Post Your Workstations 2016

ballistic

Gawd
Joined
Feb 8, 2002
Messages
743
I guess I'll start it off with the setup I'm currently using to break in the new year!


On the hardware side of things I would like to pick up a single 980ti to replace my 2gb 680 cards in SLI but they are still around $750-850 used in Canada!

Other than building myself a desk out of some solid core maple veneer doors I don't have any real plans for the room this year.

The legs and drawers in the render are just placeholders as I was mostly using the program to check dimensions and placement of the desks in the room.



If that gets built I'll definitely post more pics!

I am also leaning towards building myself a large ported 15-18" subwoofer with external amplification too so that might come first. :p
 

jadesaber2

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 8, 2005
Messages
292
My workstation for 2016:



My rig:



My wife's workstation, on the opposite wall:

 

TeeJayHoward

Limpness Supreme
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
10,349
HOTAS and Rift are in a closet right now. As of last night:



 
Last edited:

Rurki

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 18, 2006
Messages
150
Killed my FT02 and decided to change it up for 2016. I still need to finish cable management, paint some more items and add an MSI SLI bridge. This was a fun weekend project and I was surprised at how well it stayed cool under benchmarks.



 

Nebulous

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
1,449
What mine looks like at the moment. In the process of moving in a few weeks.

The Transformer badge was to keep my 9 year old happy after the build ;)



 

mnewxcv

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
7,218


it's a work in progress. Had the whole thing plastidipped black but I didn't like the texture, and it attracted dust. Back to beige it is! lol

Also have another 24" NEC arriving this week, as well as a new computer for the other side of the desk. (Don't mind the old HP, it is my XP rig. Athlon XP 2400+, 1.25GB RAM, Radeon 9600 256MB, soon to have 40GB SSD and 1TB data drive. I use it for VHS capture for DVD authoring. My sig rig is under the desk since it's huge)
 

friscomgm

n00b
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17
TJ wtf you have a full wiring closet neatly tucked under your desk! You win for biggest contrast of old wooden furniture vs modern rig haha. :)
 

TeeJayHoward

Limpness Supreme
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
10,349
TJ wtf you have a full wiring closet neatly tucked under your desk! You win for biggest contrast of old wooden furniture vs modern rig haha. :)
:D

Holy crap. Is that all RAID drives, in the desk cabinet?
Mostly. There are 48x 2TB SAS drives in the bottom two cases, and the 3U above it is a blade system, so there's just a couple of 128GB SSDs in there.


 
Last edited:

JayJapanB

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
1,448
That desk server looks dope! Love the wiring!

New chair, cable management and terrarium.



 

JayJapanB

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
1,448
Cintiq and Cintiq Companion... *drools*

Haha, I was once asked "Is that a really old iPad or a really new one?"
Glad to see someone gets it. Sadly you can't buy skill though so I'm working hard to fix that.

Very clean setup. I've never seen a "plant-in-a-jar" like that before. I like it. Do they require a lot of sunlight, or is it one of those un-killable plants?

Still working it out myself.
They are apparently pretty maintenance free. You just don't want them to dry or too moist then you can seal them up and as long as they get alright light then the survive pretty well.

We'll see how it lasts. I've had the other plant (the rubber plant/ ficus) for over a year but apparently they are pretty un-killable.

I love indoor plants though. My study will be a rainforest in a few years. People should consider getting some. They can bring a lot of life into a room.
 

Haven

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Messages
6,293
The Transformer badge was to keep my 9 year old happy after the build ;)

That reminds me, I need to get a new Autobot badge for my current case, and this is for me, not for my kid. I suppose I could ask him if he wants one for his case as well.
 

|Tch0rT|

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
1,240
Haha, I was once asked "Is that a really old iPad or a really new one?"
Glad to see someone gets it. Sadly you can't buy skill though so I'm working hard to fix that.

I paint on a Surface Pro 1. I get "You paint on that?!" Then they're confused more because it's not an iPad or Android tablet. hehe
 

JayJapanB

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
1,448
I paint on a Surface Pro 1. I get "You paint on that?!" Then they're confused more because it's not an iPad or Android tablet. hehe

I have one of them!
It served me well (and still is my 'anime and chill' tablet)
Such a good machine for the money. Biggest issue is the ram and screen size. 10 inches is a tad too small.
Also the Companion 2 sounds like a jet engine compared to it.
 

|Tch0rT|

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
1,240
I have one of them!
It served me well (and still is my 'anime and chill' tablet)
Such a good machine for the money. Biggest issue is the ram and screen size. 10 inches is a tad too small.
Also the Companion 2 sounds like a jet engine compared to it.

I don't have a problem with those particular things myself. I haven't needed more than 4gb of RAM for the program I currently use which is Sketchbook Pro 8. The screen size is fine for me, I guess people prefer the iPad aspect ratio than the 16:9 of Surface Pro 1 & 2. I just don't like the battery life but that's my fault for being impatient and not waiting for a deal on a Pro 2 but at least that battery type cover thing can help and I'm not usually too far from an outlet when I use mine. My major issue is the screen is only good for about 70% of the sRGB gamut. I have it calibrated but all the bright colors past 70% or so are inaccurate. I get temped by the Cintiq Companion but I hear they feel heavier and bulkier than the Surface Pro's and combine that with the premium price, ugh. Too bad I don't get paid for my art. :/
 

exilelrrp

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2010
Messages
319






2015 - 2016 setup...thinkin' on changing my setup, back to my old trusty Ikea Jerker or a stand up desk...:confused:...plus I see new products lookin' pretty sweet for 2016, might just do a whole new setup, lets see....
 

JayJapanB

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 27, 2012
Messages
1,448
I don't have a problem with those particular things myself. I haven't needed more than 4gb of RAM for the program I currently use which is Sketchbook Pro 8. The screen size is fine for me, I guess people prefer the iPad aspect ratio than the 16:9 of Surface Pro 1 & 2. I just don't like the battery life but that's my fault for being impatient and not waiting for a deal on a Pro 2 but at least that battery type cover thing can help and I'm not usually too far from an outlet when I use mine. My major issue is the screen is only good for about 70% of the sRGB gamut. I have it calibrated but all the bright colors past 70% or so are inaccurate. I get temped by the Cintiq Companion but I hear they feel heavier and bulkier than the Surface Pro's and combine that with the premium price, ugh. Too bad I don't get paid for my art. :/

Yeah, I'm not going to pretend I need my Cintiqs. They are just a neat luxury. There are plenty of professionals using Wacom Bamboo tablets and cheap laptops who just feel they have no need to upgrade.

The ram issue was just that the surface didn't have much flexibility for a large photoshop doc and Chrome to be open. 3D work is much more doable on the Companion for when I'm far away from the desktop. (overseas etc)
The Companions are bigger, bulkier, hotter, louder and more expensive than Surface Pros but the Pens and Express keys along with the faster processor make them pretty solid despite their flaws.
In general I'm not to fussed about colour accuracy(well, I figure I can't be without a calibrator).
The 24HD is the worst in regards to that. Saturated Orange ahoy. Amusingly the cheaper non-professional Crossover monitor has a much more even palate.

I don't get paid for my art either but I plan to. I'm just a student at the moment. I paid for this working at a supermarket.

What plant is that?

Not sure. Lets all hope I don't kill it.

It looks to me like a variety of Dracena--they are pretty easy to keep and common amongst the indoor plant sections of nurseries and places like Home Depot/Lowes.

Well that's good news.
 

TeeJayHoward

Limpness Supreme
Joined
Feb 8, 2005
Messages
10,349
I see a lot of folks doing this ambient lighting thing, with the source obscured behind a monitor or something. I'm kinda a fan of the look. What do you guys use for the light?
 

SHiZNiLTi

Gawd
Joined
Jan 15, 2006
Messages
927
Coidak E27 12W 2.4G Wireless Remote Controller RGB + White https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ZK5Z1PY/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_NIiLwbX799TNB
Clamp Lamp Light w/ 5.5-Inch Reflector, 6-Foot Cord https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000HJDATW/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_9PiLwbHR0QARB

I use a 12w in a small clamp lamp facing the rear of the monitor. I really like this bulb because the white is very bright and can be used as a normal lighting fixtures to light the entire room.

The one I have behind my monitor I usually keep very dim, in the pic above it was at 50%, I usually run 10%.
 

|Tch0rT|

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 11, 2007
Messages
1,240
I see a lot of folks doing this ambient lighting thing, with the source obscured behind a monitor or something. I'm kinda a fan of the look. What do you guys use for the light?

That's called Bias lighting and almost everyone does it wrong (especially in regards to the color, it should be D65 not green or red). There's a recommended set of rules by ISF (Image Science Foundation) and SMPTE (they set the standards for video displays) which very few people seems to follow, which is fine if one doesn't care about image quality (bias lighting greatly impacts perceived image quality in contrast and color accuracy).

Read about the recommended rules and benefits here:
http://cinemaquestinc.com/blb.htm

I use a standard Ideal-Lume for my HDTV:
http://cinemaquestinc.com/ideal_lumesb.htm
 

KazeoHin

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 7, 2011
Messages
8,176
Recently got my workstation all completed.

I call it my "Sanctuary".




And the PC that makers it all possible! (specs in sig)

 

AliceCooper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
1,476
I see a lot of folks doing this ambient lighting thing, with the source obscured behind a monitor or something. I'm kinda a fan of the look. What do you guys use for the light?

Ill have to post mine when its clean. But im using a 16ft LED strip on low brightness under my desk with the last 4 feet wrapping up on my wifes side. Then Christmas lights behind us.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B009RZ9LQI/Nameofdomain-20
Basically what i use but with more features. Ill get some pics up after i get my new fans installed. Im not going for the whole accurate bias lighting thing, more of a low light colored atmosphere. Whitish lights are boring imo.
 
Top