Post your Ryzen memory speeds!

Discussion in 'AMD Processors' started by bobzdar, Mar 15, 2017.

  1. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    chew* at XS picked up a Taichi this weekend and has had good luck with it. Sure, this is till only 2 sticks, but the key is it's 2 sticks of 16GB running at DDR4-3400 :D (at stock voltage)

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DogChainX

    DogChainX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,026
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Yes, but what sticks? From that photo it shows f4-3400c16d-16gtz, which are 2x8GB sticks, though if they are 16GB sticks then they should be F4-3400C16D-32GTZ?

    I'm wanting to upgrade my x58 system to a Ryzen system, but this memory thing is holding me back until compatibility is smoothed over.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2017
  3. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    You're reading it wrong, but don't feel bad as it's definitely an easy mistake in general, nevermind when the screenshot was cropped down like that! :) (I only figured it out a couple weeks back heh)
    They say F4-3400C16-16GTZ
    Which translates to Trident Z DDR4-3400 16GB CL16 module. From there, you just apply the SPD timings in the table to determine that specifically it's the 16-16-16-36 variant.
    CPUZ's tab doesn't say the Memory KIT name, which is indeed what you put. The difference is one silly letter... "D" which in the kit part number, denotes "Dual Channel", and Q denotes "Quad Channel". As such for those, you would halve or quarter the "-##GTZ" to get the module size, as you had done.
     
  4. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,429
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Well I've swapped out my Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 which I ran at 2933 CL16, to 2x8 GB of Corsair Vengeance LPX 3600 CL18 ver 4.31 (Samsung B-Die).

    I'm currently running them at 3200 CL16 which only required a slight bump (0.025V) to the SOC voltage. At 3200 CL14, the cold boot problem I had with the LPX 3000's returns - If I unplug the system and plug it back in, it won't boot the first time. Hitting the reset switch and going back into BIOS and re-applying the settings makes it boot normally and then it's stable until the next cold boot.

    Going to run at CL16 for now because I don't want my computer to be difficult to start like a cranky old car.
    It's going to be interesting seeing whether 3500-3600 at CL18 becomes possible with the new AGESA code.
     
  5. hondaman

    hondaman The OG Hondaman

    Messages:
    72
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2004
    ASRock Taichi X370 with 1.94b bios, ryzen 1700
    EVGA 3200 cl16 ram (2x8gb) running at 3200
     
  6. DogChainX

    DogChainX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    2,026
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Ah ha! You can tell i'm an x58'er (as I haven't upgraded forever). Thanks for taking it easy on an old-timer and being nice about it, young whipper-snapper!

    I'm really interested in the Ryzen platform, but really wanting 32GB for vmware. 24GB is okay on my x58 hexacore, but an octocore 32GB system just seems so enticing. That and all of the IPC upgrade from a basically 990x equivelant xeon.

    I'm going to probably wait 2-3 months to let this memory compatibility issue get ironed out and matured before finally upgrading from my old x58 workhorse.
     
  7. cbutters

    cbutters Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    507
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Using a Gigabyte AB350M-D3H
    1700 Ryzen (overclocked all cores to 3.7 / Stock Cooler)
    and Corsair LPX 16GB (2x8GB) (CMK16GX4M2B3000C15)
    They are running at 2933 (XMP Profile) seem to be doing fine.
     
  8. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    lol Like I said I had only figured out their 'coding' a couple weeks back :p Though, while it's not a problem... I don't know how 'young' I am hahah T-12days I'll be 34 :oldman: haha

    Topweasel is more or less in the same boat as you as he's running VPNs and needed mucho RAM. He's running an ASRock X370 Taichi and 32GB (2x16) of G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 15-15-15-36 and last update I had seen from him was he managed to get them running at over 3000 (I think over 3025, technically) :) Taichi has BCLK which I assume is how he was getting >3000, as the two closest memory settings available are 2933 and 3200.

    But yep, if you're not having a bad upgrade itch that needs scratching, waiting a bit will be smart. Word around the campfire is that the B2 stepping Ryzen will be coming out in that couple months time as well and it is said to have quite a few improvements which will aid in not only performance in general, but memory speeds/performance as well. Whether those will be a sold as a new model (like a 1750, 1750X, 1850X), time will tell! That'll be the one to hold out for.

    However, there's also the potential of AMD's own "X58" range of platform that rumors are looking better and better, especially now that HWiNFO64 added "Improved support for AMD Threadripper". Those will be (if rumors are correct) 12C/24T and 16C/32T chips. If 8C/16T is good then doubling it can only be better, right?! :smuggrin:
     
  9. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,326
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Running the Flare X 3200 kit now (8GB x 2). Plugged them in, went into BIOS and selected 3200. That was it. No mess around.
     
  10. jbc029

    jbc029 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    449
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Noticed some oddness with my ASRock b350 pro4. Have two sticks of gskill TridentZ 2x16 @ 3000 (15-15-15-35) in the board running at 2400 right now. Bios is the new 2.20, but this is also true for 1.50 and 1.43.

    If you push the mem speed in bios to 2400 from 2133, leaving everything else as "Auto", the board won't post. If you actually choose a CL (16 in this case) and change nothing else (leave the rest of the timings as Auto, leaving voltage untouched), the board will now post and be stable. Going back into bios now shows the rest of the timings have been set so the result is 16-17-17-40.

    XMP at the CL15 timing is visible but won't actually work if selected. Just some odd behavior.
     
  11. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    That's been posted about all over. I believe in this thread, too, but if not then in a few of the other threads on [H]. Ryzen has some quirky issue with Odd CAS timings (the first number in the sequence). I suspect it only occurs above 2133 since for me at that speed, 15-15-15-35 works fine. I haven't tried any other speeds besides 2933, and 3200, but can confirm that at either of those speeds odd timings do not work and will auto adjust to one higher (at least on my board). 14-15-15 works, 16-15-15 works, as does 14-13-13 or 12-13-13, but not 15-15-15 or 13-13-13 at either 3200 or 2933. *shrug*

    Only reason I can suspect why yours wouldn't post was that it was trying to use a table with too tight of timings that your system just didn't like with 16GB sticks. Setting it to 16 kind told it to base them around that, and thus why it worked. Since they're 3000 C15 rated, it might've been trying for 15 at 2400 as well, which would've been 16-15-15. I mean you could set them manually and see how it goes. If it happens, then lends credit to the theory.
     
  12. starmax

    starmax n00b

    Messages:
    25
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    What board are you running?
     
  13. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,326
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    MSI X370 Titanium (see sig)
     
  14. ole-m

    ole-m Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    406
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    1,2 working and 4 Sticks working kinda:
    Corsair LPX 2666 MHZ 16GB Dualrank.

    CMK16GX4M1A2666C16
    Asus B350M-A
    Ryzen 1700

    One stick=
    D.O.C.P
    | And OR
    2666 CL15-15-15-35 (Auto timings)
    1.2V auto dram voltage

    two Sticks=
    SOC + 0.125 V . | 1.025V
    DRAM Vram + 0.1 V | 1.3V
    CL = 16・18・17・36・62・1T


    4 sticks - Cold boots = Pain but two stick config seems to work as stable setup, but I won't test it further.
    As I get posts on a configurations at times it usually gets fixed in future bioses - from my experience with previous builds, it certainly shows promise for those who'd want 64gb 2666 mhz :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2017
  15. swin1

    swin1 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    How about this!

    ASUS PRIME B350M-A with Ryzen 5 1600, and 1 stick of Kingston ValueRam DDR4 2133 8GB KVR21N15S8/8

    Results - 2933MHz @ 16-17-17-42 1.3V! Achieving 21GB/s in Maxxmem with just one stick! How good is that! Forget the overpriced Intel XMP memory!
     
  16. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    lol You forgot to tell us how much your stick cost you, though! :p
    That module is $62 on NewEgg.
    It's insane to be only running 1 stick, EXCEPT if that's all the budget permits. In which case understandable. However...
    If you wanted 8GB the best choice would've been going 2x4GB.
    Could get two of these G.Skill 2400 modules for $56. (2400 was $1 cheaper than the 2133 lol)
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231961

    Granted, they run SK Hynix and not Micron like your Kingstons, but if that's perferred, these being 2133, getting 2x4GB would have still only been $56 and gotten you memory speeds of ~35GB/s (in my tests using AIDA64 at 2133, but with 2x8GB sticks)
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148856

    Nevertheless... That shows that Ryzen has a FAR more capable memory controller than Carrizo does. I don't suppose you'd be willing to do a test for me, running it at DDR4-1866 at 13-13-13-31 and telling me what you get, and also what version of MaxxMem? (Sadly it seems the guy who made MaxxPi/Mem etc has closed up shop, as maxxpi.net is no more :\ )
    I can then track it down to download and compare it to this Carrizo laptop, which I'm stuck at 1866 as the max. In AIDA it only gets like 9.8GB/s :(
     
  17. swin1

    swin1 n00b

    Messages:
    4
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Well I bought it last year for $47 when ram was cheaper. We have tested a couple high speed kits on this board which I posted results for earlier in this thread. Couldn't get past 2400MHz on a 3000 rated 16GB kit, and 2666MHz on a 3200 rated 16GB kit. I wanted to experiment with a single stick that was decent quality, single-sided and had no XMP profiles, and it just goes to show you what you can do with entry level ram. Although it's hard to find, Samsung does have some DIMMs available with the B-die ICs so I will track one of those down to test.

    I ran a test for you - 13.25GB/s in MaxxMem ver2.04. I have the CPU at a conservative 3.3GHz with no SMT and all features disabled in the BIOS. The great thing about the memory controller is both CPU and memory performance scale to respective speeds, so if you increase CPU speed and leave memory static you will see a noticeable increase in CPU and memory performance in benchmarks anyway. It's a fun chip to play with!
     
    Formula.350 likes this.
  18. Floor_of_late

    Floor_of_late n00b

    Messages:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
    Been keeping an eye on this thread, but if anyone can get 32GB (2x16GB) working at 3200 with 14 or 15 latency please post your RAM and settings and MB you are using please
     
  19. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,500
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
  20. Floor_of_late

    Floor_of_late n00b

    Messages:
    37
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2017
  21. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,500
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    Single rank seems to be the only ones that can do 3200 from the results listing on the first page of that thread. No 16Gb single rank that I can see..
    Edit- Beardless Duck had 4x8 GB running at 3200 on the list.
     
  22. magictoaster

    magictoaster Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    456
    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Same here.
     
  23. DuronBurgerMan

    DuronBurgerMan [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,116
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2017
    2 sticks of G.Skill Ripjaws, dual-rank (couldn't find single rank at this density), SK Hynix modules, 3000MHz, 15-15-15-35, 16GB per stick (total of 32GB)

    Asus X370 Prime QVL said 2666 was max. Used to run at 2933 on 515 and earlier BIOSes (at 16-16-16-36 - note, XMP profile *SAID* CL15, but the mobo apparently automatically shifts to an even number above 2666 for whatever reason).

    As of BIOS 604, no longer runs at 2933. RAM tops out at 2400 MHz, 15-15-15-35 timings.
     
  24. gigaxtreme1

    gigaxtreme1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,500
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2002
    That's some bad AGESA code there. Stability maybe but not performance. Maybe that's why they said the AGESA code update was bad when it came out.
     
  25. cybereality

    cybereality [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,326
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Updated to 1.40 on MSI Titanium. Tried the A-XMP profile 2 for my Flare X, loaded 3200 14 CAS with no problem. Previously even touching the XMP settings (w/ my old Intel RAM) would cause system to not POST and require BIOS reset.

    Also, boot time was trimmed from 45 seconds to 27 seconds, which still is longer than I'd like but acceptable.
     
  26. Rockenrooster

    Rockenrooster Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    217
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    R5 1600 @ 3.7
    ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac (2.00 Bios)
    2x16GB Team Vulcan 3000Mhz Running at 2666MHz 16-18-18-38

    Tried 2933, but it failed to post.
     
  27. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Chew had gotten 2x Double-Ranked modules (8GB though) running at 3400.
    For whatever that's worth to folks...
    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums...-of-the-Jedi&p=5257351&viewfull=1#post5257351
     
  28. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    I edited my op, but now up to 2666mhz cas15 with bios 0604 (new AGESA). No post at 2933c15. Slowly getting there.
     
  29. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    o_0 Yours... in CPUz, says it's running at CL15 on your motherboard??
    I can only confirm it working at 2133 on my Titanium, and might work at 2400 since the new "Memory Try It!" option they added with predefined timings, has a choice of 17-17-17 at 2400.
    Otherwise, everyone else seems to have issues running Odd numbered CAS latencies, and at 3200 or 2933, they are set in the BIOS to CL15, but something along the way (Ryzen? Microcode?) forces it to being CL16.

    Also for what it's worth, my Titanium with the latest AGESA (in BIOS it reads as 800111C), 3200 @ 14-15-15-35 does not work; however, 3200 @ 16-15-15-35 does.
    I'm also able to run it with a BCLK of 102 (max on this hidden BCLK option is 103), meaning 3264 @ 16-15-15-35 is working.
     
  30. bobzdar

    bobzdar [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,616
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    You're right, cpu-z says c16. Not sure why that is but i'm not too bothered. I may try upping timings some and try 2933 again but not sure it's worth messing with at reduced timings. I'll edit the op.
     
  31. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,921
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Thought this was pretty interesting (read:boreing)--skip to the last page. Mentions a few thing we know (cas at next even number above certain clocks, northbridge tied to memory clock, etc) and also some which we may not have heard (ryzen always runs mem at T1?).
     
  32. Formula.350

    Formula.350 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,125
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    If T1 == Command Rate 1 (CR1), then I knew that it usally does. However, I believe in a screenshot TopWeasel sent me, his was reporting as running at CR2, so there seem to be specific instances when it doesn't "always" run at 1, but his definitely was the only instance I've come across so far.
    But LOL at that last page... How stupid. :p "Hey experienced users, you may find these interesting! I mean, we can't explain why the tCL rounds up off of Odd numbers, but we figured they were curious and we'd mention them, just to drive you crazy! :D"

    It's like, man up and tell us you don't know why it's happening, or tell us why! lol Silly people.
     
    Nobu likes this.
  33. TheHig

    TheHig Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    449
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    MSI Mortar B350
    BIOS 7A37v12 (just released with the R5 support and - Update AGESA to 1.0.0.4a.

    R7 1700 (stock for now, had it at 3.8 locked with 1.25v and 20% LLC in prev bios but havent attemped yet in new bios since I wanted to squeeze the ram)

    GSkill Ripjaw V 16gb 3200 : https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod...&cm_re=gskil_ddr4_3200-_-20-232-181-_-Product 113 bux right now GET SOME :)
    NO its not on for my board but ram prices on 'Ryzen ' ram are just criminal so time to gamble.

    Running it at: 2933 14|16|16|34|69 1T
    With new bios there is a 'try it' feature with a bunch of ram speeds and timings so I did try a few and this is the fastest freq and lowest timings I can get rock stable. So, still at 2933 but stable with tighter timings on this (3rd) bios release.

    Still will not post reliably at 3200 with any timings. I did get a good boot at the XMP settings (input manually in bios) and ran fin all night. However reboot the next day it took a dump and recovered at 2133 1.2v booooo.
     
    bobzdar likes this.
  34. TsingTao

    TsingTao n00b

    Messages:
    58
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
  35. noko

    noko [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,163
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    So how do you like the B350 Mortar? Thinking of picking one up.
     
  36. Phelptwan

    Phelptwan [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,479
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
  37. Nobu

    Nobu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,921
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
  38. TheHig

    TheHig Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    449
    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2016
    So far I like it a lot. The bios post has been getting faster with each new bios which was my main concern. The latest bios I mentioned has a better look and more ram features so it has been improving steadily. For just under 100 shipped from newegg it's a solid value.

    The location of the Nvme slot under the gpu is a shame since it can get toasty when moving data/installing software.

    The Asrock B350m Pro4 has a better Nvme drive location but I haven't seen many reviews of that board yet.
     
  39. Gideon

    Gideon 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,060
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    I have mine at 3100, just could not get 3200 at 1T. Have not tried it at 2T tho. My ram runs at 16 for latency tho, I didnt get the super low latency sticks, figured that was asking for trouble on a new process. I dont know if thats close enough for you, but I am happy with it. I am using a Crosshair VI tho so if you have that motherboard I can go over what I did to reach those speeds.
     
  40. themaidenmaniac

    themaidenmaniac n00b

    Messages:
    17
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2017
    ASUS B350 Prime

    CMK16GX4M2B3733C17R (Corsair vengeance lpx b die) 2 x 8gb ridonkulously pricey atm in uk

    3200mhz

    16-15-15-36 1.35v