Plex 4K capable server

Discussion in 'Home Theater PCs & Equipment' started by Digital Viper-X-, Aug 4, 2018.

  1. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,642
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    I have a box now with a 6 core xeon 1650 and 32gb of memory, I ripped Pacific rim to 4k and I can't seem to stream it, all 6 cores get pegged at full speed and it buffers every minute or so :( , according to plexes own recommendations this should work! So I'm confused as to what I'm doing wrong, or what else I could be doing better ?
     
  2. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,279
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Well, I don't know what a 'xeon 1650' is, need the generation for that, but there's two points of interest: is Plex just streaming or is it also transcoding?

    Streaming is just fileserving, transcoding really is going to peg your CPU. Check whatever you're streaming to, and check your rip settings against best-practices (I don't do this, don't know where to start).

    *mostly responding because I just set up Plex on my desktop as a test run, to my Nvidia Shield, and it's working mighty well for many things- however, I do have a few files that the Shield cannot handle and Plex cannot transcode at all- and I'm also building a fileserver that will have a 1050Ti (cheapest/smallest 4GB 10-series Nvidia card for transcoding so as to keep the CPU free because it'll also be doing either pfSense or Sophos XG Home passive scanning)
     
  3. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,642
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    1650 v3 (haswell) 6 core 3.5ghz

    I have a 1080ti in there that is mining usually, but it was not during the test. It is transcoding, I tried to both my Xbox one x, and Sony TV, it's HEVC as well.
     
  4. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj Why oh why didn't I take the BLUE pill?

    Messages:
    22,858
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I'm in the same boat here except I'm running an older X5660 Xeon. I threw in a 1060 3GB card I had lying around and enabled HW decoding so I'll see if that helps my HEVC playback.
     
  5. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,149
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    What's the codec, container and bitrate?
     
  6. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,808
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    I still don’t get it. Why try and transcode? It makes no sense at all.

    Not to mention, you lose HDR and WCG. What’s the point of 4k without that? Waste.
     
  7. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,642
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    I don't WANT to transcode, but plex isn't giving me the option of playing the original file.

    HEVC , MKV and ~70mbps
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2018
  8. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,279
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Actually just picked up a 1050Ti, cheapest >3GB 10-series I could find, for this purpose. Boon that it's ITX and needs no external power :).
     
  9. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj Why oh why didn't I take the BLUE pill?

    Messages:
    22,858
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    I tried it today and it was crapping out on me when it was transcoding for my Chromecast. I have to play around with it. If I can't get it to work right I may just swap in my ryzen 2600 and make that my Plex server instead
     
  10. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,279
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Well, main reason to transcode is that your sources are high-res, but you're either streaming to something low-res or streaming to something remotely limited by your upload and remote download speeds.
     
  11. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,225
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    I just tried to play my 4K HEVC Forrest Gump movie on the Windows 10 Plex app on my gaming machine and it stuttered like crazy.
    Plex server was sending it direct so it wasn't being stressed at all.
     
  12. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,279
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Assume it runs great in say VLC locally?
     
  13. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,225
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    don't know about locally since the server is headless, but over the network with MPC-HC it plays fine.

    forrest-gump-stressing-system-2.jpg
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  14. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,642
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Yup, runs fine for me with MP-HC

    My XBOX starts to stream it in original quailty, then says "buffering" and drops to convert to 4k at 71mbps

    which is funny, it's connected via gigabit ethernet or wireless AC, both have the same issues, so it's not network bandwidth
     
  15. v6maro

    v6maro [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    I gave up on plex via pc or xbox for 4k, especially since I have an atmos system. Went with the nvidia sheild. Problem(s) solved.
     
  16. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,642
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    so your shield streams plex 4k videos with no problem ?
     
  17. v6maro

    v6maro [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,545
    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    direct stream video and audio, yes, with full bitrate pass-through. So my 4k display and atmos system plays 4k HEVC x265 perfectly, no hitches or anything. If it has to transcode, thats a different issue, but, why would you every want/need to transcode a 4k source, just download the HD/BR source, would be faster to d/l and pre-transcode anyways.

    btw, a roku device will downgrade the audio from atmos to 5.1, which = the suck

    But yes, 4k, HDR, Atmos to 4k, HDR, Atmos = awesomeness on the nvidia shield.
     
  18. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,808
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    no, delete plex


    just get rid of it


    Then shield works perfectly.
     
    Ocellaris likes this.
  19. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,642
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    So what do you use to stream ? Kodi ? Kodi on my tv doesn't seem to keep up , it only has 100mbps wired and the spikes cause it to buffer. Xbox kodi doesn't support windows shares
     
  20. criccio

    criccio Fully Equipped

    Messages:
    11,149
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Plex and the Shield is amazing, not sure if he's trolling or not.
     
  21. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,808
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    I use shield over gig and xbmc. 4k won't work over 100mbit.
     
  22. defaultluser

    defaultluser I B Dum

    Messages:
    11,721
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    And this is precisely why I don't encourage people to use Plex unless they want to use all the features it comes with.


    It's a complicated tool with a high learning curve that's difficult to tame.
     
    Ocellaris likes this.
  23. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,279
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    What do you recommend instead?
     
  24. SixFootDuo

    SixFootDuo [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,676
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    I have a intel NUC i5 with 16gb of ram, 275gb ssd brand new that I'm selling for super cheap, $299 + shipping but I did install Plex on it and it streamed 4K without issue
     
  25. boss6021

    boss6021 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    322
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    This! Nothing else comes close!
     
  26. defaultluser

    defaultluser I B Dum

    Messages:
    11,721
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    I use Universal Media Server, and my TV's DLNA media playback. Dead-simple, since the defaults are no transcode.
     
    Ocellaris likes this.
  27. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,279
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    I see a long list of supported devices, but no Shield- I could probably 'cast' to it, but the Plex app on the Shield does make things quite simple.
     
  28. ShepsCrook

    ShepsCrook [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,656
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    What player are you using? Are you using Plex Media Player? OpenPHT?

    Because I do know that the OpenPHT application struggles with 4k
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2018
  29. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,808
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001

    Most NUCs, maybe all NUCs use a lspcon converter chip for hdmi so you can't take advantage of 4k
     
  30. Verge

    Verge [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,808
    Joined:
    May 27, 2001
    there's no casting from shield. it reads your stuff off a file share and plays them.


    that simple. done and done. If you need to stream something, use a built in app.
     
  31. defaultluser

    defaultluser I B Dum

    Messages:
    11,721
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006

    You run the Universal Media Server on your PC that has your media.

    You run DLNA playback on any other devices on your local network, You point them to the server, and you can stream you entire media library.

    MOST TVS HAVE THEIR OWN DLNA MEDIA PAYER. But if you want to roll your own:

    My favorite DLNA player on Android is MediaHouse.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.dbapp.android.mediahouse&hl=en_US

    I use it to stream to my phone, but thre's nothing stopping you from streaming to your Shield.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  32. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge Not the Idiot YOU are Looking for

    Messages:
    6,279
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Well, I'll have to check from the Shield, but Google Play doesn't show it as an install target :/
     
  33. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    18,907
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Using a simple DLNA server is easier for me as well. I just want to access and play the media, not transcode it into another format for playback.
     
  34. lightsout

    lightsout Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Interesting, I would understand for my parents or something but anyone around here should have no problem setting up Plex server.

    The UI for dlna on most TVs is terrible. My Sammy just has a bunch of folders. I guess if you just want to watch once and throw stuff away. But if you want cover art and all that Plex/Emby is a must.

    Also dlna is ok if you just use TV speakers. But when using an AVR your sound quality is gimped to lossy Dd/DTS.
     
  35. defaultluser

    defaultluser I B Dum

    Messages:
    11,721
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Says the pickiest man in the entire universe :D

    You're a corner-case. Most people don't mind lossy audio in their movies, and don't have 11.5-channels super-surround setups. AC3 is plenty high-quality as a source, because modern encoders use the same tricks they added to mp3 with LAME, and they also bumped the audio bitrate from 448 to 640 with Blu-Ray.

    128-Kbps per-channel ABR for 5.1 should be fine.


    Or if you're going to re-encode that rip anyway,you can always use TrueHD as your audio source (most modern Blu-Rays have it), and use AAC as your lossy container.

    If you don't know the name of the movie that you want to watch, and need cover art to help you find it, then I guess you're just beyond help with a simple alphabetical folder set. Way easier to find than just looking at my shelf full of cases :D

    Cover art is "nice," but just to show off when your one movie-nut friend comes over. After that it's just another distraction from finding the movie I want.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2018 at 12:16 PM
  36. Ocellaris

    Ocellaris Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.

    Messages:
    18,907
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    If you really want cover art, you can use something like Infuse on an Apple TV connected to a DLNA server (just as one example). Plex isn’t the only game in town for cover art, other apps and systems do it now too.
     
  37. DeChache

    DeChache The ONE - Your Ignorance Annoys Me

    Messages:
    6,692
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    I can stream 4k with an E3 1240 V5. It's only going to handle one stream but. It would be nice if Plex would get HW offload working for 4K HDR transcodes so the 1050TI in the box could handle the work.

    The only thing that handles HEVC right now correctly in the plex world is their player in my experience. Besides the transcoding rips out HDR and that really is the real benefit to the 4K blurays is the HDR
     
  38. Digital Viper-X-

    Digital Viper-X- [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,642
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    I guess the bigger issue is why won't the Xbox one x play it without transcoding
     
  39. lightsout

    lightsout Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    130
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    I want the overall experience, not just click the file. And I would argue many people that take time time to rip media on a server want more than just click and play. AC3 is ok sure, but if you spend decent cash on an audio setup, why use lossy audio, same thing with transcoding the video, we're at a point with HHD sizes that all that is not necessary.

    I've been using interfaces with cover art/fan art for a good ten years (before plex was ever a thing or at least not popular, if I wanted basic file structure I would just hook up an HTPC to the TV with a keyboard and mouse.
     
    Digital Viper-X- likes this.