Post your "Ghetto Mod" pics

  • Thread starter Deleted member 96510
  • Start date

Ghettoman

n00b
Joined
Mar 4, 2014
Messages
3
One of my favorite topics. It's a blast browsing through all the pages with smart ideas. I shall contribute plenty to this subject in the near future, just need to sort out my potato camera.
 

ukbb

n00b
Joined
Dec 29, 2013
Messages
12
Here is the only picture I could find of my ghetto mod, my first computer. It was the most basic Pentium 4 Dell available in 2001, integrated graphics, everything. Left the hardware bone stock but I took it upon myself to cut a hole in the side panel, install a window with blue led fan, rounded ide cables and uv cathode, it was the shit. I took it to lan parties and everything.

That looks like the cheap case I got in a barebones kit from tigerdirect.com
 
Last edited:

rigurat

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
262
In some parts of the world it's cold, but not in Hawaii and with mining, GPU temps can reach over 95C in less than a minute.

So I hooked up my air conditioner directly to the front of my PC case.











I even already have a way to vent out the hot air outside the window because the room is already getting too hot with the PC on.

Here's what that setup looks like: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1642510&highlight=
 

kinniph

n00b
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
9
So I sold my car and kept the stereo stuff. To big to fit in my truck so I decided I needed a bigger and better sub for my home. Yes I do have a DC converter, but it outputs only 3 amps. I have a couple old PC PSUs laying around and they output more power. So this came into being. 12" pioneer sub and an Orion Cobalt 230 amp bridged. PSU came out of an old Dell.





Works pretty good. Have it plugged into a power strip so I can turn it on/off. Gonna hunt around for my crossover to have cleaner sounding bass. Yes that's for automotive stereos as well. I am going to have to build an enclosure for it sometime. There is a rattle somewhere during lower frequencies when I turn up the volume.
 

my-name-here

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
281
putting my old 580 in the wifes computer... it's an htpc case so I had to do a few mods to get it to fit. one of which is this:







there wasn't enough room for the panel to go back on with the card plugs being on the side. so i just took each individual wire, removed it from the connector and placed it on the appropriate pin taping each in place.
 

wra18th

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
7,865
OK, this is worthy of some food stamps because you used electrical tape and disassembled a perfectly good connector. $$$ food stamps for you.
 

cortexodus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
1,614
putting my old 580 in the wifes computer... it's an htpc case so I had to do a few mods to get it to fit. one of which is this:

there wasn't enough room for the panel to go back on with the card plugs being on the side. so i just took each individual wire, removed it from the connector and placed it on the appropriate pin taping each in place.
That is horrifying and may actually cause a fire. Great work! I give you 3 food stamps! :p
 

starhawk

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
8,908
Friend gave me a Compaq Notebook 100... free. Which is about what it's worth. AMD K6-2/475ACK CPU, 96mb PC100 RAM (32 on mobo + 64 on a stick) and an NiMH battery (not kidding!). Just barely new enough to allow booting from CD...

Also the prior owner was very very desperate indeed because the Win98 SE install that it has a key for on the back... got replaced at some point with XP Pro!

Why am I bringing this relic up? Because I had a pair of Infineon PC133 256mb RAM sticks... a little research indicated that this laptop uses a VIA Apollo MVP4 chipset... which can run PC133, but only at 100MHz. So I went to stick one of the sticks in there, and discovered why Compaq had used a low-profile PC100 stick... it didn't /quite/ fit... there were a pair of screw posts in the way. So I used an X-Acto to shave a few mm off the posts so that I could shoehorn the RAM in. It worked -- but I was very lucky that I didn't sever a mobo trace in the process!


 

my-name-here

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
281
that is taking ghetto to a whole new...dangerous...level
yes, it makes me nervous... considering hot glue as a possible replacement for electrical tape but i think it might make its way inside the connector causing it to lose connection with the pin.

i'm open to any suggestions less dangerous than electrical tape!

edit: perhaps i could cut the shroud a bit to make room for wires, remove the connector from the card, cut the pins so they are straight, solder each wire to the pins, then cover in hot glue to avoid contact with each other....
 
Last edited:

TESLA

Gawd
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
936
An individually sleeved extension cables may be flexible enough for your use case.

Otherwise I suppose you could replace the headers on the video card with vertical variants, assuming that your soldering skills are up to the task. (Do note, the PCIe power headers have thick pins, these will require more than your basic irons to desolder.)

You could also modify connector housings to make cables such as shown in the link above. (It looks like that is all that seller did.) Parts for this are readily available. (Unfortunately, I am unable to find a right angle connector housing to do this without modification.)

Lastly, hot glue is used liberally in electronics to keep things in place. I'd not be overly worried about the glue preventing an electrical connection, especially with the crimp ends in place on the wires. (You didn't remove the crimp ends, right?) There also exists liquid electrical "tape" which may work better than the standard tape for protecting the ends. All this being said, you are still talking about a sketchy workaround.
 

Jorona

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 6, 2011
Messages
3,450
putting my old 580 in the wifes computer... it's an htpc case so I had to do a few mods to get it to fit. one of which is this:

snip...

there wasn't enough room for the panel to go back on with the card plugs being on the side. so i just took each individual wire, removed it from the connector and placed it on the appropriate pin taping each in place.
Okay, that's really ghetto and quite possibly dangerous. It looks like that card has a back plate. Take it off and desolder the connector. then solder the wires directly into it.

Don't use it like that. I actually fear for your life. 580's were not exactly nice to power connectors anyways...
 

cortexodus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 20, 2009
Messages
1,614
looks like they cut a hole in the standard connector and then sharply bent the cables.
ghetto yes, but sold for $$ on an auction site :rolleyes:

edit:
ghetto modding sold for $$ :(
Yea... However, if you're not gonna do it "the right way" yourself, then someone else's relatively clean ghetto mod might not be a bad idea. I'm very leery of things that involve high voltage with the possibility of shorts in combination with expensive components, etc. Not a good idea at all.
 

jojo69

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
10,577
12V is not "high" the danger is the ability of the supply to deliver significant current into a short there

that ebay deal is awesome, ghettomod as a cottage industry
 

my-name-here

Limp Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
281
i'm just going to take out the tape and use heat shrink on each wire instead... seems the simplest solution....
 

starhawk

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
8,908
Did my first mobo cap repair the other day. Learned that Dell uses high temp solder. "Fuck you, Dell!" (I've said /that/ before...) At some point I tugged a little too hard on one cap, and it came out with the legs in the board.

Wound up drilling them out.

Wound up building a drill to get them out... 1/32" bit (a little large -- but a 1/64 would be a bit small, I think -- anyone got a 3/128" bit around somewhere? that'd be just about perfect... :p )

Drill image here --> http://i.imgur.com/R14DtIz.jpg

That's a Craftsman motor/gearbox/chuck assembly. From a mid Nineties 6v rechargeable drill. You know the one. Black, five pretty lousy NiCDs inside. Wall wart for charging, that's almost certainly to be an unregulated example. Cheap as dirt. (FWIW, it also came in a 7.2v version...) The wire is speaker wire. The batteries are well labeled, and their holders are Radio Shack -- as is the "flip switch". (@ Radio Shack -- a toggle switch with a plastic toggle is still a toggle switch. Go home, Radio Shack, you're drunk.) Food container is "Great Value" from Wal*Mart. (Great Value is neither. Trust me.)

Johnson Electric makes some good shit. The batteries blew up and leaked all over the guts of that drill. There was literally nothing salvageable except for the motor/gearbox/chuck assembly. Even the WIRES were shot...
 

TED

Gawd
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Messages
742
Easiest way to change caps is to yank them off and solder the new ones onto the legs of the old ones :D
 

starhawk

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2004
Messages
8,908
I'm not that good. Besides, Dell uses caps with short ass legs.

Besides besides, how am I supposed to get to the front side of the legs, from the back side of the board?!

Nope, sorry, doesn't work for me.

Also, fuck Dell and their weird ass stupid shit.
 

thefordmccord

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 20, 2001
Messages
1,044
So, this is a little ghetto. A friend of mine has a Dell XPS laptop that the fan died on. After a little research, we discovered that the fan header on the motherboard has gone bad. Not wanting to spend any money, we decided to power the fan off of one of the USB ports in the laptop. Here are the results.



 

SticKx911

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,354
So, this is a little ghetto. A friend of mine has a Dell XPS laptop that the fan died on. After a little research, we discovered that the fan header on the motherboard has gone bad. Not wanting to spend any money, we decided to power the fan off of one of the USB ports in the laptop. Here are the results.
]
That's pretty impressive actually. Only thing better would be soldering into a 12v line somewhere (possibly right off the psu connection), but then it'd probably be noisy...
 

waseem

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
402
this is my modded Zalman Z1 mic with my Panasonic DJ 100 headphones , i was suffering using the USB headset " in the team speak i had a lot of issues on them " the static noises also issue in the sound so i decide to buy a new Mic and use the old head set that i have , also using my Asus xonar d1 sound card , i play and record events also stream on the twitch with out any problem.







 

wra18th

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
7,865
I see you used a piece of wire, ty-raps and tape. I give you 4.5 food stamps.
 

waseem

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
402
4.5 food stamps => its hard for you to be - means its cards hard cards now ;)
 

DIYmaster

n00b
Joined
Mar 25, 2014
Messages
23
@waseem I love it! Top work there

By the way here is my failed ghetto mod for today. I wanted to make a variable speed controller for my drill and other tools using a dim switch.
http://i1.minus.com/ibgru4mj7V6Jfm.JPG
http://i4.minus.com/i1mNBGiWOGjRC.jpg
Unfortunately the damn thing didn't work as I hoped for. It either stalls the motor or still rotates too fast in a inconsistent manner. So from the get go it wont spin, but once it spins you can then slow it down after it builds momentum. Either way it's no better than me using the trigger so I will see if I can just buy a voltage regulator and see if the current can be smoothed out nicely. Hopefully there is something out there that doesn't cost more than 30$ and it can provide a smooth consistent power, rather than jumping up and down on a fully pressed button.

Sucks really as I got lots of holes to drill and I'm wearing out holding it with one hand while the other is operating the button.
 

SticKx911

2[H]4U
Joined
Mar 14, 2004
Messages
2,354
An off brand variable speed dremmel might do well. I'm not sure what they go for used, but that might be do-able for about $30
 

Unknown-One

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 5, 2005
Messages
8,903
Additional food stamps because the mod wasn't even really necessary?

That Zalman mic is designed to clip right to the headphone cable. He literally could have just press-fit it onto the existing wire >_>
 
Top