more from the RTX2070. Freesync made it a Non-issue.
 

Attachments

cybereality

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
4,999
I just played it. Am I the only one that was not impressed? I mean, the graphics looked better but I was not blown away.

Also, I was getting around 75fps with a 2080 Ti at 1080p. Doesn't really instill confidence if that is the best they can do with a game from 20 years ago.
 

IdiotInCharge

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
13,268
I just played it. Am I the only one that was not impressed? I mean, the graphics looked better but I was not blown away.
The graphics shouldn't be impressive. They're what, 20 years old?

Also, I was getting around 75fps with a 2080 Ti at 1080p.
Not bad!

Doesn't really instill confidence if that is the best they can do with a game from 20 years ago.
It really should. This isn't hybrid ray tracing, which all AAA games coming out with ray tracing support will be, Quake II RTX is nearly all ray tracing.


What you should be impressed by- or at least possess the wherewithall to appreciate- is that a game, any game, can be ray traced at a desktop resolution in real-time with consumer hardware. That is huge.
 

IdiotInCharge

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
13,268
You're right. It is amazing it works at all. I guess I was just expecting more.
Just have to accept it for what it is and isn't. Quake II RTX, hopefully also running on AMDs RT hardware when it arrives, looks like it will make a decent benchmark for RT hardware capability for the near future. That it is an uncomplicated engine that relies significantly on RT hardware performance when RT is enabled means that it can be used to 'isolate' RT hardware performance.
 

Auer

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 2, 2018
Messages
1,369
https://steamcommunity.com/games/1089130/announcements/detail/1624040114604963203

"Quake II RTX v1.2 Update: Download For Free For Improved Graphics

Update for our ray-traced remastering of Quake II, includes new ray tracing features, improved denoising and more!
In June, we released our ray-traced remaster of the beloved 1997 first-person shooter. Now, we’re launching a major v1.2 update that further improves graphical fidelity, and introduces new configuration options so you can tailor the experience to your liking.

Most noticeably, we’ve updated over 400 textures to improve image quality, and have improved the rendering of metals, which together significantly enhance the look of many levels and areas."

Also: http://us.download.nvidia.com/Windows/441.41/441.41-win10-win8-win7-release-notes.pdf

"Image Sharpening Support for Vulkan and OpenGL
Last month, we introduced a new NVIDIA Control Panel Image Sharpening feature that enables
GeForce gamers to improve clarity and sharpness in DirectX titles, and to easily upscale and
sharpen. With this new Game Ready Driver, this feature is also now available for OpenGL and
Vulkan games. "
 

defaultluser

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
12,994
I'll have to give it a go. The textures didn't look all that much better back in June, but this should make a noticeable difference.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Auer
like this

Nytegard

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 8, 2004
Messages
3,147
So DF states that they took a performance hit. Perhaps the game takes better use of multi GPUs now? My FPS is about 10% higher than it was on release, and I have everything cranked to the max.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Auer
like this
Top