Post your "Ghetto Mod" pics

Discussion in 'Case Mod Gallery' started by wolfofsin, Apr 25, 2005.

  1. Ghettoman

    Ghettoman n00b

    Messages:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    One of my favorite topics. It's a blast browsing through all the pages with smart ideas. I shall contribute plenty to this subject in the near future, just need to sort out my potato camera.
     
  2. ukbb

    ukbb n00b

    Messages:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    That looks like the cheap case I got in a barebones kit from tigerdirect.com
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
  3. ukbb

    ukbb n00b

    Messages:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    You're going to steal his idea and 5 of his foodstamps? That's cold man.
     
  4. rigurat

    rigurat Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    262
    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    In some parts of the world it's cold, but not in Hawaii and with mining, GPU temps can reach over 95C in less than a minute.

    So I hooked up my air conditioner directly to the front of my PC case.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I even already have a way to vent out the hot air outside the window because the room is already getting too hot with the PC on.

    Here's what that setup looks like: http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1642510&highlight=
     
  5. kinniph

    kinniph n00b

    Messages:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    So I sold my car and kept the stereo stuff. To big to fit in my truck so I decided I needed a bigger and better sub for my home. Yes I do have a DC converter, but it outputs only 3 amps. I have a couple old PC PSUs laying around and they output more power. So this came into being. 12" pioneer sub and an Orion Cobalt 230 amp bridged. PSU came out of an old Dell.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Works pretty good. Have it plugged into a power strip so I can turn it on/off. Gonna hunt around for my crossover to have cleaner sounding bass. Yes that's for automotive stereos as well. I am going to have to build an enclosure for it sometime. There is a rattle somewhere during lower frequencies when I turn up the volume.
     
  6. LOCO LAPTOP

    LOCO LAPTOP [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,240
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    ^ That's funny to me because I have done the exact same thing before.
     
  7. my-name-here

    my-name-here Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    putting my old 580 in the wifes computer... it's an htpc case so I had to do a few mods to get it to fit. one of which is this:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    there wasn't enough room for the panel to go back on with the card plugs being on the side. so i just took each individual wire, removed it from the connector and placed it on the appropriate pin taping each in place.
     
  8. wra18th

    wra18th [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,767
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    OK, this is worthy of some food stamps because you used electrical tape and disassembled a perfectly good connector. $$$ food stamps for you.
     
  9. cortexodus

    cortexodus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,614
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    That is horrifying and may actually cause a fire. Great work! I give you 3 food stamps! :p
     
  10. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,383
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    that is taking ghetto to a whole new...dangerous...level
     
  11. starhawk

    starhawk [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,909
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Friend gave me a Compaq Notebook 100... free. Which is about what it's worth. AMD K6-2/475ACK CPU, 96mb PC100 RAM (32 on mobo + 64 on a stick) and an NiMH battery (not kidding!). Just barely new enough to allow booting from CD...

    Also the prior owner was very very desperate indeed because the Win98 SE install that it has a key for on the back... got replaced at some point with XP Pro!

    Why am I bringing this relic up? Because I had a pair of Infineon PC133 256mb RAM sticks... a little research indicated that this laptop uses a VIA Apollo MVP4 chipset... which can run PC133, but only at 100MHz. So I went to stick one of the sticks in there, and discovered why Compaq had used a low-profile PC100 stick... it didn't /quite/ fit... there were a pair of screw posts in the way. So I used an X-Acto to shave a few mm off the posts so that I could shoehorn the RAM in. It worked -- but I was very lucky that I didn't sever a mobo trace in the process!

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  12. my-name-here

    my-name-here Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    yes, it makes me nervous... considering hot glue as a possible replacement for electrical tape but i think it might make its way inside the connector causing it to lose connection with the pin.

    i'm open to any suggestions less dangerous than electrical tape!

    edit: perhaps i could cut the shroud a bit to make room for wires, remove the connector from the card, cut the pins so they are straight, solder each wire to the pins, then cover in hot glue to avoid contact with each other....
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2014
  13. cortexodus

    cortexodus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,614
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Maybe this? I know it's more than zero dollars, but... yea... 'lectrical fires... not good times.
     
  14. TESLA

    TESLA Gawd

    Messages:
    936
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    An individually sleeved extension cables may be flexible enough for your use case.

    Otherwise I suppose you could replace the headers on the video card with vertical variants, assuming that your soldering skills are up to the task. (Do note, the PCIe power headers have thick pins, these will require more than your basic irons to desolder.)

    You could also modify connector housings to make cables such as shown in the link above. (It looks like that is all that seller did.) Parts for this are readily available. (Unfortunately, I am unable to find a right angle connector housing to do this without modification.)

    Lastly, hot glue is used liberally in electronics to keep things in place. I'd not be overly worried about the glue preventing an electrical connection, especially with the crimp ends in place on the wires. (You didn't remove the crimp ends, right?) There also exists liquid electrical "tape" which may work better than the standard tape for protecting the ends. All this being said, you are still talking about a sketchy workaround.
     
  15. my-name-here

    my-name-here Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    the plastic housing is what's sticking out too far. that doesn't seem to offer a shorter housing at all, only sideways wires...
     
  16. Jorona

    Jorona 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,320
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Okay, that's really ghetto and quite possibly dangerous. It looks like that card has a back plate. Take it off and desolder the connector. then solder the wires directly into it.

    Don't use it like that. I actually fear for your life. 580's were not exactly nice to power connectors anyways...
     
  17. shadowlord

    shadowlord 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,954
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    looks like they cut a hole in the standard connector and then sharply bent the cables.
    ghetto yes, but sold for $$ on an auction site :rolleyes:

    edit:
    ghetto modding sold for $$ :(

    [​IMG]
     
  18. cortexodus

    cortexodus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,614
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Yea... However, if you're not gonna do it "the right way" yourself, then someone else's relatively clean ghetto mod might not be a bad idea. I'm very leery of things that involve high voltage with the possibility of shorts in combination with expensive components, etc. Not a good idea at all.
     
  19. jojo69

    jojo69 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,383
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    12V is not "high" the danger is the ability of the supply to deliver significant current into a short there

    that ebay deal is awesome, ghettomod as a cottage industry
     
  20. my-name-here

    my-name-here Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    281
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    i'm just going to take out the tape and use heat shrink on each wire instead... seems the simplest solution....
     
  21. starhawk

    starhawk [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,909
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Did my first mobo cap repair the other day. Learned that Dell uses high temp solder. "Fuck you, Dell!" (I've said /that/ before...) At some point I tugged a little too hard on one cap, and it came out with the legs in the board.

    Wound up drilling them out.

    Wound up building a drill to get them out... 1/32" bit (a little large -- but a 1/64 would be a bit small, I think -- anyone got a 3/128" bit around somewhere? that'd be just about perfect... :p )

    Drill image here --> http://i.imgur.com/R14DtIz.jpg

    That's a Craftsman motor/gearbox/chuck assembly. From a mid Nineties 6v rechargeable drill. You know the one. Black, five pretty lousy NiCDs inside. Wall wart for charging, that's almost certainly to be an unregulated example. Cheap as dirt. (FWIW, it also came in a 7.2v version...) The wire is speaker wire. The batteries are well labeled, and their holders are Radio Shack -- as is the "flip switch". (@ Radio Shack -- a toggle switch with a plastic toggle is still a toggle switch. Go home, Radio Shack, you're drunk.) Food container is "Great Value" from Wal*Mart. (Great Value is neither. Trust me.)

    Johnson Electric makes some good shit. The batteries blew up and leaked all over the guts of that drill. There was literally nothing salvageable except for the motor/gearbox/chuck assembly. Even the WIRES were shot...
     
  22. TED

    TED Gawd

    Messages:
    725
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Easiest way to change caps is to yank them off and solder the new ones onto the legs of the old ones :D
     
  23. starhawk

    starhawk [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,909
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    I'm not that good. Besides, Dell uses caps with short ass legs.

    Besides besides, how am I supposed to get to the front side of the legs, from the back side of the board?!

    Nope, sorry, doesn't work for me.

    Also, fuck Dell and their weird ass stupid shit.
     
  24. thefordmccord

    thefordmccord [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,044
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    So, this is a little ghetto. A friend of mine has a Dell XPS laptop that the fan died on. After a little research, we discovered that the fan header on the motherboard has gone bad. Not wanting to spend any money, we decided to power the fan off of one of the USB ports in the laptop. Here are the results.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  25. colinstu

    colinstu 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,563
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    lol wow! giving up a USB port just to keep your laptop cooled.
     
  26. LOCO LAPTOP

    LOCO LAPTOP [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,240
    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    USB 3.0 no less!
     
  27. MrCaffeineX

    MrCaffeineX [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,420
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    You can disable the USB hub when you don't want to hear the fan running ;)
     
  28. SticKx911

    SticKx911 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,146
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    That's pretty impressive actually. Only thing better would be soldering into a 12v line somewhere (possibly right off the psu connection), but then it'd probably be noisy...
     
  29. waseem

    waseem Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    this is my modded Zalman Z1 mic with my Panasonic DJ 100 headphones , i was suffering using the USB headset " in the team speak i had a lot of issues on them " the static noises also issue in the sound so i decide to buy a new Mic and use the old head set that i have , also using my Asus xonar d1 sound card , i play and record events also stream on the twitch with out any problem.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
  30. trick0502

    trick0502 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,134
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
  31. waseem

    waseem Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    yeah thanks dude :)
     
  32. wra18th

    wra18th [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,767
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    I see you used a piece of wire, ty-raps and tape. I give you 4.5 food stamps.
     
  33. waseem

    waseem Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    4.5 food stamps => its hard for you to be - means its cards hard cards now ;)
     
  34. waseem

    waseem Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    357
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
  35. DIYmaster

    DIYmaster n00b

    Messages:
    20
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    @waseem I love it! Top work there

    By the way here is my failed ghetto mod for today. I wanted to make a variable speed controller for my drill and other tools using a dim switch.
    http://i1.minus.com/ibgru4mj7V6Jfm.JPG
    http://i4.minus.com/i1mNBGiWOGjRC.jpg
    Unfortunately the damn thing didn't work as I hoped for. It either stalls the motor or still rotates too fast in a inconsistent manner. So from the get go it wont spin, but once it spins you can then slow it down after it builds momentum. Either way it's no better than me using the trigger so I will see if I can just buy a voltage regulator and see if the current can be smoothed out nicely. Hopefully there is something out there that doesn't cost more than 30$ and it can provide a smooth consistent power, rather than jumping up and down on a fully pressed button.

    Sucks really as I got lots of holes to drill and I'm wearing out holding it with one hand while the other is operating the button.
     
  36. SticKx911

    SticKx911 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,146
    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    An off brand variable speed dremmel might do well. I'm not sure what they go for used, but that might be do-able for about $30
     
  37. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    54,212
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    My eyes! Teh ghetto hurts my eyes! :eek:
     
  38. wra18th

    wra18th [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,767
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Ok, now that is ghetto ugly. You get 5.5 food stamps considering that 5 food stamps is the highest we go.
     
  39. Unknown-One

    Unknown-One [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,869
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Additional food stamps because the mod wasn't even really necessary?

    That Zalman mic is designed to clip right to the headphone cable. He literally could have just press-fit it onto the existing wire >_>
     
  40. tonyyy

    tonyyy Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    306
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    LOL oahu is humid as hell!