Nvidia GPUs are awesome on x11

kache

Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
723
WOOT!

Got my 780's running awesome now!

For the record, the version of ccminer-v1.0 found on the bitcointalk forums is not compiled/optimized specifically for Windows. I found a version on a site called "Cryptomining Blog" that is compiled and optimized for Windows. Much better results with this version for those that use Windows!

Linky:
http://cryptomining-blog.com/2422-updated-ccminer-1-0-beta-with-improved-performance-for-x11-mining/

The previous ccminer (the one downloaded directly from the Bitcointalk forums) was giving me about 1700KHash per 780... sometimes less... sometimes more... then sometimes one card would be at 2000KHash, and the other would be at 1300KHash. You know... crap like that.

The new ccminer (downloaded from the Cryptomining Blog site) is now giving me between 3700KHash and 3800KHash per card at factory stock settings (for EVGA 780 Superclocked). So happy now!

I'm now having second thoughts on starting up my 290's. I'm very tempted to get a few 750Ti's and get them running instead!

Double check if work utility has increased as well.
 

Parja

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
12,307
WOOT!

Got my 780's running awesome now!

For the record, the version of ccminer-v1.0 found on the bitcointalk forums is not compiled/optimized specifically for Windows. I found a version on a site called "Cryptomining Blog" that is compiled and optimized for Windows. Much better results with this version for those that use Windows!

Linky:
http://cryptomining-blog.com/2422-updated-ccminer-1-0-beta-with-improved-performance-for-x11-mining/

The previous ccminer (the one downloaded directly from the Bitcointalk forums) was giving me about 1700KHash per 780... sometimes less... sometimes more... then sometimes one card would be at 2000KHash, and the other would be at 1300KHash. You know... crap like that.

The new ccminer (downloaded from the Cryptomining Blog site) is now giving me between 3700KHash and 3800KHash per card at factory stock settings (for EVGA 780 Superclocked). So happy now!

I'm now having second thoughts on starting up my 290's. I'm very tempted to get a few 750Ti's and get them running instead!

It pays to keep up with the forums. You're a little late to the show on this one.

See how far you can bump the core clocks on your 780. I'm at 4400 on mine at 1150/1500.
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
Double check if work utility has increased as well.

How does one check that on ccminer?

It pays to keep up with the forums. You're a little late to the show on this one.
Yup... guess I did miss that. Oops. Oh well.

See how far you can bump the core clocks on your 780. I'm at 4400 on mine at 1150/1500.

I had them briefly doing 4Mhash each but when I glanced away to do something else, maybe the driver crashed or something because when I looked back it was reporting crazy numbers like between 5000000 and 6000000Khash/s and the numbers were scrolling by at a crazy fast rate. That was, however, the first time I ran this alternative version of ccminer, so my settings were still altered from when I was trying to get the first version running right... it may be that I had something too high. I haven't tried pushing further since I got it running.
 

DracoNB

Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
599
It pays to keep up with the forums. You're a little late to the show on this one.

See how far you can bump the core clocks on your 780. I'm at 4400 on mine at 1150/1500.

Each 780 does 4400? Geez someone really needs to optimize the amd miner!

Only problem with that though, is then you loose the power / heat saving since its properly using the GPU.
 

note235

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 23, 2005
Messages
4,986
bought 2 x 750ti and sold a few of my 270s
man its easy to mine with the 750tis
hopefully the big brothers come soon
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
Anyone think it's worth it getting the Superclocked versions of the 750Ti's? They're like only $10 more from the retailer I usually deal with. I figured it might be worth it for what might amount to slightly higher binned hardware and a significant OC right out of the box. Opinions?
 

draksia

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 16, 2000
Messages
7,917
Anyone think it's worth it getting the Superclocked versions of the 750Ti's? They're like only $10 more from the retailer I usually deal with. I figured it might be worth it for what might amount to slightly higher binned hardware and a significant OC right out of the box. Opinions?

I have 12 of them and they work pretty well, haven't had any issues with them but I don't have any experience with any other models.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,217
Anyone think it's worth it getting the Superclocked versions of the 750Ti's? They're like only $10 more from the retailer I usually deal with. I figured it might be worth it for what might amount to slightly higher binned hardware and a significant OC right out of the box. Opinions?
I would make sure which ever model you buy does not have a 6 pin. Those use more power.
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
I would make sure which ever model you buy does not have a 6 pin. Those use more power.

I don't believe they do... the ones I'm looking at are EVGA's small half-size ones with one fan, no apparent PCI-E power connector. Though, it appears that the ones with ACX coolers only have the extra power connector to provide an extra 25 watts overhead in case one were to overclock the card. So I'm not sure it draws too much extra power all the time.

By the way, what kind of temps do those 750Ti's run at when mining X11?
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,217
I don't believe they do... the ones I'm looking at are EVGA's small half-size ones with one fan, no apparent PCI-E power connector. Though, it appears that the ones with ACX coolers only have the extra power connector to provide an extra 25 watts overhead in case one were to overclock the card. So I'm not sure it draws too much extra power all the time.

By the way, what kind of temps do those 750Ti's run at when mining X11?
High 40's low 50's for mine with a healthy O/C of 185 core and 485 men and +10 voltage and 50% fan speed which are nearly silent. This is on a open air PVC case with decent distance between each card.
 

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,344
I don't believe they do... the ones I'm looking at are EVGA's small half-size ones with one fan, no apparent PCI-E power connector. Though, it appears that the ones with ACX coolers only have the extra power connector to provide an extra 25 watts overhead in case one were to overclock the card. So I'm not sure it draws too much extra power all the time.

By the way, what kind of temps do those 750Ti's run at when mining X11?

Any of the cards that have the 6 pin are going to be BETTER for mining since you can easily just use a riser and supply all of the power for the card with the 6 pin. If the cards with the 6 pin have a stock overclock then YES they will consume more power but to counter this simply drop the voltage back to stock and you can have a 6 pin card that still uses the same low power of the other ones. 6 pin cards are what you WANT purely for the flexibility.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,217
Any of the cards that have the 6 pin are going to be BETTER for mining since you can easily just use a riser and supply all of the power for the card with the 6 pin. If the cards with the 6 pin have a stock overclock then YES they will consume more power but to counter this simply drop the voltage back to stock and you can have a 6 pin card that still uses the same low power of the other ones. 6 pin cards are what you WANT purely for the flexibility.
Not true. But spend more money and use more power. :rolleyes:
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
where's the added power consumption coming from?

I asked the same question and my guess would be the second fan and any additional overclock you put on it. The extra 6 pin is designed to give an extra 25 watts of overhead wiggle room for anyone that wants to push their card as far as it will go, plain and simple... it has even been stated outright by EVGA that the 6-pin power connector exists for that purpose alone (link: http://www.evga.com/articles/00821/ ). Other than that, I don't see them consuming additional power.

That being said, I can see where you're coming from with the risers, if the risers were unpowered. However, since I will be most likely throwing these on one of them Asrock BTC boards, the risers will be 1x-16x USB style which are already powered. So that point is moot. Besides that, I don't know if I will require any extra overclock if I were to get the Superclocked versions. The plan is to just run them stock .... if they do 2Mhash each and don't go beyond mid 50's in temperature, then they will have met my expectations already.

I still haven't bought anything yet, so by all means, if there is a good reason to get the dual fan ACX versions with the additional 6-pin power, I would certainly like to hear it.... but is there?

Additional questions/edits after posting:

One thing I just thought to ask... how much of an OC are you guys having to add to get 2+Mhash? Are you really pushing your cards to their OC limits?

Have you had to flash the BIOS to increase the power target limit?

And one last question... is anyone running 6 of these on one of those Asrock BTC mobos? Are you using powered or unpowered risers? I assume that if you use powered risers (like the USB ones), that it is unnecessary to connect the auxiliary molex plugs on the mobo, correct? Is there still a slight loss in hash power with those NVidia GPUs when connecting through a 1x PCI-E slot?

EDIT: I found answers to my last line of questions... there seem to be a number of people using the Asrock BTC boards plus 750Ti's. They are running powered USB risers mostly from what I see... no mention of whether the mobo power has been connected as well, but I would think not. I'm not yet able to confirm any accounts of hash power lost when using Nvidia cards and ccminer. Those that were experiencing this issue in the past claimed it might have been a latency issue with the risers, some claim it might have been an issue with Cudaminer (since this issue was originally reported while running scrypt mining). The Cudaminer author was apparently looking into a fix for this issue in Cudaminer (in case it really was the mining client's fault), but I'm failing to find any word on any current fix and I'm not sure whether this still an issue when using ccminer.
 
Last edited:

0ldways

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
138
I have 12 of the SC EVGA version. Nothing is required for 2k+ hash with the latest ccminer. And 6 x machine does 12MH no problem. Using USB risers and powering the cards from SATA cables. Machine draws 330 watts total according to my APC UPS
 

0ldways

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
138
Carbon, to elaborate on that and try to answer your questions: I have done no overclocking. I have 2 of the ASROCK BTC boards with 6 each EVGA SC models. These are the single fan model. I use powered USB risers and power through the molex connections on them. No 6 pin connectors, and no extra power supplied to the MB through the extra molex connectors.
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
I have 12 of the SC EVGA version. Nothing is required for 2k+ hash with the latest ccminer. And 6 x machine does 12MH no problem. Using USB risers and powering the cards from SATA cables. Machine draws 330 watts total according to my APC UPS

Carbon, to elaborate on that and try to answer your questions: I have done no overclocking. I have 2 of the ASROCK BTC boards with 6 each EVGA SC models. These are the single fan model. I use powered USB risers and power through the molex connections on them. No 6 pin connectors, and no extra power supplied to the MB through the extra molex connectors.

You, sir, have earned yourself a cookie!

The final bonus round question I forgot to ask is, since you're using those Superclocked versions, what are your card temps like?
 

0ldways

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 28, 2010
Messages
138
And I guess I just lost my cookie... To be honest, I have never checked! These things run cool enough that I never bothered. Always at "stock" speed, and heat is not noticeable when putting your hand next to them. I never even installed anything to check them...
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
No worries... I was just curious really. I have a feeling your temps would probably fall in range of what Vengeance_01 stated his temps were.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,217
BTW mine are Ref PNY 750TI's. Don't worry about heat. Run very cool and they are dead quiet. IMO 750TI's are the best bet for X11 atm. I see X11 becoming more popular(I hope)
 

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,344
BTW mine are Ref PNY 750TI's. Don't worry about heat. Run very cool and they are dead quiet. IMO 750TI's are the best bet for X11 atm. I see X11 becoming more popular(I hope)

I plan on buying some for sure as soon as I can. Hopefully pimp will get an nvidia build together soon
 

Pylor

Limp Gawd
Joined
Feb 9, 2012
Messages
422
Not sure if anyone has mentioned it here (I didn't see it) but there was a step towards optimization for sgminer. Check out this site, I found it on my multi pool's announcements (I only check every couple of weeks, I don't have a lot invested tbh).

http://cryptomining-blog.com/2496-new-sgminer-fork-for-x11-mining-with-higher-performance/

Took my 270x from ~1.44MH/s to a little over 2.1MH/s while only increasing power cost by 6 watts. Note that I haven't modified any settings since using cgminer back in December, it's the same settings I used with cgminer so I could probably get more performance out of it if I tried. Either way I'm happy with X11, it's more power efficient and much cooler than scrypt, I just hope that doesn't change with "optimizations"
 

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,344
Not sure if anyone has mentioned it here (I didn't see it) but there was a step towards optimization for sgminer. Check out this site, I found it on my multi pool's announcements (I only check every couple of weeks, I don't have a lot invested tbh).

http://cryptomining-blog.com/2496-new-sgminer-fork-for-x11-mining-with-higher-performance/

Took my 270x from ~1.44MH/s to a little over 2.1MH/s while only increasing power cost by 6 watts. Note that I haven't modified any settings since using cgminer back in December, it's the same settings I used with cgminer so I could probably get more performance out of it if I tried. Either way I'm happy with X11, it's more power efficient and much cooler than scrypt, I just hope that doesn't change with "optimizations"

there's been an update since yesterday even that now allows intensity over 15 so even better than before for most configs. There's actually some tuning that can be done now
 

kache

Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
723
Not sure if anyone has mentioned it here (I didn't see it) but there was a step towards optimization for sgminer. Check out this site, I found it on my multi pool's announcements (I only check every couple of weeks, I don't have a lot invested tbh).

http://cryptomining-blog.com/2496-new-sgminer-fork-for-x11-mining-with-higher-performance/

Took my 270x from ~1.44MH/s to a little over 2.1MH/s while only increasing power cost by 6 watts. Note that I haven't modified any settings since using cgminer back in December, it's the same settings I used with cgminer so I could probably get more performance out of it if I tried. Either way I'm happy with X11, it's more power efficient and much cooler than scrypt, I just hope that doesn't change with "optimizations"

Bitcointalk thread with latest version of the miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=623409.0
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
I can confirm a definite increase in performance. I went from 2.06Mh/s to 3.1Mh/s per 280x. Power consumption up only about 10W per card I think due in part to having to increase my mem clock from 1250 to 1500 again. I didn't increase the core clock at all, still running at 1050.

Temps are up about 1 to 3 degrees per card max.... nothing too significant IMO.

EDIT: Correction... power consumption up about 13 to 14W per card and only on a couple rigs. I had to increase the voltage by one notch hoping to fix a couple of small issues.
 
Last edited:

DracoNB

Gawd
Joined
Sep 2, 2010
Messages
599
Yeah bumped upto 3.4-3.5 from 2.4 on 290. Oddly enough it seems to run the same no matter how many GPU threads I use, tried upto 4 with same results.
 

izusaga

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
475
R9 290 - 3.8mhash each
R9 290x 4.15mhash each

Still some work to be done, but at around 140w or so a card it's definitely an improvement to scrypt.

PIMP is my new favorite distro. Two commands into terminal and I was updated with the x11beta and running in <60 seconds on each rig, as opposed to the nonsense the BAMT developers force you to go through.
 

mkrohn

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 30, 2012
Messages
2,344
Yeah bumped upto 3.4-3.5 from 2.4 on 290. Oddly enough it seems to run the same no matter how many GPU threads I use, tried upto 4 with same results.

some people swear by clear to 10 on at least the 290x so keep going
 

Nexillus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 6, 2012
Messages
1,116
I believe there is still optimization for both nvidia and AMD I have also applied the new sgminer and it is a significant upgrade compared to the previous versions.
 

kache

Gawd
Joined
Mar 21, 2010
Messages
723
Guys, what's your WU after 6+ hours of mining? My hashrate increased from 2500 to 3500 (r9 290), but the work utility seems to still be around 0.04x..
 

Parja

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
12,307
What kind of hashrate are you guys with 750 Ti cards getting?

edit: Information I'm seeing says ~2 Mhash stock, up to about ~2.2 Mhash with a decent overclock.

Also, has anyone figured out a way to do failover with ccminer? I'd like to setup Betarigs as a primary pool with something else for a secondary, but as far as I can tell, there's really no way to do failover with ccminer yet.
 
Last edited:

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
What kind of hashrate are you guys with 750 Ti cards getting?

I'll let you know as soon as I have mine running this weekend. They arrived the other day but I haven't had time to fabricate a mining tray of some sort.

As for failover, my initial searches say there is none for ccminer.
 

Core32

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2012
Messages
1,065
Any rumors as to when the next Maxwell based card will be released?
As in the next step up in size?
 

Parja

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
12,307
Any rumors as to when the next Maxwell based card will be released?
As in the next step up in size?

Latest information I saw is NVIDIA is having issues with the die shrink on Maxwell. So rumor is we won't see "Big Maxwell" until toward the end of this year at the earliest.
 

Carbon_Rod

Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2012
Messages
1,022
OK gents. For those of you running 750Ti's, what driver version are you running? Are you running Windows or Linux?

I just got my 6x 750Ti machine up and running and while I'm impressed at the quiet (it's sitting right at my feet in a separate quiet room and I can't hear it), and the temps (less than 50C so far), I'm thinking I'm doing something wrong because I'm only getting 1850KH/s max. I've tried boosting the clock speed, but there's only so much room to go before there's just not enough power (I don't have the auxiliary 6 pin PCI-E power connectors) and the driver crashes. I have the EVGA 750Ti Superclocked versions and was told I could expect about 2Mh/s per card.... I seem to be falling a bit short of that.

EDIT: Figured it out for the most part.... I had a bit of a DUH! moment... I forgot to change the ccminer version in the command line to an updated Compute version more suited to the 750Ti. Changed to ccminer50 and now they are happily doing 2000+KH/s!
 
Last edited:

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,217
OK gents. For those of you running 750Ti's, what driver version are you running? Are you running Windows or Linux?

I just got my 6x 750Ti machine up and running and while I'm impressed at the quiet (it's sitting right at my feet in a separate quiet room and I can't hear it), and the temps (less than 50C so far), I'm thinking I'm doing something wrong because I'm only getting 1850KH/s max. I've tried boosting the clock speed, but there's only so much room to go before there's just not enough power (I don't have the auxiliary 6 pin PCI-E power connectors) and the driver crashes. I have the EVGA 750Ti Superclocked versions and was told I could expect about 2Mh/s per card.... I seem to be falling a bit short of that.

EDIT: Figured it out for the most part.... I had a bit of a DUH! moment... I forgot to change the ccminer version in the command line to an updated Compute version more suited to the 750Ti. Changed to ccminer50 and now they are happily doing 2000+KH/s!
bingo.
 

Parja

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Oct 4, 2002
Messages
12,307
Figures. X11 takes a total crap with no signs of bouncing back between my ordering 4 750Tis and them arriving.

So what algo/coin/pool are you guys with NVIDIA setups doing right now?

Man, we need to get a more active developer working on a solid NVIDIA miner. Still no failover and we're going to totally miss the boat on X13. If anyone knows of a developer we could incentivize to put some priority on working toward an NVIDIA miner that's even remotely close to sgminer's level of polish, please post up some linkage here.
 
Top