OFFICIAL Logitech G15, mods and LCD stuff.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SarverSystems, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Lets make this the official post for Logitech-related mods and LCD hacks.

    I know there is a SDK for the LCD. Can someone post that to kick off this thread?
     
  2. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I am temporarily hosting the SDK on my website for everyone on hardforums.

    You can get it here
     
  3. ShimmyT

    ShimmyT Gawd

    Messages:
    608
    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Didn't the SDK come with the software on the CD? I haven't had time to go through my cd yet.
     
  4. Dgephri

    Dgephri Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    402
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    yeah, the SDK is with the Software, but uncompiled. I have been playing with the SourceForge Dev C++ compiler, but don't know much of anything about it...so I haven't gotten a successful compile yet.

    Anyone wanna compile and host up the EZ_LCD_Wrapper.exe result so we can all play with it?
     
  5. compslckr

    compslckr [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,878
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
  6. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I posted it for people who might not own the keyboard but would want to mess with the code.
     
  7. cc2096

    cc2096 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,671
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    bump, lets keep this to the fore front and get more programmers involved. We may want to link this in the programming thread too. Just a thought. :D
     
  8. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I wonder if we can somehow make the LCD emulate as any other USB LCD? You know, so we can use LCD programs that already exist, like LCD Studio, CrystalControl, jaLCDs, LCD SMartie, etc....
     
  9. Zardoz

    Zardoz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,251
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000

    Thats what the profiler does. they left it open for people to make applets for the profiler, these apples can give users even more control over the LCD. ie like someone can make an applet that alows for user input of windows proframance monitor stuff. or thay can just hard code the applet as they did with the demo one. it's relly quite open, but programs need to be made for it...

    I guess one of the LCD program folks can take there LCD program and put a hook in for the profller...
     
  10. BioPort

    BioPort Gawd

    Messages:
    754
    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    man, all i want is for this baby to read my temps from mbm5.

    i will be a happy man.
     
  11. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I want it to show in-game HUD stuff.
     
  12. xonik

    xonik [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,318
    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2001
    Kind of defeats the purpose of a HUD then, huh? Looking down at your keyboard, away from the action :confused:
     
  13. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    So I'll call it a HDD. Heads Down Display. :p

    Maybe we can have it show FPS or something?
     
  14. robberbaron

    robberbaron [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,098
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    A clock would be nice, but it's probably already there by default. I really cant think of any use for the LCD.
     
  15. LunchboX3904

    LunchboX3904 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,524
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Putting a HUD is a good idea because that gives you way more screen space for the actual game. So long as you can get the HUD off the screen. For example, i noticed the HUD in DoD:S was rather large and bulky. Doesn't screw my up so no big deal though.

    i think a really cool thing to have is a Download monitor. One that could use bitlord (torrent client i use) and the basic windows dl manager.

    other ideas:

    - obviously messenger service without minimizing the game.
    - notification of replies from posts/threads/PM's on a forum and displays topic name too.
    - bank account balance that updates every so often (this one's a long shot)
    - notification when favorite webcomic is updated *cough*ctrl-alt-del*cough*
    - FAH stats
    - cool EQ visualizations

    just a few.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Pulse

    Pulse QuakeGawd

    Messages:
    2,886
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    I looked at the SDK and have no clue on how to even get started on this. I would LOVE to be able to interface with the Shuttle temp and fan control program.

    Anyone want to put up a small tutorial other than the "compile and run" that is in the readme?
     
  17. defiant

    defiant Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    461
    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2003
    How about so that the LCD displays CPU & GPU temps, FPS, CPU and RAM usage all ingame! That would fuckin rock my world! :eek: :cool:
     
  18. ewarz

    ewarz [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,763
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    how about,
    -stock ticker
    -weather by zip code
     
  19. Erasmus354

    Erasmus354 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,394
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    OMG I actually understand a lot of what is going on in those sample programs. w00t programming class is starting to pay off :D
     
  20. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,831
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    be cool to have it show how much damage you did to an enemy.
     
  21. chiablo

    chiablo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    386
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    I think the most useful would be FRAPS integration to give us a framerate monitor.

    I must be the only one who thinks the FRAPS numbers in the upper corner are annoying, albeit useful.
     
  22. Farseer

    Farseer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    314
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    I picked up my G15 at BB today. I can't wait to hook this thing up! I'll take a look at the SDK this weekend and see if I can't do a little test plug-in for UT or something. I do a lot of scripting at work, and have even written a mutator for UT (Instavape) so I hope I can't get a grip of the code and work something up in a couple of days.
     
  23. chiablo

    chiablo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    386
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Does anybody know of (or is planning on creating) a website dedicated to the keyboard and a database of the LCD plugins?

    Even if someone has made 'hello world' appear on the LCD, it'd be a good starting place for others to jump in on.
     
  24. Zardoz

    Zardoz 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,251
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000

    working on one...not sure If i will go live though....
     
  25. pxoint

    pxoint [H]Lite

    Messages:
    94
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    i would love to see song information from winamp
    like title, time bar and maybe visualization? ;)
     
  26. blk95civicex

    blk95civicex Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    170
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    This works on mine just fine...all but the visualization...
    :D
     
  27. [RCKY] Thor

    [RCKY] Thor 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,137
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2001
    I believe there is a "hello world" program in the samples provided in the sdk.
     
  28. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I would be willing to host the files and a page for such a project.

    The page would reside on a site I am working on for our LAN group.
     
  29. Kaizer

    Kaizer Gawd

    Messages:
    735
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    mine displayed the stuff from Winamp.. but for what ever reason the controls did nothing. Maybe ill reinstall Winamp to see if it helps.
     
  30. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    You gotta enable hotkeys in winamp. There is nothing wrong with the keyboard or winamp.
     
  31. compslckr

    compslckr [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    8,878
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    i would be willing to put it on a subdomain of my site as well, something like g15.slackerserver.com
     
  32. enlightenedby42

    enlightenedby42 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,412
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Wow, I have never found myself lusting after a keyboard like this.
    There's all KINDS of stuff you could do with that. This may be a little far-fetched and its well beyond my third semester CS ability, but I wonder if it could be linked to any of the windows-based motherboard overclocking utilities, maybe even to the extent of using the multimedia keys to manipulate the settings. Now THAT would be cool.
    I need to start saving up for one of these.
     
  33. RanceJustice

    RanceJustice [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,994
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Think someone could code a way to see and actually TYPE instant messages for them major clients? For instance, I have a game up full screen and my IMs in the background. Friend says "Hey". Instant message from X: "Hey" shows up on LCD. Then I press one of the context sensitive buttons, and my keyboard now can be used to type a reply!
     
  34. Kaizer

    Kaizer Gawd

    Messages:
    735
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001

    Thats kind of odd... I have a logitech Dinovo wireless setup at work, and it doesnt require the global hot keys to be on to work.

    Ill see if it helps at home. Kinda lame I think that one set of drivers needs it.. but the other doesnt.
     
  35. The_Terminator

    The_Terminator [H]Lite

    Messages:
    94
    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    How about having the LCD display something to the effect of:

    YOU HAVE THE CAPS LOCK ON, AND YOU ARE TYPING IN AN INTERNET FORUM, YOU IDIOT!!!

    I know a few people who really need that constant reminder.
     
  36. enlightenedby42

    enlightenedby42 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,412
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    Maybe it could print words of encouragement to me every time I get my ass fragged off by a pubeless 8 year old kid.
    "You'll get 'em next time!" "Nice hustle out there!" "You don't suck THAT bad!"
     
  37. ChingChang

    ChingChang [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,505
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    that would be pretty sweet. And would be nice if you could scroll up in the IM chat, if people send you a big message and it doesn't completely fit on the LCD.
     
  38. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    The LCD is graphical people! Don't forget!!!

    Lets do some cool shit with it.

    How about the icon for whatever game you're playing be displayed?

    Or maybe have an icon for whatever team you are on?

    Maybe do something with Yahoo, AIM, etc... showing your buddy lists and thei avatars?
     
  39. chiablo

    chiablo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    386
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Logitech needs to get on the ball and make a website for hosting programs made by users and a developer's forum where programmers can get together and share ideas/successes.
     
  40. figgie

    figgie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,820
    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    UT scripting should be cake...

    though i find it intresting that it looks like the application has to make the call to the LCD for this to actually be useful.