Quake II RTX

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Hardware' started by eclypse, May 27, 2019.

  1. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Fair enough.

    I'm with Nytegard tho. I find 60 FPS to be just fine. And back in the day I played thru Nightmare mode many times on less than 60...
     
    Erik O and Factum like this.
  2. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,330
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Back in the day I was more than happy with software rendering and just the fact that I had bots to shoot in Q2. Just 5 years later Q3 at 125fps was the standard, though. I got burned hard going LCD back in 2006. Forced me stop playing Quake/UT/HL for a few years until I moved on to a 120 Hz panel. Not going to sacrifice gameplay in the name of pretty
     
  3. Nytegard

    Nytegard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,122
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    How much of that was the input lag though? It was quite a long time before monitors were able to get less than 10 ms., which might not seem like much, but causes a definite off feeling.

    For example, I can pretty much one shot Super Mario Bros. on a real NES on my CRT television. I struggle though trying to play it on my Wii and OLED.
     
  4. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    I have no Idea why I'm hooked on this remaster but I am haha. Also I forgot this old monitor can do 75Hz @ 1080p so running that now. Havent used it in a while.
    The 2070 can keep it in the 55-75FPS range with a estimated average of around 65FPS. All RTX settings and such maxed out.
     

    Attached Files:

    GoldenTiger and Armenius like this.
  5. dgz

    dgz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,330
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Well, of course it was input lag. I had literally cut my refresh rate in half. The feeling is much worse than the choppiness itself

    That's got to be the worst advice ever. Want to get rid of input lag? Here's some ways to get more of it! :D
     
  6. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
  7. Armenius

    Armenius I Drive Myself to the [H]ospital

    Messages:
    18,663
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    What driver version are you using? You need to be on 430.86 or later.
     
  8. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    One day in the future someone will look at this thread and go: Man that guy Auer, what an asshole with his stupid screenshots
     
    GoldenTiger and Armenius like this.
  9. Denpepe

    Denpepe [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,187
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    I played it a bit, while it looks decent enopugh, it feels a bit off, sluggish even, maybe I need to mess around a bit with the graphics options.
     
  10. Absalom

    Absalom Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Ran into that issue too. Solved by updating the latest drivers from Nvidia.

    You are not going to want to play at native res though. I found 720p barely playable on a GTX 1080.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  11. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,606
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    When Quake2 first came out, I was playing it at 1024x768, so that should be what it's benchmarked against. 1080's got that in a the bag surely? ;)
     
  12. Nytegard

    Nytegard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,122
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Did you have dual Voodoo 2s? Anything short of SLI kept you @ 800x600, and software couldn't run it at that resolution. I don't think I was playing @ 1024x768 at least until I got my TNT2 Ultra in 1999.

    For nostalgia purposes:

    https://www.hardocp.com/article/1999/07/29/v770_tnt2_ultra_review/3

    It could run Quake 3 @ 1024x768 at over 30 FPS!
     
    revenant, IdiotInCharge and Armenius like this.
  13. Absalom

    Absalom Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    1080 is not running Quake 2 RTX nearly as good as Voodoo2 SLI back in the day.
     
    Armenius likes this.
  14. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    No surprise there as the 1080 completely lacks dedicated RTX hardware.

    Like the Voodoo 2 back in its day had the right hardware for the job, so do RTX cards with todays version, Q2RTX.
     
  15. Absalom

    Absalom Gawd

    Messages:
    679
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    True, but a 1080 still runs Quake 2 RTX better than the software renderer back in the day.

    The fact that the software renderer worked at all was an amazing feat back then (having a Carmack helps). I find a similar parallel here today.
     
  16. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Some FAQ's from Steam:

    EDIT: We'll be updating below with some of the more frequently asked questions as they come in.

    Q: Recommended resolution?
    A: Quake II RTX is best played at 1080p.

    Q: Minimum for GPU?
    A: Although the game can be played with the 10-series, it is highly recommended that you play with at least a RTX 2060.

    Q: The game environment is very bright. Is there a way to change this?
    A: Under the environment option in the Settings menu, choose the atmosphere that best suites your preferences.

    Q: FPS is stuttering/unstable. What's going on.
    A: If you are playing with recommended hardware and specs (at least RTX 2060, at 1080p), the fix at this time is by disabling any On-Screen Display - this includes the Steam overlay. Our devs are looking into this issue.

    Q: Why is GTX performance poor?
    A: Quake II RTX implements path tracing, which is incredibly more intensive on hardware than any of the current RTX games out there. Without the dedicated RT cores in RTX GPUs, performance can suffer. To learn more about these technical details, please take a look our video about path tracing in Quake II RTX with Tony Tamasi. Video is on our FAQ page linked above.

    Q: But I still want to try it out with my GTX card.
    A: If you'd still like to try out the demo with ray tracing turned off - Menu -> Video -> Renderer = opengl

    Q: Will there be support for Steam Cloud saves (or achievements)?
    A: Unfortunately, no. NVIDIA does not own the rights to Q2, and since we are making the modified engine open source, we cannot create and make calls to a Steam library.

    https://steamcommunity.com/app/1089130/discussions/0/1638661595045974026/
     
  17. Canon

    Canon 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,479
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    I dug out my Quake 2 CD and played this. Pretty cool actually.
     
    Armenius and Auer like this.
  18. spine

    spine 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,606
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2003
    It's not Quake2 without the music!

    Nostalgia time:

     
    Auer likes this.
  19. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
  20. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
  21. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Different mood and architecture..
     
    syd2o2, GoldenTiger and Armenius like this.
  22. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    And for tonights edition I have included a FPS counter in the top right corner, for all the faithless to marvel at.

    EDIT: These are capped at 60fps as theyre on a 4K monitor now, in 1080P, Using the sharpening and other editing tools from the Nvidia Freestyle overlay. Pretty cool.
     
    Armenius, Nytegard and IdiotInCharge like this.
  23. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,822
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    I like them!
     
    Auer likes this.
  24. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,674
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    But not enough to 'like' his post?

    Brother's putting out, give him some props ;)
     
  25. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Some more Nv Freestyle massaged 1080p on 4K screens. I dig it.
     
    IdiotInCharge and Armenius like this.
  26. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Same setup as before, this map demands a little more from the RTX2070. Freesync made it a Non-issue.
     
    IdiotInCharge and Armenius like this.
  27. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
  28. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,703
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    I just played it. Am I the only one that was not impressed? I mean, the graphics looked better but I was not blown away.

    Also, I was getting around 75fps with a 2080 Ti at 1080p. Doesn't really instill confidence if that is the best they can do with a game from 20 years ago.
     
  29. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,674
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    The graphics shouldn't be impressive. They're what, 20 years old?

    Not bad!

    It really should. This isn't hybrid ray tracing, which all AAA games coming out with ray tracing support will be, Quake II RTX is nearly all ray tracing.


    What you should be impressed by- or at least possess the wherewithall to appreciate- is that a game, any game, can be ray traced at a desktop resolution in real-time with consumer hardware. That is huge.
     
    Nytegard, Denpepe, AlphaQup and 3 others like this.
  30. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,703
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    You're right. It is amazing it works at all. I guess I was just expecting more.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  31. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,674
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Just have to accept it for what it is and isn't. Quake II RTX, hopefully also running on AMDs RT hardware when it arrives, looks like it will make a decent benchmark for RT hardware capability for the near future. That it is an uncomplicated engine that relies significantly on RT hardware performance when RT is enabled means that it can be used to 'isolate' RT hardware performance.
     
    odditory, spine, AlphaQup and 2 others like this.
  32. Auer

    Auer Gawd

    Messages:
    769
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Still doing it :)

    Quake 2 RTX Remaster Screenshot 2019.09.12 - 21.19.29.97.png

    Quake 2 RTX Remaster Screenshot 2019.09.12 - 21.22.21.15.png
     
    Armenius, GoldenTiger and Denpepe like this.