Project Open Core: Liquid P5, Hardline Tubing, Illuminated System Panel, VR Ready

Discussion in 'Worklogs' started by Mr_Armageddon, May 25, 2016.

  1. Mr_Armageddon

    Mr_Armageddon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Had a few PM's about how I configured the small display to show System Specs via CAM software, thought I would share this here in case there are future questions.

    Running it as a 4th display via HDMI (tiny one at the bottom right).

    [​IMG]

    For the most part it works pretty well. I did have to use a simple 2 way HDMI switch when using the Oculus Rift. For some reason the Rift and the small 7in screen don't play well together, so I just use the switch to toggle between them when I have to use the Rift. Simple enough.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  2. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Love the build, doing something very similar and had a question about your fans. I saw the splitter your using, do you have all 4 fans plugged into 1 fan header on your mobo? Any issues with amps? U have the Asus z170a but can't really find anything on max amp per header. Also your able to control the fans with the Asus software also?
    Thanks!
     
  3. pendragon1

    pendragon1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,323
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    lol youre on front page again! thank Steve, again.
     
  4. Mr_Armageddon

    Mr_Armageddon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Yes, I have the 4 fans all running off of 1 fan header, via a Phobya 4Pin PWM to 4x 4Pin Fan Splitter. Verified with ASUS that the fan headers on the MAXIMUS Formula VIII support 1.0A per header. Tested these fans and even at peak, none generated more than 160mA (0.64A combined total). Combining 4 fans on one header is still well below the max supported current.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Controlling the speed via ASUS AI Suite Software. I am usting temperature curves, but honestly I haven't needed to raise the fan speed above 50% even when stress-testing while overclocked. Everything works really well together keeping things nice and cool... and quiet.
    .
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  5. Mr_Armageddon

    Mr_Armageddon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    I missed that. Will take a look. Thanks Steve, Ha ha!
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2016
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,323
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    re those fans: I always assume 1a max on all mobos unless specified differently. which in most cases will allow 3-5 fans depending on their draw. I currently have 2x sp120 and 4x cm 120 on one header and their totally at max is just over 1a but their curve is set to 60% max so they never come close to the 1a. it makes things so much simpler, cooler and quiet!
     
  7. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Awesome thanks for the info. Had neck of a time finding a 4x hub but did find 6x for $8.50 on Amazon so that's probably what I'll be getting.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  8. RedWagnum

    RedWagnum Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    202
    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    You mean something like this?
     
  9. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    I should of stated I had hard time finding it at a reasonable price "cheaper than 6x or 8x hub". Its 6.99 there but its $9 for cheapest shipping through usps
     
  10. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Hey Mr_Armageddon, could you tell me what fan header your using on the motherboard and how you have it set in bios? I have my 4 fans all hooked up and using Asus Dual Intelligent Processors 5 software but it's not detecting my fans or changing speeds. I'm missing something just not sure what.
     
  11. Mr_Armageddon

    Mr_Armageddon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    I am using the Phobya 4-Pin PWM to 4x 4-Pin Fan Splitter. Amazon link here. I know I have a fan curve set up in the bios, but can't remember of the top of my head what my specific settings are. Traveling for work, but when I get back home in a few days, I will check for you.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Thanks, the bios settings are what im looking for. I have the Phobya 4 pin splitter 6 port version, but some reason asus suite software isn't detecting the fans or giving me an option to set curve/fan strength etc.
     
  13. Mr_Armageddon

    Mr_Armageddon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    I set up a custom curve to run the Radiator fans (Chassis Fan Header #4) based off of the CPU temp. Pretty straight forward. Keeps it very quiet unless I am converting video files or something else CPU intensive. Idle temps range from 28-32C. At those temps fans only spin at 50%. Once I go above 55C, the fans spin up a bit more.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Oh your setting the curve in the bios. I thought you were using the asus suite software in windows to set the curve. I couldnt get it to adjust the fan speed at all, tried dc and pwm setting in bios but never thought to try and set the curve there. Ill take a look at that.

    Thanks
     
  15. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    You don't happen to have a link to those RGB led strips do you? I'm not finding any online that have a molex connection and would be nice to avoid another wall plug.
     
  16. Mr_Armageddon

    Mr_Armageddon Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Here is the link to the ones I used. You will still have to wire a 4-pin molex connector to the IR Receiver if you want to be able to adjust your colors and brightness.

    Just snip the wires on the DC barrel plug side and wire it directly to the 12v line coming from a 4-pin molex. No getting around that if you want the LEDs powered by your system and not a wall plug.
     
  17. Tricyclthief

    Tricyclthief Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Haha i never thought of you cutting and making your own cable, from the picture it looked manufactured and thought it just came with the kit. Thanks!
     
  18. Nomad

    Nomad 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,595
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Goofy question for you - anything you wish you had done differently, now that you've had the build up and running for a little while?