P5B > DS3 Swap - Worth it?

Andhar

Console Gamerz Rulez
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
1,933
I am considering swapping my P5B w/ P4D 805 to a DS3 w/ Q6600 is it worth the trouble & $ to change the board or should i simply swap the cpu???
 

michaLcoughliN

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
1,163
if you mean P5B-E you need latest bios in order to run Q6600 on that board.

I cant remember what i elieve 1202:?? Check asus.com and search for the latest bios.

Im sure it will indicate there "newer cpu support"
 

Andhar

Console Gamerz Rulez
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
1,933
Nope not the P5B-E just the plain ol P5B and BTW I meant the 965-DS3 not the P35

The reason I am considering the switch is because the P5B overclocks like ********* so I wanted to just get a new board/chip/ram and rebuild the system.
 

silent-circuit

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 18, 2005
Messages
16,133
Why would you get a non-P35 board now? The lower end Abit P35s are only a little over $100.

However, if you don't want a P35 grab a 650i Ultra based board. Overclocks well, will support the chip, not very expensive.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
26,133
If you want a Q6600, I'd get that and see what it does on your board before you shell out another $100 for a new motherboard. I'd go with a P35 board personally, but I have a 650i Ultra board here to play around with, so maybe my mind will be changed ;).
 

Peepaw

Weaksauce
Joined
May 15, 2005
Messages
89
I would get the cpu first and see what it does in the p5b.
It could just be a perfect match.:)
 

enginurd

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
21,823
I agree, try the CPU first. I thought there was a BIOS update for the P5B vanilla so it can OC better?
 

Andhar

Console Gamerz Rulez
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
1,933
thx guys I may just do that gotta wait for the egg to stop the price gouging tho.:mad:
 

Andhar

Console Gamerz Rulez
Joined
Mar 25, 2007
Messages
1,933
no matter where i look the prices arent what they are supposed to be, so no q for me yet. thanks tho guys.
 

enginurd

Fully [H]
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
21,823
no matter where i look the prices arent what they are supposed to be, so no q for me yet. thanks tho guys.
The price is $266 for the Q6600's, you just need to by 1000 of them to get that per-unit price. Did you really think stores would sell the CPU for no profit? The price for the Q6600 starts from $275+, IIRC. The only time you'll see lower prices is when Intel or the distributor gives the stores lower prices, or if the stores can recoup the money elsewhere.
 
Top