OFFICIAL Logitech G15, mods and LCD stuff.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by SarverSystems, Oct 12, 2005.

  1. squatpuke

    squatpuke Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    159
    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    I've heard this was fixed also.
     
  2. antiv6

    antiv6 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    297
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Perfect. Glad I bought one before I checked. :)
     
  3. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I bought mine before anyone knew about them. Got it from Best Buy before it even hit the shelves.

    Mine has serious issues with lettering rubbing off. A, E, T, N all show signs of wear. Obviously I don't game with mine, otherwise I'd have WASD worn off.
     
  4. Sixthsense

    Sixthsense I Suck Fat Ones

    Messages:
    3,262
    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2001
    I had mine replaced free of charge , see this thread for details

     
  5. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Submitted. We'll see what happens.
     
  6. skull@

    skull@ n00b

    Messages:
    39
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    How can I turn off the light of the M1, M2 and M3 keys?

    S@
     
  7. FadedSpark

    FadedSpark [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,551
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Sharpie out the clear bits? :D You can't otherwise i don't believe...
     
  8. JaYp146

    JaYp146 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,546
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Any chance anyone's found a plugin for gAIM / Pidgin?
     
  9. Gautama

    Gautama Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    424
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    ^^

    and also, anyway to have Everest show memory ultil. in mb not % ?
     
  10. 0ptional

    0ptional Don't Trust Your Friends with Your Decanter

    Messages:
    5,596
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Just picked up one of the new ones at ComputerStop. I like it. I never had one of the original ones with the folding LCD and the 6 extra G-keys, but I really like the feel of the keys on this one.
     
  11. MurphysLaww

    MurphysLaww Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    182
    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Has anyone tried removing the LCD from the keyboard to use it as a front panel LCD on a HTPC type Chassis?

    I've been researching LCD's and I find that the LCD I really want is the one in my G-15. Cost wise, Just buying a G-15 is pretty competitive with most of the Standalone LCD's I have been finding.

    I'm wondering how hard it would be to separate the LCD from the rest of the keyboard, or if it is even possible.
     
  12. Pyrex238

    Pyrex238 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    So, did you ever find out how to make that LCD work standalone? My old G15 took a crap and I've since replaced it with a new one, I wanted to put the LCD on my case for stats and free up my keyboard LCD for tasks at hand.
     
  13. lowteckh

    lowteckh [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,073
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    ^- Nice almost 1 year bump on a sunk thread.
     
  14. Pyrex238

    Pyrex238 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    274
    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    And that changes nothing? Since this is the primary thread on the subject, and my reply is entirely applicable to the topic (unlike yours).
     
  15. KILLorBE

    KILLorBE n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Depending on your skills it might be pretty hard as there's a flat cable just over 1/2" (~15mm) with 30+ orso contacts, if my G15 turns out to be partially bad I might give it a go.
     
  16. 0ptional

    0ptional Don't Trust Your Friends with Your Decanter

    Messages:
    5,596
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Did you call up Logitech support for that old keyboard? They're amazing...
     
  17. SarverSystems

    SarverSystems [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,405
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    I emailed them 3 times. Never got a response.
     
  18. exlhpstudent

    exlhpstudent Gawd

    Messages:
    614
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    I can't believe how old this thread is, and I am surprise my G15 V1 still works. I have had it for more than 5 years
     
  19. Elios

    Elios [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    mine died a year or 2 a go i have a G510 now
     
  20. BrinNutz

    BrinNutz [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,533
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Still rocking mine as well. N key has finally worn off though.
     
  21. tvm777

    tvm777 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    85
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    this post died alone?...

    g15mods site dead...
    all g15 forum sites dead ??
     
  22. Picillo

    Picillo Gawd

    Messages:
    558
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Mine is still kicking a$$ and that's after I dropped a full cup of water all over it. These things were made really well.
     
  23. Elios

    Elios [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    got a G510 to replace my Mk I G15 a few years a go still going strong
     
  24. German Muscle

    German Muscle [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,891
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    There are G15 sites out there still.

    I still have mine. Its showing some wear though. The paint/coating is wearing off in spots and sections of the backlights flicker sometimes.
     
  25. NickJames

    NickJames [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,608
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    I just threw mine away, been using mechanicals for awhile and my g15v1 just looks like shit anyway.
     
  26. Picillo

    Picillo Gawd

    Messages:
    558
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    OMG, you must be out of your mind. I love that keyboard and too throw it away. There has to be some sin that you commited there. ;)
     
  27. NickJames

    NickJames [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,608
    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Well first I took the entire keyboard apart to give it a wash, then I got lazy, then I put it in my closet then I ran out of closet space, now it's in a box at the back door waiting for the trash pile. It was a great keyboard for the 3 years I used it but eventually the WASD keys wore out so much they looked clear.
     
  28. noobtech

    noobtech 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,663
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2014
  29. irv_usc

    irv_usc n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    same here. not sure if it's worth the trouble to replace to LEDs. I might give it a shot since I have a ton of 5mm's just sitting around.
     
  30. noobtech

    noobtech 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,663
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Yeah, I'm just worried about the risk. I've taken a lot o things apart in the past and fixed it, with the exception of a Nintendo DS. LoL... I took it apart and tore a ribbon cable. I ended up tossing it in the trash. =(

    Hmmmm.. decisions, decisions. On the bright side, I see parts on ebay all the time in case I do mess something up. Another setback is, I have no soldering iron.

    Anyone have one of those cold soldering irons they used to sell on tv?
     
  31. irv_usc

    irv_usc n00b

    Messages:
    16
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2014
    Yes, had one of those. pretty worthless. you just need a decent iron. It's pretty hard to burn the board, and 5mm LEDs are pretty resilient. This keyboard doesn't look like it has any ribbon cables to tear, so you should be good :cool:
     
  32. Elios

    Elios [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,207
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    wow almost a 1 year necro :p
    but i still have my G510 i got to replace my G15v1
     
  33. gmutale

    gmutale Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    211
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    anyone know if there's an app that shows load across all cores/threads? it would probably take up the entire screen (I have 24 threads) but hey, so long as it can do it! :)
     
  34. Yakk

    Yakk [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,811
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Nice!

    Aida64 should be able to do it, I use it with 8 threads. You also have the option of using LCDhost as a front end.
     
  35. kratos0

    kratos0 n00b

    Messages:
    10
    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Dear users,

    I bought two different G15 and I'm trying to regenerate them by deep cleanings and changing leds on both.
    About the first one, i replaced leds with the same colour (just brighters).
    About the second one, I put the red leds but I also have another desire...I want to have a red LCD but I really don't know how to do, I mean...I'm very scared about opening it because I've understood it's very fragile.Look, I followed the guide of darkman1969 regarding how to open the G15 display, it's just I have seen a lot of failures around the internet. Then, which kind and where could I find a perfect lighting gel for that display. I really don't understand which kind of product it is and how I couldy apply it...

    Hope in your help and sorry for my english :)

    Regards from Italy